DIY T-Amp User V2, TA2020 AIR CORES!, ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TSxtorm
post Nov 24 2008, 07:23 PM, updated 13y ago

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

new toy in town, much better sounding rclxms.gif

look at these sexy TA2020
those offset switch are a breeze to tweak as they are really fine, get 0mV easily
air cores baby!!!, notice the output relay so u get no pops
epcos input caps!!!

how abt the favorite TA2024
way better quality
no cheap out put core here
offset switch for that 0mV

the thread with build info
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/763968

same warning..... flex.gif
**very important that you guys dont mess up +VE and -VE terminal on the power supply, it will burn the chip!**

new warning
DO NOT PARALLEL 2 t-amp output into 1 speaker, it will not double the wattage, instead you will at the end get no power at all!! MEANING BURN CHIP!!

t-amp? what izit?
its a type of amp produce by tripath, basically a much refine class-d amp.
there is ta2020, ta2024, ta2022, the 1 i brought in is ta2024, bang per buck you cant beat it
some good reading abt the ta2024
sonic impact T-amp which make this chip really famous!
http://www.tnt-audio.com/ampli/t-amp_e.html
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/sonicimpact/t.html
http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/1/193312.html

Aattached bellow is the evaluation board for TA-2024

will add details and Q&A soon.

This post has been edited by xtorm: Apr 6 2011, 10:12 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ta2024evaluation_1_.pdf ( 631.65k ) Number of downloads: 487
TSxtorm
post Nov 24 2008, 07:24 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

POWER SUPPLY

the best bang per buck power supply is Meanwell 12v 4.2A which are selling for rm55 ( yea yea as expensive as the t-amp tongue.gif ), you will only find 1 shop in jalan pasar selling this price, shop name Wize Intelligence beside Nixie.
hmm they got a website, www.wize-intelligence.com.my which is not working anymore, it was last time i check

so how good izit? this is a brief review form our sifu biggrin.gif
Y.C.
it sounded so much better than my other SMPS (which is a laptop adapter type)– less flat-sounding and less tiring over long period of listening with ample of reserves when demanded upon

Jazzy939
I agree, as if the SMPS and the T-Amp was meant for each other!

other option will be SLA-battery, but some say it is not as exciting using SMPS, no review yet from our club smile.gif

spec and model of the mention smps are attached belLow, thanks to Y.C. for the link on previous thread.

what are SMPS?
please read here for those who like to read and understand how stuff work
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switched-mode_power_supply

This post has been edited by xtorm: Dec 2 2008, 09:43 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  s_50_spec_1_.pdf ( 413.72k ) Number of downloads: 104
TSxtorm
post Nov 24 2008, 07:24 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

the modding guide, sorry if the write up is not good enough, i tried tongue.gif Attached at the end of this post (#2) are the guide for modding in pdf by our sifu jazzy939

BEGINER STAGE
-the easiest modding and makes the most difference will be the input capacitors, those thing covered in black.
get the best capacitor you can afford here, higher value will enhance the bass and roll off the highs, 2.2uf and 3.3uf are recomended here, non polarize.

-change the supply capacitor, those 2 small caps in the middle just beside ta2024 chip, higher value will enhance the charity and bass, low esr caps are recomended here, panasonic FM seems to fit this job well, 3300uf 16v will be enough, change both of them ofcause...
here a review from 1 of the guru here on power supply cap notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 28 2008, 04:12 PM)
I had the opportunity to compare my own T-amp against my colleague’s T-amp last night when we were troubleshooting some buzzing sound together.

As mentioned previously, I have changed the 4 stocked caps of my T-amp to Vishay/ERO MKT 1813 2.2uF 63V polycarbonates and Panasonic 1000uF 16V electrolytics whereas my colleague has only changed the input caps to the same Vishay/ERO MKT 1813 caps. My T-amp is with a 24-steps 50K ohm Dale resistors attenuator whereas his an Alpha 50K ohm carbon potentiometer. PSU used is a 12VDC 2.5A SMPS, source a Sansui CD-X310 and transducers Q Acoustics 1010.

I would report the difference in sound of our T-amps described above as very substantial and prefer the unit with Panasonic low ESR PSU caps. The overall tonal balance and scale of music is both more balanced and larger. The low frequencies have more weight and this adds to the foundation of music making. I would not describe sound as dry-sounding but contrary to this, we thought both T-amps sounded moist enough but we arrived at the conclusion that the stocked PSU caps must be replaced so as to attain a more balanced tonal back and a weighty foundation to low frequencies. There is no pop/thud sound to both our T-amps.

these mod will probably be enough for some, but i bet most will not stop here as once you start modding it you dont wanto stop, the diferences are just amazing thumbup.gif

ADVANCE
-input resistor and gain resistor, smd component are never known for sounding good, the input resistor on the board are probably 5% tolerance, i measure 19.6xk to 19.8xk on them, changing to 1% metal film or better will improve the sound, espcially imaging.

-as you can see some biascap and others being change as well in the picture, not sure how much they effect the sound, jazzy939 did this mod in 1 shot and are quite surprise by it

-bypass cap for power supply, just beside the power supply cap, c6 and c7. good power supply make a noticeably difference in t-amp

-soldering copper wire directly from 12v terminal to chip, again, a good power supply is important in any amp, since the original root is quite thin in size, soldering 2 copper wire to the ta2024 pin will let the chip have plenty of power to work with, espcially with bigger panasonic FM in. sorry for the lousy pic, it is solder to pin 25,26,29 and 30

-output filter capacitors, c22, c25, c27, c28 (sorry no pictures yet), some say these are as good as changing the input caps, polyester 5% or better are recomended here.

