is civic EK still worth it?, asking opinion...:)

TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 08:50 PM, updated 17y ago

450 posts

hi there
i'm thinking of buying a car that is within budget 30k-35k
whats in my mind are the civic EK
dont mind la it is big V or small V, but obviously big V cannot get at that price range
i'm thinking of starting with a small V, then later if got extra cash can la convert
moreover i'm getting married this year, so need to save somemore
so converting to big V can be considered after married la blush.gif

so what do u guys think?
any other car option to be considered on 30k-35k range?
or just proceed with i'm thinking of
i just wanna have easy maintenance and fuel efficient car, no headache for me
in our country u know la, only japanese car mostly easy maintenance, not for continental smile.gif
ah liew
post Apr 14 2009, 08:53 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

Yes is worth it.

PM Moon, he has an EK.
http://forum.lowyat.net/user/10052

Sifu Moon will enlighten you. bruce.gif
TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 09:21 PM

450 posts

i oredi pm him asking his opinion
see what he say smile.gif
huakenny
post Apr 14 2009, 09:24 PM

384 posts

its a good car
TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 09:30 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Apr 14 2009, 09:24 PM)
its a good car
ok
any opinion more?
Travies
post Apr 14 2009, 09:30 PM

1,048 posts

still very cun... nice to drive.
huakenny
post Apr 14 2009, 09:32 PM

384 posts

but type R bodykit and engine is veli expensive to play smile.gif
mls_gamer
post Apr 14 2009, 09:36 PM

1,589 posts

ya..cos lot of ek user always ask me about mugen stuff~~~
theanswer
post Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM

1,024 posts

no need la b engine..just maintain the d engine...mod the exterior..white or yellow paint..slurrpp~

Added on April 14, 2009, 10:16 pmnway tht car still looks nice even after so many years manufactured.

This post has been edited by theanswer: Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM
tifosi
post Apr 14 2009, 10:22 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

Yeah, nice car to drive even after 13 years of owning it. smile.gif
Not much maintaince if you maintain it properly. FC for 'mini' vtec is about 16-18 cents with mixed driving style.

This post has been edited by tifosi: Apr 14 2009, 10:24 PM
ah liew
post Apr 14 2009, 10:25 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM)
no need la b engine..just maintain the d engine...mod the exterior..white or yellow paint..slurrpp~

Added on April 14, 2009, 10:16 pmnway tht car still looks nice even after so many years manufactured.
white with CF hood, banyak cun.... brows.gif

TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 10:47 PM

450 posts

not to mention type r
even original 99 bodypart oso expensive
maybe its due to demand
if another brand '96 car would have drop to 20k+
but this civic, still 30k+

i'm thinking of manual non vtec
is that enough
in my budget oredi
bibbyGirl
post Apr 14 2009, 11:27 PM

177 posts

no such thing as small v on EK. small v is from EF generation and no one will put it in a EK.

get a EK with d15 then turbo it. nice too.
Version 2
post Apr 14 2009, 11:39 PM

54 posts

man i love this car i'd eat myself if i were an ice-cream if i have this car
mADmAN
post Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM

10,530 posts

30-35k wont get u a B-series EK man...even a stock standard EK might be tough.... itll be about nice to get a B-series EG though...

worth it or not.....that would be entirely up to u...

and Small V and Big V... u need to learn this...

Small V
- refers first generation B16A DOHC VTEC usually found in Civic/CRX EF and Integra DA
- 160bhp with 4.2 Final Drive clutch cable gearboxes
- year 1988-1991
- n like bibbyGirl mentioned..no one will put this into an EK.

Big V
- refers to second generation B16A DOHC VTEC found in Civic EG n above
- 170bhp with 4.4 Final Drive clutch pump gearboxes (*mostly)
- year 1992 onwards

* i say mostly coz theres a 4.4 FD clutch cable gearbox which is ONLY available in the 92 Integra DA... very rare and is usually the best upgrade for the Small Vs

everything else is referred to as the engine number...eg. 1.8=B18C...etc etc..

Small and Big V are only used to refer to the B16As

my advice...if u already have the money for the marriage... then buy the car...if not...get married first...then start saving for the car. the car isnt a NEED...its a want. marriage is more important...

why im saying this is coz im in the same boat as u....currently saving to get married next year and my plans to get back into VTEC had to be put on hold, if not...no money to get married later coz all money will go to monthly installments and modding the car sad.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 12:33 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM)
30-35k wont get u a B-series EK man...even a stock standard EK might be tough.... itll be about nice to get a B-series EG though...

worth it or not.....that would be entirely up to u...
and Small V and Big V... u need to learn this...

