4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

heterosapiens
post May 13 2009, 10:45 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

Maybe he is the male version of f4te. lol

Btw, here are some stuff uploaded by firedauz few years back, some of it are outdated, but still a good reference.

http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/index.html

Attached File(s)
Attached File  japanOtakuGoodsShop.pdf ( 54.64k ) Number of downloads: 15
Attached File  japanThemeParks.pdf ( 210.42k ) Number of downloads: 12
heterosapiens
post May 17 2009, 08:25 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ May 17 2009, 07:30 PM)
har?? u got lottery ticket or what??haha
for free...for real ar? drool.gif
OMG, you are indeed f4te's reincarnation. Dumb as hell.

*Can't resist it. Demmit.

http://www.google.com.my/search?q=free+and+easy+travel
heterosapiens
post May 18 2009, 12:33 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ May 17 2009, 08:31 PM)
dont call me like that..just wanna know...
ask from more experience person more good then an artikel on internet..  cry.gif
Dear my good Sir, to the very least of your effort, google any term definition before even asking. The question you have posted just show how you have not try to find information available widely on the internet by just a simple search.
QUOTE(tanoshi @ May 17 2009, 09:02 PM)

heterosapiens:
Is he clone of 'fate'? or 'fate' wannabe?
what do you think? hmm.gif
I don't know, both of them are just as annoying as they can be. I wondered why you guys lasted so long with f4te before, maybe because "she" put female tag tongue.gif
QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ May 18 2009, 12:07 AM)
why sad?
Congratulation my dear good Sir, you just did it again. Thank you.
heterosapiens
post May 19 2009, 07:07 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ May 18 2009, 03:03 PM)
so you bro, heterosapiens...when do you wanna come over? come for this gathering duh! its more fun and fun! I can consider like 'SEE view in US beach' exactly! brows.gif
Soon enough, but definitely not this June/July.

This post has been edited by heterosapiens: May 19 2009, 07:08 AM
heterosapiens
post May 19 2009, 06:22 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ May 19 2009, 10:06 AM)
btw heterosapiens, are you already planned your itinerary? or still acquiring more information?
Still in the planning stage, but roughly have an idea of how its gonna be.
heterosapiens
post Jun 4 2009, 08:50 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jun 4 2009, 03:36 PM)
Anyone going to this year's Tokyo Game Show? biggrin.gif
--> http://tgs.cesa.or.jp/english/
I applied to give a speech at one of their forums there, but not sure yet if my speech paper is accepted or not.

Place: Makuhari Messe, Chiba
24th - 25th September 2009: Business days
26th - 27th September 2009: Open to Public
Cool, me and my friends just confirmed our tickets with JAL (return RM1580 each for 4 pax). Will be going for 26 and 27, although I could probably get in for the business days, but I don't think it will be that useful to a guy who can't speak japanese at all.

So, Fire, I've pmed you to ask about games development back in year 2005. Maybe we can meet up and have chat at TGS itself. lol

*btw, what's your speech paper is about, game design?
heterosapiens
post Jun 18 2009, 05:47 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Jun 18 2009, 03:43 PM)
lucky sunday not raining, going odaiba smile.gif
for a Gundam photo-shooting session?

*I'm waiting for the petition to keep it up by Danny Choo
heterosapiens
post Jun 20 2009, 07:44 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 20 2009, 07:22 PM)
wah, went to japan just to get the games. you have money tree at your home i assume?  drool.gif
He said that the flight ticket is free for MAS employee. Not sure about the JAL part.

Aloha RegentCid, mind to share what's your profession?

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Feb 20 2009, 10:02 PM)
tanoshi, you might want to update the FAQ page that applicants must have a bank statement copy, verified and certified by the bank! tips :

either maybank or CIMB, print statement and bring to back for certified, FREE. if go to bank as them to print and certified - RM10 (CIMB) maybank i dunno.
keii-kun, do you mean the print statement from "Transaction History" feature in CimbClicks and Maybank2u?
heterosapiens
post Jun 20 2009, 10:08 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Jun 20 2009, 08:50 PM)
Ok bro...what ever you have 'tulis tangan' or printed statement...they NEED a STAMPED from the bank officer like certified true copy lor..
so preparing to come meh?
Ganbatte ne...nihon yokoso! rclxms.gif
Yupp, I know that. Just that in Maybank2u, there is another type of statement, which is the official statement. That's why I asked to clarify it.

