Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

shady
post Jan 22 2010, 07:32 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(hyumi @ Jan 22 2010, 04:57 PM)
Hey hey!

I plan to visit Japan this Sakura Season!
which is around end of April?

Anybody got any suggestions of which travel agent I should go to?
It's my first time planning a trip, so really hope you guys can help me out! =)

If possible, I'm looking for a package which includes Osaka, Tokyo, Kyoto and Hokkaido.

please help =D

Sakura season is mid to end of March for Osaka, Kyoto, Mid april for Tokyo and early May for Hokkaido. How long do u plan to visit Japan and what u want to see?
shady
post Jan 23 2010, 02:55 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(hyumi @ Jan 23 2010, 02:36 AM)
hey hey! I plan to visit japan maybe bout 10days?
I'm going with my family for an holiday, hence i think it;s better to take tour because i don;t know anybody there..
my family are only available end of may.. means we can only make it for Hokkaido's sakura season??

I wanna see Sakura since it's the main point of going Japan during Spring =D
and visit Kyoto and dress up as geisha!
and go Tokyo for shopping!

and also historical place like Hiroshima maybe? and Mt. Fuji?

What are the must-go place in Japan???
I don't think you can make it in 10 days. Sakura might still be available in Hokkaido end of May but mostly will drop off by mid May, depending on weather. Hiroshima, Kyoto, Tokyo, Hokkaido is imposible for 10 days. Even 2 weeks is hard. Travelling to Hiroshima and Hokkaido will be expensive and I dont think there is any tour which includes all these places. If you are lucky, there might still be snow in Hokkaido during May.
shady
post Jan 26 2010, 11:18 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jan 24 2010, 08:44 PM)
Hey guys.
I just found this awesome thread in LY.Net so kind of happy here.

I plan to go to japan in 2011 with some friends, around Q4 so we can experience cool/cold weather. And maybe (insanely) go to comiket for the lulz.

My plan is to go follow those tour groups first - to be touristy- then another week just in tokyo wandering around.

here is a conundrum though - where can i stay for the second week? Someone gave me a contact for a rent-a-room place in ikebukuro, but no email so cannot directly ask the person about pricing.

Anyone can recommend me a palce to stay? 4 people probably, with lockable doors.

thanks!
Come to Hokkaido around this time next year to enjoy cold weather. tongue.gif Today I had hell of a day. Snow blizzard since morning and temp -5 degrees the whole day. Just now slipped on the way down from my apartment because floor is covered with ice. cry.gif
shady
post Jan 28 2010, 12:58 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Jan 28 2010, 12:20 AM)
i have a silly question  laugh.gif

if you have a plus minus a month, where in japan would you go to? tokyo and kyoto is already a must...
and
how many days would you allocate for each city?  sweat.gif
time period somewhere around september or oct
September is still summer in tokyo and kyoto. If you wana enjoy autumn scenery the only place to be is Hokkaido because autumn starts late sept to early oct. I would consider Hiroshima because of history.
shady
post Jan 28 2010, 09:13 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 28 2010, 09:18 AM)
JAL Airline from KL route to Japan only Tokyo & Osaka, why so limited? I saw JAL from Bangkok covered route to 6 major cities in Japan: Tokyo, Osaka, Nagoya, Fukuoka, Sapporo and Hiroshima.
Bangkok population 12 million vs KL 2 million. Furthermore Bangkok is a major airline hub. KLIA is stuck in between two of the biggest airline hubs in the world, Singapore and Bangkok. Honestly, everytime I use KLIA, I feel like being in a ghost airport cos nobody around. LCCT feels more like an airport to me. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Jan 28 2010, 07:59 PM)
thanks. Hiroshima was one of the city that i was considering. for a 4 week trip (not sure yet, probably will not be less that 3 weeks) how many city can i cover without having to rush. i dont like to hurry around  places but i dont want to spend too much time on 1 city as well.
any ideas?

Depending on what u want to see. If you want to see only main tourist attractions, maybe 2-3 days in Hiroshima, 3-4 days in Osaka, 2-3 days in Kyoto and about a week in Tokyo. Honestly a month is quite a long time and you can visit almost all the major cities from Sapporo to Fukuoka is budget is not a problem.
shady
post Jan 29 2010, 08:39 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 28 2010, 10:29 PM)
Bro, as what i saw the info in wikipedia, Bangkok metro area with 12 million population, KL metro are (Klang Valley) with 7.2 million. The 2 million I think was 10 years ago, lol. Beside, why Bangkok can do better than KL? Is it because of the attractive tourism area?
Sorry, i'm wrong. never thought kl metropolitan area have so many ppl now tongue.gif Anyway, Bangkok is a main aiport hub and lots of Japanese giant companies like Toyota are based on there so maybe the demand is more over there. Hopefully Air Asia will increase the volume of passenger to KL.

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Jan 29 2010, 01:43 AM)
i want to see the traditional and modern side of japan. but i have yet to consider the logistics part of it since i have to prove all the hotel bookings for each place i stay.. but i think that 1 comes later after i have fully decided on the cities im going to...
is the visa that demanding? what sort of number would you think they'll be expecting to show?
i plan to end my trip at tokyo where im going to do most of my shopping  rclxm9.gif
i think my trip will start around the end of summer (mid sep-oct+)
Seriously, one month you could cover Sapporo, Sendai, Tokyo, Nagoya, Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, Hiroshima and Fukuoka with careful planning. From these cities, you could go on some detour to some tourist spots. If you plan and book early, you could save a lot of money and have some enjoyable holiday. Since you are going on mid sept, depending on u want to see autumn scenery or start from a warm place, u can start from Fukuoka or Sapporto. Anyway, mid Sept is still too early for autumn for Hokkaido but weather will be cooler than south.