Small V
- refers first generation B16A DOHC VTEC usually found in Civic/CRX EF and Integra DA
- 160bhp with 4.2 Final Drive clutch cable gearboxes
- year 1988-1991
- n like bibbyGirl mentioned..no one will put this into an EK.

Big V
- refers to second generation B16A DOHC VTEC found in Civic EG n above
- 170bhp with 4.4 Final Drive clutch pump gearboxes (*mostly)
- year 1992 onwards

* i say mostly coz theres a 4.4 FD clutch cable gearbox which is ONLY available in the 92 Integra DA... very rare and is usually the best upgrade for the Small Vs

everything else is referred to as the engine number...eg. 1.8=B18C...etc etc..

Small and Big V are only used to refer to the B16As
my advice...if u already have the money for the marriage... then buy the car...if not...get married first...then start saving for the car. the car isnt a NEED...its a want. marriage is more important...

why im saying this is coz im in the same boat as u....currently saving to get married next year and my plans to get back into VTEC had to be put on hold, if not...no money to get married later coz all money will go to monthly installments and modding the car sad.gif
oh i think there is a mistake in my statement
i thought the small V would be SOHC VTEC
didnt realise there is 2 types of DOHC VTEC rite now

ok so let me correct
actually finding EK might impossible at that price
but here got a lot of EJ model
i thought of finding non vtec manual one enough for me la for now
bibbyGirl
post Apr 15 2009, 02:30 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 12:33 AM)
oh i think there is a mistake in my statement
i thought the small V would be SOHC VTEC
didnt realise there is 2 types of DOHC VTEC rite now

ok so let me correct
actually finding EK might impossible at that price
but here got a lot of EJ model
i thought of finding non vtec manual one enough for me la for now
get the EK3 1.5 or local 1.6 EJ vtec

those engine are easy to turbo-ed. bulletproof engine up to 250hp if u have good management
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 10:55 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Apr 15 2009, 02:30 AM)
get the EK3 1.5 or local 1.6 EJ vtec

those engine are easy to turbo-ed. bulletproof engine up to 250hp if u have good management
VTEC cannot get at my price range la bro
but actually i'm more interested in getting 3 stage vtec
that one is a sleeper flex.gif
u can enjoy fuel efficient with 3 cylinders operating while at anytime u can prang when second vtec valve engaged brows.gif

imperialrealcs
post Apr 15 2009, 11:16 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 10:55 AM)
u can enjoy fuel efficient with 3 cylinders operating while at anytime u can prang when second vtec valve engaged brows.gif
ya and will end up crying if one of the solenoid broke down.. just like MIVEC MD
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 11:48 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 15 2009, 11:16 AM)
ya and will end up crying if one of the solenoid broke down.. just like MIVEC MD
solenoid can replace what biggrin.gif
mivec md like 3 stage vtec ah

-----------------------------------------------------------

suddenly i look this car interested la plak
somemore cheaper brows.gif
any comment icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 15 2009, 03:43 PM
imperialrealcs
post Apr 15 2009, 05:23 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 11:48 AM)

my point is it is VERY VERY hard to find such solenoid lol..
anyway, up to u la
moon*
post Apr 15 2009, 06:12 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

lol.. tats not very true tongue.gif

i have a dohc vtec b16a;(big v)

i can always manage to push my full tank to 5xxkm per full tank, but back den i was on 15" 195/55/15

now i;ve upgraded to 16" 205/45/16, i m stil capable of pushing the car to 450km. not to mention my rims is bloody heavy as well. but i m loving the design tongue.gif
my rims is 8.9kg each.

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 10:55 AM)
b48753
post Apr 15 2009, 06:16 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 11:48 AM)

This car ka..? Last time got case accident this kinda car hitted from back and suddently it's on fire. The driver not mistaken dead.
D_Predator
post Apr 15 2009, 07:00 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Apr 14 2009, 10:25 PM)
white with CF hood, banyak cun....  brows.gif
waaa laaa..so cun la ahliew..where u got the pics from?
actually before i jump ship for neo i tot nak ambik this one..how come u didn't bought this one ahliew?

