P1 P1 Wiggy: Overpromise & Underdeliver, *P1's response in Post #135*

HeHeHunter
post Apr 14 2009, 04:54 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Apr 14 2009, 04:24 PM)
I've posted this few months back before Wiggy was revealed and guess they got the whole idea from there:

This is how their micro indoor base transceiver unit should look like:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=941210
Yes, this was it. no mistake.
sinyc
post Apr 14 2009, 05:29 PM

83 posts

hi stringfellow

the other thing you should complain about is the 40GB cap!! for home use how fast would you use that up? (considering your itunes tv subscriptions etc biggrin.gif). How fast would a youtube/ HD user eat that up. (there is one other use which i think the cap was targetting for which i do not want to mention - initials BT :-D).

but practically, today where the emphasis is on rich media content, i do not really think 40GB is practical. a 150GB cap is better.
iipohbee
post Apr 14 2009, 05:34 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sinyc @ Apr 14 2009, 05:29 PM)
hi stringfellow

the other thing you should complain about is the 40GB cap!! for home use how fast would you use that up? (considering your itunes tv subscriptions etc biggrin.gif). How fast would a youtube/ HD user eat that up. (there is one other use which i think the cap was targetting for which i do not want to mention - initials BT :-D).

but practically, today where the emphasis is  on rich media content, i do not really think 40GB is practical. a 150GB cap is better.
150GB might as well call it truly unlimited.
You willing to pay RM400 and above for such package?

With money you can buy anything. ISPs can be generous but can you be generous too?
There's a rice bowl here to keep ya know!
bluebird81
post Apr 15 2009, 05:10 PM

Want 10Mb broadband, subscribe to lease line, guarantee can get 10Mb even have SLA (Service Level Assurance), but have to pay around RM9K++ per month. Even 1Mb also need RM900++. So please thanks to those ISPs who collect peanuts from you guys while getting reasonable bandwidth else just waiting TM to improve.....Kudos
hye
post Apr 15 2009, 10:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I have been following this thread and I find it interesting that there are people who are blatantly defending P1 despite they are wrong and in my personal opinion to a certain extent practicing false advertising to consumers due to their recent stunt over at the PC Fair.

Worst still that they are asking TS to tolerate it just because other people are doing it. Thanks to our weak enforcement of advertising and service delivery in Malaysia, seems that P1 can (almost) get away with it. Try to behave this way in a more developed country and quickly you'll be slapped by all sort of legislation which are out to punish such offenders and very quickly you will also suffer the wrath of the consumers who will equally punish you by either a legal class action or will walk away to the next competitor. (Your competitor will just laugh at your stupidity for giving them free customers)

Asking TS (or anyone) to tolerate this is simply irresponsible and unacceptable just because all other ISPs are doing it or for whatever reasons. If we ever want to "grow up" then this fraud should not have been condoned or defended.

Consumers worked hard for their money and they want their money's worth. Does it give P1 the right to rip off consumers just because we are in Malaysia and it is deemed acceptable?

I feel sad for those who attempted to defend P1. I praise TS for taking the stand to fight a bully. Enuff said

Added on April 15, 2009, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(bluebird81 @ Apr 15 2009, 05:10 PM)
Want 10Mb broadband, subscribe to lease line, guarantee can get 10Mb even have SLA (Service Level Assurance), but have to pay around RM9K++ per month. Even 1Mb also need RM900++. So please thanks to those ISPs who collect peanuts from you guys while getting reasonable bandwidth else just waiting TM to improve.....Kudos
Have you been to Japan or South Korea before ? You will swallow your words very quickly.

This post has been edited by hye: Apr 15 2009, 11:42 PM
bysquashy
post Apr 16 2009, 05:15 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 15 2009, 10:54 PM)

You are missing the point here. No one is saying what P1 did is right. Most of the people is asking TS to just suck it up on the lousy promotion campaign and think about whether it's a good deal or not.

Is paying RM149 for 2Mbps of wireless broadband a rip off?

