Mechanical Engineering, which university?

TSskyhyk88
post Apr 6 2009, 08:11 PM, updated 17y ago

112 posts

just curious which U is better for degree in mechanical engineering
currently consider INTI but can't find a any other suitable U at an affordable price
joe_89
post Apr 6 2009, 08:23 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 6 2009, 08:11 PM)
currently consider INTI but can't find a any other suitable U at an affordable price
Nottingham? Do you consider that affordable?

This post has been edited by joe_89: Apr 6 2009, 08:24 PM
sexualpower
post Apr 6 2009, 08:25 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 6 2009, 08:11 PM)
inti offers mechatronics, u may wanna consider this as big companies like Sony and Samsung recognizes mechatronics starting from 6 - 7 years back~ the situation may be different now though~ i recommend that you apply for all uni and then select after a few months of researching~
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 6 2009, 08:36 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Apr 6 2009, 08:23 PM)
Nottingham? Do you consider that affordable?
i'm gonna have my degree for 3 years as i'm gonna finish my diploma next month
the fees at nottingham is around 34k per year while inti is only 16k a year

Added on April 6, 2009, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 6 2009, 08:25 PM)
inti offers mechatronics, u may wanna consider this as big companies like Sony and Samsung recognizes mechatronics starting from 6 - 7 years back~ the situation may be different now though~ i recommend that you apply for all uni and then select after a few months of researching~
i believe my major is mechanical not mechatronics tongue.gif

This post has been edited by skyhyk88: Apr 6 2009, 08:37 PM
indahjaya
post Apr 6 2009, 09:01 PM

198 posts

curtin sarawak , mechanical
tanjinjack
post Apr 6 2009, 09:35 PM

4,122 posts

Which institution do you have your diploma?

For some institutions, you may get Year 2 entry to some local universities and even Year 3 entry to the Australian G8 universities.

At Nottingham, my friends from a college in same state is unable to get Year 2 entry. Nottingham is even reluctant to offer them a place for 1st year entry. Alright, they are my coursemates now though.
And, let me tell you, they took Fluid Mechanics before and they are telling me that they are learning new things already even in their Year 1. Perhaps, that's the standard for Nottingham..

Uniten is quite famous for their Mechanical Engineering and some say MMU Malacca Campus also not bad for that. But, one is said to be a lot of Malays and one is said that the experienced lecturers are leaving.
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 6 2009, 09:53 PM

112 posts

im taking my diploma at TARC
yeah i won't consider nottingham cause it's too expensive
uniten and mmu too many malays
now applying at inti but dono whether inti is the right choice or not
sexualpower
post Apr 6 2009, 10:00 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 6 2009, 09:35 PM)
Which institution do you have your diploma?

For some institutions, you may get Year 2 entry to some local universities and even Year 3 entry to the Australian G8 universities.

At Nottingham, my friends from a college in same state is unable to get Year 2 entry. Nottingham is even reluctant to offer them a place for 1st year entry. Alright, they are my coursemates now though.
And, let me tell you, they took Fluid Mechanics before and they are telling me that they are learning new things already even in their Year 1. Perhaps, that's the standard for Nottingham..

Uniten is quite famous for their Mechanical Engineering and some say MMU Malacca Campus also not bad for that. But, one is said to be a lot of Malays and one is said that the experienced lecturers are leaving.
may i know exactly who said that Mechanical in MMU Malacca Campus is not bad?
tanjinjack
post Apr 6 2009, 10:32 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 6 2009, 10:00 PM)
may i know exactly who said that Mechanical in MMU Malacca Campus is not bad?
Hmm, I guess I heard it somewhere here and there.
Then, I went and check the course structure and it's really not bad, if the lecturers are okay.
airfighter
post Apr 7 2009, 12:36 PM

24 posts

what about utp?
they accept diploma qualification.i heard its tough to get a place in utp but i think it is wotrh a try.they even provided scholarship for every single student that attend utp n the scholarship varies from a well known local to international company (corrct me if im wrong laugh.gif ).

just my 2 cents

This post has been edited by airfighter: Apr 7 2009, 12:38 PM
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 7 2009, 12:50 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(airfighter @ Apr 7 2009, 12:36 PM)
what about utp?
they accept diploma qualification.i heard its tough to get a place in utp but i think it is wotrh a try.they even provided scholarship for every single student that attend utp n the scholarship varies from a well known local to international company (corrct me if im wrong laugh.gif ).

just my 2 cents
it's not that i'm racist or what but utp majorities are malays sweat.gif
tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 02:20 PM

4,122 posts

UTAR la..
If you don't want Malay..

