Nokia E71 Thread V3, New firmware(v300.21.012) release on NSU

domokun
post May 28 2009, 10:28 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(edentan85 @ May 28 2009, 10:23 AM)
hi all, I jut bought my E71, everything seems fine, but just the battery life, I am not a heavy user, seldom use WIFI, musics, players...normal daily call will be about 20 mins only, but the battery can only last for 2 days...is this not normal?
Virgin battery normally like dat lah...sometimes I get 2 1/2 days..with heavy usage..sometimes only 1 day..but if ur not using 3G..switch it off & also switch off ur wi-fi scan..& dont leave other unused application running!

That should do the job!

Added on May 28, 2009, 10:32 am
QUOTE(satur9 @ May 27 2009, 02:57 PM)
It would be better for you to read the user guide (available as a free PDF download from Webgate's site).

Since you only asked about the answering machine function, I guess you already know how to reject callers and set up black/white-lists, profiles, schedules, etc.

Here's the brief version:

1)  Options > Preferences > General > *Answ. Mach. After (seconds) > **Max. Msg. Duration (seconds)
*Set shorter time (0-1 secs) if you don't intend to answer any calls, so they go straight to voicemail. If you want to select your callers, set a longer time.
**If you don't want callers to leave messages, set it to 0sec. If yes, then allow at least 30-60secs.

2)  Record your message: Greetings > Record new
You can record as many greetings as you like. Different one for each white/black-list or different time of day (profile/scheduler).

3)  Return to main menu: Default action > Answering machine > Greeting name (choose whichever recorded greeting you want)
You can set one main greeting for everyone (Default action) and at the same time special/personal greetings for selected persons. Example, one for your boss, one for your girlfriend/boyfriend, one for your best friend, etc. These special greetings will have to be set under white/black-lists and if you want extra control, profiles and scheduler.

Very nice application, eh? thumbup.gif
It's not a recording application. Only answering machine, call divert/forwarding and white/black-list functions. It comes preloaded on the E71, free and LEGAL, courtesy of Nokia.
rclxub.gif still cant get it to work!

This post has been edited by domokun: May 28 2009, 10:32 AM
domokun
post May 28 2009, 11:04 AM

707 posts

[quote=edentan85,May 28 2009, 10:57 AM]
[quote=domokun,May 28 2009, 10:28 AM]
Virgin battery normally like dat lah...sometimes I get 2 1/2 days..with heavy usage..sometimes only 1 day..but if ur not using 3G..switch it off & also switch off ur wi-fi scan..& dont leave other unused application running!

That should do the job!
So you mean new battery is normally like is and it will get better eventually? I will try on your suggestions and see if things improved...because the sales person told me the battery life is strong but then turned out not as true.. doh.gif

[/quote]

Eh..wat he says its true! It is strong compare to others..I'm a heavy user..with loads of calls, sms, 24hours online (email application), vibrates, online chatting..i get 2 days..if I use wifi probaly 1day++
domokun
post May 28 2009, 11:18 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(edentan85 @ May 28 2009, 11:10 AM)
but mine battery macam not very lasting...u heavy user still can last for 2 days, I am not heavy user but mine can only last for 2 days...u think if changee battery will help? hmm.gif
How long have u been using ur phone? days? months?
domokun
post May 28 2009, 11:25 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(edentan85 @ May 28 2009, 11:21 AM)
only 1 week.. hmm.gif
Sabar lah bro! I felt exactly the same during my 1st week doh.gif ..pondering why the battery like cant last as long as wot other user claim to be..then u'll realise the full potential of the battery capacity.

But do check on some settings & applications, turn the unnecessary off! U need to do abit of conservation too..like lighting timing, powersave functions, etc... nod.gif
domokun
post May 29 2009, 10:18 AM

707 posts

Guys,

I'm having this really weird problem...I've sent several text to my bud (E71 oso)..the SMS content are text & numbers...the funny thing is..my report shows pending!!! But when I text him "Receive my sms..blah blah blah" ok wor! doh.gif

But I've sent text & numbers in my sms to other ppl before its ok! blink.gif

Wot u guys think is the problem eh? My phone or my bud's E71?

