English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 15/04 Porto v Man Utd | 16/04 02:45 ESPN

shortleg88
post Apr 6 2009, 06:03 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Macheda seems bigger and better than Welbeck. I didn't judge him based on his goal, in terms of physique Macheda seems the better one hence he can hold the ball slightly better. Both have pace but I'll rate Welbeck slightly better in it. Not to mention the eye for goal is there for both of them. Just as alien bro said, patience will be the key element. I think Welbeck will be patience enough as it is his homegrown club and the club he supported since young. Where else Macheda being a foreigner and surely wanting more opportunity to be in the first team. Hope he won't turn out another Rossi, scoring goals for fun in the reserves but offloaded in the end due to limited playing oppurtunity

shortleg88
post Apr 7 2009, 01:01 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Yup, saw the TOTW in soccernet as well, but they mistakenly labelled no. 32 (Tevez number) instead of Macheda 41
shortleg88
post Apr 8 2009, 05:10 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

I was feeling uneasy when I woke up for the 15 minute into the match (ter-sleep), check the score, it was 1-1. What a sucker punch considering how early we concede an early away goal! Then, was planning to watch the half time highlights for the goals, bugger ESPN not showing match highlights vmad.gif . The day started badly for me!

I have a bad feeling this might be the end of it, but it's just a hunch. But at least we know what we need in the 2nd leg, a win and nothing less!
shortleg88
post Apr 8 2009, 05:19 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Anyway got the goal clip for the first 2 goals? How come the normal sky sports half time analysis was not shown? Not even the end match analysis as well doh.gif
shortleg88
post Apr 8 2009, 05:23 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

The gaffer has spoken finally!

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson slammed his side's lack of concentration as Porto hit back late on to take a draw from their Champions League quarter-final first leg.

Mariano grabbed a crucial equaliser for the visitors to Old Trafford with 90 seconds left on the clock, after Wayne Rooney and Carlos Tevez had responded to Cristian Rodriguez's fine early opener.

"(The result) was about right - first half they were the better side but second half we improved and got more possession,'' the Scot told ITV.

"But getting the (second) goal the way they did - we should really have defended that. It was a bad goal to lose.

"It's been a hard two days for them (after playing Aston Villa on Sunday), but they were lacking in concentration.''

Ferguson - who revealed centre-half Jonny Evans had limped out with a groin injury - added: "You get a 2-1 lead with four or five minutes left, you really should see it out.

"We've got a game on Saturday (at Sunderland), there's still a lot going for us, but it's a difficult game now in Porto, no question of that.''

shortleg88
post Apr 8 2009, 12:40 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

The team especially midfield and defence is lacking in confidence currently. Heck, I don't mind we grind out victory from now till end of the season. Just 2 months left, we should now sprint towards the finishing line. I think another 1-0 win for us will be the boost we need, especially for the defence to believe in them again.
shortleg88
post Apr 9 2009, 05:37 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Apr 9 2009, 04:58 AM)
good news on liverpool lost.. they will try badly in the return leg.. hope there will some suspensions to their players smile.gif
Other teams victory is not our concern. Our position ain't that positive as well (but of course slightly better than Liv). Though we are supporting different teams, but we are all football fans. Wishing players to get suspended/injured disrupt the beautiful game. What will you think if our own players suffers this fare? shakehead.gif

PS : even there's suspension, what's the use of it since it'll only applicable the next match (either the semi/next season ties) [Not to I support the idea of having players sent off]
shortleg88
post Apr 11 2009, 02:14 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Apr 11 2009, 12:16 PM)
I like how the author and so many others simply ignore the fact that Rafa was also just answering the question asked of him by the reporters. It's ok for Sir Alex 'to simply give an answer to a question asked' but when Rafa does the same he's ridiculed for answering a question asked.

Of course, I don't expect anyone here to hold Rafa in any regard at all, but such double standards?  hmm.gif
Yes, I'm sure he was asked about what he thought of SAF answer that the winner of the UCL tie poses more threat to the BPL title. That's what reporters like to do, fuel the feud between teams. But I think under the circumstances he could have answered something more constructive like "the winner of the tie no doubt get the extra momentum in the title running, but also has a tighter and heavier schedule" Instead he blast it back claiming Ferguson is scared of his team which don't seem relevant to the question posed. I doubt the reporter asked him "why you think SAF talks so much about your team currently", if it's so perhaps it's understandable for him to answer that. So perhaps I should rest my case if someone could show me the full interview of Benitez latest comment and the questions posed by the reporter

shortleg88
post Apr 11 2009, 02:24 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Apr 11 2009, 02:16 PM)
Like I said before, the next time Fergie is posed a question on Pool I think its best for Rafa that he just says I Dunno Lol.

