Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: The Tomato/Victek's Tomato Firmware Club
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Networks and Broadband > Broadband User-2-User
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
prasys
What is Tomato ?

Tomato is a small, lean and simple replacement firmware for Linksys' WRT54G/GL/GS, Buffalo WHR-G54S/WHR-HP-G54 and other Broadcom-based routers. It features a new easy to use GUI, a new bandwidth usage monitor, more advanced QOS and access restrictions, enables new wireless features such as WDS and wireless client modes, raises the limits on maximum connections for P2P, allows you to run your custom scripts or telnet/ssh in and do all sorts of things like re-program the SES/AOSS button, adds wireless site survey to see your wifi neighbors, and more.

Advantages over DD -WRT
Written by me tongue.gif (This is solely based on my view of point. For some of you you may use DD-WRT if you want all the stuff)

DD-WRT is getting heavier and heavier with all the un-needed stuff. they have included a lot of un-needed stuff and the router tends to hang from time to time because of this (the older ones were just fine tongue.gif). Next I've tried OpenWRT , it rocks but pretty much you'll have to configure everything by hand and it sucks big time for lazy people like me. Then i came across with Tomato. At first after trying it out , it seems to be lacking of something. Eventually , I fell in love with it as its simple , easy to use and has a superb QoS functionality (you'll only get that sort of QoS if you pay for the DD-WRT firmware) and as for OpenWRT you'll have to use SSH/Terminal and do it via the terminal (command prompt). Overall , it seems to be pretty good

»» Routers that are known to work with Tomato:
Linksys WRT54G v1-v4, WRT54GS v1-v4, WRT54GL v1.x, WRTSL54GS (no USB support)
Buffalo WHR-G54S, WHR-HP-G54, WZR-G54, WBR2-G54, WBR-G54, WZR-HP-G54, WZR-RS-G54, WZR-RS-G54HP, WVR-G54-NF, WHR2-A54-G54, WHR3-AG54
Asus WL500G Premium (no USB support), WL500GE
Sparklan WX6615GT, Fuji RT390W, Microsoft MN-700

Screenshots

More Information : http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato

Download link : http://www.polarcloud.com/f/Tomato_1_19.7z

I'll be posting mine soon tongue.gif

Live Demo : http://lampiweb.com/tomato/status-index.htm
Here we go peeps , lets discuss. Contribute !
kitsuna
Woot
at last, Tomato firmware thread

jump from DD-WRT to Tomato mainly because they do not provide speed control in the QoS (DD-WRT need to purchase special edition to have that sort of features)

Tomato may lack some features
but for home usage, it serve me well

after using quite some time, i do agree that Tomato are much lighter than DD-WRT (especially v24 standard)
teckhooi
Why Dun Have Tomato Firmware For Belkin.

SAD
prasys
I do have to agree that tomato is way to lighter (sure it may lack of certain stuff) but its way better then DD-WRT in many ways. Elegant , simple and it gets done things right. before this DD-WRT was something like that , but now they have messed it up totally by adding unwanted stuff
xjukie
bro, im runnning ddwrt v24 now on WRT54g v2.2. If i want to switch to Tomato.
Just flash it on conf page?
prasys
Yeah you can just flash it using normal method. But keep in mind you need to restart your settings. do a hard reset as DD-WRT config doesnt work with Tomato. So you'll have to do a hard reset after flashing and re-configure your router
-Teddy-
Is Tomato capable to increase signal strength? Seems like Tomato have more happy users than DD-WRT judging from comments I Googled.
mikelanding
I also ex-DDWRT switch to tomato user....Damn happy with it.
Lean, clean and fucntional..
DD-WRT is like a FAT lady while tomato is slim little sexy babe...hahaha
tvcat
if you need freaking good function then go for DD-WRT, it is just got so many amazing function....
while Tomato firmware got its best QoS and snother thing is you dont need to reconnect to the router after you save change(most of the module)..it will just restart the affected service. Example like we tmnut user always have to recoonnect to get the best connection, if you are using DD-WRT you will need reconnect to the router but Tomato firmware wont.

im still learning to adjust the QoS....any master can post some tutorial? tongue.gif
prasys
I am writing one tutorial for QoS...give me some time !
xjukie
succesfully flashed my ddwrt v24 wrt54g to Tomato haha
pretty good for user need stability with small, lean firmware
gsan
personally I suggest to use Tomato if your router have large memory, eg. 32MB or above.
fx_53_xt
does tomato QoS has the ability to set bandwidth control for each client connected like what they had in paid version of DD WRT?

and frankly speaking, i never did successfully configured my QoS in DD-WRT. Hope tomato QoS is simpler and better

i'm really looking forward to that function.
prasys
QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 21 2008, 05:42 PM)
does tomato QoS has the ability to set bandwidth control for each client connected like what they had in paid version of DD WRT?

and frankly speaking, i never did successfully configured my QoS in DD-WRT. Hope tomato QoS is simpler and better

i'm really looking forward to that function.

