Shuky Par Avion MacBook Air Leather Sleeve

Both very much recommended!
stringfellow
post Nov 18 2010, 06:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Nov 14 2010, 08:53 PM)
Anyone can recommend a good bag for Macbook Air 13.3" size?
If you can find my previous recommendation on a Hedgren bag I had before, that would be my choice. It's small enough to carry the 13.3inch form factor without posing extra bulk. Or if you like leather, there's always the MacCase products. I have one for the older version of MBA and it fits like a glove. Compartments for cables, and even pouch for the MBA SuperDrive if you have one.

http://www.mac-case.com/. Check out their Flight Jacket series.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Nov 18 2010, 06:50 PM
stringfellow
post Nov 26 2010, 01:04 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Nov 19 2010, 08:32 AM)
got real pic of them? they look like advertising pics......  tongue.gif
Pics of them are in my Twitter feed. Lazy to upload here.
stringfellow
post Jun 13 2012, 05:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(louis01 @ Jun 13 2012, 04:44 PM)
Macbook Pro 15" (late 2011)
Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Hard Disk 750GB@ 5100 rpm
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB + ATI Radeon 1GB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4

PM if interested!
Hey asswipe, stop spamming the forum with your pathetic sale post can or not? Reported.
stringfellow
post Jun 22 2012, 07:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I would advise against any screen protectors for the Retina Display MBP. Clear ones will introduce glare back again, compared to the reduced glare now. Matte one will just blur the clarity of the Retina screen.
stringfellow
post Jun 22 2012, 08:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I dont trust anyone with that. Otherwise you can try the wrapping service in Sg.Wang to do it for you.

I just love my MBP RD too much to let anyone scratch her.
stringfellow
post Jun 22 2012, 09:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Ground floor at the northwest corner of the cellphone area.
stringfellow
post Jun 22 2012, 10:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yes. There was one a wrapping service at LYP on the second floor, but they moved. The Sg. Wang booth is still there.
stringfellow
post Jun 23 2012, 09:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Purchased the Tumi Alpha Bravo Knox backpack for my new Retina Display MBP.

http://www.tumi.com/product/index.jsp?productId=4209926

Bought the tan one. Wanted to get the Brenthaven ProStyle Slimpack but not available here. Shipping from US easily costs a lot more than that bag alone due to volumetric size. The Alpha Bravo Knox fits the MBP just nice, with tons of compartmentalized pockets. I can carry my MBP, charger, my AKG headphones, the Hyperjuice MacBook external battery, RAT7 gaming mouse, external battery for iPhone and still have room to spare plus still have that slim profile.
stringfellow
post Jun 24 2012, 07:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jun 24 2012, 05:42 PM)
Have you received it? How does it feel?
I am thinking of buying an alternative to my Solo Vintage Backpack - probably a leather messenger bag likethis.
There's one in eBay Malaysia but the postage costs is so high. sad.gif
Feels more durable and nicer than the old Samsonite Hedgren I used before. This one maintains its slim profile when I decide to travel light or expands when needed when I chuck lots of stuff in it.
stringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 01:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

My Colcasac Uintah "Handmade in Salt Lake City" case for 15" Retina Display MacBook Pro just arrived. The paper bag itself is BEAUTIFUL!

stringfellow
post Jun 29 2012, 02:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 29 2012, 02:38 PM)
USD ? or SGD ? where you all found these unique and preety stuff 1 ?
Here. USD45. I found them by Googling.
stringfellow
post Jul 1 2012, 01:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Jun 30 2012, 09:53 AM)
Like foof isn't it? or foof imitates it  hmm.gif
Like, but not quite. Colcasac has been around for a while, they go by the name AppleSac last time.

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jun 30 2012, 10:19 AM)
Materials

The Juan Valdez features a repurposed jute coffee bag exterior, reinforced with a mid weight hemp linen and is lined with a very soft 100% recycled polyester fleece lining. The jute exterior is made from actual used and cleaned coffee bags, and most have a very subtle coffee scent.
I was very much interested in this, until the coffee part. tongue.gif

I'll also be getting the SFBags sleeve case when it is available for shipping July 6th. No hurry as the Uintah works awesome now. Rugged on the outside, impossibly soft on the inside.
stringfellow
post Jul 3 2012, 07:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jul 3 2012, 07:14 PM)
I like this bag from sfbags

or this one..

Got another NRT-LAX trip in August. If you wanna jump in the purchase, holler. I'm buying mine in August to and get it shipped to Hilton LAX. Question is, Outback or SleeveCase? SleeveCase is more professional looking.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2012, 05:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Is your desk that dangerous that it'll scratch your MBP? My desk is rather stationary.
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2012, 08:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I baby my portable Macs initially, but after a while, they go in and out of a sleeve with them being naked. Sleeve is always on the first day I get my portable Macs. Since I've been buying portable computers and notebooks. I have yet to see any of the buyers of my notebooks coming back to me complaining about scratched surfaces, nor have they take note of scratches and use that as a ploy to degrade the resale value.

The way I look at it, if you're really that scared of using your portable Macs as it is, get something else more robust and won't scratch/won't show up scratches on their chassis. If the phobia/OCD of scratching a notebook OUTWEIGH the reason why you purchase it in the first place (which is , I hope, is because you need to use it for work/go through your daily routine) in a portable environment, you need help. tongue.gif

Notebooks are portable. I agree on the sentiment of protecting your investment. But protect them sensibly, without hindering the reason why you purchased them in the first place.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2012, 08:02 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 5 2012, 09:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That question is for the 2012 New MacBook Pro/MacBook Air thread, not here. Short answer: poor implementation and integration of Flash into Safari.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/406169...tart=0&tstart=0

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 5 2012, 09:51 PM
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2012, 12:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Only getting the SleeveCase next month, and if my request for an LA flight is fulfilled. So no promises.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2012, 01:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kokboon04 @ Jul 7 2012, 12:46 PM)
Hi, Stringfellow, may I know how long do you wait for the shipment to arrive??
3 days. I picked the fastest available shipping option via Fedex.
stringfellow
post Jul 7 2012, 02:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Fedex vs. USPS. The old adage "you get what you pay for" applies here.

Which is why I hate it when online vendors only provide the slowest, cheapest method of shipping under the pretense of trying to pass the savings to the customer.

0.0191sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:49 PM