P1 P1 Wiggy: Overpromise & Underdeliver, *P1's response in Post #135*

mylinear
post Apr 13 2009, 10:50 PM

974 posts

PMFJI so late. I just came across this thread and finished reading it from the start.

I did check out P1 (and others) at the PC Fair and posted some general points at:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/994382

I remember a P1 salesperson saying that the Wiggy is 10Mbps shared. Shared being the keyword. As I said in my post referred to above, I was rather disappointed with the demos that I did not really ask much more details. But the sharing would be based on how many users are using / connected to a base station. I did ask the salesperson whether I would actually get 10Mbps or less, and if less, what could be expected. The answer was 1-2Mbps.

The salesperson was in fact promoting the regular desktop modem package rather than the Wiggy. With the 1-2Mbps answer, it seemed to me that the main difference would be one was portable and the other not. But of course, the normal 1-2Mbps packages would not get you speeds more than that (the salesperson referred to this as dedicated), but the Wiggy could.

When I was there, the demos were not working properly at all. I didn't see any speed test showing 7 or 8Mbps etc. I even complained about that to them saying that how can they expect people to judge the service if they cannot demonstrate it properly. Hmmm... maybe they set up a indoor base station after that...??

To stringfellow, it appears that your immediate decision should be whether you should return the Wiggy for a refund or go into a 1 year contract. Forget the advertising part for this. If you are happy getting the speeds you are able to for the price you are paying and think it is worth it, then you may want to carry on. If not, then return it.

What you could try to do is to call P1 management and list out your complaints. Perhaps you could request the 7 days to be extended a further 1-2 weeks so that you can do more testing before deciding.

Whether you wish to take on the advertising issue with P1 can come later. The speeds are not going to change with a change in their advertisment. I mean, eg, if they now say 5Mbps instead of 10Mbps, would you still be happy paying RM149 monthly for the revised advertised speed? Or would you then think it is not worth it as RM149 was supposed to be for 10Mbps, not 5Mbps.

mylinear
post Apr 14 2009, 01:10 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ Apr 14 2009, 12:49 AM)
Lemme tell you something... Those promoters are just promoters. They have no idea what they are talking about.

Statement 1: I WTF'ed at the statement 10Mbps shared. So, my area now, the user must be less than 10 because I am getting speedtest of 2Mbps.

Statement 2: It's practically dependent on location.

Statement 3: You must be an early bird there. I was one of them who's helping out getting the coverage area for all the laptops. So, did you go check again later?

I agree with the part where stringfellow should forget about the advertising part and get going.
Well, a company should not have salespersons or promoters there who don't know the product or cannot explain it to customers. This is not just about P1, but any company. I was just repeating what they told me. Since I was not impressed , I didn't bother to ask further.

Yes, first I tried the demos next to TM booth. Then later on the one next to Umobile (or IzzyNet). Then later on in the other hall upstairs (carpeted hall).

I don't know if you work at P1 or just helping out. Nothing against you. In any exhibition, everything must be setup and in place before it opens. Not being prepared properly itself gives a bad impression to visitors.

Anyway, I was just giving my input mainly to stringfellow.

mylinear
post Apr 14 2009, 01:46 AM

974 posts

Which area are you at HeHeHunter ? Could you also do a test to a US and Europe server?

mylinear
post Apr 14 2009, 12:21 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ Apr 14 2009, 02:07 AM)
My area: Puchong

Speedtest result:
Click Here.

There are limits to number of images I can put in LYN.
Thank you for the results. Well, it does seem you should have better surfing experience to both local and US sites using P1 instead of Streamyx - at least until TM rectifies their connection to US.

mylinear
post Apr 16 2009, 03:38 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Apr 16 2009, 01:15 PM)

Yes the ads is over rated but they gave a good reason behind that so..
Can you share with us what those reasons are?

mylinear
post Apr 16 2009, 08:57 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Apr 16 2009, 06:48 PM)
Before that, you think that setting up base stations are easy ? There are many procedures that we have to go through before we are able to set up the base stations. License and contracts have to be applied from that specific state/area government. You know, there are many residents that like to complain about radiowaves that will so-call harm our human body, cancer causing.
WADR, in general, the users should not care about what problems a company has setting up or providing a service. Not just P1, any company. The user wants what is advertised or promised for the payment that is being made. It is up to the company to figure out whether they have the capability to provide the services. If they don't, or there is many stumbling blocks and the user is not going to get what is advertised, then don't say you can provide the service.

