Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

PeeEl
post May 26 2010, 10:46 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 22 2010, 10:39 AM)
Send to different place. The only 2 service center I will recommend is VR Tech & Sapura.
I have a speck of dust or it could even be a dead pixel right smack in the middle of my MBP screen. So I want to send in for a claim.

Is Sapura at section 14 and could you kindly advise where VR Tech is? Thanks.
PeeEl
post May 26 2010, 04:06 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ May 26 2010, 11:35 AM)
Thanks. Just wanted to confirm as someone did mention that there is one at Jalan Semangat but under a different name, not Sapura.
PeeEl
post May 26 2010, 08:36 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ May 26 2010, 04:10 PM)
eh? is that name Axis? that's managed by Sapura... long time ago, it was registered as Sapura too... so the older members, we still call it Sapura smile.gif
I can't recall the name but Axis could well be it. Anyway, will make my way to the address stated. Thanks again, mate.

It is just that I hope my issue falls under the ambit of the warranty otherwise it would be a futile trip.
PeeEl
post Jul 4 2010, 10:39 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Nullify @ Jul 3 2010, 01:27 PM)
is it expensive?  D:

Added on July 3, 2010, 4:37 pmanyone?
You have been directed to someone. You can contact and ask him. And lastly, expensive is relative. So, by speaking to the person, you would be able to get things done better and faster. Cheers.
PeeEl
post Aug 1 2010, 10:31 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 31 2010, 11:06 PM)
Maybe they still do at that region. I'm not representing them. So you better find out strait from them. I only know they've closed down their retails and service in klang valley.
Sapura has actually moved to Wangsa Maju.
PeeEl
post Sep 16 2011, 08:02 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Sep 16 2011, 01:25 PM)
need some help here actually i find out that my keyboard light but very very weak when i open to the maximum even look like don't have is that anything that i can do to change back or i just go for restore?
Untick the 'Use all F1 F2.......' in your Keyboard Setting in System Preference. That should do the trick.
PeeEl
post Apr 18 2012, 08:51 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(cky6667 @ Apr 18 2012, 02:35 PM)
Bro. I facing the problem of no keyboard backlit light. Running OS lion 10.7.. how to solve it??
If you have checked 'Use all F1, F2........' box under Keyboard in your System Preference, uncheck it. That could solve your issue. If that is not the case, then perhaps there is a hardware problem.
PeeEl
post Jun 30 2012, 09:38 AM

3,612 posts

I hope fellow forummers can help and offer some advice on my predicament.

Got my MBA 13" 2011, last year of course. No problems except that when I watch videos, stream movies, update softwares (for like 10 minutes) and watch YouTube (sometimes only), the CPU temp goes up to as high as 90 degrees+ and the Exhaust, 6000+ revs, which of course will be loud. Had no such problem with my MBP last time.

Took my MBA to VR Tech twice but even though they could see/experience what I complained about, said it is normal as when those actions mentioned above stop, the CPU temp and Exhaust speed go back down.

Could other MBA owners advise whether the phenomenon is with mine only or it happens to you all as well? Is it really normal for MBAs?

I want to write to Apple but though I tried going to their support sites, I cannot find where I could do that. Can someone please advise? Called their support line but they are not 'in' today. Will try again on Monday.

Meanwhile, the main question is, is what is happening to my MBA a normal thing with the mid-2011 MBA?

Thanks in advance for any inputs and advice.

This post has been edited by PeeEl: Jun 30 2012, 09:38 AM
PeeEl
post Jun 30 2012, 11:06 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 30 2012, 02:13 PM)
The compact single fan design of MBA is not a very good heat dissipation design. We found that MBA generally very easy to heat up. Even the older model.

Sometime it could also due to overdose stock thermal compound: link.
Thanks mate. You are therefore saying the Exhaust going to high revs is normal, due to CPU temp going high? If that's the case, it's a 'design fault'. Perhaps whoever wants to buy a MBA had better think twice.

In my case, since VR has said it's normal as when I exit all applications, the exhaust goes back down, perhaps I should just continue streaming my movies until it 'burns' the whole MB and then I can send in for a warranty claim.
PeeEl
post Jul 27 2012, 05:41 PM

3,612 posts

Guys, need help and advice.

I did post much earlier that my MBA CPU temp goes up very high triggering Exhaust Fan speed to high speeds thus making it very noisy after only a short while (about 10-15minutes of usage).

Brought it to VR Technology a few times already and though they spent time looking at it and even experiencing my complaint, said it is normal so long as the fan speed goes down when I exit my tasks, which to me is not acceptable. Reason is I do not multi task and use my MBA for doing emails, surfing the net and viewing YouTube/ streaming videos and not for long periods at that.

Called up AppleCare and they asked me to bring it to another service provider. Please advise as to which is the next best one I can send to, professionalism and service wise (obviously not Machines), as VR is supposedly good but can't help me in this case.

Inputs will be very much appreciated.

This post has been edited by PeeEl: Jul 27 2012, 05:51 PM
PeeEl
post Jul 28 2012, 07:06 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 27 2012, 08:11 PM)
QCD technologies in Berjaya TimesSquare Level 8.
Ok, thanks a lot. Will pay them a visit.
PeeEl
post Jun 8 2015, 11:43 AM

3,612 posts

Can anyone recommend a place I can take my MBA 13" Mid 2011 to replace my SSD?

Any advice is appreciated. TQ.

0.0385sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:12 AM