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by domokun: May 29 2009, 10:18 AM
domokun
post May 31 2009, 04:05 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(mizzlynne @ May 31 2009, 03:50 PM)
thanks so much with the reply!  biggrin.gif
Yeap..go to the 1st page @ post #3, there u will find a seller there! thumbup.gif
domokun
post Jun 7 2009, 05:17 PM

707 posts

Guys,

Any of your frens planning to get E71?

I'm selling off mine.. sad.gif

I NEED CASH URGENT!!!

Please help out here...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1055321

sad.gif
domokun
post Jun 9 2009, 06:35 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 8 2009, 04:34 PM)
u mean u press *#0000# nothing happen.. tat is serious shit.. it should giv u the info for ur current firmware de
tried *#06# d? if tat also still cant.. doh.gif  doh.gif i think u got conned
yes the default passcode for format is 12345, urs is ap set of avaxx set? ap set, format with cautious, as u will make it displaying it country of origin.
Wei...I sold him the phone lar! U calling me a con man sad.gif

I had to sell my lovely 71 to smokey coz i needed cash badly!!! cry.gif

I even removed my siggy bar...but guys u know wot..I WILL BE BACK brows.gif

This post has been edited by domokun: Jun 9 2009, 06:38 PM
domokun
post Jun 9 2009, 06:41 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 9 2009, 06:38 PM)
borat_voice in garmin xt

damn funny, i m jus sharing tis to all e71 user here .. i laugh the moment my e71 is giving me direction,
the procedure: Unrar, put it in to your garmin voices directory and rename it to the same name as one of the pre-installed voices; eg English_British_.vpm

giv it a try and laugh it out

Added on June 9, 2009, 6:39 pm

no la.. i mana tahu it is urs.. no hard feeling, as the way it was saying i thought he got a dummies phone ma..
I didnt even know I've changed my sek chiu code!!! Sorry Smokey! notworthy.gif

I oredi crying every night ler cry.gif

But I will be back..next month...muahahahaha..maybe move to N97 brows.gif
domokun
post Jun 9 2009, 08:21 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 9 2009, 06:44 PM)
haha.. since it is urs.. i think he should be doing fine and can ask u directly if anything.. wah kaya kawan upgrading to n97 pulak.. hehehe wanna play with fp2 technology pulak  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif .
hope our e71 get a fp2 upgrade soon sad.gif
Hehe...no lah..wait for gaji, then decide lor..been waiting for N97 tho..anyway I carry 2 phones..need to get wan back soonest possible! thumbup.gif

I've only used my E71 for 1.5 months only leh..enjoying my google anytime anywhere wif my ex-71 laugh.gif

If not of short of cash, I wouldnt even think about upgrades & selling off my 71..i mean ex-71..its the best I've ever used thumbup.gif

domokun
post Jun 10 2009, 10:53 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 10 2009, 10:00 AM)
ok...now i know when in 'General' profile, the lcd wont blink when the phone rings...and can mute the ring tone jz by pressing the 'options'...

in 'silent' profile, the lcd will blink when the phone rings...and cannot mute the vibration...

thx domokun for his phone...hehe...beginning to master symbian...
Please take good care of her laugh.gif
domokun
post Jun 15 2009, 03:53 PM

707 posts

Nokia E72

The Nokia E72 extends the functionality of its forerunner with a 5 megapixel camera, HSUPA (up to 2Mbps) and faster HSDPA (Up to 10Mbps). The UMTS support has upgraded and now the E72 will come with two tri-band versions (850/1900/2100 Mhz and 900/1900/2100 Mhz). The best part is that the Nokia E72 has managed to maintain the slim 10mm waistline of its predecessor, despite the added goodies.

Among the other goodies on board the new Nokia E72 is the new optical Navi key, which serves as an optical trackpad for going through menus and applications and the electronic compass that enhances the GPS navigation experience.

