47 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Tomato/Victek's Tomato Firmware Club, Victek himself is here to help you !

TSprasys
post Jun 20 2008, 02:02 PM, updated 14y ago

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

What is Tomato ?

Tomato is a small, lean and simple replacement firmware for Linksys' WRT54G/GL/GS, Buffalo WHR-G54S/WHR-HP-G54 and other Broadcom-based routers. It features a new easy to use GUI, a new bandwidth usage monitor, more advanced QOS and access restrictions, enables new wireless features such as WDS and wireless client modes, raises the limits on maximum connections for P2P, allows you to run your custom scripts or telnet/ssh in and do all sorts of things like re-program the SES/AOSS button, adds wireless site survey to see your wifi neighbors, and more.

Advantages over DD -WRT
Written by me tongue.gif (This is solely based on my view of point. For some of you you may use DD-WRT if you want all the stuff)

DD-WRT is getting heavier and heavier with all the un-needed stuff. they have included a lot of un-needed stuff and the router tends to hang from time to time because of this (the older ones were just fine tongue.gif). Next I've tried OpenWRT , it rocks but pretty much you'll have to configure everything by hand and it sucks big time for lazy people like me. Then i came across with Tomato. At first after trying it out , it seems to be lacking of something. Eventually , I fell in love with it as its simple , easy to use and has a superb QoS functionality (you'll only get that sort of QoS if you pay for the DD-WRT firmware) and as for OpenWRT you'll have to use SSH/Terminal and do it via the terminal (command prompt). Overall , it seems to be pretty good

»» Routers that are known to work with Tomato:
Linksys WRT54G v1-v4, WRT54GS v1-v4, WRT54GL v1.x, WRTSL54GS (no USB support)
Buffalo WHR-G54S, WHR-HP-G54, WZR-G54, WBR2-G54, WBR-G54, WZR-HP-G54, WZR-RS-G54, WZR-RS-G54HP, WVR-G54-NF, WHR2-A54-G54, WHR3-AG54
Asus WL500G Premium (no USB support), WL500GE
Sparklan WX6615GT, Fuji RT390W, Microsoft MN-700

Screenshots

More Information : http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato

Download link : http://www.polarcloud.com/f/Tomato_1_19.7z

I'll be posting mine soon tongue.gif

Live Demo : http://lampiweb.com/tomato/status-index.htm
Here we go peeps , lets discuss. Contribute !

This post has been edited by prasys: Jun 24 2008, 05:44 PM
kitsuna
post Jun 20 2008, 02:18 PM

101 posts

Woot
at last, Tomato firmware thread

jump from DD-WRT to Tomato mainly because they do not provide speed control in the QoS (DD-WRT need to purchase special edition to have that sort of features)

Tomato may lack some features
but for home usage, it serve me well

after using quite some time, i do agree that Tomato are much lighter than DD-WRT (especially v24 standard)
teckhooi
post Jun 20 2008, 02:29 PM

3,135 posts

Why Dun Have Tomato Firmware For Belkin.

SAD
TSprasys
post Jun 20 2008, 03:25 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I do have to agree that tomato is way to lighter (sure it may lack of certain stuff) but its way better then DD-WRT in many ways. Elegant , simple and it gets done things right. before this DD-WRT was something like that , but now they have messed it up totally by adding unwanted stuff
xjukie
post Jun 20 2008, 04:47 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

bro, im runnning ddwrt v24 now on WRT54g v2.2. If i want to switch to Tomato.
Just flash it on conf page?

This post has been edited by xjukie: Jun 20 2008, 04:49 PM
TSprasys
post Jun 20 2008, 05:22 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yeah you can just flash it using normal method. But keep in mind you need to restart your settings. do a hard reset as DD-WRT config doesnt work with Tomato. So you'll have to do a hard reset after flashing and re-configure your router
-Teddy-
post Jun 20 2008, 09:32 PM

meh
1,938 posts

Is Tomato capable to increase signal strength? Seems like Tomato have more happy users than DD-WRT judging from comments I Googled.
mikelanding
post Jun 20 2008, 10:17 PM

2,865 posts

I also ex-DDWRT switch to tomato user....Damn happy with it.
Lean, clean and fucntional..
DD-WRT is like a FAT lady while tomato is slim little sexy babe...hahaha
tvcat
post Jun 20 2008, 10:22 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,860 posts

if you need freaking good function then go for DD-WRT, it is just got so many amazing function....
while Tomato firmware got its best QoS and snother thing is you dont need to reconnect to the router after you save change(most of the module)..it will just restart the affected service. Example like we tmnut user always have to recoonnect to get the best connection, if you are using DD-WRT you will need reconnect to the router but Tomato firmware wont.

im still learning to adjust the QoS....any master can post some tutorial? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tvcat: Jun 20 2008, 10:26 PM
TSprasys
post Jun 20 2008, 10:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I am writing one tutorial for QoS...give me some time !
xjukie
post Jun 20 2008, 11:41 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

succesfully flashed my ddwrt v24 wrt54g to Tomato haha
pretty good for user need stability with small, lean firmware
gsan
post Jun 21 2008, 10:31 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

personally I suggest to use Tomato if your router have large memory, eg. 32MB or above.
fx_53_xt
post Jun 21 2008, 05:42 PM

2,040 posts

does tomato QoS has the ability to set bandwidth control for each client connected like what they had in paid version of DD WRT?

and frankly speaking, i never did successfully configured my QoS in DD-WRT. Hope tomato QoS is simpler and better

i'm really looking forward to that function.
TSprasys
post Jun 21 2008, 06:33 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 21 2008, 05:42 PM)
does tomato QoS has the ability to set bandwidth control for each client connected like what they had in paid version of DD WRT?

and frankly speaking, i never did successfully configured my QoS in DD-WRT. Hope tomato QoS is simpler and better

i'm really looking forward to that function.
Yes it does. Keep in mind that the qos is advance it might take sometime for you
xjukie
post Jun 21 2008, 08:27 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

Nice article to read though
http://www.decimation.com/markw/2007/10/02...nner-is-tomato/

This post has been edited by xjukie: Jun 22 2008, 01:22 AM
fx_53_xt
post Jun 22 2008, 04:44 PM

2,040 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 21 2008, 06:33 PM)
Yes it does. Keep in mind that the qos is advance it might take sometime for you
i failed thoroughly setting QoS in DDWRT V23 SP2 and yesterday i tried V24, it got even worst, the router automatically reboot every 5 minutes or so if i enable QoS and heavy traffic flow.

things is that i do not have much chance to sit there all day and play around the setting cuz there's 3 other person in my house needed the connection.

will give tomato a try some time next week
SUSblackorange
post Jun 23 2008, 05:00 PM

186 posts

anybody did QoS for deluge?
i tried but it seems that deluge manage to pass through QoS...
maybe my setting is not correct...

This post has been edited by blackorange: Jun 23 2008, 05:00 PM
TSprasys
post Jun 23 2008, 05:20 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

anything with encryption pretty much bypasses the QoS. You should include it in other TCP/IP traffic as bulk or the lowest
azim61
post Jun 24 2008, 01:04 PM

480 posts

hey guys
did u guys try the Tomato SpeedMod?
or
Tomato Firmware Mod's by Victek?
TSprasys
post Jun 24 2008, 05:45 PM

Heros Never Die