Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Eithanius
post Jul 8 2010, 07:49 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 8 2010, 07:27 PM)
KHX1333C7S3K2 / 4G, 4gb 1333Mhz Ddr3 Non Ecc CL7 Sodimm Kit of 2 - RM 625

Can i upgrade my i7 mbp with this model ram>???
Why would you wanna waste money upgrading from a 2x2GB DDR3-1066 to a 2x2GB DDR3-1333 that may or may not work on an MBP...?

If you think a memory speed increase will speed up your real world application justifiable by RM 600+ bucks... good luck... sweat.gif sweat.gif doh.gif
Eithanius
post Jul 8 2010, 08:10 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Jul 8 2010, 08:05 PM)
0.o??? erm i use autocad. is that justifiable?
Assuming budget is secondary, I'd go for 8GB RAM of standard spec, faster HDD at 7200-rpm or Hybrid HDD like the Momentus XT, or better still, SSD....

There's hardly any apps that will saturate that kinda memory bandwidth...
Eithanius
post Jul 24 2010, 02:54 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(starccs @ Jul 24 2010, 02:46 PM)
i'm  a happy camper. biggrin.gif

got a stick of 4gb DDR3 today and added it into me macbook. all good, up and running.

happily broke.

Congrats, we're the same... tongue.gif

Eithanius
post Jul 30 2010, 09:13 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 30 2010, 09:04 PM)
Why do you have to post your message 54052452 times. Seriously just post once and thats it , and ask your question
If I were you, I feel like banning this kid for multiple reposting of details and questions without further research.... shakehead.gif
Eithanius
post Aug 4 2010, 01:17 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 4 2010, 01:06 PM)
Is it ok for me to mix the 2GB module with 4GB module for my Mac Pro?
The mix will make my system RAM to 16GB.
make sure they're in pairs...

I assume your RAM config is 4x2GB and 2x4GB...?
Eithanius
post Aug 4 2010, 07:14 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 4 2010, 07:00 PM)
Yup..correct
And mine is Harpertown series..
it doesn't matter whether it's Woodcrest, Clovertown or Harpertown... they have to be in pairs...
Eithanius
post Aug 5 2010, 08:12 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 5 2010, 06:46 PM)
I thought the Nahalem setting is different..  sweat.gif I mean the sequence on the high and lower riser..  blush.gif
Nehalem is the micro-architecture for Gainestown (set of Xeon processors used in MP 2009), which no longer use FB-DIMM RAM modules on upper and lower riser cards anymore... It comes in a single tray for processors and ram slots... And it has nothing to do with the previous MP setups... In case you are confused about code names and architectures:

Woodcrest - Core - MP 2006
Clovertown - Core - MP 2007 8-core only
Harpertown - Penryn - MP 2008

Bloomfield - Nehalem - MP 2009 4-core only
Gainestown - Nehalem - MP 2009 8-core only, MP 2010 4-core only
Gulftown - Westmere - MP 2010 8- and 12-core only

Info courtesy of Wiki...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Aug 5 2010, 08:25 PM
Eithanius
post Aug 6 2010, 07:51 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(feins @ Aug 6 2010, 07:27 PM)
I don't think there us any KTA ram with speed 1333.  Unless ur mentioning for Mac pro 2009 model.
Why not...?

Kingston website is listing KTA-MB1333/4G for iMacs 2010....

And mind you, Mac Pro 2009 uses 1066 modules, not 1333...
Eithanius
post Aug 8 2010, 09:42 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(starccs @ Aug 8 2010, 05:06 PM)
Heya,
It was in Lowyat. I cant remember which for sure i think it's cycom, the mac area. or was it czone? tongue.gif price was RM580 for a stick. Kingston
Was it a corner lot...? The last I checked couple of weeks ago, they quoted me RM 1040 for a single stick of 4GB... Kingston KTA... You sure they quoted you a KTA and not a KVR...?
Eithanius
post Aug 10 2010, 01:21 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 10 2010, 12:35 PM)
Thanks for the info..so now new mac pro can use about the same RAM available for desktop.. like it  biggrin.gif
Read ECC... tongue.gif

