24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

TStanoshi
post Aug 8 2009, 10:01 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Aug 8 2009, 05:50 AM)
If it helps anyone, here is a description the rules one needs to know before visiting an onsen. Basically there are 2 kinds of onsen: indoor and outdoor (rotenburo). Most are segregated by gender although in some onsens, you can find private rotenburos which you can reserve for familes on an hourly basis i.e. it will be a small rotenburo in which maybe 4-5 people can fit.

If you have a tattoo, cover it up with bandaid. Otherwise you most likely will not be allowed in. Of course, if you have a crewcut, a missing pinkie and tattoos of dragons, mermaids and kanji characters that say "My brother is a Yamaguchi-gumi Oyabun" that cover your whole body, you're OK - you can just walk-in, nobody will say a thing. Don't even have to pay.

Like I said before, onsens/ryokans have lots of "rules" and Japan is a country, if nothing, that idealizes strict adherence to rules.

For a ryokan, you will stay in a Japanese-style room with tatami. Tatami rooms also available in hotels in onsens. The futons and the kakebutons (comforter) will stored in closets and somebody will make them/lay them out in the evening for you. The onsen will most probably be in the basement, but not always.

1) You will be provided a yukata (this is like a cotton kimono with a sash), slippers and a washcloth in your room. Wear the yukata, carry the washcloth and walk to onsen using those slippers. Don't forget to tie to sash tightly, otherwise you'd might be very popular with the ladies. Only they are 65 year old obaterians (means strong old women: this is another topic for another day)

2) Important: as onsens are usually separate for men and women, you will have to find out the right entrance. There will be a noren (like a half-curtain) over the entrances with the kanji symbols for man and woman. Sometimes the noren will be colored blue for men and red for women but not always. My advice: follow other guests' and see where they go. Or not. Since you're gaikokujin, heh heh you are allowed to make this "honest mistake" one-time only and go into the other side for a look-see. Remember your "sumimasen sumimasen".

3) As you enter the sliding doors, you take off your slippers. Make sure you know where you put them - sometimes a cubby hole is provided, sometimes a tag is provided etc. You then go barefoot into the "dry area".
You must never wear outdoor footwear on tatami. This is very bad manners.

4) An onsen is typically separated into a "dry area" - covered with tatami - and the bath area itself. The "dry area" is for you to disrobe, store your clothes in the provided lockers. There will be basins for you to shave (you do not shave in the bath area), hairdryers etc.

5) Once you disrobe, all you will have is wash cloth (not forgetting your locker key). You can use the wash cloth to preserve some modesty. Some of you might need two washcloths (don't boast). It is impolite to stare at other people's state of undress, unless they need 3 washcloths to cover up. In that case, you're allowed to ask them for an autograph and if they've worked with Maria Ozawa before.

6) Go through the sliding doors for the bath area and along the wall, you'll see showers. Grab a stool and a bucket and take a shower sitting down. You're not allowed to sing - this is not a karaoke. Lots of onsens have unique toiletries for the region (e.g. horse-oil shampoo, carbon soap etc).

7) Once done with shower, you then soak in bath. The washcloth you can leave on your head but what I usually do is I take the small basin along with me - I use it to pour some of the bath water on me first to let my body acclimatize to the heat) - I then put the washcloth inside the basin and set it right next to the bath. You cannot bring the washcloth into the water.

8) The bath will be hot around 42C - some prefer to go in slowly while hissing "yossssshhhhhhh"; others prefer to go in all at once - whatever works for you. Usually I soak inside the bath for 10-15 minutes - any more, I'd be sweating too much afterwards.

9) Reverse the above when you leave. I shower just with water after the bath and then change back into my yukata, walking back to my room with visible steam rising from my head. Don't go up those stairs too fast, you might faint due to the light-headedness from all the heat smile.gif

10) If you are shy, go during the times of the day when there is lower traffic. The "high season" time is just before dinner. If you go late at night say 10-11pm, almost nobody will be there. That in fact, is my preferred time, after a soak, you go directly to bed and sleep like a baby. Another time is in the morning before breakfast, not that many people.

