Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

ben16
post Feb 16 2011, 04:05 PM

81 posts

I have also installed Corsair 2 X 4GB into my Mac book 13".
So far running OK, system is noticeably faster than my old 2 X 1GB RAM.
Paid RM130 for each stick.
Now looking for 7200rpm HDD.
ben16
post Feb 18 2011, 11:40 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 18 2011, 10:55 AM)
Easier way is:

1. Hook up your new HD to your MBP using USB/Firewire.
2. Clone your HD to it using Carbon Copy Cloner which is DonationWare. http://www.bombich.com/
3. Install new HD into MBP.

Done.

That's what I usually do if it's the same or same type of Mac.

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:31 am
Further to this, why not save more and get an SSD. I used the XT for 2 months and wasn't that impressed with the speed. Initially you'd find that it's fantastic because of the fast boot times but after a while, it's just a 7200rpm HD. I think you might be disappointed.
Does this mean using an external HDD casing?

I read that Hitachi 500 GB is a good choice for my MB but I don't see it being sold here.
Is WD Black the only one with 7200 rpm for 2.5".

ben16
post Mar 21 2011, 12:27 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 18 2011, 10:55 AM)
Easier way is:

1. Hook up your new HD to your MBP using USB/Firewire.
2. Clone your HD to it using Carbon Copy Cloner which is DonationWare. http://www.bombich.com/
3. Install new HD into MBP.

Done.

That's what I usually do if it's the same or same type of Mac.

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:31 am
Further to this, why not save more and get an SSD. I used the XT for 2 months and wasn't that impressed with the speed. Initially you'd find that it's fantastic because of the fast boot times but after a while, it's just a 7200rpm HD. I think you might be disappointed.
Thanks for the advice.

I have upgraded my MacBook unibody:

1. Stock 2 GB RAM upped to 8GB (4GB X 2) Corsairs. About RM270.
Salesperson helped to change the RAM. My 1st Mac, so it was educational to see how it is done.
We tried 4GB first and then 8GB - not sure if it will work. - It works!!.
Result: Noticeable faster. I don't have heavy duty programs but still pleased with the result.
Recommend RAM upgrade for best bang for the buck outcome.

2. Replaced Stock Hitachi 160GB 54000 rpm with Hitachi 500GB 7200rpm drive.
Sourced from OWC, Also got an external USB 3.0 casing and back-up software bundle promo.
Altogether RM354 including shipping. Worth it as a comparable WD 7200rpm at that time was RM260+ (but no stock!!).
Only problem - had to wait almost 1 month for shipment to arrive.
Thanks to Soon Wai's advice, the installation was a breeze, using the new HDD in external casing first, doing a carbon copy clone and then switching the HDD inside. Some steps in between but Carbon Clone is very good in doing step by step guide.
Boot up, and all is well.
Except MS Office 2011. Lost activation and had to reinstall from ori disc again. Then all is OK. Not sure if other programs are affected as I have not tried them all since changing the HDD.
Result of HDD upgrade - not as noticeable as RAM upgrade. But much more space now. Drive is also very quiet like the stock drive.

Will use old HDD as back up disk and continue. No more hardware upgrades - I think.

Thank you Soon Wai. Appreciate your tips as it helped me to prepare.

This post has been edited by ben16: Mar 21 2011, 12:29 PM
ben16
post May 8 2012, 12:24 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 26 2012, 10:59 AM)
Is there many of you that looking for 16GB kit? We could source for it and bring it in biggrin.gif

Also for Mac Mini owners we can now get 2nd drive into your unit wink.gif
Can consider if the price is good - 16GB RAM for MBP 15". -
Update: Just put in order at Amazon.de for a pair. Thanks for the link.
Strangely Amazon.usa cannot ship to Malaysia but amazon.de can.

Also interested in 2.5" 1TB 7200 rpm HDD but cannot find. Maybe does not exist??
Correction - It does exist locally, Saw on the LYN price list.

