88 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

JPJ to crack down on HID and tinting by July 2008, Alert Alert

kazasho
post Apr 7 2008, 10:50 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

ok guys, listen up. This is TSP, as they call me at JPJ. At first I am a bit reluctant to join the forum, but after some persuasion by my son, I thought why not. But I am not 100% ready technically. Anyway, my engineers at the Automotive Engineering Division will be able to clarify everything that need to be clarify.

At this stage I just want to point out that having HID bulb fitted in your car/vehicle is not an offence. What is wrong is when it is retrofit. The offence is Menggubahsuai Kenderaan Tanpa Kebenaran. Meaning to say, SUV which is brought into the country which has been fitted with the HID bulb is alright. As any other car/vehicle, it has to go through PUSPAKOM for inspection before it can be registered. At PUSPAKOM these cars/vehicles will have no problem since Malaysia is a signatory of UNECE, which mean to say, Malaysia must abide with all the related UNECE regulations. We are keeping abreast with the latest technology. don't worry about that.

On the tinted glass, it is different story altogether. Tinted glass are not allowed. They need to allow 70% light penetration for the front windscreen and the rest should be having 50% light penetration. Only the minister can approve cars/vehicles to have tinted glass. And his considerations for it, is if a person is having certain kind of skin disease (endorse by govt skin specialist) and also for security reason (police reports as one of the prove, no false police report please). Other that, the King, Head of State, Chief of Armed Forces, IGP and Supreme and High Court Judges are automatically allowed for their cars to be tinted. Other than that, no no. PUSPAKOM will NEVER pass a car with tinted glass during their inspection.

Tuan Salim Parlan (TSP)
Director of Enforcement
JPJ

PS : Please don't call JPJ/me names.
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 10:54 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Tuan Salim, thank you for your clarification on this matter
i would like to know more about HID
is there any standard guidelines in order for our aftermarket HIDs to be certified/used?

thank you again for kind explanation

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Apr 7 2008, 10:56 PM
Azuma-kun
post Apr 7 2008, 11:04 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

By the way Tuan Salim, i would like to know if there any guidelines for those officer like certain temperature (Kelvin), certain brightness.
I think it's not fair if we conclude it all HID should be summoned.

kazasho
post Apr 7 2008, 11:10 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Apr 7 2008, 10:54 PM)
Tuan Salim, thank you for your clarification on this matter
i would like to know more about HID
is there any standard guidelines in order for our aftermarket HIDs to be certified/used?

thank you again for kind explanation
I will refer the matter to my engineers. Generally it has to comply with the UNECE Regulation on brightness, installation and if I am not mistaken Regulation on the source of power ( I stand to be corrected by the JPJ engineers who drafted the UNECE regulation to be part of regulations under the Road Transport Act)

Added on April 7, 2008, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 7 2008, 11:04 PM)
By the way Tuan Salim, i would like to know if there any guidelines for those officer like certain temperature (Kelvin), certain brightness.
I think it's not fair if we conclude it all HID should be summoned.
As what I have said in my press conference, we are not going to issue any summon as yet. Not until July. For the moment we will just isuue notice for those using the retrofited HID bulbs to be replace with the original bulbs.

tsp

This post has been edited by kazasho: Apr 7 2008, 11:14 PM
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 11:16 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 7 2008, 11:10 PM)
I will refer the matter to my engineers. Generally it has to comply with the UNECE Regulation on brightness, installation and if I am not mistaken Regulation on the source of power ( I stand to be corrected by the  JPJ engineers who drafted the UNECE regulation to be part of regulations under the Road Transport Act)
Sorry for troubling you, Tuan Salim, but I've been warned by traffic police for 2 times & summon 2 times in a short duration of 6 months
Last year somewhere in Oct, I sent my car voluntarily to JPJ Muar, Johor for HID inspection
To my surprise, JPJ Muar doesn't even bother to check when I mentioned about HID
And I've to go back to Batu Pahat and wasted my 1 hour traveling to another town in order to get approval
So I hope JPJ will provide a standard guidelines for HID users like us to get approved

Added on April 7, 2008, 11:19 pm

Added on April 7, 2008, 11:14 pm

As what I have said in my press conference, we are not going to issue any summon as yet. Not until July. For the moment we will just isuue notice for those using the retrofited HID bulbs to be replace with the original bulbs.

tsp
Traffic police/police has already started to issue summons since last year
When I was summoned last year, I personally asked the reason of the summon
One of the police showed me the authority warrant, and I'm very surprised
We do sincerely hope that they'll give us time to study the rules & regulations better

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Apr 7 2008, 11:19 PM
kazasho
post Apr 7 2008, 11:24 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

thanks for the feedbacks. I will definately take up this matter to the highest authority. And will issue directives for all jpj offices to comply. Still on how to inspect, I will get the advice of the Automitive Engineering Division of JPJ
Azuma-kun
post Apr 7 2008, 11:26 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

tsp
Understand that JPJ will not issue the summons.
Or should we install then go for inspection?
I hope we can hear a good news after all the research has been done.

This post has been edited by Azuma-kun: Apr 7 2008, 11:27 PM
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 11:29 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 7 2008, 11:26 PM)
Understand that JPJ will not issue the summons.
Or should we install then go for inspection?
I hope we can hear a good news after all the research has been done.
i still remain my HID in my fog lamp, but removed my headlamp
so i hope JPJ will allow us for inspection so we can use it properly without any disturbance/irritation to other road users
we look forward to Tuan Salim's good news on this matter
kazasho
post Apr 7 2008, 11:42 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

TSP<-----go to sleep already, I think tomorrow he will go Johor

nways, I will bookmark this page.. sory for the late reply, my father also forgot to reply here while I cant post any reply b'coz my my lyn acc got problem. Thanx wkkay for helping me last night

From what I understand, you cant change anything illegally, if wanna change then go to puspakom for inspection..

