4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

> ♥♪,Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V13 ♥♪, [Update]18)Tube Gathering@KL 09May09

post Apr 13 2009, 06:45 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(jimmyykm @ Apr 13 2009, 06:38 PM)
Good god its v13 and page 29!!?? You guys are freaks!.. or spammers tongue.gif

Btw i just wanted to point out that the font-changing thing is not working for me. Pasted the "Fonts" folder into my resource folder in the memory card, booted the phone but my fonts still remain the same. Any help? smile.gif
Fifty Nine Bro.. Fifty Nine... flex.gif
post Apr 14 2009, 06:37 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Apr 14 2009, 05:53 PM)
5800~~~
nokia ever 1st touch screen phone
QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 14 2009, 06:28 PM)
not really. there is other touch screen nokia phone before... its a 7 series smtg like that.
It is indeed a first S60 touch phone... but not Nokia first... the 7110/7700 is the Nokia first and followed by the mind blowing internet device N810(i used to tot it was a replacement for N80).. but they run on UIQ...

Source : http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/reviews/ite...usic_Review.php

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 14 2009, 06:38 PM
post Apr 15 2009, 01:13 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Apr 15 2009, 12:16 AM)
its like the e series...first come out a phone with GPS/3.2mp etc...then downgrade brows.gif

anyway, I've been wondering...will there be any light/notification from the Tube if we have a miss call or SMS?
If you've turn on the Light notification.. (probably the last setting in phone settings.. you should see the white button (menu) light "breathing" (no.. it's not blinking) when there's a miss call or sms while it's in sleep (lock) mode..
post Apr 15 2009, 01:25 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(FattyTW @ Apr 15 2009, 12:48 PM)
can i ask, what screen protector u all using? any preferred ones im in singapore :doh.gif
DualScreen for the front (chap mak)
Skool for the Rear Camera(chap mak also.. and yes i purposely bought that for the camera)
Invisible Shield for the border, the rear cover, the side and all. (Zagg)
post Apr 15 2009, 02:46 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(xx_The.Cookie_xx @ Apr 15 2009, 01:26 PM)
^where did u purchase those protectors?
also, did u install the IS urself?
Yeap did the IS my self.. got it from LYN forummer... 70
The DualScreen is installed the day i bought my phone.. the fella did it for me FOC so i didnt' bother taking it out.. but because it doesn't have camera part.. i bought from another forummer for the Skool.. RM6 comes with SP and CSP.. they call it special edition.. hmm.gif
post Apr 15 2009, 04:01 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Apr 15 2009, 03:54 PM)
wow...rear camera also protect? So small only...
btw, what's the benefit of DualScreen? never heard of it...
scare got scratches mar..

DualScreen is just a name.. basically it's either DualScreen or SKOOL you'll get for cap ayam..
post Apr 15 2009, 05:12 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Kreet543 @ Apr 15 2009, 04:38 PM)
erm..
when i applied normal screen protector..
hard to press..

wat accessories to protect our screen tube..
except normal screen protector..

how about invisible shield..
is it same with normal screen protector..
hard to press
IS got a rubbery feel so it's less smooth compare to conventional SP.. it also have a memory effect when pressure is apply on it.. so in terms of sensitivity i'm guessing less since it got spungee effect.. but need real IS Front SP user to clarify that.. i'm only using every other part of the IS except for the front..

If just conventional SP.. it's not hard to press.. i'm getting very good response from my tube... even sliding is very sensitive..
post Apr 15 2009, 05:49 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(sai @ Apr 15 2009, 05:37 PM)
i m using IS for my screen, but i dun feel its hard to press..and sliding is smooth...and no, it wont feel very much like rubber >.<
You must have the smoothest skin under ur finger shocking.gif
The rubber feel is like the first want to move it something's stopping the finger.. but then when u use a bit strenght it's like glide over "smoothly" and then when reduce strenght.. it gives grib again...

kinda like jam breaking doh.gif
post Apr 19 2009, 12:59 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Apr 18 2009, 11:21 PM)
http://www.phonearena.com/htmls/Nokia-to-p...cle-a_4825.html
lol... capacitive touchscreen for 5800??
really doubt it
hmm.gif
I'm glad i got the resisitive 5800 thou.. i mean i constantly keep pressing the wrong button on the iphone.. i'm just trying to rest the finger for a while =.=
post Apr 19 2009, 01:20 AM

423 posts

Both Resistive and Capacitive hve thier advantages.. lets hope Rune Larsen concept can kick in for the best of both world.. well hopefuly in the future i'm still alive ofcourse..

the Liquid phone..

