Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Mac Man @ LYF
post Apr 26 2012, 04:25 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Apr 26 2012, 12:44 PM)
I'm interested in the dual hard drive kit! How much would it cost?
ebay.com is your best friend. If you want to save the fuss, just get from Wei.

icon_idea.gif
Mac Man @ LYF
post May 4 2012, 02:30 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ May 4 2012, 12:58 PM)
Hi Sifus,
Currently I'm using MBP 15" Late 2011 model,I want to upgrade RAM.
If I buy RAM and change myself will void warranty?
Which brand of RAM to buy? Afraid buying wrong RAM.
Kingston KTA or Corsair Mac Memory are good buy.

Dont buy at apple retail shop, price might double or triple.
Mac Man @ LYF
post May 10 2012, 04:35 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ May 10 2012, 01:37 PM)
anyone of u tried replacing the dvd drive with 2nd caddy and install it with SSD on a mbp 13?
I did it before few times for my client, no issue.

But prefer put the SSD on the hdd bay.

SSD ROCKS! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Mac Man @ LYF: May 10 2012, 04:36 PM
Mac Man @ LYF
post May 10 2012, 05:09 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ May 10 2012, 04:55 PM)
just wondering, how much does the caddy cost?
Between RM250 to RM300.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 11 2012, 10:50 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Jun 11 2012, 07:39 PM)
Planning to upgrade my mbp 13" early 2011 to ssd. which brand and model is compatible with macbook? i googled that intel 520 having issues with mbp..
So far I install many brand, np, just remember to trim them after installing the SSD.

Caution for OCZ SSD, usually they come with 3 years warranty, if unluckily your SSD fail & need to claim warranty & the model or series you being using has been obsolete, you will have a problem.

I have a client that using an old OCZ SSD, when he want to claim warranty, supplier said oh - this model no longer in production, you need to top up $ to get the latest model, my client ^%^&*%*# complaint until OCZ Taiwan office, in the end my client got what he want, a similar replacement but it took him 6 weeks.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 14 2012, 01:16 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Jun 14 2012, 11:22 AM)
I'm using OCZ Agility III 60 GB SSD. On fresh install boot up time is 9 sec.

After 1 month of use, now my boot up time becomes 35 sec. Which is alot of decrease in performance.

I've done all Disk Uitlity maintenance and everything. Still can improve the speed.  rclxub.gif

Help me please.. doh.gif
Got trim your SSD ?

whistling.gif
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 14 2012, 01:54 PM

433 posts

Download Enable Trim - Trim Enabler
Mac Man @ LYF
post Aug 28 2012, 12:45 PM

433 posts

If you replace your internal hdd, the existing hdd will come out, buy a casing, it will become an external hdd as well.

So might as well get an external hdd for convenience.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2015, 01:46 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jun 11 2015, 10:59 PM)
The thing about my MBP is that the fan keeps spinning in a very high speed and sometimes the computer is slow. Do you reckon that changing the SSD and blow out all the dust from the fan will help?
When its spinning at a high speed, open your Activity Monitor (under Utilities) and see which program % CPU is very high. Upgrading to SSD will speed up the processing and loading tough. Try cleaning the fan and see if its help, if the fan is faulty just get it replace. Its a lot cheaper to replace a faulty fan than get a over heat board (chip) repair/replace.

Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2015, 05:23 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jun 12 2015, 03:30 PM)
Kindly advise where you got the SSD, how much and where did you get it replaced? And how much did it cost you to reinstall the OSX? TQ.
You can buy at any shop that selling pc hardware, price is around RM500++.

Installation guide you can find at iFixit - https://www.ifixit.com/

OS installation - if have cd, load back the os.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jul 11 2015, 02:08 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Jul 11 2015, 12:57 PM)
thanks bro for the answer... it sound trouble to upgrade the ram on 21.5"...
Yes and it uses tape to stick, not screw, many work involve. Usually at least half day needed just to change those ram.

Installation charges nearly as the ram price. tongue.gif
Mac Man @ LYF
post Aug 25 2015, 09:13 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Aug 24 2015, 11:37 AM)
Help needed. I'm thinking of upgrading my Macbook pro 15 early 2011 Ram.
1. Should I upgrade to 8GB or 16GB?
2. Will there be a significant difference between the performance of 8 and 16? Which is more worth it performance-price ratio (considering it's only 1333MHz..)?
3. Will changing my HDD to SSD significnatly improve my performance while playing games or rendering?
Whack in a SSD, immediately you will see the speed difference for the speed to start up, app launching, files transfer and so on.

IMO, running a SSD with 4GB of ram is better than running a normal hdd with 16GB of ram. whistling.gif
Mac Man @ LYF
post Nov 11 2015, 06:34 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(n3sta_n_roses @ Nov 11 2015, 11:25 AM)
What are the brand/model and capacity recomended for MBP mid-2009 13"? I am looking to change/upgrade my old MBP drive. Please advice.  smile.gif
For budget type , Transcend 370 series is a good option .

0.0214sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:38 PM