Added on April 15, 2009, 7:05 pm
QUOTE(moon* @ Apr 15 2009, 06:12 PM)
lol.. tats not very true tongue.gif

i have a dohc vtec b16a;(big v)

i can always manage to push my full tank to 5xxkm per full tank, but back den i was on 15" 195/55/15

now i;ve upgraded to 16" 205/45/16, i m stil capable of pushing the car to 450km. not to mention my rims is bloody heavy as well. but i m loving the design tongue.gif
my rims is 8.9kg each.
so Moon, so far how do u rate this car for maintenance?i'd like to know also. i ain't gonna buy it but give some info la.. rclxms.gif
8.9kg heavy ke?i tot ok2 wat. blush.gif

This post has been edited by D_Predator: Apr 15 2009, 07:05 PM
moon*
post Apr 15 2009, 09:55 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

i cannot speak for all VTEC owner; but myself so far; other den wear n tear; i dont suffer from problematic issues;
my previous owner kept it really good.

if u gonna talk about normal maintenance; its fairly reasonable. lets take engine oil servicing; (5k - 10k mileage) depends on user.
per once visit;
engine oil = motul htech 5w30 fully syn (rm160)
oil filter = rm15
labour = rm10

total = so tats like rm185. ; sounds reasonable to me;

the previous rim i m using is type r rims oem by enkei; 7.8kg each. (15" 6jj;off50)

now i m using a 16" 6.5jj;off40 rim from nissan skyline r32 gts-t thumbup.gif weight around 8.9kg each sweat.gif

so far ok la; can live with it tongue.gif

normally; the lighter the rims; the better; for 15" the lightest is regamaster or spoon sw388. both of them weights 3.88kg only thumbup.gif
too exp; cannot afford sweat.gif

QUOTE(D_Predator @ Apr 15 2009, 07:00 PM)
actually before i  jump ship for neo i tot nak ambik this one..how come u didn't bought this one ahliew?

Added on April 15, 2009, 7:05 pm
so Moon, so far how do u rate this car for maintenance?i'd like to know also. i ain't gonna buy it but give some info la.. rclxms.gif
8.9kg heavy ke?i tot ok2 wat. blush.gif
This post has been edited by moon*: Apr 15 2009, 09:56 PM
ah liew
post Apr 15 2009, 10:07 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(D_Predator @ Apr 15 2009, 07:00 PM)
actually before i  jump ship for neo i tot nak ambik this one..how come u didn't bought this one ahliew?
haha! it's either i can't find or already heavily moded 2nd hand EK.
same here, 1st choice was EK before Satria Neo laugh.gif Campro pun jadi lah.... tongue.gif LOL
i did ask around in JB whether EK owner is willing to let go but failed wink.gif what to do....

since u liked the pics so much, here u go... more picta! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ah liew: Apr 15 2009, 10:29 PM
TSlaut
post Apr 16 2009, 12:10 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Apr 15 2009, 06:16 PM)
This car ka..? Last time got case accident this kinda car hitted from back and suddently it's on fire. The driver not mistaken dead.
the what??? straight away die ah
maybe not their luck what
all car have risk of die what blush.gif

okla
maybe i will try finding around, got stock one enough la
and upgrade it whenever got chance and.......money rclxub.gif

btw, EK got diff ah with EJ

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 16 2009, 12:11 AM
bibbyGirl
post Apr 16 2009, 12:14 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 16 2009, 12:10 AM)
the what??? straight away die ah
maybe not their luck what
all car have risk of die what blush.gif

okla
maybe i will try finding around, got stock one enough la
and upgrade it whenever got chance and.......money rclxub.gif

btw, EK got diff ah with EJ
EK2,3,4,9 is JDM

EJ is local

TSlaut
post Apr 16 2009, 09:11 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 15 2009, 05:23 PM)
my point is it is VERY VERY hard to find such solenoid lol..
anyway, up to u la
halfcut cannot get ar
i think this is normal parts rite
is it expensive

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Apr 16 2009, 12:14 AM)
EK2,3,4,9 is JDM

EJ is local
yes, thats i know
but is there any diff in terms of interior, exterior
so many people want to convert to JDM
maybe bcos JDM style is more tempting drool.gif
moon*
post Apr 16 2009, 09:45 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

interior wise is almost the same;

y ppl wanna convert is that; the stock comes in 96-98 specs; 99-00 specs the bumper; fender,headlamp,hood,grill;rearlamp got abit of difference; slightly only.

i kept to 96-98specs cos its cheap. tongue.gif n it looks classic too.

the local type of bumper le; the front bumper n the rear bumper got 1 black rubber strip wan; very ugly sweat.gif

other den that; the only difference i found out in a local n jdm dashboard; u have a spare aircond vent at each side of the dashboard; where by the local is sealed; but tat can be replaced.

