Apr 11 2009, 05:56 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
252 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Sandakan,Sabah |
Bro..do u check ur temp reading in bios because sometimes this kind of software might have inaccurate reading..
Apr 11 2009, 06:01 PM
18 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
u can suspect it is hardware problem. probably ur mobo, the thermister at the processor socket may be the potential problem.
check the fan speed as well. better send back to the shop for change if still under warranty. if ur fan speed is good and everything other things is working fine (except the temp part), maybe... i say maybe... u can ignore the temperature by disabling the warning/shut off PC @ set temp in bios. then u can run ur pc normally. |
Apr 11 2009, 06:16 PM
458 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(FuiLo @ Apr 11 2009, 05:56 PM) Bro..do u check ur temp reading in bios because sometimes this kind of software might have inaccurate reading.. bios show the same reading also...mobo problem?QUOTE(lem_an @ Apr 11 2009, 06:01 PM) u can suspect it is hardware problem. probably ur mobo, the thermister at the processor socket may be the potential problem. the fan speed is around max as state in the picture...how to check whether is mobo problem anot?check the fan speed as well. better send back to the shop for change if still under warranty. if ur fan speed is good and everything other things is working fine (except the temp part), maybe... i say maybe... u can ignore the temperature by disabling the warning/shut off PC @ set temp in bios. then u can run ur pc normally. ya,my mobo still under warranty...just bought 4 months ago nia...asus p5q pro... fan speed and everything is working fine...except the temp part...but my pc auto turn off when i run benchmark wor...means really overheat? be4 that working fine...sure got something goes wrong... EDIT:Any more suggestion?get warranty for my mobo? This post has been edited by winter-X: Apr 11 2009, 07:01 PM |
Apr 11 2009, 11:11 PM
3,175 posts Joined: May 2006 |
I smell improper HSF installation, a simple remount of your heatsink should solve the issue, do remove the old thermal paste in between the heatsink and cpu first before remounting.
//Moved to Q&A This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Apr 11 2009, 11:12 PM |
Apr 12 2009, 12:04 AM
i din remove the hsf also...b4 that working fine...but now i just remove my mobo with hfs...and then this problem occur...okay,i will try to get my new thermal paste...thanks for ur suggestion...
Apr 12 2009, 12:50 AM
2,841 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The East of the Motherland |
Try changing the option from "high performance" to "normal" just to check whether if thats affecting it. Cause this Asus software (if not mistaken) can oc ur CPU that makes the temp increase. After u done that, check the result, come back here again. Oh btw, can anyone confirm if the fan speed is a little bit under for high performance settings?
This post has been edited by LeechFever: Apr 12 2009, 12:51 AM |
Apr 12 2009, 09:14 AM
2,510 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Penang Island and Bidor |
QUOTE(winter-X @ Apr 12 2009, 12:04 AM) i din remove the hsf also...b4 that working fine...but now i just remove my mobo with hfs...and then this problem occur...okay,i will try to get my new thermal paste...thanks for ur suggestion... clean the procs and the base of HSF with isopropyl alcohol. then get a good thermal paste, spread as thinly and evenly as possible on the procs surface. make sure when sitting the HSF on top of the procs, it is being sitted evenly. |
Apr 12 2009, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(LeechFever @ Apr 12 2009, 12:50 AM) Try changing the option from "high performance" to "normal" just to check whether if thats affecting it. Cause this Asus software (if not mistaken) can oc ur CPU that makes the temp increase. After u done that, check the result, come back here again. Oh btw, can anyone confirm if the fan speed is a little bit under for high performance settings? erm,but b4 already in high performance wor...din see the temperature goes like hell?its just the asus new feature...just to save some energy...okay,i will try...but i dun think that will be that problem...and i using normal intel hsf which comes with the proc(its sucks)...i tot it is already at high rpm? QUOTE(metsatsu @ Apr 12 2009, 09:14 AM) clean the procs and the base of HSF with isopropyl alcohol. then get a good thermal paste, spread as thinly and evenly as possible on the procs surface. make sure when sitting the HSF on top of the procs, it is being sitted evenly. but i wonder why i din remove or do anything to that hsf...just change a new psu nia...will cause this?and why the mobo wont turn off at 90 degree ++?i tot it should be? |
Apr 12 2009, 01:15 PM
2,841 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The East of the Motherland |
QUOTE(winter-X @ Apr 12 2009, 11:19 AM) erm,but b4 already in high performance wor...din see the temperature goes like hell?its just the asus new feature...just to save some energy...okay,i will try...but i dun think that will be that problem... Oh sorry, I hav the same program as well though it states "normal" instead of "high performance" but actually they re the same. and i using normal intel hsf which comes with the proc(its sucks)...i tot it is already at high rpm? but i wonder why i din remove or do anything to that hsf...just change a new psu nia...will cause this?and why the mobo wont turn off at 90 degree ++?i tot it should be? Actually before that, what was the average temp? Is the CPU fan moving? Can u feel the immense heat generated (if do then the termister should register correctly and functioning)? Did u remove the heatsink for cleaning before? If u do feel the heat and did the removal thing before, then highly probable it has to do with surface contact to the heat sink. In my understanding (basically just ma opinion cause i never did this), thermal paste can be a double edge solution. When u first apply it and put the heat sink on it, the chip surface area are fully contacted for the heat to flow to the heatsink. But once quite dry out, and u remove the heat sink, it may work the opposite round and act as an insulator instead so normally I think u need to renew the thermal paste (and of course remove the old one first). This post has been edited by LeechFever: Apr 12 2009, 01:17 PM |
Apr 12 2009, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(LeechFever @ Apr 12 2009, 01:15 PM) Oh sorry, I hav the same program as well though it states "normal" instead of "high performance" but actually they re the same. before this,the average temperature is around 40...the cpu fan confirm moving...(at almost highest speed i think)...erm,i not sure abt the heat...coz i dun really feel the heat immerse out...i din remove the heatsink at all...(that is the weird part)Actually before that, what was the average temp? Is the CPU fan moving? Can u feel the immense heat generated (if do then the termister should register correctly and functioning)? Did u remove the heatsink for cleaning before? If u do feel the heat and did the removal thing before, then highly probable it has to do with surface contact to the heat sink. In my understanding (basically just ma opinion cause i never did this), thermal paste can be a double edge solution. When u first apply it and put the heat sink on it, the chip surface area are fully contacted for the heat to flow to the heatsink. But once quite dry out, and u remove the heat sink, it may work the opposite round and act as an insulator instead so normally I think u need to renew the thermal paste (and of course remove the old one first). erm,means i have no choice but to buy a thermal paste to apply on the heat sink...argh,nid wait few more days...btw,thanks alot for ur help... |
| Change to: | 0.0152sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:42 PM |