There are reports that using non-ECC memory modules work fine, but then again it is always recommended to use ECC RAM as Mac Pros are designed to just in case to avoid certain risks of the machine hanging due to data corruption on the modules...
Eithanius
post Nov 6 2010, 12:54 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 5 2010, 10:15 PM)
just got my 500gb momentus XT today. will install sometime next week. i dun dare to change HDD until i finish my assignments tongue.gif
Just make sure yours is firmware SD23... tongue.gif
Eithanius
post Nov 6 2010, 02:12 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 6 2010, 01:41 AM)
yes it's FD23. what's wrong with the earlier ones?
beachball related to HDD spindown issue...
Eithanius
post Jan 9 2011, 01:31 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 7 2011, 11:23 PM)
u manage to find it sold locally? evn 750gb hard to find
means you manage to find one here...? brows.gif

I'm trying to get a 750GB myself for external portable storage, and I was about to part my money to pair it with an OWC external FW800 drive...
Eithanius
post Apr 7 2011, 06:03 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Apr 4 2011, 09:04 AM)
i am using imac 2010 and just purchase OWC 4GB ram for upgrade online..any bros using this ram?? any problem?
No problem from my end... I've bought a lot of OWC RAM modules, previously for my MP, and now on my MBP, they work like charm...

But be careful with their selection of cheaper NuRAM. Though OWC carries them, it's not their in-house brand, and some users have reported problems using them.
Eithanius
post Apr 20 2011, 06:53 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(TY7 @ Apr 20 2011, 04:51 PM)
Does anyone here upgraded mbp hdd into ssd before? I wondering which ssd is compatible?  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif
Using OCZ Vertez 2 here... tongue.gif

QUOTE(ajul @ Apr 20 2011, 05:06 PM)
if u also dont whats is core i5 or i7..so better u just take i5 only..no need i7..
you got too much stock on Core i5 to clear...? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Eithanius
post Jun 28 2011, 03:34 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jun 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
Sorry bro got a silly question. I'm using OCZ Vertex 2, is it illusion or the SSD is getting slower compare with the time i bought.  When i boot up it take more than 30 sec sad.gif.
How long have you been using the Vertex 2...?

I've got mine for 4 months already, 240GB , more than half filled, heavy downloading, just updated to 10.6.8...

and i've tested it, 13 seconds from startup chime to desktop...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 28 2011, 03:40 PM
Eithanius
post Sep 1 2011, 10:48 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Sep 1 2011, 09:09 AM)
what is the differences between KTA and KTV besides the pricing?
KTV...? Sounds like Kingston's old server RAM according to Google...

You should be comparing KTA and KVR...
Eithanius
post Mar 30 2013, 02:26 AM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 27 2013, 02:37 PM)
I would say.. No. If it was the 2011 macs with Sandy Bride processors, then my answer would be yes. 2010 Core 2 Duo, better save the money for the SSD, sell the 2010 second hand and get the latest mac you can afford.

You get more performance that way.
my 2010 mbp is still rocking on your ssd that you sold me 2 years ago... albeit on snow leopard... tongue.gif brows.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 30 2013, 02:45 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 30 2013, 09:01 AM)
Haha. Yep, the SSD does make everything seem snappier. If you think 2010 is fast, you should try the 2012 with SSD.  biggrin.gif . And 16GB RAM.
I just tested that with a Corsair SSD on a 2012 13" MBP with 16GB RAM... It's fast but that slight difference will not offset real-world applications... And I wouldn't trade that for running a shitty Mountain Lion... tongue.gif tongue.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 31 2013, 05:14 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(zuying1985 @ Mar 30 2013, 10:50 PM)
Anyone order ram from OWC as well? or I simply go digital mall and buy any brand with 1600Mhz will do?

any significant performance with those so called high speed/hyperX/ bla bla with a normal value ram?
I've bought many rams from OWC, some for my Mac Pro couple of years back and for my MBP 2 years ago... At that time, ram prices were sky-high. Bought a single piece of 4GB for 500 bucks including shipping costs, and another for 300 when the prices took a halfway-dive. A lot cheaper from OWC at that time when the local stores were offering 1k bucks for a single stick of Kingston KTA...

Nowadays ram sticks are dirt cheap, not sure if buying from OWC is cheaper than the one sold locally - haven't got the chance to buy ram since I'm still stuck with almost-expiring ACPP-ed MBP which can only maxed out at 8GB...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0575sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:36 AM