P1 P1 Wiggy: Overpromise & Underdeliver, *P1's response in Post #135*

Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 11 2009, 11:10 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ Apr 11 2009, 10:48 PM)
You see, P1 is a very new ISP which is around 8 months old and compared to TM which monopolies the landlines and experienced (if you understand what I mean), you are comparing Chocolate and Shit.

And, if P1 has the landlines and TM doesn't, do you think TM will still be alive?

Aside from that, they are setting up more base station around Klang Valley to accommodate the users.

10Mbps is their maximum speed as what I can say. If you'd learn physics, many things affect the speed of Wimax.

1. Signal (Strength)
2. Interference (which includes weather condition)

Do you think any other new ISP can come out with this in 8 months time? How long does it take for TM to roll out 384kbps Screamyx for limited area? How long do you think Maxis took to roll out Wireless Broadband if they doesn't have the Communication Tower?

I believe that P1 have room for improvements.

Therefore, why not we wait for the good news instead of getting frustrated over it?
I dont want to sound offensive but telling 10Mbps with the overabused "best-effort basis" while on the reality its only 1/10th of the actual promotion is a blatant lie. Its like im selling you a 100 blank dvdrs for a 20 buck and say "hey there's a few of it is unreadable" while actually only 10 can be used.

i also believe that P1 have room for improvement but starting with a lie will never work out. Remember, the customer here in Malaysia have a loong history of being fvcked by ISP and starting a business by screwing them over is a straight no-no. If they are promoting by even using 2mb - 3 (pick any number before reaching 10) and still be able to deliver then it makes us the customer happy. But by parading 10Mbps at a pc fair? damn.

Heh tell the last line at ts and i think you'll get punched. laugh.gif if we wait and no need to pay ok lar. Yeah tell that to those who subscribed during the pc-fair also too. I am willing to bet that you'll get "P1"-ed too.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 12 2009, 12:44 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

IMHO this whole hoopla are started from management. This cluster fvck starts from high up in the management so high that they actually need a miracle to fix it.

I thinks here's hows their meeting goes.

Managment team : we need more capital in order to cover wider area (translation : moar moolah for ussss)

Sales team : sure. lets say we can provide 50MBps for anyone and we'll look like a champion of ISP.

Techincal team : Wtf. that's crazy. you do know we're already overselling as it is already. Promoting that kind of shits is a lawsuit in the making.

* silent from the management and sales team.

Management team : Look, you either one of us or gtfo-ed gg from here.

Techincal team : sigh sure. Tone it down to 10Mbps and dont fvcking forget to put the "best-effort basis". We are training monkeys downstairs just to say that and hang up the phone.

I kid you not.

This post has been edited by Uzumaki NaruTo: Apr 12 2009, 12:45 AM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 12:04 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 12 2009, 07:10 PM)
Drop the 10. Stop misleading people. The REAL figure (3-4) by your claims, would have been more than fine, SHOULD THEY ADVERTISE IT AS SUCH. Why do they have to out in the figure 10, I wonder? End users do not need to know the network ceiling, or hardware limit if that is the case. What other excuse is there left then, other than to lure unsuspecting potential subscriber to your service, and slap them with "Best effort basis" later once you're in their net?
Thats their main problem. But its a sad thing to see that you're fighting this fight alone. Lowyat's "Tech Enthusiasts" has downgraded to bunch of mob mentality ; blog whores who blindly praising to high heaven waiting for swag and promotions to be shoved down their throat. We need more people like to you in this community because our level of tech awareness are different from the regular joe-s.

Allowing the company to screw you and the customers just for the sake of goodies and even to protect their misleading adverts are the new kind low for lowyat.I really thought that lowyatians are a bunch of neutral geeks how fight for a good fight and protect each other. Black is black and white is white. But then again this is Malaysia, where the mobs and "TAK APA LAH" mentality flourish.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 01:48 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Apr 13 2009, 01:36 AM)
With wireless, low speed isn't only the outcome of overselling, but is also the outcome of cell density. Speed improves as you get closer to the tower due to better signal quality, and the only way to ensure customers are always close to the tower is to have more towers per area.
True but as TS noted before do we have to go to such length as to camp near the towers just for the sake to get the advertised speed? This whole hoopla started when they need to get more income and thus the number 10 comes in play. Why not put 3? If they can deliver at that kind of speed the customers are already happy with it.