Finally, why do people go to onsens? They believe the mineral waters cure ailments. Different regions will have hot springs with different compositions of minerals, which in turn, cure different ailments.
Wowie...you are explaining details like nihon jin huahahah!
THUMBS UP thumbup.gif
Informative!
thanks dude!
TStanoshi
post Aug 9 2009, 05:51 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(M a C @ Jul 31 2009, 12:46 PM)
Driving license? Just bring a MY driving license and convert it to JP license, with condition of the MY license must be at least 3 months old.
Haish...wheres MaC?
Still waiting for his/her driving license pics lol tongue.gif because its sound so easy to get, just wanna share..hehe

Added on August 9, 2009, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Aug 1 2009, 11:47 AM)
I don't think you can convert licenses any more. Not for the last few years, at least. Previously, you could, but now everyone wanting a license has to take the test.
As said and also need the original copies of your 'driving history in Msia', after MUST translated to Japanese either with JAF or Msia Mbassy, then take for the eye test, computer test and 'on road' test with the instructor and 2 other candidates inside the car..(you can have a private practise session, not mistaken 5,000yen for 60 minutes).. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 9 2009, 05:58 PM
TStanoshi
post Aug 9 2009, 08:05 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Aug 9 2009, 09:48 PM)
Perhaps MaC was mistaken on the rules to get/change driving licenses and was just posting from what he heard last time.
Since this issue was cleared by you and tatsuyachiba; I think there's really nothing left to discuss.
ye lah abang...! cool2.gif

btw Phyczz...do you feel the jishin an hour ago...like 'pening2 lalat'..heard that bigger than last May! shocking.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 10 2009, 11:20 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 10 2009, 01:11 PM)
When visiting Japan, it is best to get some Japanese Yen in Malaysia (@ local bank or money changer) ahead of time or
is it possible to change them while in Japan?

Added on August 10, 2009, 11:19 am

Japanese Onsen must be taken naked, no towel, no swim trunks, although this is common and accepted in Japan,
how do you overcome this oddness initially?  tongue.gif
Dude...you HAVE/MUST tukar MYR kat Msia duh...Kat Jepun MYR notes tak da nilai hehehe shakehead.gif
Jangan bawa duit Msia ke Jepun nanti u susah later..
TStanoshi
post Aug 10 2009, 11:20 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(zoakies @ Aug 11 2009, 12:14 AM)
So far i went to the ONSEN place got no foreigner la...so cannot compare the d*** size...maybe u went to the so-called-public-open-to-all GAIJIN then might need some help to scrub here and there and start to compare about d*** size lor...
Naaaa.wer ya lau fan??? I miss you! wub.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 11 2009, 08:02 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 11 2009, 06:27 AM)
My friend told me, she just woke up because of a heavy earthquake about 15 minutes ago.
Anyone felt it? biggrin.gif
gua tido pukul 4am today..so now just wake up...means tido mati huahahah! blush.gif

Added on August 11, 2009, 8:03 am
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 05:39 AM)
LOL!!  Wait a minute.. to the Japanese. We (Malaysians) ARE Foreigners!

Don't you think we bigger than them?  flex.gif

Of course.. cannot compare to Sumo size.  tongue.gif
erkkk? yeah big and short is that wat day mean? yeah short may be... wink.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 11 2009, 08:03 AM
TStanoshi
post Aug 11 2009, 09:01 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 10:31 AM)
Question for those living in Japan:
How much does need to budget for accomodation (for a small 1 bedroom) per month for food, utilities
in a city like Kimitsu?
My dear the answer is in the previous thread V1..
a lot you can compare..an experience from us.
Good luck searching hehehe icon_idea.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 11 2009, 11:47 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 12:24 PM)
Ok thanks!, I'll go search for it.
By the way, how does one use one of those Capsule Hotel?  Is it safe to stay in one of those thing?  sweat.gif
Ah danmooncake, that info you can find in V2 thread..its experience by ..argh forgot lah..please search it..sorry forgot lol huhuhu
TStanoshi
post Aug 11 2009, 12:58 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 11 2009, 02:02 PM)
So everything already been discussed those thread??

