Nokia E71 Thread V3, New firmware(v300.21.012) release on NSU

SUSOptiplex330
post May 18 2009, 11:57 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(e_trade_pj @ Apr 16 2009, 01:41 PM)

always use original charger[/b]
I suppose any Nokia charger from older Nokia phone will be ok, right?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 18 2009, 09:24 PM

12,696 posts

Never used these smartphone before so probably a dumb question. When you hook up the wifi and access Internet, what about virus? Do you have to install 3rd party antivirus programs etc just like normal pc?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 18 2009, 11:17 PM

12,696 posts

So you are saying these Nokia E series phone are basically naked. And the only defense is common sense and keeping finger crossed?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 19 2009, 07:01 AM

12,696 posts

Now here is another dumb question of mine. I read that these phone can read Microsoft Words, Excel and PDF files etc. Do you have to install any special software before you can do so or do these phones come already pre-loaded with the necessary software to do so? Thanks.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 20 2009, 03:25 PM

12,696 posts

Hi. Can you use free VOIP like Skype to another Skype user with these type of phone at wifi hotspot? If yes, how?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 20 2009, 03:26 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post May 20 2009, 07:48 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 20 2009, 03:38 PM)
yes by using fring..
Sorry, but what's fring?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 06:49 AM

12,696 posts

How much is an iphone in Malaysia and why aren't you people opting for that instead?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 10:00 AM

12,696 posts

As I said before, I have never used any phone with wifi ability to check email and free VOIP while traveling. But I only travel about 2 weeks in an year overseas so whatever device I pick, it must 1st of all be a great phone (lightweight, clear voice & long battery life) and with wifi as highly desirable secondary feature.

Originally I was looking at these Nokia smartphone but came across this iphone so seeking you people's advise.

SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 02:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 21 2009, 01:16 PM)
it is up to u lor.. those three factor ;lightweight(e71-->127g ; iphone--> 133g) clear voice(both same), long battery life (e71-->1500mAh ; iphone-->1300-1800mAh) but the battery life is almost the same lor.. wifi both hav it lor.
comparison:
iphone -->screen 320x480        ; e71 --> screen 320 x 240
          -->3.5 mm jack              ;        --> 2.5mm jack
          -->no card slot                ;        --> hav card slot
          -->no video cal                :        --> support video cal
          -->cant shoot video          ;        --> support video and picture capture
          -->no radio                      ;        -->hav radio
          -->no java                      ;        --> support java
          -->620mhz                      ;        --> 369mhz processor (although half but i would said it is equal power)

conclusion: e71 (business phone with a dice of media) iphone (media phone with a dice of something of everything)
                if u like style, both r stylish but it is down to user preference lor.. some prefer e71 some dont
Thank you very much. And can both open normal office documents and pdf files? And since it is mainly for my business usage, which is more reliable and tougher built to stand abuse?

And beatlesalbum, what's your beef? Can't ask questions here?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 05:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ May 21 2009, 03:32 PM)
and see you have just made this a iphone vs e71 vs/bashing thread. which is not the point of this thread. this is a symbian model phone specific thread! 
you want to highlight or ask this you can always start a topic in the main thread, because in here we are specifically talking about this phone and its issues, problems, and other stuff related to this model.
I suggest you reread the rules of this forum before just yapping like a batu api
What's wrong with you? Just have a fight with your misses? I am not surprised you did with you sort of attitude.

Bashing? Why are you so touching when somebody else mention iphone? You should go see a psychiatrist. You are one damaged goods.

FYI, I am not bashing anything. As I said before, I have never used any smartphone before and since I have always used Nokia, I automatically think of those from Nokia. And since a friend also mentioned iphone, I thought the best way to know more is ask those who knows both. You can shut your mouth if you don't want to answer any of my queries.

Now go ahead, go cry to mama.

Added on May 21, 2009, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(domokun @ May 21 2009, 03:31 PM)
This is an E71 thread..specifically for E71!
So you are saying one shouldn't mention any alternative to E71? Why are you so scared of comparison? I suggest you move to some communist country whereby freedom of choice isn't an option.

Added on May 21, 2009, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 21 2009, 04:16 PM)
i will tell u for the e71 part.. yes.. u can do almost everything u able to do on the pc with e71.. office and pdf is handled easily using e71 .. reliable and tough la.. unless u wanna hentam it to the floor.. some review on e71 being abuse http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/999331/+700 -->post 712
Thank you. I think I now have a general idea of what to expect from these smartphone. Having given it some thought, I think I will go for the conventional keypad like E51 or the E52 instead because >95% of my usage will be using it as a phone. I don't think I can handle the small keypad of E71.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 21 2009, 05:16 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 05:22 PM

12,696 posts

One more question. With past non-smart Nokia, the one thing I don't like is the slow responsive time. How about these Symbian powered Nokia? Are they better or just as bad?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 05:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 21 2009, 05:25 PM)
Of course i am using both 5800XM and E71 no lag and other thing i think iphone is not worth because 2 E71 = 1 Iphone.
With that money i can buy a cool notebook and 1 phone so depends how rich u r. If u r rich its for you
I didn't know iphone cost twice as much as E71. Thanks for telling me that. And ya, I think this is the No1 reason for me to not consider iphone.

BTW, does anyone know when would the E52 be launched in Malaysia and any indicative price?
SUSOptiplex330
post May 21 2009, 10:27 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 21 2009, 09:27 PM)
Some ppl said buy phone will always lose money but to tell u the truth ive sell my phone and made some bucks there.
Depends on what you use your phone for.

When used properly, business smartphone can increase productivity and hence more money.

Of course if only for meaningless chit chat and to show off, you will lose money.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: May 21 2009, 10:38 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post May 23 2009, 07:45 PM

12,696 posts

Nokia smartphone like this E71 and using Skype VOIP service. I only have experience with pc to pc so is there any difference with mobile phone? Better? Worst? Same? Difficulties?

SUSOptiplex330
post May 27 2009, 02:16 PM

12,696 posts

Hi. How safe it is to use credit card buying stuff over the internet using this smartphone? I am thinking of buying Air Asia ticket. Thanks.

0.0600sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:07 AM