Doing some research on protein, carb, fat ratio

TSmyremi
post Apr 9 2009, 08:49 AM, updated 17y ago

1,846 posts

Need some feedback from the BBers here. Helping a friend on this and I must admit that BB diet plans confuses me because everyone has a different opinion in BB.com. And all the other posts around don't really talk about the nutrition plan in total i.e. a one day meal plan and more of specific things like pre-post workout.

So, I wanted to get your feedback to some questions :
  1. What is the ratio for protein, carb, fat? I'm seeing things from 40:40:20 to 60:20:20 to 40:20:40.
  2. Is it based on kcal or gram of each of the component in the food?
  3. Would the ratio change for different stages of BB e.g. losing weight, bulking, maintenance?
  4. How often do you change your ratios? Weekly, monthly, quarterly, half yearly?
  5. What triggers you to adjust your protein, carb, fat intake? Visual inspection of muscle or body fat count?
  6. Is the ratio based on what is consumed in total per day or per every meal?
  7. Do you consider taking low GI food or a mix of low GI + med GI food?
  8. I've seen some food plans from ppl in the Members Journal forum. Does anyone of you go for blood tests to check if your liver functions checks out alrite i.e. within the normal range specified in the report?

Added on April 9, 2009, 8:50 amPostnote : I'm putting this post in here so that I can get specific answers from BBers and not from random public answers in H&F forum.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 9 2009, 08:50 AM
TSmyremi
post Apr 9 2009, 12:33 PM

1,846 posts

Hmm... I'm not sure Fitday can fit it as it seems like a tracking journal rather than setting specific requirements. But I'll check it out tonite.

Added on April 9, 2009, 12:41 pm
1. It depends on your goals
Remi : Can you be more specific? BB.com has just too many articles with different ratios for just one goal e.g. bulking.

2. Total caloric contribution for each 'macro'
Remi : Hmmm... but there are some sub-rules right? Like carbo = complex carbo and fat = healthy fat?

3. Exactly, refer 1.
Remi : refer to my answer 1. smile.gif But for Q3, I'll take it out.

4. CKD requires no change at all if it works well for you. If you're on bulking/cutting/bulking/cutting, I'd do it like Layne Norton does it. 6 weeks bulk
2 weeks cut.
Remi : What's CKD? Hmm.... how do people generally make changes when they are fitting their program? 1 week observation?

5. Visual inspection, recovery rate, growth rate, performance at the gym.
Remi : Sounds like detailed observation log tracking. 2 things : recovery rate and growth rate - what are your measurables?

6. Total definitely.
Remi : ok

7. Low GI. When I was on a strict diet all I took for carbs was oats. GI is not that important a factor as Alan Aragon stressed many times already. What's more important is that your carbs be complex.
Remi : Hmm...and a question, do you experience the effects of sudden surge of high blood sugar when you take more med/high GI food than you should have? This can be anything with a lot of refined white sugar (e.g. cakes, kuih, soft drinks) to refined carbo.

8. I've been tested before 3 years ago to be fine. I may test again soon.
Remi : Hmm...you guys don't check on an annual basis?

Another 2 questions :

9. Do BBers usually smoke or not?

10. do BBers usually drink a lot or not? A lot is more than 1 mug per week.

Added on April 9, 2009, 12:41 pmtengster : GG, calling me wikisan. Adoh!

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 9 2009, 12:41 PM
TSmyremi
post Apr 10 2009, 10:41 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Apr 9 2009, 06:54 PM)
I should get paid for this
I should be paid to ask questions and answer them too. icon_idea.gif

1. You wanna bulk 40/40/20 looks good. I had like 42.5/42.5/15 roughly. Cyclic ketogenic diet (CKD) can comp you (clean bulk) so the macros go way off to like 50/0/50 but of course you can get in a low amount of carbs daily.
Macro = macronutrients?

4. Trial and error. CKD is cyclic ketogenic diet. I should be less ambiguous, sorry.
Actually not. You gave me something to hunt down now and the first few googled sites gave some insights.

5. Recovery and growth rate is proportionate to performance at the gym.
Hmmm.....ok.

8. Scared of needles.
Blindfold yourself or bring along your gf/wife to frenchkiss you while the blood sample is being taken. The latter is a good distration I would think and you wouldn't be able to see the needles. tongue.gif

If you thought needles were scary, you should see the 2 holes that gets put into your abdomen during the bypass surgery. After the surgery, you'd have 2 tubes of 1 inch thick with blood + other waste draining out of your body while you're still conscious. This, more than anything else, made me decide to take things seriously when the high BP came.

TSmyremi
post Apr 10 2009, 12:17 PM

1,846 posts

I know. Don't worry lah.

Getting an earful from pizzaboy as well.
TSmyremi
post Apr 10 2009, 04:42 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 10 2009, 03:23 PM)
I didn't say anything!!!!
Heh! I meant that you will giving me some hints too. smile.gif
TSmyremi
post Apr 12 2009, 12:48 PM

1,846 posts

shanecross : when you mention PubMed have some interesting stuff to read, you weren't kidding.

Dietary protein safety and resistance exercise: what do we really know?

International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: Nutrient timing

Protein and Overtraining: Potential Applications for Free-Living Athletes

Hmmm....although these are for athletes and the bodybuilders mentioned are powerlifters, I think.

And it looks like they use g rather than kcal to get the carbo : protein : fat ratio. So, which is correct : g or kcal?

Hmm....one thing that's interesting to note is that if using protein as an energy source an additiona 2000-3500 kcal is needed. It's in one of the articles.

TSmyremi
post Apr 12 2009, 08:43 PM

1,846 posts

cofactor-3 & shanecross :

Oppsy. Sorry if I came across as rude and degaratory. When it's only text, I forget to be careful with words when I start getting very analytical.

TBH, I wasn't thinking that conversions of g to kcal would have been that simple on the premise that the heat values may be different from food to food. E.g. non-poultry meat would have streaky fat in them if you look at beef, pork, dear, compared to chicken.

Hmm...I guess I would be labelled as an analysis-paralysis faggot with the direct questioning. I'm anal in that sense when it comes hunting for an answer. smile.gif

But bear in mind that one of the LYN members who has a workout journal got very confused with some of the terminology used and sent me a PM for help. So, most I can do is ask for clarification here.

Hmm... it's true that these are journals but at least it provides some insights to how ppl look at diets and safety measures. I understand that it's not a place to look for a "One-Rule-Fits-All".
TSmyremi
post Apr 13 2009, 09:55 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Apr 13 2009, 08:43 AM)
edit.
Oh err... blink.gif Was it something I post earlier?

0.0167sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:33 AM