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 16 2009, 09:11 AM)
halfcut cannot get ar
i think this is normal parts rite
is it expensive
yes, thats i know
but is there any diff in terms of interior, exterior
so many people want to convert to JDM
maybe bcos JDM style is more tempting drool.gif
lawtm
post Apr 16 2009, 12:28 PM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Apr 14 2009, 10:25 PM)
white with CF hood, banyak cun....  brows.gif
pretty car
ah liew
post Apr 16 2009, 03:06 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(lawtm @ Apr 16 2009, 12:28 PM)
pretty car
pretty car must have pretty gf brows.gif
guess who is he.... brows.gif
Gouki
post Apr 16 2009, 03:14 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

wtf, moon u got a stalker here~! gheyism in the air~! laugh.gif

:cabutz:

overfloe
post Apr 16 2009, 03:20 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

EK is evergreen, no doubt.

but it is year 2009, and i see a lot of owners selling EK at RM60k and above.

why the sky-high price? i mean.. in 2007/08, EJ/EK's price was hovering around there.. now already 2009, still asking for RM60k? RM40~45k sounds more reasonable.

yes, EK has its price.. but is it really that high? are the mods done justifiable for the asking price? if the owner has mod more than RM20k, is it reasonable to ask an extra RM20k of the market price? second hand is second hand.. mod parts prices are also second hand.. these people need to cover back their personal loan issit?
imperialrealcs
post Apr 16 2009, 07:51 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Apr 16 2009, 03:20 PM)
EK is evergreen, no doubt.

but it is year 2009, and i see a lot of owners selling EK at RM60k and above.

why the sky-high price? i mean.. in 2007/08, EJ/EK's price was hovering around there.. now already 2009, still asking for RM60k? RM40~45k sounds more reasonable.

yes, EK has its price.. but is it really that high? are the mods done justifiable for the asking price? if the owner has mod more than RM20k, is it reasonable to ask an extra RM20k of the market price? second hand is second hand.. mod parts prices are also second hand.. these people need to cover back their personal loan issit?
true, they see their car as high as that while in fact the car is slowly degrading from its prime condition.. all they do is to freshly re-paint the car and sell as high as they wished.. oh ya, like what u said, 20k upgrade and they up 20k in their car's selling price.. i rather get a normal ek and mod it myself with 20k
TSlaut
post Apr 16 2009, 08:10 PM

450 posts

sorry
out of topic here
recently i heard that merc w202 is quite reliable also
not to mention the comfort and safety inside there is more better than civic
the price and year not differ than civic

any comment bout this car?
in terms of maintenance, performance and reliability

imperialrealcs
post Apr 16 2009, 11:21 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

how much is that?
TSlaut
post Apr 16 2009, 11:33 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 16 2009, 11:21 PM)
how much is that?
em,i check thru internet the price varies
but btwn 35k-60k,depends on year
this is c200 w202
driftmeister
post Apr 16 2009, 11:46 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 16 2009, 11:33 PM)
em,i check thru internet the price varies
but btwn 35k-60k,depends on year
this is c200 w202
35K 1 is quite old already maybe around 1995

those with 5AT are usually year 1998 which is more than 50K
blek
post Apr 16 2009, 11:58 PM

720 posts

30 - 35k can only get u a stock 96 -97s civic n consider da age, chasis have weaked n many problm will start to pop up, n prepare atleast 10k d/p for this old junk!

just my point of view!
TSlaut
post Apr 16 2009, 11:59 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 16 2009, 11:46 PM)
35K 1 is quite old already maybe around 1995

those with 5AT are usually year 1998 which is more than 50K
yes u're rite
newer model still expensive flex.gif
but still better than civic what, price almost same with civic

Added on April 17, 2009, 12:00 am
QUOTE(blek @ Apr 16 2009, 11:58 PM)
30 - 35k can only get u a stock 96 -97s civic n consider da age, chasis have weaked n many problm will start to pop up, n prepare atleast 10k d/p for this old junk!

just my point of view!
d/p no prob for me bro
as i oredi prepared it earlier
now looking for the rite one only

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 17 2009, 12:00 AM
driftmeister
post Apr 17 2009, 12:02 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 16 2009, 11:59 PM)
yes u're rite
newer model still expensive flex.gif
but still better than civic what, price almost same with civic

