126 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

Mr Brightside
post Aug 21 2009, 10:04 PM

42 posts

hey ppl, any idea where's a good place 4 resitting F5?
I've heard of an Intensive Practice Sessions at Inti. Is it any good?
kaikeikan
post Aug 21 2009, 11:35 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(tan8 @ Aug 21 2009, 04:53 PM)
yeah man, haiz. btw u know how much is resit fees? does it include the new textbook?
RM700.....no gua....use back the same notes i guess

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 21 2009, 08:32 PM)
Many sunway friends told me they left sunway when they need to take F8 but most stay until P2 with menon, most left totally when comes to optional papers. The situation changes a bit when CKF taught last session but after that it went downhill again. I think Chin Ann & Alan Yeo is quite similar in terms of teahing. If you want a lecturer with marking experience then Siva can be a good choice too as he is also current P6 marker while Chin Ann is current F6 marker.
i stayed for the sake of so that my mum don't buat bising about safety issues at petaling street shakehead.gif i know i know...
I don't normally shift responsibility to lecturers,but CKF really just made so many empty promises...i heard that in seminars he promised to give the students "model exam questions" but nth in the end,same thing happened for the last setting in sunway, said what model answers will be given and must change here and there abit so that the examiner won't get suspicious,and after he left i practically didn't believe him,had to start practicing exam styled questions after weeks delayed. We all bought the RPGT textbooks also,but since he said that RPGT abolished so i guess still can use gua....

Actually i do understand that he is running his own firm n that working as a lecturer doesn't earn much, but i really think he should have just informed mr teo from the beginning and maybe just run the revision class instead,n not to just dump us after realizing that he couldn't cope. But still we were given 2 lecturers to choose after he left,so it's still possible to pass the paper...just that i'm so spoon fed that i couldn't cope if everything is pushed till the very last minute.

anyway,most probably stick to the sunway's p6 lecturer.

Thanks for reading!
MegRyan
post Aug 22 2009, 01:07 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Mr Brightside @ Aug 21 2009, 10:04 PM)
hey ppl, any idea where's a good place 4 resitting F5?
I've heard of an Intensive Practice Sessions at Inti. Is it any good?
Inti Subang is quite confident. they offer attend first class Free! then if you like, can go register. We even receive sms stating got 1st free class for P3 by Mr Manwaring this coming Sunday. Then they also got Mr Marcus, who is teaching the P3 Part time. But if you are in KL, can consider Parminder. Heard he is a Dr like CKF.

F5 - I only heard about the lecturer, but don't know if he is good or not. can attend his class - the first class, then hope you can see the Bright side. hee hee.

The optionals level really are disaster. so many failed. so many. we wait for the pass rate that sunway will release.

This post has been edited by MegRyan: Aug 22 2009, 02:36 AM
kelvinbadroyal
post Aug 22 2009, 01:37 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Chewychew @ Aug 19 2009, 11:31 PM)
kelvinbadroyal and carlosandy Thank for your opinions......  thumbup.gif
welcome..
juz try to resit her class again.. and do put more time on this paper..
like what i shared here was that, i only attended 75
monkeez
post Aug 22 2009, 01:37 AM

35 posts

Thank you so much, Topace111 & Saga9733 for replied~ appreciated it... hope your information will helps my fren~ cheers guy
kelvinbadroyal
post Aug 22 2009, 01:46 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Chewychew @ Aug 19 2009, 11:31 PM)
kelvinbadroyal and carlosandy Thank for your opinions......  thumbup.gif
welcome..
juz try to resit her class again.. and do put more effort on this paper..
like what i shared here was that, i only did 75 marks for the paper, and yet, scored 51 marks, but for Q3, i just simply write smth on that question.
nothing is impossible, just you have to turn the impossible to become possible.
i didn't mean you can simply attempt 75 marks in the exam and leave the exam hall, but at least you had covered all the important topics such as IAS 19, 12, 32/39, IFRS 2, 3, 21&29, 36, 37, 38 etc. those are the stds that might appeared in the consol question. attempt all the questions even though you don't know how to do it. a simple bluffing answer can award you with 2-3 marks if you were at the verge to pass this paper.

besides, is this the 1st time you sit for p2?
in fact i failed in the 1st attempt with 44 marks, cos i din study IAS21&29 which caused me didn't know how to do the FOREX adjustment, and that adjustment was about 6 marks.
remember menon's advise, no matter pass or fail, life goes on. you cant make it this time, you will make it next time, and believe you can do it too.

Added on August 22, 2009, 1:58 am
QUOTE(angelgurl @ Aug 20 2009, 02:28 PM)
quite painful to take p2 again.. broad syllabus and std always change..
good luck in ur p1 this sitting! =P

Hey btw, anyone know if stds had change from previous sitting? i heard is only change once a year rite..
not only u faced the failure, most of my friends failed too.
so what you need to do right now is, sign up menon's resit class immediately.
attended all her lectures, do not simply skip any classes.
self study in P2 will not make you pass this paper.
eg, menon mentioned FULL GOODWILL will not be examined for DEC 2008 & JUNE 2009, but, the examiner examined it, and good enough, menon still go through FULL GW method in piecemeal acquisition with us.

anyway, DEC 2009 for P2 is the last chance to pass, since the revised stds are not examinable yet, which will be examined in JUNE 2010. so hope you can pass this paper as soon as possible, dun let this paper to be your nightmare. good luck for your P2 and so my P1.. hahahaha..

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Aug 22 2009, 01:58 AM
MegRyan
post Aug 22 2009, 02:12 AM

29 posts

Totally agree. Just write something. YOu get 2-3 marks. DOn't leave it blank. But what I don't get it is one mate attempted 80% and left 20% absolutely blank. She still got 55%!!