Yes it does. Keep in mind that the qos is advance it might take sometime for you
xjukie
Nice article to read though
http://www.decimation.com/markw/2007/10/02...nner-is-tomato/
fx_53_xt
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 21 2008, 06:33 PM)
Yes it does. Keep in mind that the qos is advance it might take sometime for you

i failed thoroughly setting QoS in DDWRT V23 SP2 and yesterday i tried V24, it got even worst, the router automatically reboot every 5 minutes or so if i enable QoS and heavy traffic flow.

things is that i do not have much chance to sit there all day and play around the setting cuz there's 3 other person in my house needed the connection.

will give tomato a try some time next week
blackorange
anybody did QoS for deluge?
i tried but it seems that deluge manage to pass through QoS...
maybe my setting is not correct...
prasys
anything with encryption pretty much bypasses the QoS. You should include it in other TCP/IP traffic as bulk or the lowest
azim61
hey guys
did u guys try the Tomato SpeedMod?
or
Tomato Firmware Mod's by Victek?
prasys
I'll be giving the modded version a shot tongue.gif
azim61
haha
i google the "Tomato SpeedMod"
and a lot of positive feedback about that firmware
does Tomato OpenVPN version support buffalo router such as WHR-HP-G54 and WHR-G125?
mikelanding
cool...I already flashed my WRT54GL with latest tomato speedmod. First thing I notice is my free memory increase from 2.2mb to 4.2 mb...NICEEE

prasys
wow the speedmod firmware has many options. You can increase concurrent connections up to 6000 ! (faster p2p)

Added on June 24, 2008, 10:51 pmOh My God , the modded version is damn cool

P2P Obfuscation FTW !. i've noticed that my BitTorrent speed rose from 15Kilobytes/sec to 30 Kilobytes/sec !
mikelanding
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 24 2008, 07:00 PM)
wow the speedmod firmware has many options. You can increase concurrent connections up to 6000 ! (faster p2p)

Added on June 24, 2008, 10:51 pmOh My God , the modded version is damn cool

P2P Obfuscation FTW !. i've noticed that my BitTorrent speed rose from 15Kilobytes/sec to 30 Kilobytes/sec !

Wow..where to set this "P2P Obfuscation" ? Cat seem find it... sad.gif
xjukie
im running tomato 1.19 now on wrt54g, can just flashed it speedmod tomato on it?
look nice hmmm
mikelanding
QUOTE(xjukie @ Jun 25 2008, 02:02 AM)
im running tomato 1.19 now on wrt54g, can just flashed it speedmod tomato on it?
look nice hmmm

Ya...U can. I already direct flash from 1.19 to speedmod tomato.
xjukie
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jun 25 2008, 08:51 AM)

just flashed it, haha dam farking rawks!
my freee ram's memory increased from 2mb to 4mb
damn sui
azim61
glad everyone have nice time with their router
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jun 25 2008, 08:51 AM)

what do u mean by direct flash?
dont have to hard reset or what?
prasys
I prefer the modded one as it comes with improved QoS. The speedmod just comes with the speed mod but the modded version comes with improved qos and the ablility to overclock the rotuer's cpu to handle high load !
xjukie
which one modded ver? not that Tomato Speedmod?
prasys
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=d7e...5941c8f6d1ec491

I am using that

_ Updated to BusyBox 1.10.2 (IP WAN DHCP renew tested and fixed)
_ JHash Conntrack 8092 connection (Speed Mod)
_ Conntrack default values adjusted for high P2P load
_ Theme for visual handicaped
_ Eight additional themes, Bluedream, Enlightenedd, Tijuana, Asus, Linksys, Buffalo
_ Spain TZ included
_ CPU Frequency.
_ Previous IP display
_ Two additional window for Button script
_ Bandwidth Limiter per IP/MAC
_ Code Optimization

It comes with SpeedMod + lots of mods and its way faster. It has improved QoS , which is better then regular Tomato !