-output filter coil, those 4 black thing, ferite coil gives dynamic and vivid signature to the t-amp, while aircore gives smooth and relax feels to it, up to the listener. other then that shielding the coil will make the amp sounding clean, haven try it tho, but good feedback from those who has done it.

bellow files belong to bro jazzy939, i upload it here for the convenient of others..

This post has been edited by xtorm: Jan 19 2009, 12:49 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TA2024_mods_draft_STAGE1.pdf ( 1.35mb ) Number of downloads: 425
Attached File  TA2024_mods_draft_STAGE2.pdf ( 1.4mb ) Number of downloads: 339
TSxtorm
post Nov 24 2008, 07:25 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

Reseve for more updates
wui223
post Nov 24 2008, 07:33 PM

941 posts

Seems like im the 1st T-amp user to report here smile.gif
TSxtorm
post Nov 24 2008, 07:35 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha yea, i bought the smps at the shop mention by jazzy, took some pic gona post it up, also some nice casing at nixie smile.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 7:36 pmaiks.....should put power supplly and casing stuff before putting in the mod.....hmmm gona edit now smile.gif

Added on November 24, 2008, 8:06 pmarrrrrrrghhhh write a lengthy post then it decided not to load th page and i lost all the writting....

gona continue later sad.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Nov 24 2008, 08:06 PM
PcWork
post Nov 24 2008, 08:18 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

warning 3 : do not mistakely touch the speaker terminal with AC adapter.
burn the chip within 1 seconds. lol
=P

jazzy939
post Nov 24 2008, 09:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Finally! Version 2! thumbup.gif TQ xtorm wink.gif

No major T-Amp works on my side but I have been playing around with buffer preamps.. made 2 last weekend! wink.gif

I finally hit the sweet note on my T-Amp. Buffer pre-amp compliments the T-Amp very nicely. wink.gif
TSxtorm
post Nov 25 2008, 10:27 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

will update some other sutff later tonight smile.gif
wui223
post Nov 25 2008, 10:51 AM

941 posts

jazzy: post ur speakers relay circuit here can ah? i might need it.
jazzy939
post Nov 25 2008, 01:28 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Wui,
Have a look here!.

QUOTE(wui223 @ Nov 25 2008, 10:51 AM)
jazzy: post ur speakers relay circuit here can ah? i might need it.
ijan
post Nov 25 2008, 03:11 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

on the NOTE NUMBER 2, i think the T-amp can be made to do bi-amping which i intend to do with my 2x t-amp board..currently waiting for a cheap bookshelve to come by, mcm ada lubang for wharfedale 8 series or pinnacle shelves..haf to wait...
Y.C.
post Nov 25 2008, 04:41 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Ijan, do check out these brand new pairs of Denon SC-M51 2 bookshelf loudspeakers at RM390. Try to negotiate further with them (CMY Electronics) as during the KLIAV 2008 show, their show price is only RM299.

ijan
post Nov 25 2008, 06:17 PM

3,448 posts

Sadly im in Sarawak..

However, a friend is offering a very minty black Wharfedale 8.1 at RM350, i think can nego to RM300. Only used as satellite. It has been replaced by the 9 series wharfedale, but at the price, any comment?

I don't want to thrift to much bookshelves since I am more into headphones, but eventually, when i have space and money, i would love to get a decent setup. But atm, testing testing rendam kaki in the water dulu.
Y.C.
post Nov 25 2008, 09:06 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

I believe the nett SP of Wharfedale 8.1 would be in the region of RM800-RM900 previously. I've no personal experience with them but if this Audiofile review wayback in 2002 is anything to be relied upon, they should be pretty good. IMO, a single TA-2024 T-amp should drive them well unless you're very much into headbanging level. Enjoy.

jazzy939
post Nov 25 2008, 09:31 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I believe the Wharfedale will be a real 'punch'.. have heard them in the shops.. luckily I already have a good pair at home laugh.gif

Go ahead ijan.. make your day! biggrin.gif
TSxtorm
post Nov 27 2008, 12:57 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

oh the relay and buffer pre-amp to add too i suppose?

tonight im free...duno got pc to use or not tongue.gif
Najmods
post Nov 27 2008, 01:01 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Nov 27 2008, 12:57 PM)
oh the relay and buffer pre-amp to add too i suppose?

tonight im free...duno got pc to use or not tongue.gif
If you want to put a guide regarding that, some not on buffer, if you using it it will almost eliminate the thumping noise when powering up, but you need to power up the buffer BEFORE you power up the T-Amp or the thumping will got worse
ijan
post Nov 27 2008, 02:17 PM

3,448 posts

a simple on-delay that would reduce thumping by switching power to the T-AMP only after a certain level of voltage is available can be made with..few diodes, cheap jellyben opamp and a relay. it should werk, theoretically. But me, talk only, no action smile.gif
grandspy
post Nov 27 2008, 04:00 PM

The Mothership is here!
1,339 posts

HUH?? Version 2 already? I've not even started yet!!! HELP ME!

59 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:02 PM