This post has been edited by ben16: May 8 2012, 05:43 PM
ben16
post May 9 2012, 09:29 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 9 2012, 01:50 AM)
Mind I ask how much U had paid after the conversion and shipping fee?
Got link?
Cost is RM418 including postage.

The link is given by others on this thread. See earlier post 2103 -2105. Thanks to them.

http://www.amazon.de/Komputerbay-PC3-10600...35281620&sr=1-2

Cheers.
ben16
post Jun 8 2012, 11:57 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(chloeee @ Jun 8 2012, 11:27 AM)
Hi, has anyone serviced their macbooks at maccity @ 1U? My harddisk is failing, and I'm unsure if it's worth sending it in for diagnostics (rm60 + rm100 for opening up the MBP) and find out if there's a chance to repair the disk. Or just go elsewhere to replace my hard disk where I'll get at least 3 years warranty, as opposed to apple's 1 year warranty.

I've also done a bit of research, and am eyeing the Seagate Momentus XT hybrid drive. smile.gif

Are there any good service/repair centers where I can bring my own disk for replacement?
Charges are steep. I went there a couple of weeks ago to install 8GB X 2 ram and they asked for RM100.
So found the small screwdriver needed for the MBP 15" and installed myself.

If your HDD is backed up, perhaps you can save some money from NOT giving to maccity and get the HDD you want and DIY.
Many helpful guides on the net.
Only thing is to make sure you get the small screwdriver needed to take the back panel off. Keep track of where the long and short screws go. I placed my MBP on a cloth on a table and took out the screws and placed them around on the cloth corresponding to the location of the holes.

It may be a good idea to browse forums to check for your chosen HDD compatibility with the Mac OS you are currently using.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by ben16: Jun 8 2012, 12:02 PM
ben16
post Jun 29 2012, 10:11 AM

81 posts

1. Anyone here has installed 1TB HDD in MBP? Any tips on clean install of Lion OSX?
2. Is there a 7200rpm 2.5" HDD available locally? In Klang?
3. Any experience with Seagate Momentus XT?

Thank you.
ben16
post Jun 29 2012, 01:22 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 29 2012, 10:16 AM)
1. make a bootable Lion USB thumbdrive, go to recovery hd and erase your HDD using disk utility.
then reinstall using the Lion USB that you made
Does this mean download from Apple or is there some way to make the boot usb from the Lion OSX already running?
I ask because internet at my place is very slow.

TQ.
ben16
post Jun 29 2012, 04:54 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 29 2012, 01:35 PM)
you need to download the file from App Store.
then read this link:

http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/08/make-a-boot...sb-flash-drive/
Thank you very much.
Good Article.
ben16
post Jul 15 2012, 11:43 PM

81 posts

Thinking of getting a data doubler and a new SSD 256 GB. SSD main drive and current 500GB HDD becomes back up with data doubler.

Anyone has done this? Where to get data doubler locally?

TQ.

Other World Computing : http://eshop.macsales.com/

Added on July 17, 2012, 11:58 amOWC DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit.
Item Number: OWCDDMBS6E240 = $299.99

OWC SuperSlim USB 2.0 Enclosure for Apple SuperDrive from MacBook/MacBook Pro Unibody
Item Number: OWCVLSS9TOPTU2 | $39.99

Instant Rebate: Save $14.99 off External Enclosure for Apple 9.5mm SuperDrive when purchased w/Data Doubler from Other World Computing.
Item Number: INSTANTOWCDDMB | Availability: Instant Rebate
-$14.99
Sub-Total: $324.99
Estimate Shipping Charges - $20.36

Estimated Total: $345.35

What do you guys think of this package. Can I do this cheaper in Malaysia?
I have bought from OWC before and am quite satisfied with their service.

This post has been edited by ben16: Jul 17 2012, 12:01 PM

0.0510sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:48 PM