Let's compare Korea then. The pioneer of WiMAX - Korea Telecom is offering

1Mbps (Max) with 6GB limit at MYR108.176 (KRW40000)

and P1 is offering

1-2Mbps (Average) with 10GB limit at MYR149.00

I would say P1 have a good deal no? Let have this discussion with more facts rather than to challenging whether a person has been to a country before and argument based on "i think".
TSstringfellow
post Apr 16 2009, 01:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just got off a very lengthy conversation with a P1 technical personnel. Happens to be a forum acquaintance that I know from a messageboard I was active a long time ago, which is nice to know.

A few details were exchanged and insights as well. And from that conversation as well, I know he is sincere. P1, you are lucky that you have this guy on board, I trust him that much. I wont disclose the details of the conversation, suffice to say that the explanation of how the system works, and the historical roadmap of this Wimax service from conception to completion, given by him, shows that these guys are serious. Enough to know that he's on board as well, so that imparts the show of seriousness as well.

I am still annoyed with the advertising falseness that had happened, and am sad that the folks here are accepting their service terms meekly and not challenging them to better themselves. However, I put my trust in him, so I'll continue, despite my better judgment. I just hope he will not disappoint me, and all of us.

Those who advised me for termination, I hear ya'll! In fact, in a world where customers are king, and the law is on the "right side", I'll be the first on the picket line, and drag them to court for false advertisement and claims. But this is Malaysia, where the law favours the connected, the politically affiliated and those who stand to reap the benefits, no matter how wrong they are.

I'm actually tired of all this debacle. Takes the toll on you, on your travellng around gathering speed tests to try and justify your subscription to this, and standing on spots for minutes on end to get average readings.

I am continuing with them, guys. My gripes are still with their false claims, but I am continuing with them. This does not mean I am relenting, or that I am giving up. Oh, it is far from giving up. Now that they have me in their fold, expect to hear from me MORE on the CS hotline than the regular Joes who meekly accept things as it is, I'm here to get what I paid for.

To the rest on the fence, you've heard my plight. Weigh your options carefully, and decide wisely. Accepting things like these can be hard sometimes. Only you can decide if it is worthwhile or not.

I'll just leave this thread open for other opinions, rants or similar disclosures on this service. Otherwise, if it has served its purpose, mods....you know what to do.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 16 2009, 01:21 PM
Nels
post Apr 16 2009, 01:15 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

String i've been waiting for you to online but from the fact above i guess you receive the same details as us in the gathering.

Yes the ads is over rated but they gave a good reason behind that so..Well good to hear that you will stay with them. On this side too i believe they are serious.

Good Luck.
victor87
post Apr 16 2009, 02:14 PM

431 posts

Hi string, i having the same problem with you... The feel like kena con.. sad.gif
I already paid 4k for 2 yrs subscription fee, can i ask for the refund or what?
I cant even connect in my house, although the it is showing 3bar+ signal .. 10mbs.. can even reach 2mbs speed pun, even my 4mbs streamyx still pawn WIGGY in terms of stability and speed.. Pay 4k for such speed.. better subscribe to their 1mbs package lor.

As string say, this is really DAYLIGHT ROBBERY...

Expecting to see improvement on their WIGGY if not i'm going to complain already..
Can we complain to MCMC or any department regarding this??

Below is my Streamyx speedtest. As P1 is not with me now, i'll post P1 speedtest tonight.

TMnet Streamyx 4.0mbs Package.

mylinear
post Apr 16 2009, 03:38 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Apr 16 2009, 01:15 PM)

Yes the ads is over rated but they gave a good reason behind that so..
Can you share with us what those reasons are?

rajulkabir
post Apr 16 2009, 04:23 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Apr 16 2009, 03:38 PM)
Can you share with us what those reasons are?
I didn't think the reasons were that great. Basically they said that the technology is capable of 10mbps. One day when their network was built out more, or some other nebulous thing happened, a significant number of users would be able to get that speed.

By promising "up to" a speed that is unrealistic for almost all users at this time, I think they are shooting themselves in the foot. The real point of their marketing should be that the Wiggy offers many users faster mobile broadband than they can get any othey way. That's actually true, and should be enough to persuade people to use it.

ObCarAnalogy:

Proton is selling a car that goes 100km/h almost all the time.
P1 comes along with a car that goes 200km/h almost all the time, and in special racetrack conditions can sometimes go 1000km/h.

P1 advertises "our car goes 1000km/h", and people buy it, and can only go 200km/h.

