4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

`twinkles
post Oct 29 2009, 11:01 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 24 2009, 10:35 PM)
thanks for the opinion~
So there are limited places in AFA??? I heard from another forumer said that only 350 students able to get in...??
In my batch, around 450 students are accepted into AFA because there are 15 groups with each group having only 30 students. I think this is because they have reached an agreement with ACCA or something like that. Or maybe they just don't want to bear high risk of having more students to spoil their Platinum status, I don't know. Considering that DAC has about 700-900 students, only half of the DAC will be accepted in. But then, maybe next year things will change, who knows?

This is just my opinion, not backed up by any facts tongue.gif

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Oct 29 2009, 11:04 AM
`twinkles
post Oct 29 2009, 11:28 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Zennix @ Oct 29 2009, 11:12 AM)
Hi

Can you advise me which should i take? ACCA?? CFA?? or MBA (Finance)??

i am currently practising as a company secretary. I hold Bachelor (Hons) Corporate Management, and ICSA professional qualification [Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators]. With 2 yrs working experiences.
I am sorry, I am still just a student in ACCA Part 2 with no working experience, I don't think I am in the right position to make any comments about your choice. Anyway, since you ask, I would just give some of my opinions which may be false because I strictly have very limited knowledge on the qualifications. So please look for more information before relying on my statements.

ACCA is something to take if you are thinking of practising accountancy and if I am not mistaken, people often said that you can work in many sectors with this qualification since accountancy does not only focus on accountancy, but rather an all-rounder subject kind of thing. There is a more supreme accountancy qualification, ICAEW which you may consider as well.

CFA is a professional qualification on finance which is a supreme qualification. Once a CFA graduate told me that once you are an CFA graduate you would be highly sought by banks.

As for MBA I have no idea really. I have always thought you need a degree in finance before you can take a Masters. Anyway, Masters is something good too obviously though I am not sure where it stands between these three choices. Sorry for not being much a help though!
`twinkles
post Oct 29 2009, 12:56 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Zennix @ Oct 29 2009, 11:56 AM)
Hi

Really thanks a lot for your advice!! Highly appreciate!  smile.gif

Anyway, in view of i am not in managerial line currently, i shall pursue in idle ACCA (last 5 papers to be taken due to exemptions given) or CFA (3 levels to be passed). Then only consider MBA in future once i get promoted in managerial line.

Thus, now 3 choices come to 2 choices (which are ACCA or CFA). I shall make a choice between these two.

Really headeache!!  rclxub.gif
CFA is more about finance and ACCA is more about accountancy, so why not think from this perspective on which field do you like better?
`twinkles
post Nov 5 2009, 03:02 PM

121 posts

Help for Paper F6:

For cost of food provided to employee's spouse, is this a 50% or 100% NOT allowable entertainment expenses?

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Nov 5 2009, 03:09 PM
`twinkles
post Dec 11 2009, 05:39 PM

121 posts

Did any lecturers give any advice on which question to start first for F7 question? They always say don't start with Question 1 and 2 first. I just hope to get some guidance before the real exam because it has always been my style to start with the first question and follow with the other questions in the ascending order.

By the way, do we keep the ACCA exam docket after exam or we have to pass it to the invigilators?

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Dec 11 2009, 05:41 PM
`twinkles
post Dec 16 2009, 06:01 PM

121 posts

Going to take F9, P1 and P2 next term I need some opinion here.

F9
-Ian Lim: Two of my friends attended his F5 class and said he is good. But then, I didn't see much feedback here online about him.
-Daniel Ho: I don't think he is teaching next batch sad.gif Want to go his class badly.
-Andrew Pang: Some says he's good, some says he teaches too fast. I may not like his way of teaching though from what I heard from my friends because from the information I have the way he teaches isn't really my style of learning.
-Stephy Lim: Not sure about her.

P1
-Philip Woo: Great feedback, although I hate his timetable lol
-Low Chin Ann: Attended his F8, like everyone said, he is good in explaining complicated stuffs, I can understand what he teaches and he is easily approached when we have questions since he is available for consultation all the time. Helpful lecturer. But I don't like that he writes while he teaches. I could not concentrate on listening when I write. And he has night classes when it is nearing the end of the term which I hate as well since I have major transportation problem at night. A full time student here by the way.
-Marcus Ong: Searched some feedback online and saw that he seems okay.

P2
-Definitely Haneef. Best lecturer on earth I have ever met.

I prefer lecturer who teaches like Haneef and has notes like Haneef's, simple yet comprehensive. Comments are appreciated smile.gif

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Dec 16 2009, 06:11 PM
`twinkles
post Dec 20 2009, 10:09 AM

121 posts

I need some comments here

F9:
Andrew Pang
Stephy Lim
Ian Lim

P1:
Philip Woo
Marcus Ong

`twinkles
post Dec 20 2009, 10:14 AM

121 posts

Can I know when is the early bird discount for KSA and OIC ends? Thanks in advance.
`twinkles
post Dec 20 2009, 10:16 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 20 2009, 11:47 AM)
Other lecturers not sure, only can give some comment about Andrew & Philip Woo.

