Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

mr lappy
post Jan 28 2010, 12:20 AM

398 posts

i have a silly question laugh.gif

if you have a plus minus a month, where in japan would you go to? tokyo and kyoto is already a must...
and
how many days would you allocate for each city? sweat.gif
time period somewhere around september or oct

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Jan 28 2010, 12:21 AM
mr lappy
post Jan 28 2010, 07:59 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Jan 28 2010, 12:58 AM)
September is still summer in tokyo and kyoto. If you wana enjoy autumn scenery the only place to be is Hokkaido because autumn starts late sept to early oct. I would consider Hiroshima because of history.
thanks. Hiroshima was one of the city that i was considering. for a 4 week trip (not sure yet, probably will not be less that 3 weeks) how many city can i cover without having to rush. i dont like to hurry around places but i dont want to spend too much time on 1 city as well.
any ideas?

mr lappy
post Jan 29 2010, 01:43 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Jan 28 2010, 09:13 PM)
Depending on what u want to see. If you want to see only main tourist attractions, maybe 2-3 days in Hiroshima, 3-4 days in Osaka, 2-3 days in Kyoto and about a week in Tokyo. Honestly a month is quite a long time and you can visit almost all the major cities from Sapporo to Fukuoka is budget is not a problem.
i want to see the traditional and modern side of japan. but i have yet to consider the logistics part of it since i have to prove all the hotel bookings for each place i stay.. but i think that 1 comes later after i have fully decided on the cities im going to...

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 28 2010, 09:39 PM)
4 week at Japan...to apply that long Visa your bank statement sure very thick of money......lol...if me can go from Fukuoka > Sapporo.

Visiting Fukuoka Morning Market > Osaka (Night Fast Food / Street Food , Aqua World , Etc ) > Kyoto ( Meiji Era Castle , Ancient Shire , etc ) > Nagoya ( Aircraft Science Museum) > Shizuoka (Mt Fuji) > Yokohama > Tokyo > Hokkaido.  If Winter between Tokyo > Hokkaido can choose to Niigata / Sendai for SkI or Hot Spring on snow moutain with monkey together.
is the visa that demanding? what sort of number would you think they'll be expecting to show?
i plan to end my trip at tokyo where im going to do most of my shopping rclxm9.gif
i think my trip will start around the end of summer (mid sep-oct+)
mr lappy
post Jan 29 2010, 04:23 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Jan 29 2010, 04:03 AM)

Added on January 29, 2010, 4:08 am
The visa isn't really that demanding I think but just gotta have all the proper doc and paperwork in order.
As for the bank statement requirements, basically it's just a proof that you got the cash to support your travels.
QUOTE(muha90)
Try to avoid from going there during golden week, smua tempat2 menarik akan crowded, sbb masa ni org jepun tgh cuti seminggu
Very true... but it's more like try to avoid during ANY of the major holidays... New Year break, Golden Week, Summer break. It's like the 'balik kampung' scene back in Malaysia and all roads/public transports out of Tokyo will be packed heading to either a local holiday destination or simply just back to their hometown.
when are their summer break? im planing to go around mid-end sep to oct

i've looked through the requirements a while back. i dont see any major stuff most were pretty much easy for me to prove except for me having to show proof for accomodation for the whole trip which is a bit of a pain for me since the idea of going on a totally minimalist backpack did cross my mind. but oh well...
mr lappy
post Jan 29 2010, 07:45 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Jan 29 2010, 11:59 AM)
mr lappy, can share with us your budget in touring Japan?

Btw, Hiroshima is a small area... or maybe I'm still noob on Hiroshima area...
1 day can cover Mazda Museum, a mini castle, ground zero area and Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum....
that's the thing. realistically, i'd like to have a trip that's going to cost me as little as possible ill even try 'cafe backpacking' a little just for fun. (but i think that's un-realistic due to having to prove each and every accommodation for the entire trip for visa unless some1 can tell me how to do that)

at the moment, i dont have set number as over the past 4 consecutively years having my japan plans ruined,now what i have is what i think enough for a months trip.
i have about ~25k RM equivalent(lazy to calculate) ready to go and enough buffer to top up whatever that might come up.

if you could give me a rough estimate on what you'd think is a safe number/reasonable number for a roughly 1 month trip and enough for a trip from the north to south trip ending in tokyo and as many significant cities as possible, ill re-evaluate the numbers from there on as atm i really have no clue on how much im having to spend, hence me asking silly questions here sweat.gif

mr lappy
post Jan 29 2010, 10:43 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Jan 29 2010, 08:39 PM)
Sorry, i'm wrong. never thought kl metropolitan area have so many ppl now tongue.gif  Anyway, Bangkok is a main aiport hub and lots of Japanese giant companies like Toyota are based on there so maybe the demand is more over there. Hopefully Air Asia will increase the volume of passenger to KL.
Seriously, one month you could cover Sapporo, Sendai, Tokyo, Nagoya, Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, Hiroshima and Fukuoka with careful planning. From these cities, you could go on some detour to some tourist spots.  If you plan and book early, you could save a lot of money and have some enjoyable holiday. Since you are going on mid sept, depending on u want to see autumn scenery or start from a warm place, u  can start from Fukuoka or Sapporto. Anyway, mid Sept is still too early for autumn for Hokkaido but weather will be cooler than south.
alright noted. ill start to check some list properly in about a weeks time.
will get back to you when i have something more solid to ask you guys/girls

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Jan 29 2010, 09:09 PM)
Here is a rough max estimation...which cost about RM 16,870
Flight cost = RM 2500
Accommodation = RM 140 (3500 JPY ) x 28 days/4 weeks = RM 4000
Food = Breakfast (300 JPY) + Lunch (1000 JPY) + Dinner (1300 JPY) + Tea Break/Supper (1000 JPY) = 3600 JPY = RM 140 x 28 days = RM 4000
Shinkansen (7 days + 7 days pass) = RM 2300
Local Train/Bus Transportation = RM 1000
Tour Ticket for all the journey = RM 3000 (e.g Museum entrance, castle entrance, etc etc entrance...)
Drink = a drink normally cost average 200 JPY x 3 bottles a day x 28 days = 1800 JPY = RM 70

So, you still have about RM 8k extra as your buffer  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
hmm.... thats an interesting prospect. if your calculations are right then ill have more budget for my euro trip rclxm9.gif
mr lappy
post Jan 30 2010, 09:16 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Jan 29 2010, 11:05 PM)
well, it really depends on your traveling style but for me, backpacking is good enough
And of course the accommodation cost is an individual cost that require two person per room... means total cost is RM 8k for two ppl (RM 4k for each person)

For the food, you can see lots of ramen shop over there.. but sometimes you might want to try some traditional Japanese food which is slightly expensive
And their 24 hours convenient store sell yummy snacks too... so prepare to gain weight

As for shinkansen usage, you need to optimize your trip ....
trip from Toyko to Kyoto...
from Kyoto hub take Shinkansen to Hiroshima (day n), Osaka (day n + 1), Nara (day n + 2), etc... 
then use your 2nd shinkansen pass to travel further away and optimize the 7 days pass again

Maybe other LYN whom staying at JP can give your better idea to optimize your trip..  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on January 29, 2010, 11:08 pm

WAAAA.... so syok !!! I guess people hope the train delay more frequently to take Shinkanshen...  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
i thought once you start using your JR rail pass/specify your start date >> it start counting down on the days left on the pass?
yes, you are right, the nitty gritty spending >>cant really estimate since its up to the person's spending habits.......but im not really worried about that as im more focused on the primary spending since im quite good in controlling impulse spendings...

0.0482sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:26 PM