Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

nimrod323
post Sep 29 2009, 06:44 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Sep 28 2009, 03:10 PM)
My 2 cents opinion:

based on my understanding, since your mbp unable to utilize full 4GB, just get 1 x 2GB to add on to your existing 1GB. (total of 3GB)

I got my Kingston KVR 2 x 2GB DDR3 1066MHz, 2nd hand from one of the forumer in LYN, RM200 only smile.gif
his is only DDR2 667MHz, and he has to get 2+1 DDR2 667Modules because by default the MBP comes with 512MB+512MB DDr2 667MHz modules,theres only 2 slots inside.
nimrod323
post Feb 28 2010, 05:24 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Feb 28 2010, 02:41 PM)
wah
RM2800 just for RAM

MacPro ECC RAM is still cheaper
very true its not justified to have it, how many apps can take advantage of tht?
nimrod323
post May 7 2010, 02:17 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(toiletduck @ May 7 2010, 03:01 AM)
dear sifu,

i have bought a macbook early 2008 with below spec:-

Intel Core Duo 1.83Ghz; 60gb 5400-rpm hard drive; DVD Combo

if i wish to upgrade the hard drive & dvd combo, what is the recommendation model of hard drive & dvd drive. For the hard drive, what's the capacity can support?

isnt this an late 2006 model? i have the same model. You can buy the superdrive from ebay and also upgrade to the max of 500GB of HDD, not sure about 640GB hdds though.
nimrod323
post Jun 8 2010, 06:10 PM

2,664 posts

Went to sec14 today to get a Hitachi 7K500, saw the price is RM300 at Czone, after much thinking i got an external Hitachi drive 1TB for 249 at ALLIT hehe, i'd probably wait for the 7K500 to drop price not in a rush atm.
nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 01:17 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(tape23 @ Jun 10 2010, 01:10 AM)
sry guys.. probably this is a nub question..

before changing my HDD, how do i back it up? any links that i can refer too sifus? thanx! smile.gif
doh.gif u probably wondering what the hell is Time Machine by now.

nimrod323
post Jun 10 2010, 01:37 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(tape23 @ Jun 10 2010, 01:33 AM)
lol yea... but i know time machine is for backin up stuff. but how do i do it? do i need to back up the stuff at a external disk? and what about the OS and my other softwares?

hehe... thx
did you even bothered to check out the link i gave you? the answers are there man. cmon dont be this lazy.
nimrod323
post Jun 11 2010, 01:11 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 10 2010, 01:40 AM)
wait for seagate momentus xt...  brows.gif

btw, any recommendation for 2.5" hdd firewire enclosure only...?
already here or not? looks promising man. the price still around 250 - 300 not bad.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 11 2010, 01:13 AM
nimrod323
post Jun 11 2010, 08:30 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 11 2010, 01:46 AM)
not here yet, but not really sure if it's gonna make it here...

just like the western digital 2.5" 750gb... wanted to get one as external, but here in this country, it maxes out only at 640gb... can't find 750gb scorpio blue in the local market... doh.gif
yu do bulk i join tongue.gif plus loads of people here would be interested too tongue.gif
nimrod323
post Jun 11 2010, 04:17 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Kim^.^" @ Jun 11 2010, 01:01 AM)
FYI, my machine can only support 3GB max. anything more than that will be wasted except for the dual-channel thingy but from wat I understand it won't affect the performance much.

Furthermore, some users faced problem with KVR according to this thread (eg. kernel panic)