Including how to use those japanese bidet toilet?  biggrin.gif
Yes sir...
bout the bidet f4tE already ask I guess.. hmm.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 12 2009, 10:09 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Aug 12 2009, 08:21 AM)
Yeah~ hot and humid is the perfect description. haha... Feels just like home.  tongue.gif
I hope no typhoon also cause it really makes it damn hard to get to work in the morning!
Hey bro, jangan lupa ambil gambar and upload it from Kyoto with love! wub.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 12 2009, 09:40 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 12 2009, 09:52 PM)
Wooah nais! rclxms.gif
Do take alot of photos while you're there thumbup.gif
I'm in Singapore now.
Singaporeeeee?????!!! ini mesti dengan minah salleh tu! huh, I hate you! vmad.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 13 2009, 09:06 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 13 2009, 07:48 AM)
I think because of H1N1, people are more afraid to come back to Malaysia than going somewhere else.
Malaysia govt admitted the situation gotten worse.  sad.gif
HEY YA'LL...seriously scary duh! who said before...in Japan so many damn cases but a few die only compare to percentage in Malaysia...Tak ramai kena tapi ramai yang meninggal..haish...heard from my old old uncle said...because of Msia government never serik one to allow the traders to keep selling pig..last JE cases..now? haish kowaiii jyan! icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 13 2009, 09:06 AM
TStanoshi
post Aug 13 2009, 11:54 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(sieg_wahrheit @ Aug 13 2009, 01:30 PM)
tempting...  hmm.gif . bcoz buying when im back in malaysia will surely kena tax
errkk..no lah..you wanna buy phone from here bring back to Malaysia with you? no prob one...as long kotak henpon buang ler...BUT my experience, IF I want to send by post to Msia, even my Malaysian phone (due cant use the many features) KENA ADA AP!!!! shakehead.gif macam mau hantar kereta daaa!
TStanoshi
post Aug 13 2009, 01:19 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(sieg_wahrheit @ Aug 13 2009, 02:08 PM)
yup. that's what i meant. ap/sirim's approval. would cost around RM200 + 10% on the phone's price
IF by post then..if carry back home by flight no prob one.. thumbup.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 14 2009, 10:08 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Aug 14 2009, 11:41 AM)
A bunch of us guys from here will be heading over to Tokyo from 27/08 - 31/08. Anyone who wants to meet up and be tour guides or tag along most welcomed. smile.gif

Our thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1129070
Yeah guys, we r goin to have 2nd Gathering LYN in Japan ;

Date:?
Time:?

So need the cooperation from Physczz, Fire, Musha, Asuk, Cleemong, me and anyone that I missed? oh f4Te ya brows.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 14 2009, 10:08 AM
TStanoshi
post Aug 15 2009, 12:16 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 15 2009, 02:05 AM)
PsyCHZZZ, those are some awesome shots, bro! thumbup.gif
yah lor...
er Phyczz..wat da ya meant u promoting the vending machine biz?

BTW guys..how bout the gathering...?? hmm.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 15 2009, 02:00 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 15 2009, 03:04 AM)
27th, 28th and 31st might not be possible, those are working days.
The weekends should be okay with me biggrin.gif

For the new friends who are coming in, your timing is at utmost perfect, because during those days, there is also another awesome event for you guys:
--> THE CHARACTER HOBBY 2009! thumbup.gif

Link: http://www.chara-hobby.com/
Ya lor dear...almost forgot...its DANJIKI lol
Ok after 5pm to meet up then...meantime can breaking fast... rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 15 2009, 09:18 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Aug 15 2009, 10:10 AM)
Hmmm... anyone interested to have our gathering on the 30th Aug then? Perhaps we can all go to that event and at the same time will be able to meet up with the group that is coming? Fire can organize right?  tongue.gif
Alahh..bro 30th August I cant make it lol..my princess no 2 besday lah...so family gathering hehehe..
Any how you can go ahead without only me lah no prob one..

Yeah I think time Fire lah pulak as said masa 1st gathering, remember Phsyczz...Fire will do the 2nd gathering right..and later rotate lol hahaha! rclxm9.gif
TStanoshi
post Aug 16 2009, 09:25 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 16 2009, 07:40 AM)
I feel sad today sad.gif

One of my best friend is leaving Japan cry.gif

I was wishing that she would miss her flight (hahaha!) but looks like she made it just in time tongue.gif
erkk...which one bro, the girlfriend! blink.gif

Added on August 16, 2009, 9:26 amAbout the gathering...since Fire tak boleh ...any suggestion please?

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Aug 16 2009, 09:26 AM
TStanoshi
post Aug 16 2009, 08:16 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(musha @ Aug 16 2009, 10:11 PM)
about the gathering.. who volunteer?
Till waiting for Fire or anyone else..if no voice out...SHOULD be you lah Musha...then you can invite your Japanese new galfren!!!! rclxm9.gif

24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:03 PM