Those customers are annoyed because they didn't get what they were promised - EVEN THOUGH they are still getting much better than they'd get from Proton. P1, despite delivering the better product, ends up alienating customers.

This post has been edited by rajulkabir: Apr 16 2009, 04:24 PM
Coconut
post Apr 16 2009, 04:58 PM

1,268 posts

Couldn't comment on the wiggy speed and such, but during the gathering, i do feel that p1 staff are really helpful and willing to share information with us, and i can see that they are working hard on listening to comments and improve from there. This point is already good enough, compared to other telco's out there. Nowadays which company do this kind of gathering and listen to all your complaints?

Stringfellow, is the guy you mentioned in the gathering as well? It might be the same guy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Coconut: Apr 16 2009, 04:59 PM
Frozenlagend
post Apr 16 2009, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(yewfatt @ Apr 11 2009, 07:27 PM)
they also claim that users can get coverage outside their coverage area colour in green in their coverage kit   rclxub.gif

i wonder if this is true  whistling.gif
where the "F" can coverage if it is not been covered........ go back to kindergarden larrrrrr

Added on April 16, 2009, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Apr 16 2009, 04:23 PM)
I didn't think the reasons were that great. Basically they said that the technology is capable of 10mbps. One day when their network was built out more, or some other nebulous thing happened, a significant number of users would be able to get that speed.

By promising "up to" a speed that is unrealistic for almost all users at this time, I think they are shooting themselves in the foot. The real point of their marketing should be that the Wiggy offers many users faster mobile broadband than they can get any othey way. That's actually true, and should be enough to persuade people to use it.

ObCarAnalogy:

Proton is selling a car that goes 100km/h almost all the time.
P1 comes along with a car that goes 200km/h almost all the time, and in special racetrack conditions can sometimes go 1000km/h.

P1 advertises "our car goes 1000km/h", and people buy it, and can only go 200km/h.

Those customers are annoyed because they didn't get what they were promised - EVEN THOUGH they are still getting much better than they'd get from Proton. P1, despite delivering the better product, ends up alienating customers.
Ya when the Clutch has slipt then its only can go 100km/h................... don't compare broadband with car doink....>!!!@

This post has been edited by Frozenlagend: Apr 16 2009, 05:55 PM
victor87
post Apr 16 2009, 06:21 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Apr 16 2009, 04:58 PM)
Couldn't comment on the wiggy speed and such, but during the gathering, i do feel that p1 staff are really helpful and willing to share information with us, and i can see that they are working hard on listening to comments and improve from there. This point is already good enough, compared to other telco's out there. Nowadays which company do this kind of gathering and listen to all your complaints?
Stringfellow, is the guy you mentioned in the gathering as well? It might be the same guy biggrin.gif
They are quite new in market yet, if they don't do so, they wont attract much customer. No matter their staff are helpful or what, please provide as what u advertise. This should be enough for everyone..
And if they are right & clean, why they need to set up those micro indoo transceiver unit to boost their speed in PC Fair? This is cheating customer already lah. Pay Money 1st, then only explain? What a bull !
Don't claims 10mbs connection speed if u cant even provide a at least 5mbs connection speed.. mad.gif
xtacee
post Apr 16 2009, 06:36 PM

Wow... it's getting interesting here with some ppl defending P1 with INTERNATIONAL rates to justify P1's case! Whoever your are, hope you're not working for them eh... Actually dun hafta go so far... look at S'pore:) Moreover, everyone keeps missing the the point which started this thread. The very fact of putting a temp station inside klcc is an act of deception where none existed. The 2nd fact that they are giving tests with 7-8m speeds is to make it more believable... if base is setup for exhibiting purpose why not let it run full 10m?? so it's not the rates, their flyers or their ads... but their actions surely tells their intention to deceive;) I bow in respect for TS n stringfellow... they are champions of consumers with the RIGHT mind! While not expecting 100% of advertised performance but at least 50% is a fair gauge for both in some sense while they strengthen their network. But purposely put up station to give u a BELIEVABLE high speed... that's con in action, Malaysians! In fact that's how I got conned my another ISP's HSDPA named Mxxxx last apr!

