Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

hairol83
post Mar 21 2011, 07:31 PM

344 posts

@belakios - does your Unibody Alum MacBook show 8GB of RAM? The one and only Unibody aluminum MacBook only support up to 6GB of RAM with Apple officially said only support up to 4GB.
hairol83
post Mar 22 2011, 09:02 AM

344 posts

rclxms.gif How i wish there is a "like" button on the side of this comment.

QUOTE(belakios @ Mar 21 2011, 10:59 PM)
Yes, it shows 8GB RAM. The secret? Is all here!

hairol83
post Apr 18 2011, 09:52 PM

344 posts

@diners,

Both MacBook and MacBook Pro (unibody) that were release since 2008-2010 are used 1066MHz DDR3. Actually you can put the 1333MHz, but it will reduce the speed to 1066MHz. I think that's why the store refused to sell you the 1333MHz since they know that your model is support 1066MHz.

And btw,Yes, you can used that Netbook HD and install it inside your MacBook.

QUOTE(diners @ Apr 18 2011, 03:03 PM)
I've just upgraded from 2 x 1GB 1066MHz DDR3 stock uMB ram to a
2 x 2GB 1066MHz DDR3 Kingston...
Wanted to put 1333Mhz but the store refuse to sell me i dont know why -.-?
Anyway, got difference la... but sometimes my safari still hangs abit....
Why this?

ADD :

And i feel like upgrading my HDD
and i ahve a free netbook from streamyx, the HP Mini
i wonder if the 250GB can use in my uMB?
hairol83
post Apr 20 2011, 09:09 AM

344 posts

@Jing-leBelle,

Nope, He bought 1066MHz..

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Apr 19 2011, 11:20 PM)
So u installed 1333MHz on your MB ady? How is it? Everything smooth?
hairol83
post Apr 20 2011, 11:15 AM

344 posts

@tabs

Of coz can lah..who said cannot? there are well known brand which are compatible with MBP and for instance i'm using Kingston RAM with no issue.

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 20 2011, 11:09 AM)
so actually mbp 2011 13 inch can be upgrade ram? i heard many people say can't some say okie.. so which wan actually?? what brand name that u use for upgrade? any issue occur?
This post has been edited by hairol83: Apr 20 2011, 11:16 AM
hairol83
post Apr 20 2011, 11:24 AM

344 posts

@tabs,

i bought mine 1x4GB 1066MHz (Kingston) for only RM135. In the end i bought 2 pieces which cost me RM270. Brand wise? Both of them is quiet good.

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 20 2011, 11:20 AM)
how much normally cost for the ram for both? kingston okie or muskin?
hairol83
post Jun 22 2011, 09:15 AM

344 posts

@ShuUemura
i'm using Kingston KVR. Problem free.
hairol83
post Aug 13 2011, 12:01 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 12 2011, 11:09 PM)
HI since i'm a mac noob, i'm planning to upgrade my MBP 2011 13" HDD from 320GB to 1TB.

My question is how do i install the OS X into the new HDD?
it's easy.
The best way is to clone your 320GB (i supposed that Lion already installed in that HD) and after that, clone it to your new 1TB HD.

P/s --> You can use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to get the cloning done.

This post has been edited by hairol83: Aug 13 2011, 12:02 AM
hairol83
post Aug 14 2011, 10:40 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 14 2011, 02:11 PM)
coz i just got this mac and i'm still new to it lol.

so u change the RAM on your own or did you had someone else to do it?
Kinda remind me when i got myself a MacBook for the first time. Everything scared to touch. Nevertheless, once you get used to it, fear no more to DIY. wink.gif
hairol83
post Aug 29 2011, 11:24 PM

344 posts

@x-199Tx

it's easy bro. All you need to do is to find the suitable screw driver and open the bottom case. Still in doubt? you still can refer to youtube video to change the RAM.

0.0461sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:53 AM