120 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

tarvalslain87
post May 26 2010, 12:00 AM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

Yeap SSD definitely is a whole new level of time saving when it comes to booting up your comp or applications... Many people have commented that they are very satisfied and worth every money spent on their SSD...

But I guess i still can bear the waiting of apps to boot as I dont have a budget to get one =(... I guess ill be one of those people who will wait till it hit mainstream price haha which is maybe a few years down the road..
feins
post May 26 2010, 12:11 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 26 2010, 12:00 AM)
Yeap SSD definitely is a whole new level of time saving when it comes to booting up your comp or applications... Many people have commented that they are very satisfied and worth every money spent on their SSD...

But I guess i still can bear the waiting of apps to boot as I dont have a budget to get one =(... I guess ill be one of those people who will wait till it hit mainstream price haha which is maybe a few years down the road..
Yes I totally agree with you since today most affortable SSD are the intel 40GB cost rm800 but think in another year u might get a 128GB for rm400 so the price war will goes on and on. Just like SATA HDD I remember the 1 SATA I bought was a 120gb for rm500 now 1tera are above rm100+.
b48753
post May 26 2010, 02:13 AM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ May 23 2010, 05:06 AM)
u can upgrade the ram within or after warranty period provided u know how to install the ram properly
I'm asking this question cause getting the FB-DIMM directly from Apple will cause me a bomb, further mine still covered by ACPP. So need someone that have experience on this. If no one can answer this then later I'll ask wei or eithanius.
feins
post May 26 2010, 02:59 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ May 26 2010, 02:13 AM)
I'm asking this question cause getting the FB-DIMM directly from Apple will cause me a bomb, further mine still covered by ACPP. So need someone that have experience on this. If no one can answer this then later I'll ask wei or eithanius.
U always can keep ur existing RAM if u scare that it will Void ur warranty.
tarvalslain87
post May 26 2010, 09:51 AM

5,054 posts

Yea true... If you are afraid just keep the original RAM and when you wanna send it back to claim for warranty, just pop it back in... Shouldnt be a problem... I think RAM shouldnt be too hard to install on our own... Just follow the manual that comes with your MB... Since your RAMs are from apple then no worries of the compatibalities...
forger
post May 26 2010, 01:19 PM

734 posts

lol, mine is still okay. my scorpio blue 640GB just install last week. still working as per normal.

i guess im just lucky. maybee (still monitoring for any click)
feins
post May 26 2010, 01:49 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(forger @ May 26 2010, 01:19 PM)
lol, mine is still okay. my scorpio blue 640GB just install last week. still working as per normal.
i guess im just lucky. maybee (still monitoring for any click)
Not all HDD will gives u problem only certain batch are having issue they will change to another revision if they found that the particuler revision having issue. That's y while u buy a same type of HDD u might notice that the firmware or the revision might be different. Certain manufacture might provide firmware update like IBM or Seagate to fix certain issue but that's not always available cos if there a misstake during flashing the firmware n the HDD will be brick.
ZhaoYun
post May 26 2010, 02:03 PM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

QUOTE(feins @ May 26 2010, 12:11 AM)
Yes I totally agree with you since today most affortable SSD are the intel 40GB cost rm800 but think in another year u might get a 128GB for rm400 so the price war will goes on and on. Just like SATA HDD I remember the 1 SATA I bought was a 120gb for rm500 now 1tera are above rm100+.
Hmmm..who said the cheapest intel is rm 800 ?? Check out the 40gb intel ssd for rm 413.

before you upgrade anything, upgrade to ssd first, the different is night and day.
tarvalslain87
post May 26 2010, 02:10 PM

5,054 posts

Some people doesnt need the extra few minutes booting time etc.. Since mac already boots very fast compared to their windows counterpart, I dont mind waiting a few more minutes or waiting for apps to load... Maybe I will get it when it hit mainstream price but not now for those few minutes saving which I can perform other stuff within that few minutes... =)
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 03:02 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i'll wait until SSDs are at least rm2 per GB smile.gif
feins
post May 26 2010, 04:18 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 26 2010, 03:02 PM)
i'll wait until SSDs are at least rm2 per GB smile.gif
Totally agree rclxms.gif

Added on May 26, 2010, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ May 26 2010, 02:03 PM)
Hmmm..who said the cheapest intel is rm 800 ?? Check out the 40gb intel ssd for rm 413.

before you upgrade anything, upgrade to ssd first, the different is night and day.
Thanks for the info but 40gb for rm400 still not enof to fully fit a win7. Cos after use for few month the windows size will grow over 60gb. Same for mac if u install CS4 master collection u regrat should get a 128gb one.