This post has been edited by shady: Jan 29 2010, 08:42 PM
shady
post Feb 3 2010, 08:53 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 2 2010, 10:38 PM)
NO need say Food...Only say Air Tickey..Go and Return alreayd RM2800 Economy Seater......7 Day 6 night in Capsule Hotel RM150 x 6 =RM900
Bank Statement RM8000 to show off to Japan Emberssy.
Japan Suica Card for 1 week RM200 ( 5000Yen )
NO yet BulletTrain Ticket + Disney Entrance Ticket + Food

IF go buy Travel RM5100
Hotel Included 3 Star (Got Bathroom size like Genting First World Hotel)
Air Ticket Included
Bullet Train Included
DisneyLand Entrance Ticket Included
Visa Trourist Company settle all for you
Since transporation all prepard for you..no need spent money on Suica Card
Only this above already more than RM5100 ...if go DIY sure need spent more than RM5100
LOL I go Japan always DIY..i never go with Travel Group because they cannot provided me stay at Ikebukuro Metapolitan Hotel which I go japan every time sure stay at that hotel  hahahaha....but say Real DIY sure need burn more money....Enjoy Freedom sure need pay More....Depent teckhooi got how many Money willing to burn in Japan
Stay in capsule hotel for 6 nights? tongue.gif

I wouldnt want to stay in that box for more than 2 nights. Try look for hostels or cheap business hotels instead.

Btw, today is freaking cold. -10 degrees here. Window froze and I don't want to step out from my apartment. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by shady: Feb 3 2010, 08:59 AM
shady
post Feb 3 2010, 05:30 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Feb 3 2010, 09:02 AM)
-10'C? hahaha... good time to hibernate in the comfort of your apartment then with the heater at full blast.  biggrin.gif
Btw, Sapporo Snow Festival is hapenning soon right? Are you near the Odori Park where they'll have the event?

Mind sharing some photos of the event if you have the chance to see it?  notworthy.gif
Too bad no chance to go Snow festival this year. Starting tomorrow for a week. Maybe next year. My friends are going so maybe I can curi their pics. tongue.gif

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Feb 3 2010, 11:56 AM)
Wow cool...we have another member form Hokkaido!
but huh...freakin cold? wat la u!! Tokyo more colder, freezin now hahahhaa!
(hokkaido the coldest area rite? cannot tahan sejuk in Tokyo how to go to Hokkaido) hehehe!

Yeah mind to share a pics from your place? icon_rolleyes.gif
Tokyo winter is no match for Hokkaido's winter. Its like being in a different world. The wind, snow, blizzard...

Previously, I spent 3 years in Ibaraki. That place is considered cold (but no snow) in Kanto area but Hokkaido is much colder. Below freezing point the whole day. tongue.gif

Snow is enjoying for us who never seen in Malaysia but the cold is terrible here. Even wearing gloves, I can feel my fingers freezing, really painful. Btw, today is the coldest day for this winter. sweat.gif

I din take much pics, maybe some winter pics near my apartment. smile.gif

shady
post Feb 6 2010, 05:25 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ Feb 6 2010, 05:17 PM)
Hi Shady 写真有難うございます。寒そう!
どういたしまして。今週寒かった!

今夜札幌雪まつりの写真をアップする予定。
shady
post Feb 7 2010, 09:58 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

お待たせいたしました。

Sapporo Snow Festival pics taken from my friend. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shady: Feb 7 2010, 10:05 PM
shady
post Feb 7 2010, 10:06 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

More pics. smile.gif

Oops, need one more post for final set. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by shady: Feb 7 2010, 10:11 PM
shady
post Feb 7 2010, 10:41 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

Final set.

shady
post Feb 19 2010, 08:40 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 19 2010, 08:28 PM)
Going to Tokyo on April!

Booked the air ticket and accommodation on my own (it's free and easy for me and my wife), but planning to sign up for some ground tours there

My wife is into shopping. Me? Looking forward for some photography work there!
Hopefully your are not too late for sakura. smile.gif This year's forecast is March 26/27 for sakura in Tokyo.
shady
post Feb 21 2010, 10:19 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 20 2010, 07:31 AM)
I'm not too optimistic on that... cos I'm going on 15 April to 22 April (that's like toward the end of Sakura season in Tokyo isn't it?) Anyway, I'm sure there are whole a lot more to visit
sakura will be still there but the beautiful ones most probably would drop off by that time. There are many types of sakura. Some will last a few weeks and some only days. If u want to see beautiful ones, maybe travel north to Sendai because that is the time period for Tohoku region.

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 21 2010, 08:41 AM)
minimum 2 person. me and my wife already 2 person, matt can join in as 3rd person to buy ticket....hmm hmm..

shady,
for this year, sakura forecasted to be end of march, final week? are you sure? now,tokyo is still snowing riteeee? last year it was first week of april '09.
That's what the news says. If u can read japanese pls refer this site.

Tenki.jp

This year lots of snow in kanto region but I think its over. Getting warmer each day and sakura is getting closer.
shady
post Feb 22 2010, 01:10 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Feb 21 2010, 06:59 PM)
errrk..already posted replies twice...what happen?

huh....supposed it was our final snow in Tokyo last 3 days...but dunno if next next day got?
But today went to Koganei Park...really beautiful sakura (i think type of sakura start bloomin)
Sorry no ohotos to prove hehehehe blush.gif
Maybe its Ume(plum). They look like sakura and pink in color. Now is Ume blooming season. Still too cold for sakura.

0.1551sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:00 AM