Just wana get some worthwhile broadband for my hard earned money... hopefully still able to keep my job to pay for it. Please dun con my $$$...sad.gif
xMika
post Apr 16 2009, 06:48 PM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

After viewing all the replies from all of you guys, there is something I have to say. I've been a P1 w1max promoter under authorised resellers. Have to admit that not all customers are satisfied with the service. In reality, is there something that can really fulfill your requirements ? What you want is faster download speed, larger amount of bandwidth capacity. If you want it, yes we have it. (special package, requires P1 specific base station to be build at your place). 100mbps speed is available. The bandwidth capacity is unlimited. Price is RM1k+. You willing to pay for it ?

Before that, you think that setting up base stations are easy ? There are many procedures that we have to go through before we are able to set up the base stations. License and contracts have to be applied from that specific state/area government. You know, there are many residents that like to complain about radiowaves that will so-call harm our human body, cancer causing.

Its not that we dont want to give you the 10mbps speed. If we can provide you the speed, why not ? Its not like we will get less profit or what-so-ever. You paid & we know that you should the get speed we promise. Best effort basis is written on the contract. You signed it, that means you know it. 8mbps and above is reachable in certain places. But, we did mentioned that you will get a minimum speed of 1.2mbps or else money-back guarantee. Did you get below 1.2mbps speed ? If yes, go return it.

I'm sure that you are not a small kid anymore, what a promoter say is always sweet-talking. SEE ! CAN REACH 8MBPS WOR! TRY LA, SPEED SO FAST.

Conclusion, after you signed a contract, theres no way back unless you were penalised. Remember, 10mbps is on best afford basis not guarantee speed.

Note: This is Malaysia. Dont compare with other countries.

A few months back, I have a customer coming to me & say : whats the speed of USA's internet ? Singapore ? Korea ? P1 w1max ?

So what if you compare with other countries ? Can you get their internet speed ? Go connect a 1000km optic fiber cable from singapore to your house if you want to.

This post has been edited by xMika: Apr 16 2009, 06:50 PM
TSstringfellow
post Apr 16 2009, 07:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

xMika, do not patronize me. Rm1k+ for that 100mbps speed. Come to my place I will pay. I am not kidding, I am serious. All these veiled sarcasm thrown around sickens me. You say P1 have such service, I am willing to pay. RM1k a month. Make it happen. Don't pull back on this.

Don't talk only. I am willing to put my wallet and my bank account where it matters. Give me 100Mbps unlimited (you own words) and I'll gladly pay your Rm1k+ a month. Don't just throw examples just because you think nobody is ballsy enough to take you up on that.

What remains abjectable is the false advertising. No excuse can cover that up. And yes, even your colleagues at P1 admitted to it when I cornered them with the question regarding that figure "10". You spin whatever LOTR tale also still does not explain those false claims.

You know what they say about drink and driving? So you drink responsibly. Now you know what they say about false advertising? Advertise your claims RESPONSIBLY!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 16 2009, 07:18 PM
LickGuy
post Apr 16 2009, 07:27 PM

Highly Flammable Material
1,520 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Apr 16 2009, 06:48 PM)
After viewing all the replies from all of you guys, there is something I have to say. I've been a P1 w1max promoter under authorised resellers. Have to admit that not all customers are satisfied with the service. In reality, is there something that can really fulfill your requirements ? What you want is faster download speed, larger amount of bandwidth capacity. If you want it, yes we have it.  (special package, requires P1 specific base station to be build at your place). 100mbps speed is available. The bandwidth capacity is unlimited. Price is RM1k+. You willing to pay for it ?

Before that, you think that setting up base stations are easy ? There are many procedures that we have to go through before we are able to set up the base stations. License and contracts have to be applied from that specific state/area government. You know, there are many residents that like to complain about radiowaves that will so-call harm our human body, cancer causing.

Its not that we dont want to give you the 10mbps speed. If we can provide you the speed, why not ? Its not like we will get less profit or what-so-ever. You paid & we know that you should the get speed we promise. Best effort basis is written on the contract. You signed it, that means you know it. 8mbps and above is reachable in certain places. But, we did mentioned that you will get a minimum speed of 1.2mbps or else money-back guarantee. Did you get below 1.2mbps speed ? If yes, go return it.

I'm sure that you are not a small kid anymore, what a promoter say is always sweet-talking. SEE ! CAN REACH 8MBPS WOR! TRY LA, SPEED SO FAST.