I'm currently on 1GB+1GB so I just need to get a 2GB then can dy. Or maybe I should just forget about it, tahan a bit longer then get a new comp? cry.gif
I have a feeling yours is the same macbook im using, well the amcbook white late 06 can take up to 3GB max with no issues, dont have to worry about the dual channel thingy, i have run Adobe Design Premium with no issues with some aperture here and there. check here http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Crucial-2GB-2x1GB-...d7#ht_952wt_884
nimrod323
post Jun 12 2010, 12:41 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Jun 12 2010, 11:57 AM)
Anyone can give me some rough price for 2GB ram for macbook pro and 1TB HDD? Thanks.
the most you can get for a 9.5mm drive is the WD 640GB HDD, about RM280 i think

nimrod323
post Jun 12 2010, 01:12 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 12 2010, 12:46 PM)
there are some ppl who can manage to stuff in a 12.5mm 1TB on uMBPs though....  sweat.gif
lol how? from my experience the older non unibody and macbook whits and blacks are quite ngam ngam one tehir size tongue.gif
nimrod323
post Jun 13 2010, 10:54 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Jun 12 2010, 08:31 PM)
Hey i plan to upgrade my macbook alu HDD..
I'm looking at the Hitachi 5k500.b?
Any other recommendations? I'm looking for a 500GB HDD..
why not get the 7k500? its 299 at c-zone both in Lowyat and Digital Mall Section 14.
nimrod323
post Jun 16 2010, 05:09 PM

2,664 posts

an in depth review on the momentus XT, recommended by bro eithanius to me, http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/se...entus_xt_500gb/, its waaaaay better than a 10K drive lil bit slower than ssd only
nimrod323
post Jul 2 2010, 12:09 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Jul 1 2010, 11:25 PM)
I have added another 4GB DDR3 today. Geekbench and SL both can detect that I have 8GB ram, but Activity Monitor > System Memory shows only 4GB. How come?

When I first boot with the new sets of 4GB ram, SL says something like hardware were in the right slot. Obviously nothing was done wrong, but how come the contradiction?
try holding down the number "6" and "4" when booting up, SL on 32bit only recognizes 4GB max under activity monitor i guess.
nimrod323
post Jul 15 2010, 03:59 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 15 2010, 11:10 AM)
Thanks, that seems to be the better option as well smile.gif

Will contemplate about getting it from OWC.
newegg, list the momentus price as USD 129 cheaper than OWC 159 price range, but the problem with newegg is that it cannot accept foreign cards or ship to malaysia directly, try comgateway, they could help you purchase and send to you all in all its RM489 way cheaper buying from OWC+Shipping.
nimrod323
post Aug 8 2010, 04:01 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 01:26 PM)
upgraded my macbook to 4GB kingston for SC II, lol~
got it from pc fair at RM268 smile.gif  now running flawlessly.
Was in dilemma to get from Apple store or ciplak Kingston, luckily it works, save 60% of price.
where got apple store here, apple reseller lah, if you guys need recommendation try crucial its the closest to the oem apple uses since the company that makes it happen to make apple's oem ram modules.
nimrod323
post Aug 10 2010, 06:53 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 11:01 PM)
almost every Mac users know there's no Apple store in Malaysia, thus OBVIOUSLY I was referring to Apple Online Store smile.gif
I know the difference between apple store and apple reseller smile.gif
You'd be surprised how many people here that are CLUELESS about that, and to be correct with terms Apple Store and Apple Online Store has a huge difference, by just removing "ONLINE", its easily understood that you are reffering to a brick and mortar store, comprende?
nimrod323
post Sep 19 2010, 07:07 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Sep 18 2010, 07:57 PM)
reckon this once again
how much and where you can get one?
nimrod323
post Oct 20 2010, 01:36 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Newbie^^ @ Oct 19 2010, 11:39 PM)
hi all expert, gonna ask about the upgrading ram for my old mac mini...

this is the spec:

Model Name: Mac mini
  Model Identifier: Macmini3,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 1 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MM31.0081.B06
  SMC Version (system): 1.35f0
  Hardware UUID: C272292F-1825-5E1C-A0F5-9382D2907B2D
the original ram is 1GB DDR3, recently multitasking, and realize my mac is really like tortoise, so gonna upgrade to 4GB, can i use the normal ram (i mean KVR-kingston value ram)? bcos my budget very limited, cant afford KTA-kingston..

pls give me comment, thank you:)
this site alleges you can go 8GB http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_...idia-specs.html

0.0202sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:30 PM