The rest of the Nokia E72 features are pretty much on par with the E71 - S60 3rd edition UI, a 2.4" QVGA landscape screen, microSD card slot and FM radio. On the connectivity end we've got WLAN, A-GPS, FM radio and quad-band GSM. There's also a 3.5mm standard audio jack, Bluetooh and USB onboard.

The Nokia E72 is expected to begin shipping late in the third quarter of 2009. It will be available in Zodium Black, Metal Grey and Topaz Brown. It expected price tag is 350 euro before subsidies and taxes with a 4GB microSD card in the box and a lifetime license for Nokia messaging.

This post has been edited by domokun: Jun 15 2009, 03:59 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
domokun
post Jun 15 2009, 04:29 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Jun 15 2009, 04:24 PM)
Its going to be darn expensive when it launches IMO. I'm still getting my E71 tonight even with this piece of news. Late 3rd quarter means around September which means 3 months more from now approx. and probably another 6 months till its price drops to a reasonalbe level. By the time I'd have used my E71 for 9 months if I buy it tonight. Still okay for me IMO
I guess by the time the launch this in Malaysia should be sometime before xmas around RM1.7-1.8K
domokun
post Jun 18 2009, 11:32 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 17 2009, 05:13 PM)
So fast letting go domokun e71 d? Sien with it so fast meh? Y.. Try ask domokun c whether he wanna buy bac.. Lol..
doh.gif
domokun
post Jul 8 2009, 11:37 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(goodiefish @ Jul 8 2009, 11:23 PM)
sometimes i notice the phone light blinking (I set notification to 5 min) although there's no missed call or sms or calender event or whatever.  Why is it so?
Thats the breathing light...if u carefully notice, when theres a missed call or msg..it will blink faster!
domokun
post Jul 8 2009, 11:54 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(goodiefish @ Jul 8 2009, 11:52 PM)
Breathing light? Umm, is that necessary? coz my battery finishes very fast, like less than 2 days although i only use like sending 5-10 sms and 2 calls and morning alarm between charges everytime.  how do i disable it?
Dont think it'll drain much of ur batt lar..u can find it @ phone settings > display..its there!
domokun
post Aug 12 2009, 04:41 PM

707 posts

I'm back! Just bought myself a E71 black steel for the 2nd time...LOL laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by domokun: Aug 12 2009, 04:41 PM
domokun
post Aug 16 2009, 12:44 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 15 2009, 05:12 PM)
hello, i went to buy this phone today and it was priced RM100 more than last week. According to the shopkeeper, Nokia updated some messaging software so it's priced higher by Nokia. In that case, does it mean existing users have to pay to upgrade the firmware?  icon_question.gif
No lar...

#1 The guy was bullshiting about the firmware upgrade (Not honest seller) vmad.gif

#2 The price was up RM100 due to shortage of stocks..u can check wif etradepj..our trader here..he's price has too has gone! doh.gif

domokun
post Aug 19 2009, 02:30 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 19 2009, 12:15 PM)
I'm not sure if there's any more things to tweak, but mine is also average 0.14-0.17W now, and it last me a total of 6 days with few calls and surfing. So i think urs will be ok. Provide u have ori battery.

Added on August 19, 2009, 12:20 pm

Well i think u did alot on the search b4 buying. It's a wise choice and yr dad unit i think it's a good deal for an ori set. With car charger and 4GB disk.

(Still regreting of the AP set i bought  doh.gif )

Added on August 19, 2009, 12:27 pmGuy, i see many of u want to be listed in the E71 list, so what's the benefit? it's just for display?

i wanted to ask about E71 theme, there's few problem about installing theme from website. I'll quote theme from Zedge.
Once DL the theme, i install via PC suite / copy to phone. it'll popup certificate problem, solve it by "switch to All" in the installation option. But after that will popup it's not compatible??
and for those that's smooth installation..the wallpaper always seem to be "draged". Maybe our E71 screen is 320 x 240 and not 240 x 320? rclxub.gif
Walau..so power ar? Can last 6 days shocking.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0248sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:03 AM