12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 5 2010, 11:53 PM

115 posts

Well, it depends... if condition is really bad; then it'll delay until the condition gets better.

Sometimes, they'll fly there but then find out that they can't land due to the bad condition; then they'll u-turn back to Tokyo.

I think when you check-in tomorrow; you'll get some news from the counters.

Good luck.
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 8 2010, 10:57 AM

115 posts

But Tokyo is nice and sunny... haha... I wish we get a bit of snow here also but don't have.
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 11 2010, 09:38 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 11 2010, 08:55 PM)
Today i saw a very very very very sad news.

Japan biggest airline JAL is going bankcrap....now waiting American Delta Airlines helping as alliance....Brough over JAL company.

JAL annoument going cut 27 International Route and Cut 15,000 Worker within 3 years.

Souce: FNN News
Yeah~ really major news that'll affect the Japan economy cause so many other businesses depends on JAL. But they're really too big and unprofitable so rather than trying to bail-out by creating more debts and loans; filing for bankruptcy and restructuring the organization from inside might be a better option. I just hope that the other businesses that is inter-connected to JAL and JAL staffs that will be getting the cut will be able to survive the days ahead until the aviation industry stabilizes again.
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 13 2010, 09:41 AM

115 posts

JAL actually has a budget airline arm called JAL Express. The problem is that it covers very little route. In terms of local budget airline, you'll be looking at Skymark or AirDo but even they also do not cover all local routes.

The sun is out in full force here in Tokyo after the light rain and I think any chance of snow (at least for my part of Tokyo) is all gone. hahaha...
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 14 2010, 08:29 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 13 2010, 11:38 PM)
Very Depending.....Those Dun like Raw stuff and likes Curry alot alot or dun like fish...go japan is hard life...sure won't enjoy....like my mother she dun like raw thing and she like Curry alot alot ( Malaysia Style) SHe keep complaint japan curry is like baby food...lansung no pedas ..is so sissy the curry...totaly failure. 

Errmmm... first of all, who would expect to come to Japan to enjoy curry? Japanese normally do not take spicy food so almost all types of spicy food are toned down to suit the local taste.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 13 2010, 11:38 PM)
My One of the Firend go japan with me he also cannot enjoy because japan night life is too boring also....after 10pm most of shop sudah closed...not like HK or Taiwan..betul betul 24hour .....late night want find a palce like mamak stall also dun have in Tokyo...my firend laso not enjoy...LOL
Japan night life is too boring???? rclxub.gif Which part of Tokyo did your friend stayed in?

Added on January 14, 2010, 8:31 am
QUOTE(mita @ Jan 14 2010, 01:07 AM)
Is the Tokyo Disneyland suitable for old people ?

I went to the California Disney 9 years ago, the only thing i remember was a wide ride that made me wanted to puke..
It's quite suitable if you don't plan to take all the rides. In Tokyo Disneyland, there's lots of stage shows/street performances and also those simple rides that do not stresses out old people. So, while the old folks will not be able to enjoy all the rides; there's still things to do and see in Tokyo Disneyland for them.

Tokyo Disneysea is a different story.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jan 14 2010, 08:31 AM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 14 2010, 11:52 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 14 2010, 10:58 AM)
I agree but you can also ask the cook to spice up the food for you. I found a Kebab shop (I ate Nasi Briyani) in Akihibara which did just that. The waiter asked me to try the 'Super Hot' (Not hot at all ... more like your regular chili sauce level) kebab first before cooking that Briyani just for me.

The guy told me that this is the max that their regular Japanese customers could take and it is not often they will choose the super hot option. Funny part is that after a week of me being in Tokyo, I'm sensitive to Malaysian food ... can feel the big difference in terms of quality and food taste no thanks to being spoilt in Tokyo.
Yup... that's true. Most of their food here will have spiciness 'level' where you can choose from and if you speak to the cook itself; they can prepare the authentic taste. I frequently go to a Thai restaurant in Kawasaki that does just that and it's nice. Same goes for Indian curry, chinese spicy food etc...
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 23 2010, 07:42 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Jan 22 2010, 11:03 PM)
Bro tanoshi dah excited ahahaha. Too bad everyone mcm dah senyap
Extremely busy schedule for me for the upcoming months = no time to think about holidays. cry.gif

PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 24 2010, 09:10 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jan 24 2010, 05:41 PM)
both of you also working in japan? hmm.gif
Yup. smile.gif

Added on January 24, 2010, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(seaotter @ Jan 24 2010, 08:44 PM)
Hey guys.
I just found this awesome thread in LY.Net so kind of happy here.