Conclusion, after you signed a contract, theres no way back unless you were penalised. Remember, 10mbps is on best afford basis not guarantee speed.

Note: This is Malaysia. Dont compare with other countries.

A few months back, I have a customer coming to me & say : whats the speed of USA's internet ? Singapore ? Korea ? P1 w1max ?

So what if you compare with other countries ? Can you get their internet speed ? Go connect a 1000km optic fiber cable from singapore to your house if you want to.
What's make you think that our beloved country - MALAYSIA are inferior than other? so that we cannot compare with other countries.
What's make you think our peoples don't even qualified to defend their rights?
ISP are cheating, by putting empty promises and false adverts, as a subscriber we don't even have the rights to make noise?

Don't even mentioned "we got this, we got that, and have you got the money to afford it?", ya know, there's plenty of filthy rich peoples in this country,
If you got such advanced/brilliant technology, launch it. And there'll be peoples queuing up for it.
Now you have neither this or that, and yet making such statement,
in canto people called this "聲大大, 冇貨賣" (Talk damn loud, no goods for selling -> talks are cheap).
It's more look like trying to distract attention rather than making any constructive comments.

If you have 100mbps package, I would like to know more about it, is there any commercial package?
I'm applying broadband for my company, Jaring offering 1.4k for 4mbps/2mbps line,
and provided at least 70% of advertised speed at all time.
if your service can goes 100mbps with additional 2-3k, and have around 60-70% of 100mbps at anytime,
I'll go straight sign up with you, and good things is, our peoples here tak takut cancer at all!
How's that ?

The major problem is awareness of consumer rights are still low in Malaysia,
kena bully still don't dare to voice out,
that's the reason most corporation can hit-n-run ...

try to do the same tricks in other countries like US, UK, HK or Singapore,
all I can tell is "Good Luck, you'll really need that, ALOT".

P/S: If major of us can afford pulling 1000km optic fiber to our house, or the service charged at affordable rates. You'll need to look for new job already.
bysquashy
post Apr 16 2009, 07:29 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Apr 16 2009, 06:48 PM)

I suppose you are not talking about mobile broadband. I'm quite near to R&D data and the best I've seen with my own eyes is about 30Mbps (UDP) per terminal. Let me just say this before everyone's eyes starts to pop out from their socket, it was done in a very controlled environment. Do read up WiMAX 16m or 3GPP R10 standard, that can give you 100Mbps.

BTW, many have problem with setting up an indoor base station for coverage. I guess they don't realize that for tall buildings like KLCC (my office), indoor system is used to provide GSM/UMTS coverage.

Indoor coverage is meant to be covered by indoor BS. If P1 did not place the BS there, the speed test that the user do will be flawed. Please don't tell me your house is as big as KL Convention Center and you have more than 10K people walking around your house.

Side note: I'm not working for any operator. I'm a Solutions Engineer for a MNC vendor.
Nels
post Apr 16 2009, 07:34 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Apr 16 2009, 04:58 PM)
Yes that's him.

Right now for me i don't have anything to lose if i wait for their improvement. But to others who subscribe with money involve, its up to you whether you will step back and try again later or gamble with their reasoning now.

I'm done and tired especially with TMNet. If p1 gives even a slight improvement of what we complain of, i will surely apply it in the future.

As for the Ads they said that they do not want to limit the user on example if their wiggy average speed is 3mbps, that means wiggy package speed should be around 4mbps. They do not want to do that because they wants you to enjoy 10mbps since they have the equipment to do it. But there are many technical interference which results in the dropping of the speed. As for this part i disagree on them because even if they do have the capability to reach 10mbps, they do not have the proper equipment yet to support it. Yes you can get 10mbps (that is what they said) but only when there are no network congestion or any other network interference. This proves that their equipment is not good enough to get most of their customer the real speed out of the 10mbps. As for my own oppinion, their true intention is to not limit the speed to the users that is what i believe and that is why they rolled out the 10mbps package.

There are facing many challange as a new ISP. I believe they will improve their services as well as the speed in the near future.

As for those who are being sarcastic like *owh i hope ur not a p1 bla bla bla. since u always support them bla bla* go on and being an emo kid on other thread. I did not reside on them. I choose to have faith in their services since i have nothing to lose.

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:43 PM