According to the maker of this concept, called the Nokia Liquid Phone, users should be able to type and manipulate things on the screen without having to actually look at it. How? Magic, of course! By “using a small pump to fill a substrate beneath the screen that gives our fingers something to feel and press.”

As you can see here, its buttons look as if they have ballooned up from beneath the screen for a user to type on. And that’s exactly what happens every time either of the two on-screen keyboards are brought up (both the alphanumeric and QWERTY keyboard). The plastic outer layer of the screen floats just a little bit upward to form little buttons that we can actually type on, instead of type at.
Source:
http://www.unwiredview.com/2008/10/11/conc...ctile-feedback/
The hardest part with transitioning from a phone with a physical keypad to a virtual keypad on a touchscreen phone is the absence of tactile feedback. This Nokia Liquid Phone is a concept phone that tries to address that. See image rendering after the jump.

Conceptualized by Rune Larsen, the Nokia Liquid is designed to have some sort of viscuous substrate or liquid underneath the screen which allows the users to feel when pressed. That means the screen will be a bit on the soft side.

I’m not sure how would that feel like but check out the sample images below:

The screen will be made with layers of LCD at the bottom, a hard plastic to separate it from the liquid substance and then a softer plastic on top. I guess it’s like pressing on a bubble wrap filled with oil or something.

The design looks cool but I wonder how crisp or vivid the text and graphics will turn out to be since it passes thru the liquid layer (unless it’s really that clear or transparent). Hopefully the soft outer layer is made of tough plastic to resist accidental punctured holes thru it {via}.
Source:
http://www.yugatech.com/blog/toys-gadgets/...a-liquid-phone/
Among the grievous wrongs done by touchscreen technology, the worst is its disregard for tactile feedback. Without the pleasant sensation of a button being pressed, we are woefully incapable of using any gadget without complete visual attention. This Nokia concept tries to right this wrong by using a small pump to fill a substrate beneath the screen that gives our fingers something to feel and press. Maybe now I can finally type out these posts while driving to work without having to put my coffee in the cup holder.

Designer: Rune Larsen
Source:
http://www.yankodesign.com/2008/10/10/a-ph...ess-with-water/
Image:

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 19 2009, 01:21 AM
post Apr 20 2009, 12:46 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 20 2009, 12:12 PM)
why dont u get a blue wireless bluetooth headset then keep the phone in bag, pocket or somewhere then just jog.
got sweat proof bt wireless headset?
post Apr 20 2009, 01:30 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Apr 20 2009, 12:57 PM)
Sweat proof is relative. I have a Motorokr S9 which is supposedly sweat proof but I've sent it 3 times for warranty claims and for replacement because the controls shorted out because of my excessive sweating! So unless you sweat very little, I suggest stick to the wired variaties of BT.
Can give a review on the S9? this is the kind of BT earphone i'm interested.. In-ear, light weight and not bulky.. but not much of this kind exist.. Using Sony MDR-EX 85... have u paired ur S9 to 5800 yet?
post Apr 20 2009, 02:33 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:59 PM)
heard alot negative comment about s9. i went for bh-503
Very interested on this one also since so many good review.. but i'm concern about the contact surface there.. i'm the kind that sweat when it gets abit "not so cool" so i scare it got dirty easily.. which is why all the time i'm using in-ear.. whch is silicon.. and it doesn't cause the whole ear ichy after some time..

QUOTE(gyuunyuu @ Apr 20 2009, 02:26 PM)
Did you mean Motorola S9?
If yes, I tried it before. I borrow the S9 from my friend and connect to my red tube, seems to be fine.
Thinking to get 1 unit of S9 and use for jogging purpose  biggrin.gif
Hows the sound quality? any other BT HS you're benchmarking agaist?

Hmm wonder how much is this thing... the MOTOROKR S9-HD..

http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/XP-EN/Co...eadphones_XP-EN

post Apr 20 2009, 11:18 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(jnick @ Apr 20 2009, 11:05 PM)
the link to v21 cannot open also....

hope got lots of diff!
Not a rumor.. just wether it's in our region only..

according to the clip, the breathing light is available in the V21.. such light to indicates the phone is alive when in complete sleep mode.. also the fella say the theme effect is much faster icon_idea.gif .. and the camera is better.. but it will only be proven when it gets into our tube..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gvrjpc-2cnI

Update: Nope.. seems like not for our region.. i'm guessing they have more frequent update to region they can retreive feedback.. and others will only get a latest and more complete update in whole.. it save alot of resources actually not having to distribute every new minor change of firmware...

