Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

Crusader
post Aug 3 2009, 04:33 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 3 2009, 09:56 AM)
OMG  shocking.gif

He's the manager?!?! The Indian guy right?

He is the one who served me  shocking.gif

Are you sure he's the manager? Coze when I swapped my 1st MBP, he checked everything and he said wait for approval. He is the manager right? Why after checking need wait for approval?

After swapping 1st time, can go and swap the 2nd time?

By the way, why Sapura Synergy? Is it good?
Not sure he's a real manager or not. But he introduced himself as a manager to me. Maybe they need approval from apple care before swapping your MBP.

Anyway, you must try to do something before the "7 days" period end. Within that 7 days, you can speak louder than anyone else in Apple. Try call Apple Care Hotline and talk nicely to the operator. The Operator have the authority to swap a new MBP for you even after warranty. So, talk nicely to them.
I can't remember the hotline number but you can make the call from Apple service centre.
John89
post Aug 3 2009, 07:59 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Aug 3 2009, 04:33 PM)
Not sure he's a real manager or not. But he introduced himself as a manager to me. Maybe they need approval from apple care before swapping your MBP.

Anyway, you must try to do something before the "7 days" period end. Within that 7 days, you can speak louder than anyone else in Apple. Try call Apple Care Hotline and talk nicely to the operator. The Operator have the authority to swap a new MBP for you even after warranty. So, talk nicely to them.
I can't remember the hotline number but you can make the call from Apple service centre.
Is it 1800 80 3638?

If yes then I already called them up.

The operator ask me to use for 1 month first. If the defect pixel still there, which I know it will, then go back to Epi Centre....................

What should I do now? Wait for 1 month or go and try to swap again? Will they swap for me for the 2nd time?

Because of defect pixel, I feel my MacBook Pro is ugly cry.gif

This post has been edited by John89: Aug 3 2009, 08:07 PM
Crusader
post Aug 3 2009, 10:42 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 3 2009, 07:59 PM)
Is it 1800 80 3638?

If yes then I already called them up.

The operator ask me to use for 1 month first. If the defect pixel still there, which I know it will, then go back to Epi Centre....................

What should I do now? Wait for 1 month or go and try to swap again? Will they swap for me for the 2nd time?

Because of defect pixel, I feel my MacBook Pro is ugly  cry.gif
For me, I wouldn't wait for 1 month. I swap two 17" MBP at Epicentre in 1 day. biggrin.gif But I did it before I even pay them.
Only the 3rd one doesn't have the dirt/dead pixels. Consider lucky because they only have 4 in-stock that day.

I didn't check properly on my first purchase (a 15" MBP) and learn a hard lesson after the seven days period ended.
Epicentre won't entertain me and I have to bring it to the service centre to change the whole LCD. Before they changed it, they still argued that I cause the LCD defect and not covered under warranty. But I challenged them that if they can simulate the same problem without a dent on the screen then I'll quietly go home with my MBP. But in the end, they have to quietly change the LCD for me. sweat.gif
That's why I keep telling you to swap until you get the right one. Epicentre keep telling customer that they'll swap a new MBP if any hardware defect within 7 days of purchase. You still have the right to swap.
John89
post Aug 3 2009, 11:06 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Aug 3 2009, 10:42 PM)
For me, I wouldn't wait for 1 month. I swap two 17" MBP at Epicentre in 1 day.  biggrin.gif  But I did it before I even pay them.
Only the 3rd one doesn't have the dirt/dead pixels. Consider lucky because they only have 4 in-stock that day.

I didn't check properly on my first purchase (a 15" MBP) and learn a hard lesson after the seven days period ended.
Epicentre won't entertain me and I have to bring it to the service centre to change the whole LCD. Before they changed it, they still argued that I cause the LCD defect and not covered under warranty. But I challenged them that if they can simulate the same problem without a dent on the screen then I'll quietly go home with my MBP. But in the end, they have to quietly change the LCD for me.  sweat.gif
That's why I keep telling you to swap until you get the right one. Epicentre keep telling customer that they'll swap a new MBP if any hardware defect within 7 days of purchase. You still have the right to swap.
I am planning to do that on Wednesday...but I can tell that Mr.Rabi is so unhappy about it when I swap the first time...

