Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

v1rtual
post Sep 17 2009, 06:32 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

self upgrade HD wont void the warranty of the other mac parts right?

v1rtual
post Sep 22 2009, 04:41 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(kamiyakaoru85 @ Sep 21 2009, 10:21 AM)
mac city has a promotion for upgrading the RAM from 2GB to 4GB for rm 269 or something like that. is that a good deal? because i don't know if i need 4GB since i'm not doing any high-tech stuff. do you think running snow leopard requires 4GB?
where is mac city?
epicentre offers RM300 only if you purchased a new unit from them and upgrade on the spot, regretted i chose not to upgrade

RM269 for what brand?
v1rtual
post Sep 23 2009, 06:48 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Sep 23 2009, 06:12 PM)
1st impression, FAST !  biggrin.gif Just cloned my main drive into my SSD. Gosh, everything is so much snappier. Launching Microsoft Word used to take 8-11 bounce on my previous Western Digital 500GB Scorpio Blue, how about now you ask? It is like opening Safari, just took a second. Photoshop CS4 took 2 sec to launch. Best of all, I can't seem to feel any vibration on my palm-rest area anymore. That may increase of my Battery Life Hopefully?
Played around with Command+A in my Application Folder and launch every App I have. It just took seconds to launch everything. The dock suddenly became super long (without lag). Haha.  cool2.gif

SSD Rocks !  laugh.gif

"The Intel X25-M Gen 2 80GB is worth it" end quote.  thumbup.gif
may i know how do you do the cloning? software?

v1rtual
post Sep 25 2009, 10:53 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 25 2009, 10:29 PM)
thanks jinaun for the advise.

I will keep the original RAM since no value and better keep for future warranty.

By the way, just upgraded 1 of our mbp to 4GB with (2x2GB Kingston KVR), no issue so far.... will try to leave it over night and see. biggrin.gif
how much and where did u purchased your KVR??
please update us if there is any issue
planning to upgrade mine soon as well
v1rtual
post Sep 26 2009, 08:31 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 26 2009, 12:39 PM)
Below price list i got from StarTec in Lowyat Plaza last weekend (20 Sep 09) and so far their price is the lowest compare to other stores:

Kingston KVR - RM145
Corsair - RM140
Kingmax - RM140
Mushkin - RM138

Added on September 26, 2009, 12:40 pmUntil now, my 2nd hand 2x2GB kingston KVR still running fine and no error.
which mean RM290 for 2x2GB for kingston kvr
is it the best and less trouble ram within those 4 choices??

did u try leaving it on overnight while running some apps?

This post has been edited by v1rtual: Sep 26 2009, 08:33 PM
v1rtual
post Sep 26 2009, 10:23 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 26 2009, 08:39 PM)
yaloh... RM290 for 2x2GB Kingston

Kingston KVR is the less problem one?

I on it over night but didnt running any application.

i felt it quite hot compare to 2x1GB leh... is this normal?
how hot is quite hot??
mine is around 47-50c if i dont run any apps under aircond room
v1rtual
post Jan 31 2010, 11:13 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Dec 22 2009, 04:58 PM)
my 7200RPM 500GB HDD, 16MB cache is arriving this friday. look forward to the HDD on my macbook pro. smile.gif I am getting seagate
2.5HDD 500GB 7200rpm is out in the market??
i have been waiting for it for months already, yet still no news.
so decided to get myself a scorpio blue tomorow..

v1rtual
post Jan 31 2010, 11:38 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 31 2010, 11:29 PM)
got got... seagate and hitachi brand. not sure la available in malaysia or not, but i wasnt looking lah

buy buy buy biggrin.gif
dont really trust seagate anymore nowadays..seems like there are many problems discovered with the drive since they moved the manufacturing place
too bad western digital doesnt come with scorpio black 500GB yet..
btw, anyone here using hitachi 500GB 7200rpm?
v1rtual
post Feb 1 2010, 02:05 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 31 2010, 11:47 PM)
oh really? what happened to seagate?

actually my scorpio blue also got prob when i bought it. read performance was slow as hell. sent it back to the shop, wait less than one week for them to try to repair, but in the end they gave me a new unit smile.gif
i believe the seagate quality control is getting very lousy
dont know about other people's thought tough.
v1rtual
post Feb 3 2010, 02:46 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

just purchased a new 500GB western digital for my mbp
can anyone help me how to process with the installation of of leopard please
thanks in advance notworthy.gif
v1rtual
post Feb 22 2010, 03:49 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

eversince i upgraded the stock HD on my MBP to western digital blue 500GB, im getting beach ball all the time..opening a new tab on safari, delay input or sometimes can even shows beach ball while im typing in microsoft word..is that a known problem of the harddisk, or am i getting a lousy copy?
v1rtual
post Feb 22 2010, 11:15 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Feb 22 2010, 06:49 PM)
Is your HDD more than 80% full? Have you recently installed any new apps? RAM working fine?

If none of the above, it could indicate a faulty HDD.
i just replaced the original HD with this 500GB, so i still have about 350GB free space
not really sure about new apps, but if im not mistaken it has been this way since the day i changed to this new harddrive

i was thinking that it might caused by the ram as well, yesterday night i changed back my ram to the stock ram, but the very same problem still occur..so its pretty clear that it is caused by the HD

so i want to check with others who uses WD blue 500GB on MBP Mid09 and facing the same problem sad.gif

0.0186sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:05 AM