Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

SunofaBeach
post Dec 19 2011, 09:39 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Dec 19 2011, 09:06 PM)
From what I read, our country's law dictates that the owner on the surface own the land even deep underground.  That is why KL LRT builder had problem getting around the law by building zig-zaging underground tunnel to avoid the house above the ground.  They don't have that problem in Singapore. 

Well it does sound as if you can build 10 storey underground bunker for all its worth  smile.gif
SOunds like a good news for those who plan to dig basement for more rooms! thumbup.gif
SunofaBeach
post Dec 20 2011, 07:40 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 20 2011, 12:00 AM)
Yes, doing a basement (especially for pre-existing house) isn't easy, but it can be done.

Easier is to do extra room, but you sacrifice the openness of your garden. Putting the garden on top of the extra room won't look as good, plus also has its own issues particularly factoring in the thickness of the soil in order for you to plant things to make it a rooftop garden.

Anyway, each approach has its own pros and cons. Up to you to decide which suits you best.
Putting a garden on top of the extra room is awesome! I have seen huge garden on top of 4 storeys shopping mall which is just fantastic! thumbup.gif
SunofaBeach
post Dec 23 2011, 10:17 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 23 2011, 10:11 PM)
Went to nice house today with a very good Christmas feeling. Nicely laid out and decorated just like those Caucasian's home.  thumbup.gif Comfy and warm.

On another note :

Merry Christmas to those who are celebrating and Happy Holiday to others!  smile.gif 
cheers.gif
SunofaBeach
post Dec 31 2011, 09:09 AM

413 posts

What is that blink.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 3 2012, 09:27 PM

413 posts

Guys,

How do you guys move around the subwoofer when you were trying to look for a good position?

It may nt be just 1 go, sometimes a few times and the sub is freaking heavy i nearly broke my back the last time I did sweat.gif

Any hand tools or thing that ease the work?
SunofaBeach
post Jan 3 2012, 10:18 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(capoi @ Jan 3 2012, 09:36 PM)
Wow..how big your subwoofer? Mine is just a Panny Home Theater. The sound already acceptable for me. Furthermore, I'm not dare to increase volume more than 45..afraid if my neighbour complain about it.
Mine's about half of HTkaki's 71kg beast but it's already pain in the arse sweat.gif Last year I hand carried it on a train from Sheffield to Manchester and now I am having problems moving it within tiny room.. getting old now I can feel... blush.gif

I am sure my neighbour dislike me but I dont either , the one upstairs , who always quarrel and their kidz running and storming around the flat all the time. In return I always let them feel some earthquake so they would stop their noise tongue.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 3 2012, 10:00 PM)
Yes, you need to try it out when you are free enough. In my case, it yields better result with such settings.

I bet ronaldjoe would be the next member here to audition your system  tongue.gif
Do a lot of weight lifting to build up muscle mass before moving laugh.gif  Slowly move it inch by inch. Wait til you move 71kg SVS PB13-Ultra subwoofer.  sweat.gif

A few times is ok. I think I have move the sub like eerrr.... I lost count, actually.

Haha seems like I should .. I always feel like trying a few different position but always scare to move the thing. sweat.gif

Also I'd like to know about SPL meter, any particular thing should I look out ? or just a reasonably priced SPL meter will do?

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Jan 3 2012, 10:21 PM
SunofaBeach
post Jan 13 2012, 09:09 AM

413 posts

I can see many of you guys spend quite a huge amount for cables sweat.gif

Just curious how about for surround speakers?

In a HT system, I know most people would spend big portion of money on the amps, then front speakers and centre speaker, wonder if it's worth to spend equally or nearly equal for the surround?

SunofaBeach
post Jan 13 2012, 09:30 AM

413 posts

Is that a dipole surround speaker?

Is dipole ones always a better surround if the whole system is purely for films?
SunofaBeach
post Jan 28 2012, 09:03 PM

413 posts

rclxms.gif

More kaki are joining !

One question guys, pre and power set up consists of a 'dedicated pre-amp' + power amp, does that mean my current LX82 would not be useful anymore? (only when I can afford the upgrade to pre and power laugh.gif ) but would love to know some info. smile.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 29 2012, 12:17 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 28 2012, 11:00 PM)
Normally when people are talking about pre-amp and power amp they might be referring to a stereo set up (for hifi purposes). In the context of HT, they normally call the pre-amp a pre-pro or AV controller.

Anyway, if you decide to add a power amp you can still use your LX82 since it has pre outs. It means the amp section inside the LX82 is not used.
Im just wondering if that would cost a lot of money to get a power amp that each channel is equivalent to LX82 power output ?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Jan 29 2012, 11:57 AM
SunofaBeach
post Jan 29 2012, 09:05 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 29 2012, 11:32 AM)

Added on January 29, 2012, 12:02 pm

I believed Onkyo MC5501 9 channels AV amp can beat it with a entry cost of less than 8k. But what's the point if they dont serve the purpose for the owner? smile.gif

When you move into dedicated power amp route, you'll need to examine the amp characteristic in its current bias, its output stage, power reverses and its built. Measurement is just an illustrations of the design approach but certainly not the final cut. If it were, you'll not have some many brands in audio industry already.

If you have a 150w/channel amp before doesnt meant the next 200w/channel amp will sound better that the one it replaced. Dont fall into the "bigger power is always better" trick. They're just being louder but not necessary better.
notworthy.gif

I can hear obvious improvement when I upgraded from Onkyo 508 (130W/ch) to LX82 and thought going for more powerful amp would do even better sound.