What they lost when swapping ?!?!

If he won't swap another new one for me? What can I do?
Crusader
post Aug 4 2009, 08:56 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 3 2009, 11:06 PM)
I am planning to do that on Wednesday...but I can tell that Mr.Rabi is so unhappy about it when I swap the first time...

What they lost when swapping ?!?!

If he won't swap another new one for me? What can I do?
Maybe they need to do some paperwork if anyone do swapping. I don't really care if they are happy or not. For me, I'm the customer and my happiness is more important than theirs. biggrin.gif

Maybe Mr. Rabi was not in good mood that day. Try to talk nicely and reasonable to him. Tell him do to the same thing to you. Ask him how he feel if he dug out a few thousand ringgit and expecting some excellent hardware but got a defect one instead?

Good luck.
John89
post Aug 4 2009, 09:36 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Aug 4 2009, 08:56 AM)
Maybe they need to do some paperwork if anyone do swapping. I don't really care if they are happy or not. For me, I'm the customer and my happiness is more important than theirs.  biggrin.gif

Maybe Mr. Rabi was not in good mood that day. Try to talk nicely and reasonable to him. Tell him do to the same thing to you. Ask him how he feel if he dug out a few thousand ringgit and expecting some excellent hardware but got a defect one instead?

Good luck.
Went there today.

Mr.Rabi is a technician and he said he called the manager and the manager allows me to swap 1 last time. If it's faulty again, then they can't do anything, but to take it.

Therefore I chose for a refund. biggrin.gif

Save ma a lot of trouble.

Oh, and he claims that it's dust inside the screen but not defect pixel hmm.gif

This post has been edited by John89: Aug 4 2009, 09:37 PM
Crusader
post Aug 4 2009, 09:42 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 4 2009, 09:36 PM)
Went there today.

Mr.Rabi is a technician and he said he called the manager and the manager allows me to swap 1 last time. If it's faulty again, then they can't do anything, but to take it.

Therefore I chose for a refund.  biggrin.gif

Save ma a lot of trouble.

Oh, and he claims that it's dust inside the screen but not defect pixel  hmm.gif
I think I saw you there... I was buying a macbook air just now. Did you went there with an old chap (your dad?).

ps. The first unit I checked was faulty too (with 1 dead pixel). They said will swap till no problem at all otherwise, they do refund too. biggrin.gif ... Luckily for them, the 2nd unit was ok.

This post has been edited by Crusader: Aug 4 2009, 09:46 PM
John89
post Aug 4 2009, 09:51 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Aug 4 2009, 09:42 PM)
I think I saw you there... I was buying a macbook air just now. Did you went there with an old chap (your dad?).

ps. The first unit I checked was faulty too (with 1 dead pixel). They said will swap till no problem at all otherwise, they do refund too. biggrin.gif ... Luckily for them, the 2nd unit was ok.
OMG!!!

Yeah, I'm wearing a green cap and my father is with me...

Oh, are you the one on the 2nd counter? Your MacBook Air with dead pixel? The one with strip (Blue White) Polo Tee, with your GF?

This post has been edited by John89: Aug 4 2009, 09:59 PM
Crusader
post Aug 4 2009, 10:03 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 4 2009, 09:51 PM)
OMG!!!

Yeah, I'm wearing a green cap and my father is with me...

Oh, are you the one on the 2nd counter? Your MacBook Air with dead pixel? The one with strip (Blue White) Polo Tee, with your GF?
Yes, that's me with my wife. Ha ha ha... what a small world.
John89
post Aug 4 2009, 10:06 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Aug 4 2009, 10:03 PM)
Yes, that's me with my wife. Ha ha ha... what a small world.
Oh your wife...thought your GF, coze you guys look young biggrin.gif

Yeah, what a small world....

Saw you put the MacBook Air on your lap and your face almost touched the screen tongue.gif

I'm planning to get another one in Machines or Mac City.