Yupp, preparing the documents for visa application, although I can only apply after 5th of July as single-entry visa only valid for 90 days from the date of issuance. Pretty weird that travel agent usually encourage people to apply before purchasing the air tickets but that only works for those who buy ticket within 90 days from date of travel. I bought my tickets almost 4 months in advance.
heterosapiens
post Jul 17 2009, 03:43 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(sieg_wahrheit @ Jul 17 2009, 02:50 PM)
damn u faiiiyaaa!!!!  tongue.gif

Fire = Korikki?

*Btw, regarding the bank statement for visa application. Do they check the transfer date and such? Let say I will be using the technique mentioned by you guys, collect a pool of money and transfer to an account and get the printed statement certified. Anything I should be cautioned with?

This post has been edited by heterosapiens: Jul 17 2009, 03:47 PM
heterosapiens
post Jul 27 2009, 06:41 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jul 27 2009, 01:48 PM)
I have an idea that I've been thinking for a while.

I thought of creating a website & forum for "Malaysian in Japan."
So that not only are we limited to just in Lowyat here, but also for others as well.
But not sure if it will get support, what do you guys think?
Don't you guys have it already? I mean by the numbers of Malaysian students in Japan, that target audience itself would easily get you the crowd to start of a forum.

How to purchase tickets : Tickets are available at the DAY TICKET boxes on site.

Btw, from TGS website. Is there no way to purchase the ticket earlier, online or at local konbini? Does the tickets never sold up, if we can only purchase it on the day itself?
heterosapiens
post Aug 9 2009, 11:20 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

Promotion from JAL.

heterosapiens
post Aug 24 2009, 06:22 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Aug 24 2009, 01:20 AM)
I think is is a somewhat of a myth that Japan is much more expensive compared to Western countries.

<snip>

Go the hostel route. You will have bunk beds and shared bathroom
Expect to pay from 1,200yen to 2,000yen per night.
I definitely agree with the myth part. Typically, a decent dorm bed in Singapore would be priced around 30-40 SGD (RM86), and 2000-3000 Yen in Japan (RM94). I guess the myth comes from the rich way of traveling where a typical deluxe room cost around 15000-25000 Yen (RM748). In Malaysia there are not much decent hostel around even in KL.

Btw, so far I couldn't really find any hostel nearby to central Tokyo for the rate below 1500 Yen. Khaosan, Sakura, K's house rates are above 2000 Yen. To add on to that, the cheapest rate is the most popular choice among travelers, so, book early if your group is bigger than 2 pax.

*Super Hotel looks like Hotel 81 in Singapore.

**Still working on my itinerary, 7 more days to plan for.
heterosapiens
post Aug 24 2009, 11:49 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Aug 24 2009, 07:05 AM)
1,100yen/night
http://www.guesthouse-kagurazaka.com/guesthouse-room-en.html

I believe they only accept reservations of at at least 30 days in length. Nasty looking though.

K's House Tokyo is supposedly very good. In fact, I got the $$ range for my post above from watching a recent NHK travelogue about backpacking in Japan and they also profiled K's House. I have no personal experience with dorms. I was only watching the program because I couldn't sleep so I was channel-surfing. But I'd be very interested in your experiences after you return. I've always wanted to stay in a hostel.

In KL, lots of hostels in the Kota Raya area i.e. Jalan Silang. Decent - probably not.
Oh, guest houses. No wonder it is cheap. I'll be more than willing to share about it, once I get back.

My expectation is quite high, especially after staying at Hangout@MtEmily in Singapore.
QUOTE(spidergirl @ Aug 24 2009, 05:14 PM)
Haha. Hi Buzz brows.gif Visa dah apply blom?

What's so good with Sakura Hotel btw? Any reviews?
Yupp, got it already.

From what I read, it is among the top 3 most popular hostels around Tokyo. Anyway, I've booked part of my accommodation at Khaosan Tokyo Ninja. Can't resist the cool ninja themed wallpapers. lol.
heterosapiens
post Aug 29 2009, 01:45 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

http://www.softbank-rental.jp/en/
http://www.gomobile.co.jp/index_in.html

Currently, I'm looking at these two option. The first one seems to have less hassle/risk to deal with compared to the second one. Anyone with experience over the services mentioned?
heterosapiens
post Sep 3 2009, 12:46 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

Aloha guys,

Can I have some comments about my itinerary for my Japan trip, especially whether it is possible/practical to plan it that way. The colour labels at the bottom. Thanks.

heterosapiens
post Sep 3 2009, 11:53 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Sep 3 2009, 01:24 PM)
First and foremost; that is one of the best planned out itenerary I've seen.
Kudos~ Great details and you definitely did all the research necessary.

Here are some personal comments on your itinerary;

Day 1:
If you have not planned it already, just a reminder to get a SUICA card when you arrive at the airport. Although you've calculated all the necessary amount for the tickets; it's much easier to use the SUICA than to buy tickets everytime.

