Hardware All Macbook Casings,Screen Protector,Sleeve,Bags.., Discussion etc

daydreaming
post Sep 22 2009, 09:09 PM

555 posts

finally got my mbp 13 but donno what kind of protection i need for it. i asked the machines guy, he said apa also no need wor :|

actually i asked this question somewhere but couldnt find which is the thread. sorry if u guys hv seen this question again.

anyway, the package igot is jz a normal keyboard protector. i feel its disturbing the heat ventilation below the keyboard. is it worth it to get the moshi keyboard protector?

also, i heard the palm rest area might have problem after a while...as in the color n scratches. so i think of getting a the moshi palm guard or something. trackpad i think shld b fine without anything.

do u guys get anything for the screen or just use iklear? how much is iklear by the way? machines selling for 80+

sorry ya, first time mac owner. apa pun donno here.
daydreaming
post Sep 23 2009, 08:16 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 22 2009, 09:27 PM)
For casing, you can choose for invi shield, hard casing or soft cashing. this is the one im using http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=28705015

For keyboard protector, i dont think you need that since the keys are all in black color and easy to clean. another issue is also because the heat dissipation.

For palm guard, yea, there is a need to stick for it. Moshi is one of the best, but the Moshi package which around rm100 comes with trackpad protector too. I dont think applying the trackpad protector is good because will decrease the sensitivity.

For screen protector, i think iklear is not bad.
was thinking bout this case but its not cheap lo. i plan to get this and then put inside my laptop bag. the sleeve machines gave me looks bit ....risky. coz can easily scratch the surface.

i considered the speck before but the color not so nice wor. prefer black or silver color of the aluminium. .
daydreaming
post Sep 23 2009, 01:39 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 23 2009, 12:14 PM)
Yea, im just same like you, was considering speck, but the color really not my type. So at last i still decided to buy this shadow casing. am going to buy a wireless mm mouse skin for my mouse too. which will cost me rm95 in future.
mmm the shadow casing, will it cause any heat problem for it? coz i plan to put it vertical as desktop replacement in the future. and is it good enuf w/o any sleeve so that i can put it into the laptop bag?
daydreaming
post Sep 24 2009, 07:50 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 23 2009, 11:33 PM)
ya, there is no need to buy a sleeve, unless your mbp dont use casing. b4 i use my casing, i dint even use any sleeve to protect it. i just put it in my backpack, thats it.
yea, ordering the shadow for my mbp 13. actually i like mbp as it is. but scare scratch la. the speck's color jz bit too colorful for me. hahaha. so opting for shadow.

reli...the protection alone can kill me liao
daydreaming
post Sep 24 2009, 09:13 PM

555 posts

got the shadow casing for my mbp. still feel mbp is nicer in its own but i feel safer wif the casing. its quite soft to the touch but the see-thru plastic for the apple logo looks a bit out of place. :|

also my other complaint is the palm rest... the casing is a bit distracting at the edge. don feel quite comfortable since its like something protruding out fr the edge. can feel it wif my wrist.

but other than that, so far so good la.
daydreaming
post Sep 24 2009, 10:47 PM

555 posts

i changed here n there. it's not perfect also. could've been better - the apple logo placement i mean.
the palm rest area reli hurting my wrist a bit. hahaha.

as for the moshi keyboard protector. looks nice n perfect. soft touch also. only problem is that...it comes off too easily. hahah. coz its non-sticky (thats why wont leave stains on the keyboard).

This post has been edited by daydreaming: Sep 24 2009, 10:53 PM
daydreaming
post Sep 25 2009, 07:59 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 25 2009, 02:52 AM)
Why dont you see mine instead of youtube one? lolx. i have no problem closing at it.
i think its true that cannot be closed properly. the difference is pretty minimal. i don reli mind about this small difference to be honest.

but one other major concern is the heat. a lot of reviews saying the heat problem will arise if you are using heavy duty stuff like photoshop because it blocks the air ventilation at the back and bottom. the aluminium casing will not be useful anymore. and it'll be worse if u have a silicon keyboard protector. i hope my moshi 1 wont be as bad. but i'll closely monitor the temperature and update here as needed. smile.gif
daydreaming
post Sep 26 2009, 01:17 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 26 2009, 01:14 PM)
Hi i must say, i just bought an capdase rough screen protector, its better comparing to glossy. when its under light, there's no reflection. Ask the keyboard protector issue with them, they said that they open the new mbp once, and they noted that its totally seal. so there is no problem using screen protector. oh ya, i bought a marware palm guard too. although looks ugly but the touching feeling is damn nice. oh it comes with a trackpad protector and a clothe. the trackpad protector not only dint decrease the sensitiveness but increase the smoothing touching. try that. the clothe is better a bit compare to others. let me know if you want me to upload my pics.
mm i ordered moshi palmguard. seen good reviews of it.
screen protector? i can live w/o tat. i actually like the glossy screen (call me weird). biggrin.gif

i jz hope the xgear wont overheat my mbp when running adobe stuff.
daydreaming
post Sep 26 2009, 01:33 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 26 2009, 01:23 PM)
i have no problem with my shadow when running ps cs3 and flash cs 3 so far. my temp turn up to 80 + when im running one of them + itunes + safari + vuze, then on parallel side, thunder + pps.
whoa. u have keyboard protector on?
daydreaming
post Sep 26 2009, 02:06 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 26 2009, 01:37 PM)
nope. oh yea, forgot msn at parallel too. haha. the temp is normal i think.
oh ok ok. thanks for sharing. i do have keyboard protector on. will go get an ext hdd 3.5", iklear to clean the screen...and tat's all. hahaha. but those 2 will get later la. really poor now man.

p/s... i cant utilize my mbp yet coz of leopard. don wan to keep my stuff inside since i gonna do a clean install once SL comes in.
daydreaming
post Sep 26 2009, 03:13 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Sep 26 2009, 03:03 PM)
hdd 3.5 for FW? mbp itself lack of usb d. the iklear is anti-glare? or what?

clean install and update doesnt make a big different.
FW = ? yea. mbp not enuf usb, but the hdd is not that big. plan to get a usb hub for other lightweight devices.

iklear is used to clean the screen. it's a kind of liquid.

i've read somewhere that doing a clean install of SL is better. since it's still new, might as well do that.
daydreaming
post Oct 11 2009, 09:08 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Oct 11 2009, 09:03 PM)
looks great, im a LBj fans too =) the gold color represent the prestige of King James. the choices at that website seems not many enough.
bro, ur xgear shadow ok ka? mine macam causing heat problem a little. when running quicktime and doing some copy stuff, the temp shoots to 80+
now i took off the lower casing for proper ventilation and so far has been around 50-65 range.
daydreaming
post Oct 11 2009, 10:04 PM

555 posts

i think the cooler master does help a little. anyway, i'll jz remove the bottom half whenever i don bring it around. i might get the cooler master, any idea where can i get it? and around how much ah?

i think maybe not as much as 15. but somewhere 5-10 is also pretty serious.

0.0345sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:29 AM