Monash or Nottingham for Engineering?

TSwindsrave
post Apr 10 2009, 10:16 PM, updated 17y ago

41 posts

which University is better for Engineering course? Monash or Nottingham or even MMU? icon_question.gif
im currently studying UNSW(U of new south wales) foundation year and planing to quit it if Nottingham is my final option. or else. i will continue study and further my studies to Monash.
what about MMU? is it good? pros and cons compare to both above ? hmm.gif hmm.gif
thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

p/s: any tips of quitting/discontinue college for me? do i need to write a letter? rclxub.gif i have no idea

miss-steph18
post Apr 10 2009, 10:18 PM

102 posts

nottingham
tanjinjack
post Apr 10 2009, 10:27 PM

4,122 posts

Please check with Nottingham if they accept your Pre-U study or not.
Personally, I believe they admit you, but you need to be excellent.

If you are entering Nottingham with UNSW foundation, then I have to say that you will face difficulties for your 1st year. This is because what being taught in the 1st year of Nottingham is taught in Australian universities of 2nd year. (The 1st year in Australia for Engineering being common 1st year.)
So, you are short-circuiting one year if you use an Aus Pre-U to enter a UK university. (Nonetheless, 3 years UK degree won't bring you accreditation which is another story already.)

I guess you need to be very careful of it, if you happen to go to Nottingham.

When comparing Monash and Nottingham, I believe they are about the same. It depends on which kind of lifestyle you prefer and what do you want to achieve. Personally, I think that Nottingham 4 years study more things than Monash 4 years, in which Monash's 1st year is just common 1st year, which some of the topics is already covered in the UK's A-Level.

My 0.02
TSwindsrave
post Apr 10 2009, 10:32 PM

41 posts

is it important to be accredited? hmm.gif
tanjinjack
post Apr 10 2009, 10:37 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 10 2009, 10:32 PM)
is it important to be accredited?  hmm.gif
Civil yes.
Others less important, depending on where you want to work.
Most consultation firms prefer accredited degree.
kayden
post Apr 10 2009, 10:40 PM

912 posts

The last time my friend told me bout monash, their coursework is very tough. Those small projects u might need to prepare the prototype.

Added on April 10, 2009, 10:52 pmIf u plan to register as a Professional Engineer (IR) then u need to be accredited by BEM. Lets say if you're doing credit transfer to Nottingham and u are to fulfill a 3 years bachelor course. In total u have studied for 4 years and u get ur degree certification. U will not be eligible to register with BEM (Board of Engineers Malaysia). U need to obtain another year of academic, Masters in this case, to be entitled to be registered as Practical Engineer. After you have registered with BEM, u need to fulfill their requirements before u can apply for Professional Engineer.

PE (Pro.Eng) or IR (Ingenier) is kinda important for Civil Engineering, but it's not a must. If you are doing EE or ME it's up to you whether u wanna register with malaysia engineering board or not. The best is to register of cuz happy.gif

This post has been edited by kayden: Apr 10 2009, 10:52 PM
Criptonox89
post Sep 10 2009, 08:48 PM

2,792 posts

anybody else wanna contribute more to this topic?

I'm havin dilemma choosing between these two..

very much appreciated..smile.gif
zephyrus9999
post Sep 11 2009, 12:16 AM

649 posts

regarding the fact of accredition, i actually didnt know nottingham engineering degrees werent accredited after i accepted their offer lmao. but it doesnt matter to me cuz ill be doing master over there. and the master is accredited by BEM equivalent to BEng degree.

in terms of school fees, monash is definitely alot more expensive coz ur spending an extra year over there, which means another 36400 and 3x2400. By the time ur studying ur 4th year over here, nott graduate already started looking for job. Not mentioned yet ur food and accomodation xP

also, lifestyle.. nott is bloody secluded kampung area. no club no McD no oldtown or wat crap.. so most of your time will be spent on studying n sports coz u'll have nothing else better to do.
jasperng
post Sep 11 2009, 02:51 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

why do you wanna come back from UNSW ? isnt UNSW good ? ... is it money matter ?