Day 2:
It's easier to stick to using the Yurikamome line in Odaiba cause it's not subway like the Rinkai line where some stations is buried deep underground where you gotta go down a few floors. Also, you'll find it pleasantly walkable from TelekomCenter to Daiba where you'll pass by the Oedo Onsen so don't need to take the train. wink.gif

Day 3:
Hehe... I'm also probably going to TGS on Sunday. 

Day 4:
Looks good.

Day 5:
Frankly, Akihabara in the morning is quite dead... so, here's a suggestion - go check out JR Tokyo Station in the morning (as per your plan at 8am) and experience the morning rush!!! hehe... You can then walk from Tokyo Station to visit the Imperial Palace and the Imperial East Garden (opens at 9am) before going back to Akihabara (JR Yamanote Line - just 2 stations away) say around 11am or close to noon. Then I believe your day plan for Akihabara should be fine.

Day 6:
Yoyogi-koen has many entrances; so ... if you take the train to Yoyogi... you can enter the park; walk around the surrounding area and finally exit at Harajuku. That'll save you 1 train ride and you'll get to cover the park. Also, in between Yoyogi and Harajuku is the Meiji Shrine so you can cover that as well.

Check in to love hotel 

Day 7:
Seems like you're purposely going to Ikebukuro just for Nasi Lemak at Malaychan ... if you're interested; you should go check out Sunshine City - Namja Town which is in Ikebukuro.

Day 8:
Perhaps you want to spend a day in Yokohama area if you're interested.

Day 9:
Time to burn the wallet even more eh? LOL ...

Anyway, it looks like a great plan and hope you'll enjoy your trip here.
Thanks for the comments. It took me 2 weeks, 2 travel guide book, 2 maps and a bunch of Google-fu smile.gif

Day 1 : Yupp, will do. Good thing that Suica card allows recharge up to 20K Yen. I'll probably recharge it to 10K Yen twice.

Day 2 : Thanks for the insider's tip. I would probably never going to know that no matter how much I read or search. Noted.

Day 3 : Meet you there then!

Day 5 : Good suggestion.

Day 6 : Yay, that was my original plan but I was not sure if this entrance linked to Meiji Jingu or not, because the park have quite thick of 'forest'. Meiji Jingu/Shrine is already in my original itinerary. Hopefully, could see some wedding ceremony if we are lucky.

Day 7 : I didn't realise there is a Namco's Namja Town when I was reading about Sunshine City, although it was said that it wasn't really games oriented, it might be worth a visit.

Day 8 : Current empty for contingency plan. I guess, Yokohama and Mt Fuji have to wait for the next trip. sad.gif

Day 9 : Akihabara visit have not been finalized yet. My friend will be helping me on that, at least he can read some Japanese words from the websites.
QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Sep 3 2009, 01:35 PM)
Are you planning to attack Japan? "9am - get ready ship. 9:15am - Refuel. 9:30am - Aim. 9:31am: Fire".  biggrin.gif

I certainly like your itinerary for Wed: "10pm - Check in into Love Hotel".  thumbup.gif

Tsukiji - you need to get there at 5am. I think Toei-oedo will get you there. Get out of the train station and follow the crowd. When you get to the market - go all the way in. The auctions are waaaaaayy at the back. Later, after the auctions, have breakfast at Tsukiji if you like fresh seafood/sushi etc. Besides Odaiba (which you can get to by the Yurikamome train), Ginza is near Tsukiji too. Kabuki-za is in Ginza. Kabuki plays run the entire day in several acts but you don't have to buy tickets for the whole play. You can buy them just for specific acts - some acts are only 20-30 minutes long. You can get an English headset translation as well.

Didn't see Yasukuni shrine on your list. For me, this is an interesting place - the war from Japan's POV. Plus the fact that a couple of Class A war criminals are interred there. Lots of ultra right wing people visit this shrine.

While in Shibuya (Love Hotel!), perhaps you should shop at Shibuya 109 and also Tokyu Hands (interesting store)

You should also go to a department/supermarket store to eat. They are called depachika i.e. in the basement. You only find out how different another country is by visiting their supermarkets (very true).

Finally you should try to catch some street festival or something if something is going on. Your hostel should know. Japanese street festivals are a sight to be seen. Since you are going mid-autumn - I'm sure there's something going on. Perhaps around senso-ji - that area seems like something is always going on.

