Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

nahte83
post Nov 12 2009, 02:32 PM

51 posts

Hi all Mac pros, I wonder which is cheaper? Upgrading components in my Powermac G4 or changing to a G5?

Please click here to view my current specs:

Where are the areas that I can upgrade so the Mac works faster and better? Cost estimation? Thanks for any info you can provide!
nahte83
post Nov 13 2009, 09:38 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 12 2009, 03:17 PM)
Firstly you need to describe what you want to run on it.

By looking at the spec, you have a 2003 MDD G4.
The basic things you can do to bump some performance is:
1) Update your OS to 10.4.11. And reconfigure the system at the same time.
2) Add more RAM (max 2GB if possible).

By doing so you should have performance close to first gen G5. But your system will still lack behind compared to dual core/ dual processor 2.0GHz or faster G5.

Unless you can get G5 at good deal, else it will be more cost efficient to upgrade. But still depends what you want to do on it.
FYI I'm using it for Graphic heavy tasks such as Illustrator and Photoshop, which sometimes involve large format processings like images at 300dpi with physical size of over 10 feet or above. It's a workstation computer. I need information of all possible yet cost efficient upgrades to propose to my IT department & top management in order to get approval for an upgrade. It's not my personal computer.
nahte83
post Nov 13 2009, 10:30 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 13 2009, 09:57 AM)
LOL, then you should tell the management consider getting a new iMac or MacPro for long term investment. This machine is 6years old there's a limit of what it can do.
That's one of my suggestions, but of course, I need to provide more than 1 suggestion in my proposal. If they hesitate to upgrade it to iMac or MacPro, what are the next best solutions?

Also, can you give some tips on how I can optimize my eMac from within (although upgrading/overhauling is much better, but at least it helps, even slightly...) ? You know, there are those tips for Windows machines, but I don't know if there is any for Mac?

0.0338sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:37 PM