Hopefully there will be no trouble sweat.gif

This post has been edited by John89: Aug 4 2009, 10:06 PM
Crusader
post Aug 4 2009, 10:41 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(John89 @ Aug 4 2009, 10:06 PM)
Oh your wife...thought your GF, coze you guys look young  biggrin.gif

Yeah, what a small world....

Saw you put the MacBook Air on your lap and your face almost touched the screen  tongue.gif

I'm planning to get another one in Machines or Mac City.

Hopefully there will be no trouble  sweat.gif
Young? My eldest son is 12 years old. blush.gif

Good luck in your next MBP but don't forget to check it before you leave the shop.
Follow my steps, almost touch the screen with your face. he he he...
John89
post Aug 4 2009, 10:53 PM

473 posts

I'll try biggrin.gif

Have fun with your new MacBook Air thumbup.gif
mattkhoo87
post Aug 6 2009, 08:37 PM

327 posts

i have a macbook white model A1181.. and my battery konged.. i bought a new battery(OEM one), plugged it in, and without plugging the adapter, the macbook wont on.. with plugging the adapter, it will on a while and then shut down.. but when i take out the battery and plug in the adapter, i can use the macbook.. anyone know what`s the problem? i took the battery back to the seller, and tried different batteries all new stock (OEM battery), and all of them still wont work.. is it a problem with the batteries? or the problem with my macbook?

anyone can help me?
TSwei
post Aug 6 2009, 08:48 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Do not use "so called OEM". Power is not something you can afford to cheapskate on. Use at your own risk. I've seen some cases that the so called OEM charger cause haywire.

To be honest, there's no such thing as OEM for Apple products. 3rd party or china imitation is more like it.

Try asking anyone with original battery to loan you a moment to test.
rx330
post Aug 12 2009, 09:13 PM

11,808 posts

Dear Grandmaster Wei,

Im in need of ur advice once more

i just bought an icydock 2 bays with firewire 800 connection
im transferring a file of 37gbs(internal hdd) into my external hdd (icy dock)
time taken is about 2 hours, is this normal? seems a tad slow don you think?
TSwei
post Aug 13 2009, 01:19 PM

6,496 posts

Yeap, it's slow. I did 60GB in about 40mins, FW800 connections. And here's my old IDE RAID-1 FW800 casing:

Check and see if your spotlight is doing indexing or any heavy background apps is running at the same time that keep your drive busy.

Next is to check if there's a Mac drive or booster software from the manufacturer. I now Western Digital have it. Unsure about yours.
rx330
post Aug 13 2009, 02:10 PM

11,808 posts

sigh... mins is so slow...

im sorry, but how do i check if my spotlight is doing indexing? now apps i was running was firefox(lots of tabs), skype and a download manager

im using a sata drive, 5400 rpm, 1.5tb, samsung
TSwei
post Aug 13 2009, 02:22 PM

6,496 posts

"download manager" <-- this one will keep your system busy.

try another transfer after a fresh restart without running anything.

when spotlight indexting u will see a black dot pulsing at the upper right magnifying glass icon. when you click on it, it will says "indexing..."
mattkhoo87
post Aug 22 2009, 12:04 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 6 2009, 08:48 PM)
Do not use "so called OEM". Power is not something you can afford to cheapskate on. Use at your own risk. I've seen some cases that the so called OEM charger cause haywire.

To be honest, there's no such thing as OEM for Apple products. 3rd party or china imitation is more like it.

Try asking anyone with original battery to loan you a moment to test.
i did buy an original battery(2nd hand one) and the same problem occured.. so i brought my macbook to mac city to check, they said the wire connection from the battery connector to the logic board is burnt... and they quoted me a price to repair which cost up to RM1700+.. anyone has any thoughts? of course i told them not to repair it cos i might as well buy a new macbook if i were to repair it at that price..
rx330
post Aug 22 2009, 12:08 PM

11,808 posts

i think wei shud be able to repair for you at a price

98 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:10 AM