Added on September 3, 2009, 1:42 pm

Namja Town - I like this place. I think you have to pay to get in though.. If you go there, try "Miracle Fruitsu" - try it and report back hahaha

I like the Yokohama suggestion. Chinatown especially. I always get goosepimples every time I see a Chinatown anywhere in the world. SF lah, Toronto lah, London lah etc. It always remind me of how much hardship the Chinese people have had to endure in the great southern migration of the late 19th/early 20th century. And everywhere we went, we were not welcome and had to struggle.

Yokohama has a huge Chinatown and a big Chinese school there where large numbers of kids go - totally outside the Japanese school system. You will then understand how tough it is for minorities to survive in Japan. Just like the zainichi Koreans (I have a colleague in my my Tokyo office who's zainichi Korean - some of her stories just break my heart) - they too have their own school system.
Indeed I am. tongue.gif

Anyone with any suggestion with games-themed rabuho around Tokyo area? or maybe any recommendation on it?

Shibuya 109 and Tokyu Hands is definitely a visit. But we didn't really have time or strong interest for Kabuki-za and Yasukini Shrine.

Thanks for the tips, will definitely check with the hostel staff as we arrived. Although, I've checked that from the end of September to early October there are no big festival celebrated in Tokyo.

Do you think the Namco's Namja Town is worth it. What kind of attractions do they have related to games? Or it is purely like a theme park?
QUOTE(matt85 @ Sep 3 2009, 01:43 PM)
Based on my personal experience,

You can plan to the very minute detail, but things don't always work out as planned (most of the time they don't !!)

So, give some allowance to yourself and minimize the number of places you plan to visit in a day. You will never never know what could happen (train delay, getting lost, bad weather, lost your belongings, waiting for meals etc.)
True that, the first two days are definitely super-packed, because we want to reduce cost of traveling, so we try to cover it as fast as we can, in one day. The issues you have mentioned will definitely be under our consideration. That is why we have the 8th day free to cover back what we missed. Furthermore, the plan is more of like the best case scenario, and it definitely ain't gonna be that. Your advice is noted. Thanks.

Anyway, to help with our trip, we will be printing satellite maps from google maps, and manually tag it for the important places and what not. Hope that will reduce the possibility of us getting lost.

*Btw, I usually travel to Singapore without any plans, hotel booking or what not. Just a map to guide me. Japan will be a whole new world for me, as I do not read or speak Japanese. That is why I've prepared this.

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 3 2009, 05:02 PM)
@heterosapiens sure got quite a plan ... I know need to allocate some flexibility coz not everything  can be achieved and sometimes you may want to stay longer at a single location. I know it will take me 2 days to refamiliarise myself with the subway system.  rclxub.gif
That's the scary part for me, hopefully my other 2 friends in our group could help out reading the signs and asking questions, as they do have some basic japanese comprehension.
QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 3 2009, 10:36 PM)
Dude,

How are you gonna buy the ticket for Ghibli Museum? I thought you have to buy the ticket somewhere in the convenience store ie. Lawson? I'm planning to go there too. Perhaps we can tag along? hmm.gif
Bought it, with a help from a friend of a friend (from Lawson). If you can get the same time slot, it will be 12.00pm on 25th September.

heterosapiens
post Sep 10 2009, 11:08 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

Yay, confirmed my booking with Kangetsu Ryokan and Andon Ryokan. Only left 3 night for random unbooked accommodation. Received the tickets for Studio Ghibli and Tokyo Game Show already. Only left tickets for Morning Musume Nine Smile Concert at Yokosuka. rclxm9.gif
heterosapiens
post Sep 11 2009, 10:42 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 10 2009, 11:23 PM)
aah... do share the review of Andon ryokan later on.

morning musume....natsukashii naa.... i did went for the winter concert 2004, nakano sun plaza. 8,000yen. pokai terus. but it was a lifetime experience.
scary seeing a group of grown adult-fan doing warmup exercise for the cheering. and japanese crowd are so skema in cheering up, coordinated abis.

now taubat duwan to go anymore hahahhaa

hetero,
just make sure your shoes are good enough and your leg and feet are strong enough to endure your visit plan.
do include a session in onsen or ofuro to repair your tendons and ligamens lol.
Will do. Wah, winter concert 2004. That must be awesome!

Yupp, we did go shopping/walking for 8 hours last week to train our legs for a bit. But, definitely will need some relaxing sessions at onsen to recharge our tired body there. Cool tips.
heterosapiens
post Sep 13 2009, 01:54 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Sep 12 2009, 10:05 PM)
Wahhh...mcm ramai je nak dtg this season? So how bout the 2nd gathering....Anyone? hmm.gif
Most of us will be heading to Tokyo Game Show on 27th September (Sunday). Right after TGS (night) will be a good time to meet maybe.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0494sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:11 AM