F9 Andrew Pang - He is very good & express technique in calculation part, but just so so in theory. Depends on individual, some students said his method can save a lot of time for calculation part and concentrate in theory, but some students feel that his teaching method too fast and hard to follow. Btw, if study under Andrew Pang, you need to read more on theory part.

P1 Philip Woo - One of the best P1 lecturer in KL. His explanation is very detail & easy to understand. At the same time, he always share a lot of commercial practice experience in the class to make student more easy to understand. Btw, his notes not so good, majority of its are in story base. Some more, his time table normally in Sunday 10am-6pm, some students can't tahan.
Hmm...I don't know really, from my friend's description, it seems like Andrew Pang's method will be too fast for me to absorb. Slow learner here. And although you say Philip is one of the best P1 lecturers, I still prefer lecturers with good notes. How to choose? sad.gif Good lecturers or good notes? Argh
`twinkles
post Dec 21 2009, 10:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 20 2009, 10:25 PM)
Haha, P1 is not very difficult, eventhough Philip Woo study notes more on story based, but as long as you attend his class and understand and know the important area to study, then should be more than enough for study.

Btw, if you prefer good study notes, then may be consider Sheila (OIC). But her notes too complicated for me, just like Kaplan text book. As I'm a part time student those time, I dun think I can finish it b4 exam.

Or may be can consider Low Chin Ann (Kolej Bandar). Heard from somebody, his notes are simple & easy for understanding.

Haha, that's no perfect lecturer. Everything is depend on what you want.
I have attended Chin Ann's F8. Even though I think his notes are okay and he can make complicated things simple, the thing that I don't like about him is that he talks when he teaches. I cannot concentrate writing and listening at the same time. Cannot attend Sheila's because she only offers part time classes, I prefer morning or afternoon classes though. Thanks for the detailed info by the way smile.gif

QUOTE(Pooh-Bear @ Dec 21 2009, 12:34 AM)
Well actually, he expects students to prepare their own notes. Thus, for certain topics, he will just give you the photocopied text (extracts) from BPP manual and teach from it.
However, he does prepare notes for certain topics, especially those topics that he feels are important.
I find those notes prepared by him really helpful - simple and direct.
He has a knack for clearly distinguishing things (which we students tend to confuse), and guides you to understand the logic behind everything.
His classes are really good, however I noticed that due to the time constraint, he is unable to explain everything in detail towards the end, so he tends to explain topics which he feels are important in greater detail, but only skim through those which he feels are unimportant.
For this recent sitting, he only managed to cover one of the examiner's article during the revision class (which he had told us to bring during the regular class).
I have no experience with the other P1 lecturers, but you might want to try Philip's class. Apart from the minor setback mentioned above, he really is a very good lecturer.
Seems like the best is still Philip...I am not sure whether I am those students who can prepare own notes though, never really have the talent doing it because I tend to copy everything instead of extracting the important part. I am a perfectionist yea sad.gif

QUOTE(jonwei @ Dec 21 2009, 06:50 PM)
for F7 Mr Haneef class in OIC.....is it very crowded 1 ah? need to go early every class to get a nice seat? how early? full-time or part-time more ppl?
I was his full time student, not very crowded, but if you want a good seat(front and in the middle, most strategic place), better reach there like 20 minutes earlier. Not sure about his part time class though, but heard from my friend that his part time class has lots of students as well.

QUOTE(EVON4477 @ Dec 21 2009, 08:02 PM)
hi,
can share wif me where you taking f9 paper?

I am still thinking about it

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Dec 21 2009, 10:20 PM
`twinkles
post Dec 22 2009, 02:16 PM

121 posts

Is Chow Kim Tai good for F9? Heard good stuffs about him as well
`twinkles
post Dec 22 2009, 02:25 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(EVON4477 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:22 PM)
but he didnt teach f9 at kl but at jb..
u oso wanna take f9 next sitting?
which lecturer u consider?
Oh yea, just realise the fact. Gee, not much choice for F9 this round. Andrew maybe. I don't want night classes.
`twinkles
post Dec 22 2009, 02:42 PM

121 posts

How about Parmider for P1?

Added on December 22, 2009, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(EVON4477 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:37 PM)
u r full time student?
Yup

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Dec 22 2009, 03:26 PM
`twinkles
post Dec 27 2009, 09:12 PM

121 posts

Any more comments for Parmindar for P1? I seriously think his timetable suits my time better, well, I don't like weekend classes so I am trying to find alternatives for Philip Woo's class(though Sunday is still tolerable when compared to Saturday's night classes).

Parmindar's P1 students, please help!
`twinkles
post Dec 27 2009, 11:17 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(qualityyap @ Dec 27 2009, 10:50 PM)

and one more question my collegue is applying for acca exemption by virtue of his degree . he should contact malaysian office or uk straight away . any one can advise?
There are boxes to tick at the ACCA application form for exemption, the form which you fill up when you are applying to take ACCA exam. Give the form to ACCA Malaysia. That's what I do anyway.