Its not that we dont want to give you the 10mbps speed. If we can provide you the speed, why not ? Its not like we will get less profit or what-so-ever. You paid & we know that you should the get speed we promise. Best effort basis is written on the contract. You signed it, that means you know it. 8mbps and above is reachable in certain places. But, we did mentioned that you will get a minimum speed of 1.2mbps or else money-back guarantee. Did you get below 1.2mbps speed ? If yes, go return it.
"Best Effort" has to have a more meaningful definition. How do you define it? What is the lowest figure that you consider as best effort? 80%? 70%? 50%? If you say 10Mbps, then are only able to guarantee 1.2Mbps, does that mean your worst "best effort" is at 12%?

Best effort has become a convenience for companies providing such services. It is being used to protect them in case they fail to provide the expected service. Even using best effort should have some sort of relevant minimum level of expectation.

Does signing a contract based on best effort automatically make a service provider no longer responsible to provide the level of service that has been advertised? Can a user negotiate or change any terms of the contract before signing? No, its take it or leave it.

I'm sure that you are not a small kid anymore, what a promoter say is always sweet-talking. SEE ! CAN REACH 8MBPS WOR! TRY LA, SPEED SO FAST.

Conclusion, after you signed a contract, theres no way back unless you were penalised. Remember, 10mbps is on best afford basis not guarantee speed.
What criterias define best effort service? Distance from the base station? Number of subscribers in an area? The weather?

On a related note, do you know what sort of international links / backbone P1 uses? I asked about 6 salespersons at PC Fair recently, none of them could answer. What sort of capacity does P1 have for international traffic? Do they have their own circuits / links? If so, to which countries? Is there enough international bandwidth capacity to support users for 10Mbps connections? Or is the 10Mbps figures mainly only apply to local access?

mylinear
post Apr 17 2009, 01:24 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(pil @ Apr 17 2009, 12:12 AM)
Confusing statement... on the 1st part u say user dun care abt problem faced by the isp..

last part, u r askin their backbone/ international gateway.

i doubt if u ask any isp reseller or isp staff.. u can get straight answer from them.

u sound like tryin to ridicules the sales staff. its like.. u asking technical stuff abt airplane at the ticket counter... or asking mcdonald's annaul revenue at the counter.

U simply asking the wrong ppl. And generalize the whole company as failure.
pil , let me clarify.

My first part was a general statment, I even pointed out it was not only about P1.

My last part was asking the question to xMika as an agent/reseller if he knows the info since I didn't get an answer from the salesperson. Note I said "on a related note...". I did not ridicule the salespersons or the company as a whole.

This is not purely about P1, it seems to be about misleading advertisement in general, using P1 as an example.

Using your examples, you don't ask about the airplane at the counter because you are there just to check in. You don't ask about revenue at McDonalds because you are there just to buy the food.

At an exhibition or fair like this, it is a place to get more info about the service, not just to signup only. So you should ask more questions. A company should have people for sales and to anser any technical questions too to give a better impression of the company.

I have posted in another thread about how all broadband companies at PC Fair who didn't seem to have proper representatives apart from the salespersons. Please do not make it seem I am targeting P1. I am not even a customer. Just giving my opinions in this thread.

What companies don't seem to realise is that users / customers / consumers have become more aware of their rights and want more detailed info and ask more questions these days. Yes, not all customers, but many more now than long time ago. Some companies have still not changed to meet this new demands. They are still focused on the selling part only.

Many years ago, people don't question ads very much. Nowdays, people do and check on things more carefully. It could also be that ads these days have become less clear in what they mean, so people have to question more. It works both ways.

Sorry if you felt I was ridiculing salesperson or the company. Not my intention.

0.0321sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:30 PM