Its the corporation greed that moves the number from 3 to 10. Any regular joe-s will definitely flock to that kind of misleading advertisement and few days later found out that they has been screwed royally.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 01:57 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(pil @ Apr 13 2009, 01:52 AM)

Well no basis for my excuse, but still I believe a new product shud at least deserve a period to perform. less than a week seem harsh, a month or 2 .. shud b enuf.

Thats another thing. If you follow TS's gripe is the window to return back are limited to 7 days. If they are extending the return back policy up to 2 month and with rebates when they fail to deliver on "the best effort basis" i am pretty sure ts will awaits happily.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 02:03 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Apr 13 2009, 01:57 AM)
If the speed tests they are performing at PC Fair are rigged or otherwise clearly not representative of real-world usage, then you have a very valid point and I encourage you to make the most of it. Personally, I haven't seen enough data to be satisfied one way or the other. Wireless internet performance depends on a lot of factors and it takes fairly rigorous study to come up with any broadly valid conclusions.

But even if they are definitely misleading potential users at PC Fair, that doesn't mean they have an obligation to invite you to every private event - or even that it makes sense to derail a DS-300 event for discussion of Wiggy performance.
So in the end they will never get the "real" feedback and those who come to the event are just probably a bunch blogger who has been praising them and automatically become a catalyst for more misleading customers by so called reviews/events specials entries. To sum it up, the whole event of getting feedback of performance has become nothing more than swags shoving,back petting,huha event.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 06:52 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

So in the end this is how i can see the next P1's advertistment.

Fastest. Wireless. 10Mbps next to the towers
1. You must have a terminal that is capable of going up to 10Mbps as the network is fixed but this is the variable. Checked as tech specs say 30Mbps (with MIMO).
2. You have to have strong signal (RSSI) so that the air interface can use higher modulation such as 64QAM. This can be done by being near to the tower. My personal experience tells me you have to be within 200m with the tower and there's line-of-sight (LOS).
3. You must also have low interference (CINR). This cannot be controlled solely by you. Interference comes from all angles, it would take me too long to explain all of them and how to solve them.
4. The base station that is serving you is not loaded. Typical WiMAX base station can support 45Mbps (even Clearwire, US is giving this figure). This 45Mbps should not be confused with "are you saying that only if 4 person is using the base station then only I can get 10Mbps?". There are calculations to determine how many actual subs can enjoy 10Mbps depending on over-subscription/over-booking/contention ratio. Complex calculation aside, I would say about with 100 subscriber (active+idle) using it the same time, 10Mbps is achievable.
5. The backhaul needs to have sufficient capacity. P1 have to make sure that they have sufficient backhaul to satisfy the data hungry WiMAX access.
6. 10Mbps from where is a big issue. There can be more than 15 hops before you reach your source. Any hops that cannot satisfy your 10Mbps requirement will be a bottleneck.This is not P1's fault.
If your environment can satisfy 1 to 6, then you can enjoy your 10Mbps.

Sigh we already know that the signal strength goes weaker as it is bugged with inteference / physical limitation but why oh why people still want to say "hey its ok to put 10Mbps as long as you're camping under the tower"

String, I'll bring extra marshmallow and we all can camp under the P1 tower.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Apr 13 2009, 11:20 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Apr 13 2009, 10:31 AM)
Urm, if you didn't know. Some of P1 staff are indeed monitoring the P1 thread in here. But you can't expect them to be here nearly 8-12 hours at a time as their resources aren't dedicated to Low Yat alone.

So instead of claiming P1 doesn't pay attention at all to their customers, why not stick to the topic of the TS felt being misled than to start a new one about how marketing works. tongue.gif
Screaming like the pasar malam vendor isn't a crime though it's embarrassing having it happen in PC Fair now.

But if the promoter did indeed tell you those things in Bold, you should've asked for his name and shared it here. If there's one thing I know, P1 doesn't want a reputation of resellers/promoters giving them a bad name from the start. Claiming or hard-selling their product to a point which isn't true.

If P1 didn't mind this, I'm very sure we'd be having more complaints of being misled by this/that promoter.
Meh,even if i start a new thread on how marketing works (in relation with P1) any sensible admin/staffs/mods will definitely merge with this one since it is about marketing and advertisement.

Well its good that the P1 staff are monitoring the threads here. At least it'll teach them on how to do a proper,ethical marketing strategy.

0.0322sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:05 AM