28 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Renovations which is the best laminated flooring in malaysia?, pls tell me!!!!

wrb7878
post Jun 21 2011, 05:36 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jun 21 2011, 03:54 PM)
i think cannot get $5psf already.

as far as i know, Inovar n Robina manufactured locally, Excel made in China n Thailand, whereas Floor Depot made in China. their price r almost the same (n i think quality n technology the same too), just different marketing n pricing strategy.
the best is still solid wood, be it local merbau or imported teak. but it cost more than double
can. this guy still offer the price.
http://www.azrfloor.com/

actually the skirting/profile is expensive too. example. 600sf x 5 = 3K, the skirting will cost another 1.5K too.
orientaliew
post Jun 21 2011, 06:01 PM

331 posts

what brand does the company use?

skirting not so expensive i think. if the 600sf is square, should be arround 100f x $5, that is $500 max. brows.gif
wrb7878
post Jun 21 2011, 10:46 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jun 21 2011, 06:01 PM)
what brand does the company use?

skirting not so expensive i think. if the 600sf is square, should be arround 100f x $5, that is $500 max. brows.gif
they do inovar and robina.

normally will install laminated at bedroom.
so if 600sf = 4 room = 10x15/room = 50 feet/room = 200 feet(this is for square but not all room is square)
i toe skirting is very cheap, so after they(few LF contractor) come...the actual cost of skirting/profile is cost >1K(mdf) & 1.5K(pvc)
Gary1981
post Jun 22 2011, 12:23 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 21 2011, 01:18 PM)
how much per square feet?
If u are interested, i can provide u the contact....smile.gif...
kelvyn
post Jun 22 2011, 02:52 PM

3,173 posts

I was deciding between Floor Depot and Inovar.
Finally, used Inovar for my house renovation. Used them for the ground and upper floor. Workmanship is also quite good. One of the best installer that I have come across. Compared to some of those installers that have done work in my house. They practically clean up as the work.

There are various type of flooring product from Inovar. I used their Timberline collection series. At that this they were having promotion. Got them at very good price. biggrin.gif

http://www.inovarfloor.com/

wrb7878
post Jun 22 2011, 04:37 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 22 2011, 02:52 PM)
I was deciding between Floor Depot and Inovar.
Finally, used Inovar for my house renovation. Used them for the ground and upper floor. Workmanship is also quite good. One of the best installer that I have come across. Compared to some of those installers that have done work in my house. They practically clean up as the work.

There are various type of flooring product from Inovar. I used their Timberline collection series. At that this they were having promotion. Got them at very good price.  biggrin.gif

http://www.inovarfloor.com/
how much? brows.gif
orientaliew
post Jun 22 2011, 04:39 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(hunter1425 @ Jun 19 2011, 10:36 AM)
Bad idea. Looks good and expensive. Our Malaysian weather high RH is bad for the lamination. Won't last long.
blink.gif shocking.gif

really ah?
i thought laminated can tahan at least 10 years? most of them also promise to warranty this. hmm.gif

Added on June 22, 2011, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jun 21 2011, 10:46 PM)
they do inovar and robina.

normally will install laminated at bedroom.
so if 600sf = 4 room = 10x15/room = 50 feet/room = 200 feet(this is for square but not all room is square)
i toe skirting is very cheap, so after they(few LF contractor) come...the actual cost of skirting/profile is cost >1K(mdf) & 1.5K(pvc)
if u seperated 600sf into 4 rooms, than your calculation is correct.
every potential consumer must aware of this because salesman always quote without mention the skirting price. shakehead.gif
ask them to quote total cost.