QUOTE(whitewolf @ Dec 27 2009, 11:01 PM)
oh im not sure about that but it just said simon goh on the enrolment form. but in timetable is jay, acca.
i've went to haneef's and  most of the time i fell asleep. lol. so i dont think i'll be going to his class.

i know should choose lecturer but it's really annoying when you dont have any identification of where you actually study. also hard to pay at student price because dont have card. even more annoying when people ask you where you study,

and my opinion is that, it doesnt matter where you study, so long as you're committed to it then you'll succeed.
I like Haneef though, but I think full time students would appreciate his teaching style more since full time students aren't so tired since they are not working.

Anyway, I do agree with your point above. Although having good lecturers to teach is a plus point, finally, it all boils down to our own effort and commitment.
`twinkles
post Dec 30 2009, 12:06 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Dec 30 2009, 11:56 AM)
Parminder Singh (KSA) good in P3?Actually i wan to go for Philip Woo P3 class in Taylor..but the fees is expensive than KSA, almost double up...any comment about Parminder Singh?
He is the most recommended lecturer for P3 in KL. You can search for his feedback in this thread
`twinkles
post Dec 30 2009, 12:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Dec 30 2009, 12:09 PM)
u mean philip woo ? or parminder singh?
Parmindar Singh.
`twinkles
post Jan 21 2010, 09:59 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(emilydufleng @ Jan 20 2010, 11:00 PM)
hi newbie here. want to get some info for my daugther who wants to take CAT.

want to know the whole fees from CAT to ACCA in sunway college and also tarc. how much difference?

for sunway or tarc can my daughter apply ptptn loan? or any place offers ACCA and CAT too? can i know the price?

my daugther does not have any knowledge in accounting as she nvr take that subject in spm. can she catch up wif the existing students?

hope you all give me complete info.

from a worrying mother
I was an TARC student, so I can provide you with some information regarding TARC ACCA. Basically, your daughter will be able to catch up with TARC syllabus if she didn't have any accounting knowledge at all. Many students without accounting knowledge went and study accountancy. But then she will be able to determine the accounts entries better if she had studied accounting in secondary(that's what I got from my observation).

TARC doesn't offer CAT but the students will have to start with diploma. When she has completed her diploma, she will be able to get exemption for 5 papers. If she proceeded to advanced diploma, she will be able to gain exemption for all the fundamental papers. TARC fees are really cheap, around RMRM700++ to 1k++ per semester and if your daughter is smart with at least 9A's she'll get 100% scholarship. 8A's would get her 75% scholarship. Besides there are also Star and other scholarships. If she graduated from diploma with at least CGPA 3.85 she'll continue getting the 100% scholarship. The advantage of studying in TARC is that the fees are really cheap but the downside is not all the lecturers are good since we cannot choose who to follow. KL colleges have way better lecturers.

You can apply for PTPTN loan for TARC ACCA course. There are many other loans you can apply also.

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Jan 21 2010, 10:00 PM
`twinkles
post Jan 24 2010, 01:35 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Jan 21 2010, 11:20 PM)
Diploma in accounting+Advance diploma followed by ACCA in TARC will take 5 years right?How much is the estimated price for that?
thanks smile.gif

Added on January 21, 2010, 11:54 pmHi again,anyone here can suggest me for scholarship and loan that will be available for CAT and ACCA courses? Most scholarship state diploma/degree in accounting but how about CAT and ACCA? PTPTN loan does not offer for these courses right?
It took four years to complete ACCA in TARC. I saw the Star offers scholarship for CAT and ACCA for selected colleges such as KDU and PTPL if I am not mistaken.

QUOTE(starz92 @ Jan 22 2010, 12:02 PM)
thanks.those scholarship offered by lets say The Star,is it full scholarship?
For TARC, the Star scholarship is full scholarship for tuition fees with relatively low requirement I would consider. For other colleges, I am not too sure since their fees are much more higher.

QUOTE(imnotakid @ Jan 23 2010, 12:30 AM)
i am considering whether to continue acca in tarc/sunway after my degree. do u know when is tarc intake dates? i cant find it in their web site. if u know den i can save my phone calls. lolz.
I don't think you can continue ACCA at TARC after degree. You have to be their existing students in order to pursue the P papers at TARC Advanced Diploma Year 2 if I am not mistaken. They are not like KL colleges where you can come and go as you like. Furthermore, you have a degree which is higher than an Advanced Diploma offered by TARC.

This post has been edited by `twinkles: Jan 24 2010, 01:37 PM
`twinkles
post Feb 8 2010, 11:39 AM

121 posts

Can I know where do we have photostating services near Mc Orange? I skipped my class last Saturday night and need to photostat my friend's notes. Can I photostat the notes at the counter or is there any shops nearby?

Do Kasturi provide exam kit for P1? If not I would buy from McOrange

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0534sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:47 PM