I plan to go to japan in 2011 with some friends, around Q4 so we can experience cool/cold weather. And maybe (insanely) go to comiket for the lulz.

My plan is to go follow those tour groups first - to be touristy- then another week just in tokyo wandering around.

here is a conundrum though - where can i stay for the second week? Someone gave me a contact for a rent-a-room place in ikebukuro, but no email so cannot directly ask the person about pricing.

Anyone can recommend me a palce to stay? 4 people probably, with lockable doors.

thanks!
hi seaotter,

Planning to visit during the Winter comiket? I think there's quite a number of members here that have been there (on this thread and I think the anime shrine section) and can offer some opinions on it (not me though as I'm not entirely into these kind of things).

As for the accommodation, please check out the first thread on this post... there's a few links to some accommodations in Japan as well as thorough reviews by one of our members heterosapien on his experiences with a few accommodations here. (you'll find them in the first 'spoiler' tag).

If you need further help, then please feel free to ask and we'll be glad to try and help out.

Cheers~ smile.gif

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jan 24 2010, 09:21 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 27 2010, 02:06 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(seaotter @ Jan 26 2010, 06:32 PM)
Konnichiwa PsyCHZZZZ.

Actually the plan is to visit japan during snow time because....lets face it, we dont get snow in malaysia lol.
And while akihabara is a must visit, we also want to see the whole of tokyo to say that we have been there.
I was there in 2008 for 5 days, and it is not ENOUGH!. hence the second trip.

For accommodations - the ikebukuro house is cheap.
http://www.housejp.com.tw/page/englishprice.htm
check out the price!

The question is this - is it worth it to take those tour group (the guys planning to go are only between 22-26 years old) or going by ourselves is good enough.

While taking the tour thing is good - see tokyo as a tour group, but going solo is also good as you can just jalan jalan right?

in a dilemma to set up the trip  rclxub.gif
Well, first of all... there is no snow in Tokyo so you gotta go hunt for snow elsewhere (up north to Hokkaido or the west side of Japan eg Nagano, Niigata).
With regards to your tour question; it really depends. I believe some tour packages are pretty good value for money but the problem is that - you're bound by their schedule. If you're the adventurous type - then this might be a problem because perhaps there's some places that they won't go. One such places I think of is Akihabara.

Here's another piece of news that might be of interest to you -
http://www.japantoday.com/category/feature...ns-travel-scene

Seems like AirAsia is set on flying to Japan soon so you might be able to save on air tickets and fly AirAsia for your trip next year. smile.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 28 2010, 04:42 PM

115 posts

I really hope that they'll be able to fly to Haneda. It's only 40min from my place compared to 2 hours to Narita and 10,000 JPY one way sounds damn good!

I bet it'll also encourage a lot of travels between Japan and Malaysia and also within the SEA region.

PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 29 2010, 04:03 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 28 2010, 10:40 PM)
Simple...if you go Europe or US not major City....Deep Country Side....those people know where is Thailand ..where is bangkok where is phuket Island......and where is Singapore......but they dunno where is malaysia....in their mind There is no malaysia exits.....malaysia still a place who everyone still live upper tree.
Not true... Now Malaysia is world famous but then... for all the wrong reasons. sweat.gif (Won't dig deeper as it'll be out of topic)... haha...

Added on January 29, 2010, 4:08 am
QUOTE(mr lappy @ Jan 29 2010, 01:43 AM)
is the visa that demanding? what sort of number would you think they'll be expecting to show?
i plan to end my trip at tokyo where im going to do most of my shopping  rclxm9.gif
i think my trip will start around the end of summer (mid sep-oct+)
The visa isn't really that demanding I think but just gotta have all the proper doc and paperwork in order.
As for the bank statement requirements, basically it's just a proof that you got the cash to support your travels.