This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jun 22 2011, 04:44 PM
hunter1425
post Jun 22 2011, 04:44 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jun 22 2011, 04:39 PM)
blink.gif  shocking.gif

really ah?
i thought laminated can tahan at least 10 years? most of them also promise to warranty this. hmm.gif
See my post at " http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1822136/ " post 27 .
orientaliew
post Jun 22 2011, 05:22 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(hunter1425 @ Jun 22 2011, 04:44 PM)
See my post at " http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1822136/ " post 27 .
nothing is forever, including the waterproofing material.

u c, our traditional wisdom discourage sleeping on the concrete or stone or tiles, unless we are looking for trouble when we get old. as u said:" Ground floor, always have water vapour
seeping out of the concrete", water vapour will seep through joint of tiles too. so we have no choice indeed.
my situation is i bought a single storey house n renovate it, if i keep the existing tiles at the living area, i cannot find stock for the renovated area (n the tiles not nice too). if i change all the tiles, my budget must include hecking n re-cement the old area, that is a lot of money man rclxub.gif

but laminated flooring can put directly on top of the old tiles, thus save money on hacking n re-cement. laminated should be better than solid wood in terms of water resistant, isn't it? so i have no choice. cry.gif

any better idea if vinyl is out?
sl2007
post Jun 22 2011, 05:31 PM

285 posts

Emm, I remembered there are some supplier approached me based in 2007 in regards to this laminated timber flooring.... Apparently I found that, this are Melamine laminated timber floor... And is not timber at all actually... It actually give some Timber "feel" to the occupant...

Anyhow, I not too sure are you guys referring to the same material...
hunter1425
post Jun 22 2011, 06:16 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jun 22 2011, 05:22 PM)

if i keep the existing tiles at the living area, i cannot find stock for the renovated area (n the tiles not nice too). if i change all the tiles, my budget must include hecking n re-cement the old area, that is a lot of money man  rclxub.gif

but laminated flooring can put directly on top of the old tiles,  thus save money on hacking n re-cement. laminated should be better than solid wood in terms of water resistant, isn't it? so i have no choice. cry.gif

any better idea if vinyl is out?
Save money easy lah, just do some pattern design with other new tile around the existing tile. The tiler will know just to cut and hack out the area for the pattern area.

As for re tiling the whole area with new tile, if differentiate height is not a problem, there are chemical available to allow you to re tile directly over the existing tile .

Laminate means joining layers together. How can glue be stronger than natural solid wood .. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
orientaliew
post Jun 22 2011, 06:32 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jun 22 2011, 05:31 PM)
Emm, I remembered there are some supplier approached me based in 2007 in regards to this laminated timber flooring.... Apparently I found that, this are Melamine laminated timber floor... And is not timber at all actually... It actually give some Timber "feel" to the occupant...

Anyhow, I not too sure are you guys referring to the same material...
u r right to certain extent. all laminated flooring r not real timber, just like "marble like" tiles not stone actually, just look n feel like marble.
laminated flooring are just a piece of wood like base made predominantly of wood(plus resin or plastic etc) with a layer of timber grain printed paper(or whatever u call it). sad.gif

but it is the best substitute to real solid wood i suppose, at least to someone reluctant to spend too much on "real" wood, n certainly better than "wood like" vinyl. there is a product by floor depot which they market as "charmwood", almost waterproof that it can dip in the water! this one is more plastic than wood for sure. hmm.gif
sl2007
post Jun 22 2011, 06:50 PM

285 posts

Sorry friend,

I guess you are referring to Engineered Timber Flooring....

Let me recap some of the supplier I knew before, EKOWOOD, TIMBORA and BKT, I guess they are the pioneer in those Engineered Timber Flooring..

For Solid Timber Floor, I can't recap.. But I usually deal with Showroom in Damansara Utama...

For Melamine Timber Flooring, I guess is alot in the market.. From Made in China till local manufactured....
hunter1425
post Jun 22 2011, 06:52 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(orientaliew @ Jun 22 2011, 06:32 PM)

u r right to certain extent. all laminated flooring r not real timber,

laminated flooring are just a piece of wood like base made predominantly of wood(plus resin or plastic etc) with a layer of timber grain printed paper(or whatever u call it). sad.gif

Laminate as per Wiki " A laminate is a material that can be constructed by uniting two or more layers of material together "

It is real wood lah bro. Only the top thin layer is the species the market have demand.

The laminate timber selling here is part con job. A thin layer could mean a thin veneer slice or if you are lucky 2-3mm thick veneer peel and the bottom layers could be plywood, MDF or particular board.