However I am still curious about the sound when hook with power amp, I might have a go to cure the itchyness if I can spot a used MC5501 laugh.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 29 2012, 09:42 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 29 2012, 09:28 PM)
From Onkie 508 to Pionie LX82 is considered moving up the rank in receiver for sure you can hear the difference but as you push upward, the law of diminishing return kicks in hard hence you might not get more than what you have paid for in the sound as compared to the difference you paid in price smile.gif

You dont need to spot a used MC5501 to get the upgrade la..it depends how serious you're in pursuing your AV separate. From LX82 to adding a MC5501 i would say you're probably gain nothing much..bet you on this one  laugh.gif

You should probably looking at some more serious power amps such as ROTEL RMB-1575 which is Class D with 250w/channel output to "feel" the difference. Want more musical amp? Look up at Sifu here and ask them for some good brands, McIntosh, Krell, Lexicon..aplenty for you to take up a few  jobs to pay for them  brows.gif

Back to the topic, for the similar price of 8k+, i'll recommend you to get a NAD T975 which i am sure you'll be very happy with  smile.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif Poisonous advice laugh.gif

Rotel especially with such a power output is not cheap as well .. if each one has got only 2 channel, does that mean I will need 2 or 3 of them for a 5.1 setup or 4 of them for 7.1 setup? blush.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 29 2012, 09:56 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 29 2012, 09:50 PM)
Rotel RMB-1575 is a 5 channels amp so if you're setting up 7 channels, add RB-1572.

If you want to bi amp and want the best of the sound quality, why not considering using stereo amp for each speakers or each LF, HF with ONE monoblock? It isnt impossible..there're people out there as such..that's the HIFI FEVER they called it  laugh.gif

And some even have 4 subwoofers in the system..that's really Pursue of Ultimate Hifi Fever right?  drool.gif

Added on January 29, 2012, 9:53 pm

The hissing is at Pre Amp MUTE or certain Pre Amp gain? Maybe 1/3, 1/2, 3/5? I cant stand hissing..sounds like the Hifi is nagging at you  laugh.gif
laugh.gif will definitely keep Rotel 1575 and 1572 in mind thumbup.gif

I am quite serious in sound and would definitely consider to have 4 sub in the room if I got a good job after study laugh.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 29 2012, 10:56 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ Jan 29 2012, 10:35 PM)
Not necessary Rotel la..at that price level, you can consider other brands also like NAD which is quite decent as well.

Looks like another potential kaki of multi subs..You should know HTKAKI then..he's the Subs' Headmaster  laugh.gif

laugh.gif will definitely want to learn something from him when I am up to that level biggrin.gif
SunofaBeach
post Jan 31 2012, 01:28 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 30 2012, 10:55 AM)
Do keep me in mind then, I have a demo set of 1572 with me smile.gif and also the same series monoblock. Willing to let go at a very decent price. They both have bi-amp features. Been upgrading too many things at once, now not enough storage space already lol
nod.gif
SunofaBeach
post Mar 23 2012, 09:53 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Mar 23 2012, 03:14 PM)
Is the Dato's into Cow rearing business  whistling.gif ?
SunofaBeach
post Apr 3 2012, 09:24 AM

413 posts

Guys, I have some questions about amplifiers.

I am currently using the LX82. My itchy hands are thinking to buy a 7-channel power amp:

7 x 100 watts (8 ohms, RMS) Output stages can be bridged in the following configurations: 1 x 150 watts & 1 x 150 watts (8 ohms, RMS) 2 x 150 watts & 3 x 100 watts (8 ohms, RMS)

By any chance this can bring any improvement to the sound quality or this will be definitely a step down?

I am very curious and tempted to know what it will be like laugh.gif

Please sifus give some advice notworthy.gif
SunofaBeach
post Apr 3 2012, 09:41 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Apr 3 2012, 09:35 AM)
mind exposing the model and make of the amp? and the speakers it will paired to?
Audiolab 8000X7

Speakers:

Front B&W 704, surround B&W 705 and center B&W HTM7

notworthy.gif
SunofaBeach
post Apr 4 2012, 03:17 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(j22 @ Apr 3 2012, 10:56 AM)
LX82's ICEpower based amp section is already pretty decent. My guess is that it would sound more 'different' than better - I wouldn't just add a power amp without an audition.
True I would if I could. nod.gif

Added on April 4, 2012, 3:21 amAnother question is about the power conditioner. Is that required?

If yes, will this a good buy?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/XD-XF-1000S-8way...#ht_5361wt_1037

hmm.gif

Appreciate any advice notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by SunofaBeach: Apr 4 2012, 03:21 AM
SunofaBeach
post Apr 6 2012, 02:12 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(kc01 @ Apr 5 2012, 09:32 PM)
Ok, I have an Audiolab 8000X7 and 704. My pre is a Yammy RXA-2000. After adding 8000X7 with bridged 2 x 150W fronts, there is a slight improvement but more obvious on my rear effects. Overall conclusion over Yamaha RXA2000 stand alone. Minor improvement overall. It depends how much you got your Audiolab for.
Cheers for sharing.. the audiolab power amp is selling at GBP 350, not sure if this is a good buy laugh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0249sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:36 AM