Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Mr.PostMan
post Aug 12 2011, 11:09 PM

501 posts

HI since i'm a mac noob, i'm planning to upgrade my MBP 2011 13" HDD from 320GB to 1TB.

My question is how do i install the OS X into the new HDD?
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 13 2011, 05:52 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Aug 13 2011, 12:01 AM)
it's easy.
The best way is to clone your 320GB (i supposed that Lion already installed in that HD) and after that, clone it to your new 1TB HD.

P/s --> You can use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to get the cloning done.
Thanks i will tinker around with this later biggrin.gif

Added on August 13, 2011, 5:53 am
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 13 2011, 12:12 AM)
1. You can do a clean install from the DVDs that comes with your Mac. Just put in the new HD and boot from the OS X Install DVD. Very easy one. If you have data on the old HD, put it into a external USB case and use Migration Asst to transfer everything back in.

2. Other way is as the previous post, clone your old HD to the new one. This will be the more appropriate method if you already have data on it.

ps: If you have Lion, you can burn Lion to a DVD and use that instead of the Snow Leopard DVDs that came with your MacBook.
Does it mean even i can still download Lion for free eventhough i have installed it ?

This post has been edited by Mr.PostMan: Aug 13 2011, 05:53 AM
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 14 2011, 11:08 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 14 2011, 11:04 AM)
i upgraded it yesterday. using kingston 1333 4gb. cost around rm 69 per stick ! so far no problem with the memtest and i open many apps at a time  thumbup.gif
hi there are you using normal pc RAM or apple certified RAM?
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 14 2011, 11:31 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 14 2011, 11:10 AM)
normal 1 xD

kingston kvr1333d3s9 4gb
and there is no compatibility issue?
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 14 2011, 01:10 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 14 2011, 11:52 AM)
so far no  tongue.gif

i still not dare to upgrade the ram using standard ram sad.gif
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 14 2011, 02:11 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 14 2011, 01:21 PM)
haha, why bro?
coz i just got this mac and i'm still new to it lol.

so u change the RAM on your own or did you had someone else to do it?
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 19 2011, 08:13 PM

501 posts

i'm using MBP 13" i5 and the RAM is 1333Mhz so if want to buy kingston KVR is should find the 1333Mhz rite? (still a mac noob)
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 22 2011, 12:09 PM

501 posts

you can check here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/990177 it has been discussed before about RAM.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 19 2011, 11:44 PM)
correct! not a noob anymore tongue.gif
aiyo i'm still considered noob lah biggrin.gif
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 23 2011, 12:52 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Aug 23 2011, 12:02 PM)
for those who are concerned about RAMs other than KTA ones not compatible with their Macs, both myself & stringfellow have just upgraded our Mac minis with a pair of Kingston KVR 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz. and it only costs us RM70 each.

am not sure whether does this apply only to new models only or old as well. old Macs are known to be quite picky when comes to RAM.

you can just head to any shops in LYP & Digital Mall. by most, they differ by few bucks per stick.

do remember asking 'em it is possible for full refund or exchange in case the RAMs are not compatible if you are replacing it on your own.

hope this is useful. smile.gif
may i know where did you buy it?
Mr.PostMan
post Aug 23 2011, 01:39 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Aug 23 2011, 01:02 PM)
the bolded statement will be your answer.
what i mean is what is the store name? so i cud get the same price as you biggrin.gif

0.0447sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:04 AM