Tinted is illegal~ some said that their cars are approved by puspakom? in this situation, my father said that when they sent to puspakom, they change the windows,so the cars are approve, but the real things is the windows they are using are tinted..macam cover line la
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 11:46 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 7 2008, 11:42 PM)
TSP<-----go to sleep already, I think tomorrow he will go Johor

nways, I will bookmark this page.. sory for the late reply, my father also forgot to reply here while I cant post any reply b'coz my my lyn acc got problem. Thanx wkkay for helping me last night

From what I understand, you cant change anything illegally, if wanna change then go to puspakom for inspection..

Tinted is illegal~ some said that their cars are approved by puspakom? in this situation, my father said that when they sent to puspakom, they change the windows,so the cars are approve, but the real things is the windows they are using are tinted..macam cover line la
thank you for helping us, and please thank your dad on our behalf
tomorrow is johor sultan's birthday, so we're having a public holiday here

i admit that for tinted glass, it's true that grey importers changed the windows before inspection and change back to original tinted
but for HID, i believe puspakom nor JPJ has standard guidelines, so it's debatable here

please let us have the updates/progress on HID situation
Azuma-kun
post Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Actually it's good to have a response from somebody higher.
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM)
Actually it's good to have a response from somebody higher.
yes, i agree on your statement
but the problem is Tn Salim said JPJ only issue notices to HID offenders, while traffic police/police already started to summon us!
so which is which? i'm confused too
i feel like cutting out the newspaper article to show them, but since JPJ and police are not co-operating, i hold back my decision
Azuma-kun
post Apr 7 2008, 11:56 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

My foglight is aftermarket. Can fit with hid also?
andyjyneo
post Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 7 2008, 11:56 PM)
My foglight is aftermarket. Can fit with hid also?
yup, but it's better for you to enquire car lamp accessories shop first
beware, it'll be very bright
Azuma-kun
post Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Huhu...3000k also bright right.
I think i want the 3000k only.
andyjyneo
post Apr 8 2008, 12:01 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM)
Huhu...3000k also bright right.
I think i want the 3000k only.
yes, it'll be bright no matter how many Ks
so be careful... i think it's better to wait for guidelines from Tn Salim first
there're 3 more months left, so let's wait
Azuma-kun
post Apr 8 2008, 12:21 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Something like this one.
sonic_cd
post Apr 8 2008, 12:23 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 7 2008, 10:50 PM)
ok guys, listen up. This is TSP, as they call me at JPJ. At first I am a bit reluctant to join the forum, but after some persuasion by my son, I thought why not. But I am not 100% ready technically. Anyway, my engineers at the Automotive Engineering Division will be able to clarify everything that need to be clarify.

At this stage I just want to point out that having HID bulb fitted in your car/vehicle is not an offence. What is wrong is when it is retrofit. The offence is Menggubahsuai Kenderaan Tanpa Kebenaran. Meaning to say, SUV which is brought into the country which has been fitted with the HID bulb is alright. As any other car/vehicle, it has to go through PUSPAKOM for inspection before it can be registered. At PUSPAKOM these cars/vehicles will have no problem since Malaysia is a signatory of UNECE, which mean to say, Malaysia must abide with all  the related UNECE regulations. We are keeping abreast with the latest technology. don't worry about that.

On the tinted glass, it is different story altogether. Tinted glass are not allowed. They need to allow 70% light penetration for the front windscreen and the rest should be having 50% light penetration. Only the minister can approve cars/vehicles to have tinted glass. And his considerations  for it,  is if a person is having  certain kind of skin disease (endorse by govt skin  specialist) and also for security reason (police reports as one of the prove, no false police report please). Other that, the King, Head of State, Chief of Armed Forces, IGP and Supreme and High  Court Judges are automatically allowed for their cars to be tinted. Other than that, no no. PUSPAKOM will NEVER pass a car with tinted glass during their inspection.
Tuan Salim Parlan (TSP)
Director of Enforcement
JPJ

PS : Please don't call JPJ/me names.
um mm .. sir , what about those imported vehicles from japan witch comes default with the privacy glass ? judging by your replies on the tint, they would have autmatically failed already upon puspakom inspection .
andyjyneo
post Apr 8 2008, 12:26 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Apr 8 2008, 12:23 AM)
um mm .. sir , what about those imported vehicles from japan witch comes default with the privacy glass ? judging by your replies on the tint, they would have autmatically failed already upon puspakom inspection .
Tn Salim means those default privacy glass is illegal in m'sia because grey importers took them out and replace with clear glass
after inspection, they'll place back the original tinted glass, and there you go... selling at shops

Added on April 8, 2008, 12:26 am
QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Apr 8 2008, 12:21 AM)
Something like this one.
that'll be very bright, bro
but i advise you to wait for Tn Salim's further explanation

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Apr 8 2008, 12:26 AM
sonic_cd
post Apr 8 2008, 12:27 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Apr 8 2008, 12:26 AM)
Tn Salim means those default privacy glass is illegal in m'sia because grey importers took them out and replace with clear glass
after inspection, they'll place back the original tinted glass, and there you go... selling at shops
oh crap,, that serisouly does not sound good @ all ... sweat.gif

88 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:21 AM