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 20 2009, 11:25 PM
post Apr 21 2009, 11:40 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 21 2009, 11:13 AM)
Best Car Mount Holder for Nokia 5800

http://www.proclipusa.com

The downside? Blardy expensive...
Don't know if it will fit for the one with IS.. i mean it it nicely means it wont fit one with IS... ..no i'm not tearing down the IS for one Expensive Car Mount.. sweat.gif

oh it doesn't rotate... does it?

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 21 2009, 11:51 AM
post Apr 21 2009, 03:17 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(sanisudin @ Apr 21 2009, 03:07 PM)
emoticon? why i don't have it?

only special alphabetical icon next to the spacebar
I think the video was being done in straight animation and not demo from actual OS. Just like the N97 demo clip by nokia.. when rotate the widget and clock all rotate on thier own animating(like the image rotate in Photo browser from beta lab) but actual one? just blink out and blink in... the keyboard is not even highlighting when the fella type..

but that means initially they were going to have emoticon on the keypad.. but took out on production..
post Apr 21 2009, 05:17 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Isabell @ Apr 21 2009, 05:12 PM)
did i just heard that there's app out there that can improve my camera?
WHY? i think LYN tube alliance sounds more omph..
if LYN, ppl will ask.. "eh, what is LYN?" [for those who dono LYN ofcz..]
if Msia, ppl will say.. "ohhh... Malaysia..."  icon_rolleyes.gif
myTube Alliance... i quite like our country code actually ahahaha sweat.gif
post Apr 22 2009, 11:28 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(alexchan76 @ Apr 22 2009, 11:23 AM)
use fring la .... quite good also
I don't prefer fring because it's using server redirection... meaning everything u send goes to FRING server then only goes to MSN/YAHOO/GTALk.. firstly u exposed all your password to FRING and all ur Messages also... secondly it depend on Fring server.. if the server down everything down.. how i know is simple.. if u online with Fring in MSN.. you'll see the www.fring.com thing in ur Personal msg.. its modifying ur Personal msg.. and you need to register to use Fring.. another form of information collection..

I do recommend use Slick.. it connects directly to the MSN , YAHOO, GTALK server so it doesn't take any information from you.. i also prefer it cause it seperates the contact list by type.. (MSN and YAHOO and GTALk etc.. contact dont mix together like Fring).. so i dont have to guesss which type i'm sending to a fren.. and yes i do hav frens that on in every type of messenger ahaha..

This post has been edited by 204: Apr 22 2009, 11:33 AM
post Apr 22 2009, 12:20 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(alexchan76 @ Apr 22 2009, 11:53 AM)
hehehehehe, actually i am using slick & fring (which just installed yesterday) . yes .... i am aware Fring is like a middle man as mentioned by you .... but are you sure slick work different way as fring? from my understanding, slick is acting like fring only.
I'm not 100% sure, but i know to host a server that supports something what Fring does.. you need quite a large hardware investment and hosting bandwidth.. Fring does it cause they're advertising it.. and eventually when it becomes popular they WILL turn to something you need to pay for the S&S (software and service)...

Slick maybe collecting information from us too unless i get to check the TCP/IP connection if it's connecting to any server besides the Messengers server..
If you check Yahoo server setting you can actually configure the Yahoo server URL.. which make sense cause Yahoo changes thier server from time to time (lately YM dont' work i suspect the server url change again).. so having that option user can update the URL themselves.

From that i can see that Slick wants to leave all the hassle of connection to multiple msgers server to the user and the Slick software it self instead of maintining them in thier server..

So from few points i prefer to trust Slick as a safer vendor.. (also not to forget thier reputation on the Ybrowser).. ofcousre i prefer the app too .. the contact management.. the fact i can choose to connect which msgers i want (Fring connects everything you registered)... and Slick keeps History.. i like history..
post Apr 22 2009, 12:23 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(fooken @ Apr 22 2009, 12:13 PM)
am using slick since day 1, satisfied with it.

downside is the long wait over loading the list. hehe
Cause it doesnt store the contact list in server (and/or also in the phone) like FRING.. so everytime u connect its live data from the msgers server...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0316sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:06 AM