9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

TV3 News: Laptop Detector Exist and widely avai.

TSazbro
post Aug 8 2007, 02:26 PM, updated 19y ago

4,403 posts

Anyone saw the news yesterday? Seems like they were reporting on missing laptop and how the tracking device can be bought in some electronic shops.

And one of those so call experts even gave a few tips how to avoid our laptop being detected by covering it with a 'Periuk'.

So the Myth does exist...
sjn hassan
post Aug 8 2007, 02:29 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

did u saw it?how to avoid?
SiuYi
post Aug 8 2007, 02:32 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

actually wat was it all about..i tink i miz the news.
TSazbro
post Aug 8 2007, 02:32 PM

4,403 posts

Seems like there are 2 models that are popular...

So better be wary and get yourself a backpack to bring along your lappy.

I'm not kidding, it was in the news yesterday..

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 8 2007, 02:33 PM
@meno
post Aug 8 2007, 02:36 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Sometimes backpacks might cause even more harm.
I have quite a few friends who encountered snatch cases in areas of Pudu. One fell and injured himself during the whole thing happened. It is no longer safe to bring lappies around nowadays.

Can someone provide some information on how to avoid the laptop detectors?(Except for covering with periuk lar). I heard some saying that removing the laptop battery will help, is there any logic in that?
Aoshi_88
post Aug 8 2007, 02:41 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Wrap the laptop in aluminium foil. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
sexy boyz
post Aug 8 2007, 02:42 PM

1/3 Warnings
79 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 8 2007, 02:36 PM)
I have quite a few friends who encountered snatch cases in areas of Pudu. One fell and injured himself during the whole thing happened. It is no longer safe to bring lappies around nowadays.

Can someone provide some information on how to avoid the laptop detectors?(Except for covering with periuk lar). I heard some saying that removing the laptop battery will help, is there any logic in that?
ive heard bout that oso
the laptop detector only detect the laptop battery..not the laptop itself hmm.gif

penguin_ex
post Aug 8 2007, 02:42 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Aug 8 2007, 02:36 PM)

Porbably cut off the power supply to the laptop stops any activity ..... i guess tongue.gif , anyone please explain .... cry.gif
kanethesun
post Aug 8 2007, 02:46 PM

1,426 posts

tv3 news?
what time?
during the prime time or midnight?
inoitu
post Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(penguin_ex @ Aug 8 2007, 02:42 PM)
Porbably cut off the power supply to the laptop stops any activity ..... i guess tongue.gif , anyone please explain .... cry.gif
Saw it last night. The cheapest detector is about RM 40.00 @ Jln. Pasar roadside stalls too can get. Maybe someone can buy and check with the "periuk" thing and post out findings here. On another thought. Isnt closing the car's boot almost like puting the laptop in a periuk? of course there are gaps in the in the baclight areas etc.
derred
post Aug 8 2007, 02:48 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

seems like a good business to whoever can create a undetectable laptop backpack but the during airport check up, they'll think u ...

I for once will never leave my laptop in car no matter what, if not for security reason, for heat problem. Excessive exposure to heat will cause damage to any notebook in the long term. Get a backpack that doesnt look like a laptop backpack. Prolly like a northface or sum sheet. Im screwed then. Anyone want to buy my laptop bag then?
eddy230379
post Aug 8 2007, 02:49 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

luckily they cannot detect the cmos battery in our lappy's mobo ...

or could they ???

sweat.gif
derred
post Aug 8 2007, 02:50 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

I think they detecting the boot right? Coz i definitely wont leave any stuff on driver or passenger seats. Some ppl just break cars just for the smarttag.

This post has been edited by derred: Aug 8 2007, 02:51 PM
vBOy
post Aug 8 2007, 02:54 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Aug 8 2007, 02:50 PM)
I think they detecting the boot right? Coz i definitely wont leave any stuff on driver or passenger seats. Some ppl just break cars just for the smarttag.
better don't buy smart tag d... dangerous... rclxub.gif
callmepaper
post Aug 8 2007, 03:02 PM

书到用时方恨少
1,319 posts

but don't you need the battery? how do you gonna hide the battery? the moment the detected it, you lappy should be exposed. though, i had seen many cases lappies are being stolen from gym changing room.
sir_impesto
post Aug 8 2007, 03:14 PM

729 posts

cud anone go and check out the jalan pasar notebook detector. Learn how it operates and share wif us how to avoid it.

eddy230379
post Aug 8 2007, 03:18 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

not pluggin i the lappy's battery is not a problem but could anyone verify if they can detect from our cmos battery that is in our motherboard that keeps track of the time and date ??? sweat.gif
death_nite
post Aug 8 2007, 04:00 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

i watched the news....not only dat it can detect ur notebook...they will even try to unlock ur car...they try to read ur alarm wireless signal n then ur car will unlock itself...the size of the detector will b as small as pen...

more hitech one would b able to determine either its notebook or digital camera...

well dats wat i saw in tv3 8pm news....last monday nite...

on the other hand, my lecturer own this stuff...n he said it detect ur wifi signal...even u edy shutdown ur notebook, ur wifi still emit small signal...better way is to remove the battery from ur notebook...

my opinion? NEVER leave ur notebook inside ur car...

edit: i need logical explanation how the hell it can detect battery/cmos battery...erh...battery did emit any signal? i wondering....

This post has been edited by death_nite: Aug 8 2007, 04:03 PM
Aileron
post Aug 8 2007, 04:06 PM

244 posts

yeah...better don't leave your laptop in your car..
2 of my friends laptop got stolen at the same time in Subang Parade Carpark
they both left their laptops in their own car and both got stolen,
1 of them had 2 laptops in the car somemore, cry man

because of this detector their laptops got stolen..
shockk
post Aug 8 2007, 04:08 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,882 posts

wt* . they really exist ah? shocking.gif

that's really scary. some more rm40. sweat.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled