Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
Criollo
Aug 30 2009, 01:01 PM
On a 32-bit system the optimal RAM is 3GB. But if you are to run dual channel, the optimum setup would be two identical rams (1GB+1GB or 2GB+2GB) of the same brand.
Dual channel would not function with 3GB as the ram configuration would be 1GB +2GB, hence a slower speed.
Criollo
Aug 30 2009, 01:33 PM
64 Bit SL only for newer macs, old old macs like meeeee...cannot lor.
1GB+2GB setup make ur MB slower meh...yeah....
Imagine your car, one side you have 15" wheel, the other you have 13" wheel, will your car go faster??? XD
Criollo
Aug 30 2009, 02:07 PM
PAE is an extention that allows your computer to TRY to run upto 4GB ram in a 32-bit environment, its not something available natively...
A proton with turbo engine is still not a ferrari =X I feel
Criollo
Aug 30 2009, 02:45 PM
You can put 4GB la if you want to... Its just that your system will utilize 3.12GB only ma haha Having 4GB is definately faster than 3GB lor ... say liddat ok bor? Sorry if i was confusing you This post has been edited by Criollo: Aug 30 2009, 02:54 PM
Criollo
Aug 30 2009, 02:58 PM
*speechless* LOL Why not optimize with 4GB since your dual slots of ram is there  ||| But i guess it IS the consumers choice lol