QUOTE(Charlton @ Nov 11 2020, 03:52 PM)
This is call Kernel Panic. If your unit is newer than 2013 you can power on the unit and press "D" and run the test it report anything.Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
Nov 11 2020, 04:12 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
Nov 12 2020, 02:49 PM
Nov 17 2020, 08:16 PM
The recall is for 2015 model. Not 2017.
Nov 23 2020, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(limkj @ Nov 21 2020, 07:24 AM) I had my MacBook Pro 15” battery replaced before by Apple FOC. I had only had to pay for labour. After calling Apple, inform them of the battery requiring service and my battery within low cycles count of less than 400, they offered me a new battery replacement without charge but pay for labour. They then gave me a case ID and I went to an Apple Service Provider to get the battery changed. Good info, what model exactly? |
Nov 25 2020, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(ILV @ Nov 24 2020, 05:11 PM) Hi Guys, You meant the TouchBar is not responding to touch?i am using MBP13, 2018. the touch panel is no responding and can't function at all. any idea on how to troubleshoot this? or i need to send the service center to fix this? thanks for all the reply and help. sorry if there is any thread on this, perhaps you can direct me to there. If you have active AppleCare you should send it back to Apple. |
Nov 25 2020, 04:46 PM
You can try reset SMC and PRAM and see it recover.
Uncommon, just send back to service centre and see what they say. |
Dec 18 2020, 09:14 AM
Dec 18 2020, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 18 2020, 02:09 PM) sorry, just realised you guys can't see it via screenshots. Send to check, display issue is best capture by photo or video, not screenshot.There are horizontal lines appearing on the screen. Lines, separated by maybe 1mm, from top to bottom. I think it could be the connection problem between the screen and the motherboard. I'm using MBP touchbar 2018. |
Dec 21 2020, 06:38 PM
Apple only offer free replacement for 2016 13-inch on flex gate issue. Any other model they no offer and subject to case-to-case. For country that have official Apple store you might have better chance. But if your unit have cosmetic defect like dent they can easily refuse it and says it’s physically caused.
Dec 22 2020, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 22 2020, 09:42 AM) hi guys, wanna ask about changing iphone battery. While this topic is mainly for Mac. I will answer you in general.according to switch website or machines, they could take a day or more if required. another point is they will do a factory reset. so my question is: 1. why do they need to do a factory reset? 2. after reset, what will happen to all my phone data? 3. itunes is no longer supported by new windows. how do i backup my iphone fully or most of it? especially contacts and settings? 4. how reliable is 3rd party battery? thanks. 1. they will likely need to run test to verify the new battery are working properly. without the need of you sharing your passcode or risk on leaking your personal detail. standard SOP from Apple. Unlike MacOS we can boot via external drive and bypass user data. 2. reset means everything gone. 3. use cloud backup. iCloud for example. 4. this is subjective, do your own background check on them. battery replacement is not that complicated, some service provider should able to do it on the spot in front of you, that you be sure they won't touch your personal data. but there is still risk if they are not professional, opening the device will alway have risk. |
Dec 22 2020, 03:16 PM
Yes. Display is always not cheap. Want all the best color, retina and slim. It come in cost. Let's put it other way around, when you buy the Mac cost 5-6k (at lease), the display make up huge part of the Mac.
Dec 23 2020, 09:35 AM
You can sell it off for parts. We are buying.
Dec 24 2020, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Dec 24 2020, 06:31 AM) Hi there.. dunno where to ask, hopefully u guys can help me here.. Need your suggestion. For a >RM10k device it is no brainer to skip the ACPP.Is it worth to buy Apple Care to extend warranty period for MBP 16 USA set? If any issue happen, the warranty cover by apple USA right? not Apple malaysia? can we stil send to apple malaysia for warranty claim? Yes you can, laptop are meant to travel. https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/a...re/appgeos.html |
Dec 28 2020, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(wewdoto @ Dec 27 2020, 08:40 PM) Hey there, has anyone experienced crackling speakers on their Macbooks? Woofer cracked. Very normal. You will need to replace the speaker assembly.My 15 inch 2015 MacBook Pro recently started exhibiting symptoms of blown out speakers, especially when playing bass-heavy sounds - was wondering if anyone here could point me to a solution that won't break the bank wewdoto liked this post
Jan 11 2021, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(nefashu @ Jan 11 2021, 10:48 AM) Hi, I got Mac Pro mid 2010 single cpu. Any click sound and red LED flashes when you turn on the main power? Not the power button but the plug to your power outlet.Mac pro can turn on all fan spinning but no display. No chime sound when boot and diag led on gpu ok is blinking. I try to remove all ram, no beep sound remove gpu, no beep sound remove hdd and cd, no beep sound any advice? thanks |
Jan 12 2021, 09:53 AM
possible fault:
Logicboard board, backplane board. unlikely but can try: PRAM battery. PSU. This post has been edited by wei: Jan 12 2021, 09:55 AM |
Jan 14 2021, 09:51 AM
Bootcamp V6.0 and above support Windows10. Mojave 10.14.6 is version 6.1.
Your question should be posted here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...861&hl=bootcamp This post has been edited by wei: Jan 14 2021, 09:52 AM |
Jan 29 2021, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(blue16 @ Jan 28 2021, 04:57 PM) hi , i have a macboook pro 2015 15" pending for a battery replacement. will it void my future services in apple if i replace the battery with unauthorised service centre? For top, case assembly. Yes. But 2015 model are long expired from official warranty. And are soon to be obsolete. We do not see any reason to go back to Apple. Do check if your unit eligible for battery recall: https://support.apple.com/15-inch-macbook-pro-battery-recallQUOTE(kkm @ Jan 28 2021, 11:47 PM) My MBP 2018 is now ghosting and having double images after using for a while. Restarting seems to cure it for a while. Common issue on these model. Try to keep the Mac clean and cool.Could it be a heat problem? This post has been edited by wei: Jan 29 2021, 09:51 AM |
Jan 31 2021, 12:38 PM
Cleaning should be done as preventive measure. You should be watching the temperature closely. Once the LCD become defective you have to replace it.
Feb 1 2021, 09:47 AM
iStat, MacFansControl, TempMonitor... there are many.
| Change to: | 0.0554sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:42 AM |