I feel that you need to pay a visit to those universities, the one that your budget allows. Choose the one you like the most.
One of the thing that I prefer when visiting a university is I am more happy to deal with an academic staff instead of a marketing staff. An academic staff speaks truths everyday, instead of marketing staff who speaks truths and lies. If you like the environment, who cares if it's a lot of Malay?
mrhauhau
post Apr 7 2009, 02:22 PM

39 posts

Curtin Sarawak
Swinburne Sarawak
Monash Sunway Campus

these 3 so far i think the best !!!!
I love Curtin Bcuz living cost there very low . RM800 per month only
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 7 2009, 03:10 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 7 2009, 02:20 PM)
UTAR la..
If you don't want Malay..

I feel that you need to pay a visit to those universities, the one that your budget allows. Choose the one you like the most.
One of the thing that I prefer when visiting a university is I am more happy to deal with an academic staff instead of a marketing staff. An academic staff speaks truths everyday, instead of marketing staff who speaks truths and lies. If you like the environment, who cares if it's a lot of Malay?
FYI i'm taking my diploma at TARC beside UTAR now
if u wan me to choose utar i rather go inti
curtin, monarsh and the rest are beyond my budget cause i intend to borrow $ through ptptn
and the max per year i can borrow is around 16k if i'm correct
sexualpower
post Apr 7 2009, 07:54 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 7 2009, 03:10 PM)
curtin, monarsh and the rest are beyond my budget cause i intend to borrow $ through ptptn
FYI i was in MMU for many years
if u wan me to choose MMU i rather go ANYWHERE ELSE

feel free to check all MMU related threads here in Education Essentials
tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 08:10 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Apr 7 2009, 03:10 PM)
Inti ah..
You sure Inti or not..

I am not trying to discourage you, but I ran away from Inti, despite my gf is still there.
The reason is I don't like the environment and I hold doubts on their lecturers' quality.
When we talk about a faculty, I believe most people will say, a building, alright, worse comes to worst, a floor of the whole building.
In Inti, FOEIT is only, hmm, quarter of a floor?
And, when you look up FOEIT academic staffs, you find that most of them do not have PhD titles. That doesn't mean they are not good but they won't be as good as a supervisor for your final year project if you intend on doing something big.

But you can go and see Inti la..
You like then ok la..
at least their accommodation is cheap, lots of variety of food..
got nice mamak there..
then still can sing k..
still got club ah they say, new one..
so good!
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 7 2009, 08:35 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 7 2009, 08:10 PM)
Inti ah..
You sure Inti or not..

I am not trying to discourage you, but I ran away from Inti, despite my gf is still there.
The reason is I don't like the environment and I hold doubts on their lecturers' quality.
When we talk about a faculty, I believe most people will say, a building, alright, worse comes to worst, a floor of the whole building.
In Inti, FOEIT is only, hmm, quarter of a floor?
And, when you look up FOEIT academic staffs, you find that most of them do not have PhD titles. That doesn't mean they are not good but they won't be as good as a supervisor for your final year project if you intend on doing something big.

But you can go and see Inti la..
You like then ok la..
at least their accommodation is cheap, lots of variety of food..
got nice mamak there..
then still can sing k..
still got club ah they say, new one..
so good!
wa.. shocking.gif
dude don scare me sweat.gif
seriously i don't know what to do sad.gif
tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 09:16 PM

4,122 posts

NO la..
just my personal preference that dislikes Inti..
I feel you really need to visit the campus prior on choosing.

The place will be somewhere you will be staying for 2-4 years and you cannot find yourself to hate the place lo, right?
TSskyhyk88
post Apr 7 2009, 09:51 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 7 2009, 09:16 PM)
NO la..
just my personal preference that dislikes Inti..
I feel you really need to visit the campus prior on choosing.

The place will be somewhere you will be staying for 2-4 years and you cannot find yourself to hate the place lo, right?
i've been there before
the campus is small(hostel compound is very big thou) compare to TARC
i've friends studying there too they said the foods are nice and cheap

tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 10:22 PM

4,122 posts

Where got cheap. Reasonable la..
I like the Wan Tan Mee there..
you go there I teach you how to get lots of wantan!

0.0167sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:45 PM