The proper laminated timber has at least 3 layers laminated under hot or cold glue press machine, with the top desired timber at least 3mm thick solid timber obtained by sawing, not veneer peel . This is what they called engineering laminated timber. or something like that.

Those manufacturer are taking us Asian for a long ride, cos the consumer never bother to learn what can and cannot be used. Of course, price is also a factor here.
sl2007
post Jun 22 2011, 06:57 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(hunter1425 @ Jun 22 2011, 06:52 PM)
Laminate as per Wiki " A laminate is a material that can be constructed by uniting two or more layers of material together "

It is real wood lah bro. Only the top thin layer is the species the market have demand.

The laminate timber selling here is part con job. A thin layer could mean a thin veneer slice or if you are lucky 2-3mm thick veneer peel and the bottom layers could be plywood, MDF or particular board.

The proper  laminated timber has at least 3 layers laminated under hot or cold  glue press machine, with the top desired timber at least 3mm thick solid timber obtained by sawing, not veneer peel . This is what they called engineering laminated timber. or something like that.

Those manufacturer are taking us Asian for a long ride, cos the consumer never bother to learn what can and cannot be used. Of course, price is also a factor here.
Bro,

Thanks for your detail clarification.... I'm sure a lot of the LYN member benefited from your answer herewith....

Not mistaken, those Laminated Timber flooring selling currently are Smooth Finish at both End... Either back based with MDF or some other plastic material....
kelvyn
post Jun 22 2011, 09:00 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jun 22 2011, 05:37 PM)
how much?  brows.gif
u will need to call them up to check. Have forgotten the exact amount that I paid last year. Remember that there is a min quantity. Else, there is a min labour charge (lump sum)
chisel55
post Jun 23 2011, 10:45 PM

17 posts

If u can, never use laminate flooring. Even real solid timber strip parquet is better. And they are nearly the same price. In general natural products always give your home a better 'feel' Artificial material are more suited to commercial areas where their purpose is to stand out.
kelvyn
post Jun 24 2011, 08:28 AM

3,173 posts

It depend what you're looking for.
For heavy traffic and areas where there is possibility of termite, the the laminates would be better off.
Parquet strips tends to come off especially if you mops the floor frequently. sad.gif Of course, the timber feel is something that the laminates does not have. The feeling of walking in timber is different compared to walking on laminated floor. biggrin.gif
I know that; as my staircase is covered with timber strip while the rest of the floors with laminates.
orientaliew
post Jun 24 2011, 10:43 AM

331 posts

ehhhh, rclxub.gif put it this way:

when i said "not real wood" , i mean the core r either MDF, HDF or what ever material which is not a piece of solid wood but something mix with wood fibre n resin, compressed under high pressure n high temperature. for me, MDF n HDF is not real wood.

The proper  laminated timber has at least 3 layers laminated under hot or cold  glue press machine, with the top desired timber at least 3mm thick solid timber obtained by sawing, not veneer peel . This is what they called engineering laminated timber. or something like that.
i can't agreed more that "The laminate timber selling here is part con job". here, usually when we said laminated flooring, we refer to those with a top layer of printed decorative paper (not even veneer!), that's why these laminated look identical whereas each piece of solid wood is unique.

the product with " at least 3mm thick solid timber" r more commonly referred as engineered hardwood, which can be more expensive than solid wood.

life is always a compromise, lose somewhere n gain somewhere. when u cannot afford solid wood but u like the wood feel, laminated is the natural choice for majority.

thanks for sharing, mr. hunter. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 24, 2011, 10:44 am
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 24 2011, 08:28 AM)
the timber feel is something that the laminates does not have. The feeling of walking in timber is different compared to walking on laminated floor.  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by orientaliew: Jun 24 2011, 10:44 AM
VKS286
post Jun 25 2011, 11:56 PM

Guys...just checking; my house is a double storey terrace. Is it okay to have laminated flooring for ground floor such as living area? Is it safe to put laminated flooring on tiles directly or to hack off the tiles first? There were some info on higher grade laminated flooring for heavy movement area, is this true?

28 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:30 AM