[attachmentid=899582]
if so, next thing I could foreseen coming out from Rafa mouth might be "SAF didn't treat us (Liverpool) with enough respect for declining to voice his opinion about our mighty and formidable squad" And pull out another long list of notes stating why his team is better *yawn*
shortleg88
post Apr 12 2009, 02:42 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Lol-ed. Someone can't understand a sarcastic comment. Guess he's new here!
shortleg88
post Apr 13 2009, 01:25 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

The hunger and fire is there I'm sure, just that we lack the fitness to follow the drive. It's a demanding fixture this season from our club world club championship and the league cup run. There's some players involve in the Euro 2008 as well. Not to mention the injury problems that start creeping in which we seldom had last season.
shortleg88
post Apr 13 2009, 06:06 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

VDS

O'Shea Vidic Ferdinand(Evans if he's not fit) Evra

Ronaldo Giggs Fletcher Park

Berba Rooney

have to play slightly attacking as we are behind in terms of away goal
shortleg88
post Apr 14 2009, 05:33 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

The ball is round, anything might happen. But I'm ok with either Liv or Che go through as long as we progress ourselves. That's the most important agenda for us. I'm not being that optimistic as you all are, but I'm silently confident though I'm not harboring much hope on it as I know the bigger the hope/ego, the harder the pain suffered. The key is scoring before half time, take the game to porto as we did against Inter and Barca,Roma last season. Everyone think porto gonna sit back and protect the away goal, but i have a hunch they gonna surprise us by launching an attack of their own just like they did at Old Trafford to control the game. Hope the defense can shut out their strikeforce effectively.
shortleg88
post Apr 14 2009, 08:22 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Can't believe we dominate the PFA POTY nominees, good news indeed! Not to mention 2 nominees as well for the young player of the year, though I think Ashley Young would be the more deserving winner. I'm gonna watch tonight match from a football fan view, not supporting either side except for goals and free flow of attacking football. Would prefer another 3-1 victory for Liv and go on to penalty kicks! Just love penalty kicks tension and pressure as long not my team involve or else I'll most likely die of heart attack.

I hope Ronaldo can stay focus on the game against Porto. I actually worried about him the most (yes, even more than the defense). I think he is the key man for Man Utd as long as he don't let the boos get into him. Since he hail from Sporting Lisbon, I'm predicting tonnes of boos against him. Think he showed middle finger in a game against Portugese team (was it Porto as well?) after he was substituted. Hope now he has grown and won't so easily provoke by it. In the last match, he did show he able to come back up without much complain compared to the few games before this. Hope he stay on this attitude and I'm sure he'll do well!
shortleg88
post Apr 14 2009, 09:49 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Torres should be in, but he has not start many match to be considered, the same can be said on our Giggsy, but he merit it based on age and experience. Ferdinand and VDS was a surprise though, as it's quite hard for a defender or even keeper to earn accommodate. Vidic should be there for saving our @$$ countless times and did chip in some important goals as well. It's good to see that many Utd players get the recognition, but I don't think there is any one that stands out that much apart from maybe Vidic. But he did suffer slightly in the past month and with so many Man Utd players nominated, there bound to be split votes between them. Not surprise if we see Gerard nick it even if we win the title like Ginola did during our treble season
shortleg88
post Apr 15 2009, 12:48 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(aboogee @ Apr 15 2009, 12:29 AM)
Hey guys!

I was reading this Man Utd Website Blog and it said that the Porto manager has been banned for the game tomoro night! Is that true? Ive read nothing on the football sites! But if it is ... cud work in our favour, or not! Haha.
Never read such news though, check soccernet don't have as well. Perhaps they confused with the suspension of Barca coach, Guardiola?
shortleg88
post Apr 15 2009, 04:42 AM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(verbatim @ Apr 15 2009, 04:40 AM)
Now they will talk of becoming BPL champions... ya lah.. if not empty handed season for them what...

nevermind, Beneath-us afford to talk more bout SAF when they have big matches like UCL Q-Final..

This weekend they have Arsenal, come on Beneath-us, talk about SAF more, and give us ur best rants ever...
it's not this weekend. It's a midweek game cause Ars will have a FA Cup semifinal against Che. Liverpool will have plenty of rest I'm sure and Gerard will be back then

0.0510sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:39 PM