What a talent i would call it. Its like Portland city, full of talented professionals, just like our mate.

55% fuioohhh ...

Added on August 22, 2009, 2:14 am
QUOTE(Saga9733 @ Aug 21 2009, 05:45 PM)
Try Parminder at kasturi, I went o him and pass the paper in 1st atempt.
Good luck.
Parminder - full of stories and companies quote. I think he is quite interesting with all his wonderful insights to all big big companies - Pfizer, Lockerbie, Airbus, coke. You won't go bored with his class.

How did you prepare yours, Saga9733??

This post has been edited by MegRyan: Aug 22 2009, 02:34 AM
Blazingkidz
post Aug 22 2009, 05:53 PM

104 posts

this year malaysia graduates less than 320....from the list i obtained from acca website
p4 p5, can try michael in sunway, he is ok, and if u need additional entertainment like jokes, he is the guy.

tan8
post Aug 22 2009, 06:09 PM

43 posts

Many sunway friends told me they left sunway when they need to take F8 but most stay until P2 with menon, most left totally when comes to optional papers. The situation changes a bit when CKF taught last session but after that it went downhill again. I think Chin Ann & Alan Yeo is quite similar in terms of teahing. If you want a lecturer with marking experience then Siva can be a good choice too as he is also current P6 marker while Chin Ann is current F6 marker.
where does mr siva teach?
kaikeikan
post Aug 22 2009, 07:56 PM

83 posts

I'm very interested in siva nair,for that FTMS has classes started after the results is out....but when some of u said that he is more on the practical side, does that mean he go through the question really fast and that he just jot down points thinking that we might already know how to solve the question?

Can someone who studied under siva nair here comment on him?

Thanks!
stardust999
post Aug 22 2009, 10:35 PM

just to share with you guys that i received this email from taylor's. they are offering ACCA professional level now. may want to check it out. they have philip woo teaching P1 and P3, haneef in P2, chow kim tai P4 and Ian lim P5.

This post has been edited by stardust999: Aug 22 2009, 10:57 PM
Topace111
post Aug 22 2009, 11:24 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(kaikeikan @ Aug 22 2009, 07:56 PM)
I'm very interested in siva nair,for that FTMS has classes started after the results is out....but when some of u said that he is more on the practical side, does that mean he go through the question really fast and that he just jot down points thinking that we might already know how to solve the question?

Can someone who studied under siva nair here comment on him?

Thanks!
His style suits those whom are already working I guessed. He will quote the public ruling or section very quickly then explain it in his own way.
He will drill question with students (he will practice questions with you). I wont say he is the best P6 lecturer but since you need a fresh direction, why not consider this one. He can share a lof of useful tips on how to answer exam with proper techniques (he is one of the markers).
tan8
post Aug 22 2009, 11:50 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 22 2009, 11:24 PM)
His style suits those whom are already working I guessed. He will quote the public ruling or section very quickly then explain it in his own way.
He will drill question with students (he will practice questions with you). I wont say he is the best P6 lecturer but since you need a fresh direction, why not consider this one. He can share a lof of useful tips on how to answer exam with proper techniques (he is one of the markers).
is his style sumthing like ckf's? does he go by the syllabus or more of a practical approach?
Topace111
post Aug 23 2009, 01:21 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(tan8 @ Aug 22 2009, 11:50 PM)
is his style sumthing like ckf's? does he go by the syllabus or more of a practical approach?
more like syllabus. Practical approach is not really necessary in P6 since theory application is already hard enough. I think it is extremely difficult to quite real life examples in tax, maybe some case laws but that is considered worst case scenario if it really occurs. Optional paper tends to be theoretical & applicational rather than practical approach.
tan8
post Aug 23 2009, 12:42 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 23 2009, 01:21 AM)
more like syllabus. Practical approach is not really necessary in P6 since theory application is already hard enough. I think it is extremely difficult to quite real life examples in tax, maybe some case laws but that is considered worst case scenario if it really occurs. Optional paper tends to be theoretical & applicational rather than practical approach.
icic. thanks a lot!

Added on August 23, 2009, 1:00 pm
is the mr siva teaching in FTMS same as the one teaching in PAAC?

This post has been edited by tan8: Aug 23 2009, 01:00 PM
ahpek78
post Aug 24 2009, 02:54 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Saga9733 @ Aug 21 2009, 05:45 PM)
Try Parminder at kasturi, I went o him and pass the paper in 1st atempt.
Good luck.
P3 actually no need go to anyones class . self study also can lor . easiest paper in P series i guess . icon_idea.gif
carlosandy
post Aug 24 2009, 10:50 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(ahpek78 @ Aug 24 2009, 02:54 AM)
P3 actually no need go to anyones class . self study also can lor . easiest paper in P series i guess . icon_idea.gif
Depend oso. May be ppl smart like you can self study lo.

But some ppl really need lecturer explaination, then baru can understand the biz model and know how to apply. I don't prefer go for self study for any P level paper, risk too high.
vin_ann
post Aug 24 2009, 10:02 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 24 2009, 10:50 AM)
Depend oso. May be ppl smart like you can self study lo.

But some ppl really need lecturer explaination, then baru can understand the biz model and know how to apply. I don't prefer go for self study for any P level paper, risk too high.
yeah.
its up to individual.

and it also up to individual on how to study too.

Topace111
post Aug 25 2009, 12:15 PM

2,102 posts

Lecturer is there to guide only, no of classes will never be enough to pass the exam if students do not take the iniative to study. For KL centres at least.
king_coolice
post Aug 25 2009, 01:06 PM

221 posts

sorry, a noob question here:
how do I check if I had applied for the exams in december 2009?
i've been to myacca and found nothing. means i haven't register for the exam?

126 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:36 PM