Your One Stop iTunes Troubleshooting Centre, How-to-do guides, backup, tips & tricks!

llsphinxll
post Sep 11 2009, 02:25 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

i just update my iPhone with the newest firmware version 3.1
urm i successfully turned on genius mixes on my itunes9 but i really dont knw how to turn it on my iphone? been looking everywhere for it.
can anyone enlighten me on this issue? blush.gif
thank you in advance. thumbup.gif

hey just wanna ask a simple question.

i just upgrading my iPhone to v3.1. well i cud activate the genius mixes on my iTunes9 but i cant seem to find how do i do so on my iPhone. anyone can enlighten me on this issue? thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by llsphinxll: Sep 11 2009, 02:26 AM
llsphinxll
post Sep 11 2009, 09:48 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Sep 11 2009, 03:52 AM)
Here

don't need to open New post just to ask simple question because we need to keep this sub forum tidy and clean.
thats quite a general link but thanks anyways.
just wanna quick answer that anyone can mayb tell me then ill close this thread after. notworthy.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 12 2009, 03:19 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(5w33 @ Sep 11 2009, 11:55 PM)
Failed to upgrade my iphone 3G singtel set to f/w 3.1.
The itunes indicated that my iphone has to be restore, so I proceed the restoration, but restore fail as well, error code 1603.

I've tried restart my pc, plug the iphone into the rear usb port. Both didn't work, same 1603 error code. Anyone here face the same problem?
Reinstalling itunes9 now, see if that solve my problem.

Updates: Problem Solved
Restore using a new user account

Create a new user account on your computer and try to restore while logged in as the new user. iTunes will download a new version of the software restore file. After creating the new user, log in to that account and open iTunes and attempt to restore to see whether the issue persists in this new user.
hey. i experienced the same issue while trying to update my iPhone. turns out the problem is less complicated than i thought. well i hope its the same scenario in your case.
my phone was connected to a ubs hub before being connected to my mac. i dont knw why but once i took the usb out and connect it straight to my mac, the problem was solved. no doubt, they still asked me to restore my iphone but everything in the phone is already backed up. so after successfully installed v3.1, you can restore your phone back to how it was, it will prompt you.
hope it works out for you. smile.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 13 2009, 12:09 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

anyone can tell me how to get genius mixes on my iPhone? posted before but no one answered yet. sad.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 13 2009, 02:49 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 13 2009, 02:47 PM)
@llsphinxll,
Update to the latest FW & download latest iTunes and i should automatically appear on ur iPhone biggrin.gif
i did. but unfortunately it doesnt show. *sigh
there is only the normal genius, the list view. i cant seem to activate genius mixes on my iPhone.
any other suggestions? blush.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 13 2009, 09:47 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 13 2009, 02:55 PM)
@llsphinxll,
*shrugs* I don't know.  On my iPod app in the iPhone, right at the bottom, I have:-

1) Genius - which basically is the Genius Mixes
2) Playlist
3) Artists
4) Songs
5) More

Do U have 5 tabs? However I no longer have the 'normal' genius smile.gif
hey im using an iPhone and not iPod touch. not sure if they are meant to b the same, but when i open the iPod function, the 5 bottom tabs are:

-playlist
-artist
-songs
-videos
-more.

hahha no genius mixes. sad.gif can find genius amongst one of the playlist and when i press that, they ask me to select a song in whicn they can refer the genius to. haha how ah?

Added on September 13, 2009, 9:48 pmoh you're using iPhone. my bad. if like that, what happened to your videos tab?mm..

This post has been edited by llsphinxll: Sep 13 2009, 09:49 PM
llsphinxll
post Sep 14 2009, 12:18 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 14 2009, 01:46 AM)
Guys...please help to sort out my confusion sad.gif

I'm new to the phone and in the process of trying out the applications using iTunes on my comp. The thing is, I can't quite understand how to relate function between using iTunes to download the apps and using my iPhone to download it.

What's the reasoning of getting apps to iTunes on my computer and to my phone?

For now, I know that if I want to use any apps, I just download from the Apps Store from my phone. But don't know about the function in getting the apps from iTunes on my comp...any explanation on this is really appreciated, thanks!

If it helps, I've never connected my phone to my comp yet @_@
urm i think you've found the right place. anyways yeah you can download the apps from the apps store straight from your phone via wifi or 3g etc. you can do the same from iTunes. go to the apps store, register an account. den select any app that you want on your phone (either paid or free) den 'sync' your phone when you are done downloading.
in your iPhone subfolders, there is an application option. 'select all' application (or the ones that you want) and press sync (at the bottom right)

you shud b able to see it in your phone after syncing is complete. thumbup.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 14 2009, 03:43 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 14 2009, 01:02 PM)
Ohh, so it adds those apps in the iTunes to my phone if I sync them...
So, could I delete them from the folder after they're synced or just leave it there?

One more question, if we download those apps when they are having Free promotion, what happens one year down the line when there are version upgrades or price increase, etc.?

And if I were to delete App A from my iPhone and let's say install it 6 months later, is it still free? My point is, if an app is up for free offer and we got it, it will it remain free for life without expiry?

Thanks a bunch for the time reading this! smile.gif
nod.gif nod.gif
yes the time that it charges is the time when you purchase it. so if its free that time, means it will b free. but if you decide to delete that apps and download it again in the future and (if) they start charging by that time, means you have to pay already.hahha but actually its kinda hard to purchase apps here in msia. have to get iTunes gift card. thats another different story. rclxub.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 14 2009, 04:52 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

wow even i didnt knw that. they did prompt me but i thought that only happens when the current price is the same as the price purchased before.

guess i learnt too. biggrin.gif
llsphinxll
post Sep 18 2009, 06:38 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Sep 17 2009, 03:42 PM)
Ahh any of you guys know where can the iTunes gift card can be purchased in kl or garage sales?
came across this guy at garage sales.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1143640 nod.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 5 2009, 09:59 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(12321 @ Oct 5 2009, 05:04 PM)
guys
is there to cancel or stop my account?
coz i dont wan to use my dad master card to purchase anymore!
thx for help!
urm just dont use it la. it wont charge if you dont purchase anything right? unless you're subscribed to something. but i dont remember if there is anything you can subscribe to on itunes.hmm..
llsphinxll
post Oct 5 2009, 10:43 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

hmm if so, i think there shud b an option to 'forget' credit card details. try logging in into the apple website, and change your account settings there. biggrin.gif
not sure whether it might work.
llsphinxll
post Oct 6 2009, 02:33 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Oct 6 2009, 02:27 AM)
i hit a strange problem just now. i sync my iphone at around 11:30am then i download an apps at around 11:45 but didnt snyc it. when i sync at around 2am, itunes tell me that "my iphone not authorized on this computer" and request that i authorize it which i did. but then after the authorization, itunes tell me that i have authorized 2 computers out of 5 available.

problem is i have been using the same laptop with the same acct ever since i got my iphone end august. never ever i used other computers to sync with itunes before. does anyone encountered this problem before?
did you mayb uninstall and re-installed iTunes within this period? hmm.gif
llsphinxll
post Oct 19 2009, 01:12 PM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(lotus_man @ Oct 19 2009, 01:01 AM)
hi everyone, jst now sth stranged happened to my iphone.
i received a call but i could not slide to answer. it jst wouldnt respond. press home button n all also couldnt.
however, finally it managed to.
why is this so?sad.gif
i jst got my phone a week ago n its not jailbroken
dude i have used 3 different iPhones and they have this same issue. even my current one with the latest firmware (3.1.2)

any sifus out there and help clarify this? notworthy.gif

0.0339sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:13 AM