http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57912
HiT-AbLe
prasys how to flash this speedmod on my WRT54GL? Currently using DD-WRT and scare brick the router so better ask before flash.
prasys
For DD-WRT , I recommend you to do a clear flash and then re-flash. Downgrade it to Linksys Original Firmware and then flash it from the original linksys firmware. Its far better then DD-WRT. Plus I've been noticing improvement for my p2p connections. Its way better now tongue.gif
HiT-AbLe
My WRT54GL is V1.1, but in Linksys Malaysia only has V1.0 firmware available for download, so should I use this version to flash? Where can I find the correct firmware version?
prasys
The other option you have is to do a direct flash. it will work , but you'll have to hard reset your router. That is how I did

I flashed directly from DD-WRT. Then i had to hold the reset button for 30 seconds so that it will remove the old settings !
xjukie
i flashed from DDWRT, u need to get the router passwd (binary) first before flash it to Tomato.
vassalle
One more happy tomato user reporting in. My HP-G54 happily chugging along for the last one month without any hickups and I've increase the tx to 72! w00tt

Now waiting for Prasys' QOS ultra leet tutorial with pictures.. biggrin.gif
xjukie
QUOTE(vassalle @ Jun 26 2008, 09:55 AM)
One more happy tomato user reporting in. My HP-G54 happily chugging along for the last one month without any hickups and I've increase the tx to 72! w00tt

Now waiting for Prasys' QOS ultra leet tutorial with pictures.. biggrin.gif

u can get the idea for QoSing here http://www.decimation.com/markw/2007/10/03/tomato-qos-setup/

Added on June 26, 2008, 8:32 pmi just discover that SpeedMod tomato not much different from stock Tomato. Now i just flashed to Tomato Victek after being poison from bro prasys.
Much more nice, esp QoS part .. u can QoS based on person instead of general in stock tomato firmware
-Teddy-
How strong do you guys set your transmit power to be? I'm on 70mW now, will it do any harm to the router or anything? The router is located at a place without fan and aircond, all by it's own.
biatche
tomato + mod > ddwrt
Intrigue
prasys... i just got the wrt54gl 2 days ago so i'm good to go for this firmware? Is there anything else that i need to take note of? I scare later kill my own router. THen as for the password and username. Is it the same?
-Teddy-
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 03:47 PM)
prasys... i just got the wrt54gl 2 days ago so i'm good to go for this firmware? Is there anything else that i need to take note of? I scare later kill my own router. THen as for the password and username. Is it the same?

I flashed mine within 5 minutes. For the username and password, both are "admin" in my case, if it won't work try "root". The only thing that troubles me after flashing is that I cannot find the place to enter my Streamyx login details, it's like hidden.

Just in case you are as blur as me, it's at Basic > Network > Choose PPPoE on the drop down menu (Type) under WAN / Internet. It took me quite sometime to look for it as I was searching on every single tab looking for the form, who knows it is hidden—considering I know quite nothing about those things.

Any free wifi signal strength monitor that will display signal strength in %? The bars aren't that reliable IMO.
Intrigue
another tomato-er reporting in!
prasys
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 06:09 PM)
another tomato-er reporting in!

Are you into p2p ?
Intrigue
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 27 2008, 06:24 PM)
Are you into p2p ?

yea.. definitely.. thats what streamyx for.
prasys
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 06:50 PM)
yea.. definitely.. thats what streamyx for.

Use Speedmod version or the modded version. It improves overall RAM usage and total number of connections.
Intrigue
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 25 2008, 05:42 PM)
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=d7e...5941c8f6d1ec491

I am using that

_ Updated to BusyBox 1.10.2 (IP WAN DHCP renew tested and fixed)
_ JHash Conntrack 8092 connection (Speed Mod)
_ Conntrack default values adjusted for high P2P load
_ Theme for visual handicaped
_ Eight additional themes, Bluedream, Enlightenedd, Tijuana, Asus, Linksys, Buffalo
_ Spain TZ included
_ CPU Frequency.
_ Previous IP display
_ Two additional window for Button script
_ Bandwidth Limiter per IP/MAC
_ Code Optimization

It comes with SpeedMod + lots of mods and its way faster. It has improved QoS , which is better then regular Tomato !

http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57912

i'm using this
xjukie
so we can say speedmod for p2p geek and victek for superb QoS?
prasys
QUOTE(xjukie @ Jun 27 2008, 09:21 PM)
so we can say speedmod for p2p geek and victek for superb QoS?

victek is jack of all trades. Victeck mod's includes the speedmod + Improved QoS. But since it has some extras , it doesn't give you as much of Free RAM as Speedmod's firmware. Both do have its pros and cons. If you are more into p2p and you want more memory space , then opt for speedmod. but if you're into qosing and p2p too , then opt for Victek
amyhs99
Just switch from dd-wrt to the tasty tomato. When i'm using dd-wrt v24, i got dhcp problem. Now everything is solved after switch to tomato.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.