120 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

siawgu
post Feb 18 2010, 12:56 PM

996 posts

Have anyone tried install 4GB + 1GB in MBP 13" ? do it work?
v1rtual
post Feb 22 2010, 03:49 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

eversince i upgraded the stock HD on my MBP to western digital blue 500GB, im getting beach ball all the time..opening a new tab on safari, delay input or sometimes can even shows beach ball while im typing in microsoft word..is that a known problem of the harddisk, or am i getting a lousy copy?
kwekeugene
post Feb 22 2010, 06:49 PM

1,479 posts

Is your HDD more than 80% full? Have you recently installed any new apps? RAM working fine?

If none of the above, it could indicate a faulty HDD.
v1rtual
post Feb 22 2010, 11:15 PM

ALPHA
873 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Feb 22 2010, 06:49 PM)
Is your HDD more than 80% full? Have you recently installed any new apps? RAM working fine?

If none of the above, it could indicate a faulty HDD.
i just replaced the original HD with this 500GB, so i still have about 350GB free space
not really sure about new apps, but if im not mistaken it has been this way since the day i changed to this new harddrive

i was thinking that it might caused by the ram as well, yesterday night i changed back my ram to the stock ram, but the very same problem still occur..so its pretty clear that it is caused by the HD

so i want to check with others who uses WD blue 500GB on MBP Mid09 and facing the same problem sad.gif
preducer
post Feb 24 2010, 10:57 AM

2,839 posts

im using scorpio blue with 90% full, no slowdown and beachball.. the weird thing is im having beachball with the stock hdd. once changed to scorpio blue, beachball gone.
yuenzhi
post Feb 24 2010, 06:23 PM

182 posts

hi guys, i have a question to ask

i have macbook pro 13" 2.26Hz 2GB RAM 160GB

I would like to upgrade my RAM to 4Gb, so my question would be what is the best option for upgrading my macbook pro ? should i go to apple center or should i buy a 3rd party ram and install into my macbook ?

And also if possible, please quote the price as well.

Very much appreciated
cRazYee
post Feb 25 2010, 05:37 AM

2,642 posts

not saying 3rd party as Knigston, hynix are companies supply OEM Ram to Apple

a lot ppl here using Kingston KVR
dvlzplayground
post Feb 25 2010, 11:58 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Feb 24 2010, 06:23 PM)
hi guys, i have a question to ask

i have macbook pro 13" 2.26Hz 2GB RAM 160GB

I would like to upgrade my RAM to 4Gb, so my question would be what is the best option for upgrading my macbook pro ? should i go to apple center or should i buy a 3rd party ram and install into my macbook ?

And also if possible, please quote the price as well.

Very much appreciated
since u bought it already, then ur best option is to buy 3rd party and install urself

i bought a pair of 2gb Corsair DDR3 RAMs for RM350 or so.

apparently (from this thread) the best brands are OWC and Crucial but those you have to order online, and are slightly more expensive lah. you can also get Kingston KTA or Mushkin 'for Mac' RAMs but those are overpriced.

so i'll recommend get Corsair or the normal Mushkins. Kingston KVR got mixed results so try to stay away
yuenzhi
post Feb 25 2010, 10:01 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 25 2010, 11:58 AM)
since u bought it already, then ur best option is to buy 3rd party and install urself

i bought a pair of 2gb Corsair DDR3 RAMs for RM350 or so.

apparently (from this thread) the best brands are OWC and Crucial but those you have to order online, and are slightly more expensive lah. you can also get Kingston KTA or Mushkin 'for Mac' RAMs but those are overpriced.

so i'll recommend get Corsair or the normal Mushkins. Kingston KVR got mixed results so try to stay away
one last question, ANY Corsair DDR3 RAMs will do or do i have to buy a specific one ? like mac compatible one ?

This post has been edited by yuenzhi: Feb 25 2010, 10:05 PM
dvlzplayground
post Feb 26 2010, 08:35 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(yuenzhi @ Feb 25 2010, 10:01 PM)
one last question, ANY Corsair DDR3 RAMs will do or do i have to buy a specific one ? like mac compatible one ?
i juz bought the normal one. here's a pic:

jasonyau
post Feb 26 2010, 08:43 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 26 2010, 08:35 PM)
i juz bought the normal one. here's a pic:

how is the performance so far?
sonnettech-asia
post Feb 27 2010, 11:53 AM

602 posts

for those who are keen, I can get 2X4GB apple certified RAM at RM2800.00, if there is taker, I will ship it in.
dvlzplayground
post Feb 27 2010, 05:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jasonyau @ Feb 26 2010, 08:43 PM)
how is the performance so far?
i dunno know to judge RAM performance hehe. btw any performance increase might be juz bcuz im upgrading from 2gb to 4gb. but no kernel panics so far lah

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Feb 27 2010, 05:07 PM
yuenzhi
post Feb 28 2010, 08:36 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 27 2010, 05:06 PM)
i dunno know to judge RAM performance hehe. btw any performance increase might be juz bcuz im upgrading from 2gb to 4gb. but no kernel panics so far lah
did u install it yourself ? was it easy ?
dvlzplayground
post Feb 28 2010, 10:22 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yep, very easy. open up the bottom panel n u'll see ur ram in the middle, each module held in place by two fixtures. juz push the fixtures outwards n the ram will pop up. repeat for the other module (located under the 1st one).

then insert ur new ram (make sure with the correct orientation) from the same angle u took out the old one, then push it down. the fixtures should match the notches on the modules
aizad02
post Feb 28 2010, 02:08 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

just to be safe, i would recommend u guys to run a hardware test using ur installation dvd to test run ur newly added RAMs. if everything's working fine then ur system will be fine.
cRazYee
post Feb 28 2010, 02:41 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Feb 27 2010, 11:53 AM)
for those who are keen, I can get 2X4GB apple certified RAM at RM2800.00, if there is taker, I will ship it in.
wah
RM2800 just for RAM

MacPro ECC RAM is still cheaper
nimrod323
post Feb 28 2010, 05:24 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Feb 28 2010, 02:41 PM)
wah
RM2800 just for RAM

MacPro ECC RAM is still cheaper
very true its not justified to have it, how many apps can take advantage of tht?
Masamune
post Feb 28 2010, 05:51 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey i guys i've always been looking..
Can't find the hitachi travelstar 5k500.b hardrive..
Any ideas where can i find?
I've been to digital mall and LYP..
Most ppl don't even know what i'm talking abt..
killz23
post Feb 28 2010, 06:31 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

What ram works best for Macbook white 13.3 polycarbonate?

I have 2gb ram now, and feels like it's lagging all the time...Argh I can't stand it!

120 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:29 AM