This post has been edited by feins: May 26 2010, 04:22 PM
tarvalslain87
post May 26 2010, 05:25 PM

5,054 posts

I would actually allocate at least 60-100GB for my Windows for my window files and games... That should be more than enough for a windows partition... Maybe put some songs etc also...
feins
post May 26 2010, 11:21 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 26 2010, 05:25 PM)
I would actually allocate at least 60-100GB for my Windows for my window files and games... That should be more than enough for a windows partition... Maybe put some songs etc also...
Yes enof for a few month but Windows partition will definitely grow especially the page file size. So its best allocate more for windows it self i never put any appl on my windows partition. like mine i allocate 120Gb for windows it slef and now it only left 71Gb of free space. Cos im doing quite a number of Video encoding and some application will cache it temp data in the windows partition until the project completed.
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 11:28 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(feins @ May 26 2010, 11:21 PM)
Yes enof for a few month but Windows partition will definitely grow especially the page file size. So its best allocate more for windows it self i never put any appl on my windows partition. like mine i allocate 120Gb for windows it slef and now it only left 71Gb of free space. Cos im doing quite a number of Video encoding and some application will cache it temp data in the windows partition until the project completed.
looking at ur sig...why the hell are you doing video encoding on ur MBW? tongue.gif

assuming u're talking about bootcamp lah
feins
post May 27 2010, 12:15 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 26 2010, 11:28 PM)
looking at ur sig...why the hell are you doing video encoding on ur MBW? tongue.gif

assuming u're talking about bootcamp lah
My PC cum hackintosh duo boot previously before I fried my gtx280, I use that to do video encording cos using osx I can do a 4hour with windows rendering in just 30min after than use back windows to do my DVD author. Cos DVD author with osx application was slow compare with windows counter part.
tarvalslain87
post May 27 2010, 11:54 AM

5,054 posts

Hmm Im not into video editting and stuff... The reason im going bootcamp is to be able to play some games that arent compatible with mac and also some word processing... Others will be done on Mac OSX =) Oh I do run CCleaner to clean up those unused cache, temporary files etc...
feins
post May 27 2010, 10:17 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 27 2010, 11:54 AM)
Hmm Im not into video editting and stuff... The reason im going bootcamp is to be able to play some games that arent compatible with mac and also some word processing... Others will be done on Mac OSX =) Oh I do run CCleaner to clean up those unused cache, temporary files etc...
To enjoy game to it's enjoyable lvl need a extreme gpu that's y after my gtx280 zotac amp was kill after my water host rapture n cooled was pour onto my gpu now I went for the gtx480. For mac u hardly get the most latest gpu as even the 295 doesn't support on mac by default. So if really going for game it's better to setup a PC power horse. blush.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2010, 02:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ i've always thought water cooling is scary sad.gif
feins
post May 28 2010, 05:01 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 28 2010, 02:30 PM)
^ i've always thought water cooling is scary sad.gif
It's my laziness what cause me to sheet money this time. I actuall notice the coupling host was failing n need replace but I keep forgetting to go out to buy until it suddently become fountain blink.gif
tarvalslain87
post May 28 2010, 05:47 PM

5,054 posts

Im not a hardcore gamer and I do have a core i7 desktop with gtx260 which can play most of the current games with high settings... Just that some light gaming on the Mac would be enough for me...

@dvlz & feins Yea Im also quite paranoid with water cooling system for my PC... Always have the feeling that someday it will shoot water all over my PC and blow it up.. LOL

120 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0552sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:35 PM