Best value for money:- Full HD LCD

lightning69
post Apr 14 2009, 10:42 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Apr 14 2009, 09:28 PM)
What is the best value for money for  42 " inch LCD TV (with Full HD) ?

so far here is wat I gathered

1) Panasonic LCD 42"  approx. RM3,500

2) Toshiba LCD 42"  approx. RM3,100
any other recommendations  ????

Requirements :-
1) 60% Astro
2) 40% DVD (pirated, normal, and maybe in future Blue ray)
Which model?

lightning69
post Apr 16 2009, 12:18 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Apr 14 2009, 10:47 PM)
toshiba 42RV500E Full HD LCD  (RM3600)

vs

panasonic 42LZ80MK Full HD (RM3300)

vs

sony 42 S400 full HD (RM3xxx)
which one will u choose ?

thumbup.gif
I will go for the Toshiba because its a 10 bit panel, while the rest is only 8 bit panel. Correct me if I am wrong.
lightning69
post Apr 16 2009, 06:53 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(saratoga @ Apr 16 2009, 09:10 AM)
yes, 10 bit, but dun betray your eyes.... you cannot tell anything when playing astro, dvd, tv, HD signal... maybe FHD 1080p with best quality only show the minor tad difference. Only toshiba support PIP which is none for panny.

Added on April 16, 2009, 9:11 amone more thing, the panny LZ800/LX800 series with also 8 bits will BEAT the toshiba anytime, cause they are sooo much better the PQ.
8 bit vs 10 bit panel...no difference! Maybe you have poor eyes. The difference will be obvious when viewing blue sky or a big area with same color like blue ocean. 10 bit have more shades of color therefore appear smoother.

Also, base on what did you say pany's picture quality is so much better than the toshiba? The last i check on cnet asia reviews, Toshiba got 1 in the top 5 full HD LCD, and sharp got 1 LCD in top 5 ...but i see non of Panasonic!!!
lightning69
post Apr 18 2009, 03:34 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(saratoga @ Apr 16 2009, 11:17 PM)
I have to trust my eyes... compare them side by side you will know. I was twice noticed the softness or poor-to-normal PQ displayed by 42rv500, when comparing side by side of all of the brands one can tell. However, I saw when playing 1080i/p signal to toshiba, it performs good for the money. One thing I should say: 42rv500 not really good in handling dvd/tv/astro signals, but sad that these are the moment most people enjoy most for now! The panny LZ800 series really outshine toshiba hands down by big gap. LZ80 is good for the money, which is ~ rm300 - 400 less. For sharp, they are too expensive, though is good.
Showroom comparison is never accurate as the LCDs have different settings. Its only fair to pass judgement when comparing 2 LCD that is properly calibrated.

0.0138sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:03 PM