What course of engineering are you studying ?
tanjinjack
post Sep 11 2009, 12:48 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Sep 11 2009, 12:16 AM)
regarding the fact of accredition, i actually didnt know nottingham engineering degrees werent accredited after i accepted their offer lmao. but it doesnt matter to me cuz ill be doing master over there. and the master is accredited by BEM equivalent to BEng degree.

in terms of school fees, monash is definitely alot more expensive coz ur spending an extra year over there, which means another 36400 and 3x2400. By the time ur studying ur 4th year over here, nott graduate already started looking for job. Not mentioned yet ur food and accomodation xP

also, lifestyle.. nott is bloody secluded kampung area. no club no McD no oldtown or wat crap.. so most of your time will be spent on studying n sports coz u'll have nothing else better to do.
Got OldTown la... Tesco Semenyih..

In term of tuition fee, BEng vs BEng wise, Nottingham saves a year. If spending 4 years together, (which you end up with BEng in Monash but MEng in Nottingham), the difference between tuition fee is not that big.

But I have to agree with you that living expenses will be a lot lesser because of its remoteness.
EduSpiral
post Sep 16 2009, 06:21 PM

Your online education advisor
654 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Sep 10 2009, 08:48 PM)
anybody else wanna contribute more to this topic?

I'm havin dilemma choosing between these two..

very much appreciated..smile.gif
Both universities are top ranked and has high standards of teaching. The entry requirements are quite high for both institutions. You will first need to see if you are able to enter in with your Pre-U qualification. Nottingham has its advantage in that you will have a conducive environment to study in without much distractions and yet close enough to KL for you to venture out once in a while to let off steam.

In terms of accreditation, as shared by some here, it is not important except for Civil Engineers. Not only Nottingham's engineering degrees are not accredited, All British Engineering degrees are not accredited by BEM because they are 3 years in duration and that is why the MEng is accredited as it adds another year. A 3 year degree is sufficient to get you a good job.

You should also visit both campuses and talk to their lecturers. Again, as the entry requirements are quite high, do check it first before you go so that you don't waste your time and get disappointed. If you want, you can email me your Pre-U results and I can tell you whether Nottingham or Monash would accept you. I used to work for Monash and now am an agent for a few colleges including Nottingham.

Other things to take into consideration when choosing a college are:

1. Size of college - large, small or medium. Some people like a lot of people around, other prefer a cosy small college where everyone knows each other.
2. Cost. Tuition fees for the whole duration. Cost of living. Cost of accommodation if you are outstation.
3. Accommodation. Off campus, on campus, single or shared.
4. Entry requirements.
5. Lecturers.

Feel free to contact me for more info eduspiral@gmail.com

Cheers.

Added on September 16, 2009, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 10 2009, 10:16 PM)
which University is better for Engineering course? Monash or Nottingham or even MMU? icon_question.gif
im currently studying UNSW(U of new south wales) foundation year and planing to quit it if Nottingham is my final option. or else. i will continue study and further my studies to Monash.
what about MMU? is it good? pros and cons compare to both above ? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

p/s: any tips of quitting/discontinue college for me? do i need to write a letter?  rclxub.gif  i have no idea
I am not sure why you would quit the UNSW Foundation year in order to join Monash or Nottingham. In order to enter either university, you will need to have a Foundation qualification. If you quit, you will then have to start over and join Nottingham's Foundation in Engineering or take up another Foundation programme like MUFY at Sunway University College before joining Monash.

As I do not know your whole story, it is difficult to advise but from initial impression of you sharing that you want to quit the UNSW Foundation to join Nottingham or Monash directly, I find it strange. Note that to join either university, you will need to have extremely high scores and the engineering programmes at both universities require a lot of work and smarts to complete. I am not trying to insult you but just to prepare you.

I assume that you are studying at KDU at present?

There are other colleges or universities out there with lower entry requirements. You may email me to find out more. eduspiral@gmail.com

Cheers.

This post has been edited by EduSpiral: Sep 16 2009, 06:28 PM
Grimm
post Sep 17 2009, 04:54 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Monash's coursework is a little tougher from what I've heard. Of course I can't compare, can't do both at the same time.

But I guess its no harm toughening yourself up wink.gif

0.0192sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:19 AM