Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Mr.Lonely
post Jun 3 2009, 11:48 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

sifu , i need some help for macbook alu. 2.0ghzhiy version. Can i upgrade the ram with kingston value ram ,and western digital 320gb 7200rpm hdd?will it compatible?newb here.
Mr.Lonely
post Jun 3 2009, 08:31 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

how bout the ram? compatible also ?
Mr.Lonely
post Jun 5 2009, 08:27 PM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ Jun 3 2009, 08:47 PM)
To answer your question, Yes, you can put a 7200RPM into your MacBook.
It is because of the 7200RPM spindle speed of your HDD, this makes your MacBook vibrate even more than your stock HDD.
I've used a WD 320GB 7200RPM HDD and installed it into my MacBook 2.4 Alu,
I took it off because the vibration it gave out was too uncomfortable for me.
If you willing to trade the quiet-ness for speed, by all means go ahead.
Applications on a 7200RPM HDD are more snappier meaning they are more responsive.

Now, I'm using a 500GB 5400 RPM WD Scorpio Blue installed into my MacBook which is quiet and quite fast I would say and for the extra 180GB you get.

For RAM, I'm using Crucial RAM 2X2 2GB=4GB.
I'm using this since the 1st day I got my MacBook Alu from Machines as I requested for an upgrade on my RAM.

Regards.
thx for ur reply sweat.gif but i m asking tat is kingston value ram compatible with the macbook alu 2.0ghz doh.gif

anyway just to report tat end up i buy a WD 500GB normal HDD haha

0.0578sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:27 AM