Added on April 17, 2009, 12:00 am
d/p no prob for me bro
as i oredi prepared it earlier
now looking for the rite one only
generally it's still a good buy since it's a conti
the only concern is the maintenance part
TSlaut
post Apr 17 2009, 12:05 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 17 2009, 12:02 AM)
generally it's still a good buy since it's a conti
the only concern is the maintenance part
but i heard model like this and w124 no much prob
because of this model still major are mechanical parts
not like now full of electronic
blek
post Apr 17 2009, 12:05 AM

720 posts

i suggest u test drive da ford focus if u getting a conti
TSlaut
post Apr 17 2009, 12:09 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Apr 17 2009, 12:05 AM)
i suggest u test drive da ford focus if u getting a conti
bro my budget is only 35k maaa
that focus is 2 times that sweat.gif
bibbyGirl
post Apr 17 2009, 12:10 AM

177 posts

why dont get a citreon zx 2.0?

less than rm10k. it has good handling and power
driftmeister
post Apr 17 2009, 12:10 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 17 2009, 12:05 AM)
but i heard model like this and w124 no much prob
because of this model still major are mechanical parts
not like now full of electronic
although it's reliable
but parts will still fail someday rite?

TSlaut
post Apr 17 2009, 12:15 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 17 2009, 12:10 AM)
although it's reliable
but parts will still fail someday rite?
yes i do get what u mean
but all aging cars has a risk rite
the diff is that the parts are expensive or not
like merc, although they expensive but last longer, better than our local car
in this case, model that i refer la, not the new model
if count back, almost same la
but u do enjoy luxury and comfort in conti car at same time brows.gif
driftmeister
post Apr 17 2009, 12:28 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

this i agree with u

TBH, W202 is also 1 of my target apart from E46 tongue.gif
TSlaut
post Apr 17 2009, 12:35 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Apr 17 2009, 12:28 AM)
this i agree with u

TBH, W202 is also 1 of my target apart from E46 tongue.gif
if BMW, E46 is oredi a headache
cos oredi got a lot electronic parts
better E36 than E46
but if u got money, cannot say anything la notworthy.gif
what do u own rite now brows.gif
derix
post Apr 18 2009, 12:55 PM

17 posts

Hi Laut,

Yes i do agree with all ur points. BTW, m looking for W124 oso, cos my budget is only there, I oso like Vtec, but too bad EK i found in JB market are all around 33k, the condition is very poor not to mention suspension even worst. But any 88-91 W124 can beat them down. Tat's y i switch my plan, instead of getting a Vtec, beter go for conti.

W202 i heard oso got wiring issue leh.But it is very nice look...sexy. Do u know the FC for W124 260E manual?
TSlaut
post Apr 18 2009, 08:35 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(derix @ Apr 18 2009, 12:55 PM)
Hi Laut,

Yes i do agree with all ur points. BTW, m looking for W124 oso, cos my budget is only there, I oso like Vtec, but too bad EK i found in JB market are all around 33k, the condition is very poor not to mention suspension even worst. But any 88-91 W124 can beat them down. Tat's y i switch my plan, instead of getting a Vtec, beter go for conti.

W202 i heard oso got wiring issue leh.But it is very nice look...sexy. Do u know the FC for W124 260E manual?
w202 got 2 types of wiring, as i heard from sifu from mybenz.org
but i not sure which is the better, bcos diff types then diff price
i got frens who using w124, but only e230 la, auto
he said FC is around 9L/100km, mixed driving condition
maybe for e260, obviously it is more thirsty la, but dont know la bcos u said manual laugh.gif
w124 is much more easy to maintain, major parts are mechanical
but i'm not so like bout the design, too boxy, like old mans car
w124 also is considered over-engineered at the time of its launch
but honestly i sit at my frens car before, really comfy maa, silent oso thumbup.gif
no signs of aging at all
so i opt for w202, which is a lil bit sleek, but cost more than w124
as long as it within the budget, can la nod.gif

what car r u using rite now, japs car?

btw, anyone can share their experience having w202 here notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 18 2009, 08:38 PM
hpxieh
post Jun 8 2009, 10:02 PM

38 posts

sorry sorry tumpang thread a bit:

I have a question. currently using ek3, with 195/60/r15
it is a bit oversized compared to original 185/65/r14
the recommanded pressure from sticker is 30/29 psi from the stock tires, and I been following that.

I found it is underinflated, and recently I push it up to 35/32 psi front back. but I still feel front tires are a bit underinflated.
the tire max PSI is 51 though.

Any sifu able to tell me how much pressure will be better?

0.0398sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:41 AM