Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

xbbshampoo
post Aug 9 2011, 08:03 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

QUOTE(OCMAX @ Aug 9 2011, 05:50 PM)
Greeting to all. I'm a new MBP user. just upgraded from 4G to 8G. first I tried to buy those as label compatible ram for macbook from lowyat. after checking around. some shops claim they are not selling these Ram and if I want I need to go to Time Square apple HQ.

So I come across Viewnet and ask them about these ram. they told me to try Kingston KVR1333D3S9 4G and just cost RM138 for 2x4G. the sale assitant told me if they ram has problem I can return to them. Since it is not very expensive. I give it a tried. after tested for over loop run. the ram looks OK and working great.

Hope this help those are looking for a upgrade.
Cheers!

Jeffery
wao, rm 138 only ? drool.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 11 2011, 11:22 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(OCMAX @ Aug 9 2011, 10:18 PM)
yes! tested with more application. working great and problem free. smile.gif
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 9 2011, 11:04 PM)
rm138??? you serious ah.... so damn cheap

i just bought a pair of second hand 2gb DDR2 desktop rams for rm100
i am so tempted to upgrade it hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xbbshampoo: Aug 11 2011, 02:06 PM
xbbshampoo
post Aug 11 2011, 02:10 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2011, 11:54 AM)
Bought Kingston KVR 2 x 4GB for RM132 on Sunday. Anyone else got cheaper? Also from Viewnet, LYP.
they help u assemble the ram in to your mac or not?
xbbshampoo
post Aug 12 2011, 08:16 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2011, 01:23 AM)
I think they will if you ask but personally I wouldn't let them touch my Mac. Quite easy to install yourself, just be careful not to lose the screws and remember to screw in the ones at the sides and bottom at a slight angle.
what do u mean by screw in the ones at the sides and bottom at a slight angle? brows.gif

i scare i screw up my mac when i am installing the ram cry.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 12 2011, 09:06 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2011, 08:45 AM)
You'll see when you remove the screws, the screws are not perpendicular to the case (not like this |) but comes out at a slight angle like this /). No big deal, just be gentle and don't force it if it doesn't seem smooth going in. You don't want to screw up the screws or the threads at the back.

Go to ifixit.com and search for your MacBook, they'll have pictures and stuff for a ram upgrade.
thanks for the tips yo flex.gif

did u pry out the battery socket connector when u are upgrading the ram?

This post has been edited by xbbshampoo: Aug 12 2011, 09:09 AM
xbbshampoo
post Aug 13 2011, 12:54 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2011, 11:52 PM)
The ram is spring loaded, just push the tabs holding the ram and it'll pop up and you just pull it out. Actually the little booklet that came with your MacBook has instructions for this.
no need to remove the battery connector right?

now i am kinda stuck. can't find a mini philip screwdriver cry.gif

just bought the ram laugh.gif

This post has been edited by xbbshampoo: Aug 13 2011, 12:54 AM
xbbshampoo
post Aug 13 2011, 01:48 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 13 2011, 01:15 AM)
Oh sorry, I skimmed through and didn't read the battery connector part. No need to remove the battery connector. Yeah, I know, the ifixit guide ask you to do that. but no need.

LOL, wait till tomorrow lah.

Added on August 13, 2011, 1:21 am
You're right, no way to make a Lion DVD if you've already installed Lion as the Lion installer from MAS, which contains the Lion disk image, gets deleted after installation. I guess have to redownload the 3.7gb installer. :-( Or copy from a friend the Lion disk image, installesd.dmg.
managed to add the 2 X 4 gb ram into my mbp with some scars on it cry.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 13 2011, 02:07 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 13 2011, 01:56 PM)
Scarred the alu shell is it? Screwdriver slipped? NVM lah.

Suggest you download memtest and do a check just to be sure.

http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/
ya cry.gif

the 2 long screw damn hard to unscrew. makes my hand's skin skim out already vmad.gif

i just now do the the memtest thingy already. all smooth like peanut butter and jam laugh.gif

This post has been edited by xbbshampoo: Aug 13 2011, 02:08 PM
xbbshampoo
post Aug 13 2011, 07:36 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 13 2011, 03:58 PM)
Don't worry lah, the bottom aluminum shell will get all scratch up in time anyway.

Mine the first day, I got it, a 50sen coin fell just next to the keyboard and nicked the alu edge. :-(
haha. nobody can see bottom is scratch then is ok ad. but after the 8gb upgrade. i feel powah has increase in my mac tongue.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 11:04 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Aug 14 2011, 10:58 AM)
Noob question here. I've been doing some reading on the forum but I'm still unsure.

I just purchased a MacBook Pro 13" i7 2.7GHz and it comes with 2 X 2GB DDR3 1333MHz. I wanna upgrade to 2 X 4GB DDR3 1333MHz.

The usual question i would ask a RAM seller is, "Is all DDR3 1333MHz RAM compatible with my macbook pro?"

- quite a few answers "yes, as long as it's DDR3 1333. kingston or corsair or mushkin no problem."
- and some said "no, you have to buy apple certified ram" - they're more expensive
- some said "kingston can use regular ram. if corsair have to use apple certified ram" huh?  rclxub.gif

so. you can imagine my confusion. i've been reading through the forum but i'm still not convinced. can someone please clarify? i'm looking to upgrade with a regular corsair 4GB DDR3 1333 (RM97). next choice is kingston 4GB DR3 1333 (RM85).

thanks in advance, everyone.
i upgraded it yesterday. using kingston 1333 4gb. cost around rm 69 per stick ! so far no problem with the memtest and i open many apps at a time thumbup.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 11:10 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 14 2011, 11:08 AM)
hi there are you using normal pc RAM or apple certified RAM?
normal 1 xD

kingston kvr1333d3s9 4gb
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 11:20 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Aug 14 2011, 11:12 AM)
awesomeness! 69 is cheap! anyone using corsair? smile.gif
cost around rm 138 for 2 pair laugh.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 11:52 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 14 2011, 11:31 AM)
and there is no compatibility issue?
so far no tongue.gif
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 01:21 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 14 2011, 01:10 PM)
i still not dare to upgrade the ram using standard ram sad.gif
haha, why bro?
xbbshampoo
post Aug 14 2011, 04:04 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 14 2011, 02:11 PM)
coz i just got this mac and i'm still new to it lol.

so u change the RAM on your own or did you had someone else to do it?
i change it my own laugh.gif

quite easy actually. but the screw unscrewing parts take some time shakehead.gif

0.0283sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:06 AM