Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

civic98
post Nov 8 2009, 05:56 PM

1,255 posts

Am considering upgrading my external LCD, currently 1680X1050 to a 1920X1200 but a little worried my MB's GMA950 may not be able to handle it. As much as Intel says it can, I have yet to be able to find a real life situation that says it's totally compatible.

Any suggestions? Ideas? Advice?
civic98
post Nov 8 2009, 07:56 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Nov 8 2009, 06:04 PM)
can upgrade the LCD? how to do that?
Haha.. Currently connected to a Dell E228WFP, entry level monitor, thinking of upgrading to a Dell U2410 UltraSharp, at the same time can hook up my old PS2 to it. Just need to make sure my MB's GMA950 can power it up.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 8 2009, 06:22 PM)
he said wanna upgrade external LCD... juz buy new one n plug-n-play lor.. hehe
Yup. External. Any advice? The Dell U2410 UltraSharp will cost RM1,599 now, not really expensive for an IPS LCD I guess, but at that price I can also buy a 32' LCD TV with some to spare. Sigh..
civic98
post Nov 8 2009, 11:07 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Nov 8 2009, 09:14 PM)
oh, i see. Pai seh not seeing properly.
But some ppl are talking something about the green/pink tint issue of U2410.

http://en.community.dell.com/forums/t/19297120.aspx
Yea I noticed some feedbacks on the tint issue, only consolation is Dell is honouring the warranty replacement policy. Anyway I need to ensure my MB can power it up first, might look into other monitors as well.
civic98
post Aug 22 2011, 04:00 PM

1,255 posts

I upgraded to 8GB on my Mac Mini Server, got the Mushkin RAM so far so good. Still have the Apple RAM (2X2GB), if anyone interested let me know.

0.0165sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:23 AM