QUOTE(muha90)
Try to avoid from going there during golden week, smua tempat2 menarik akan crowded, sbb masa ni org jepun tgh cuti seminggu
Very true... but it's more like try to avoid during ANY of the major holidays... New Year break, Golden Week, Summer break. It's like the 'balik kampung' scene back in Malaysia and all roads/public transports out of Tokyo will be packed heading to either a local holiday destination or simply just back to their hometown.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jan 29 2010, 04:09 AM
PsyCHZZZ
post Jan 29 2010, 01:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Jan 29 2010, 04:23 AM)
when are their summer break? im planing to go around mid-end sep to oct

i've looked through the requirements a while back. i dont see any major stuff most were pretty much easy for me to prove except for me having to show proof for accomodation for the whole trip which is a bit of a pain for me since the idea of going on a totally minimalist backpack did cross my mind. but oh well...
The summer break is usually between the second of 3rd week of August.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Jan 29 2010, 01:00 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 1 2010, 04:50 PM

115 posts

I'm wondering if we'll get snow in Tokyo today... weather forecast says there's a high possibility but then the rain now just seems too wet for it to happen... hmm.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 1 2010, 07:21 PM

115 posts

Well, it's snowing now... should be fun to see if it'll snow enough to leave a layer until tomorrow morning. nod.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 1 2010, 10:42 PM

115 posts

Yup ... nice layer of white snow! rclxms.gif
Picture taken outside my house... I think tomorrow morning sure havoc on the streets. tongue.gif

PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 2 2010, 08:17 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Feb 1 2010, 09:58 PM)
Hahahha...my princess cant wait for tomorrow, her mom let her play!

Luckily your princess get to play last night... this morning everything is melting fast as the sun is out and it's a clear and sunny day! smile.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 2 2010, 08:10 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Feb 2 2010, 05:44 PM)
Plan to Japan, With Tour Or DIY?

Pls Advise.
First-timer, don't want to be too adventurous, okay with seeing the usual tourist attractions, got extra cash to spare, worried about language barrier, traveling with large group/old folks ... I recommended joining a tour.

If you're adventurous enough, got a flexible schedule, have specific places to visit in mind, care to experiment with chicken-and-duck talk, want to save a bit of money here and there, not traveling in large group of if traveling in large group; don't mind working out the logistics - then a DIY option is viable.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Feb 2 2010, 08:10 PM
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 3 2010, 08:23 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 2 2010, 10:38 PM)
NO need say Food...Only say Air Tickey..Go and Return alreayd RM2800 Economy Seater......7 Day 6 night in Capsule Hotel RM150 x 6 =RM900
Bank Statement RM8000 to show off to Japan Emberssy.
Japan Suica Card for 1 week RM200 ( 5000Yen )
NO yet BulletTrain Ticket + Disney Entrance Ticket + Food

IF go buy Travel RM5100
Hotel Included 3 Star (Got Bathroom size like Genting First World Hotel)
Air Ticket Included
Bullet Train Included
DisneyLand Entrance Ticket Included
Visa Trourist Company settle all for you
Since transporation all prepard for you..no need spent money on Suica Card
Only this above already more than RM5100 ...if go DIY sure need spent more than RM5100
LOL I go Japan always DIY..i never go with Travel Group because they cannot provided me stay at Ikebukuro Metapolitan Hotel which I go japan every time sure stay at that hotel  hahahaha....but say Real DIY sure need burn more money....Enjoy Freedom sure need pay More....Depent teckhooi got how many Money willing to burn in Japan
RM2.8k for air ticket is normal price but we all know that we can get promo fair prices that can get down to about RM1.8k on average and a while back someone even bought return tix from KL to Japan for only RM1350 with JAL.

As reported and reviewed by many other members here, accommodation cost can vary and this is the other experience that you will not get if you follow a tour. All tour like you said will include stays at only established hotels / ryokans, but if DIY - you can choose to stay at a nice hotel one night, go experience a ryokan for 2-3 nights then move to a capsule hotel etc...

Since it's DIY, you can set your own schedule of places to visit and since you mentioned Disneyland; let's take Disneyland for example. So far I know that no tour will let you play the entire day in Disneyland from morning until the fireworks is over at night. So, while it's "cheaper" with the tour that already included Disneyland ticket, you only get to enjoy at best 3/4 of the day in Disneyland which I think many would agree is just not enough time.

Like I mentioned in my earlier post, if you wish for stuffs to be all planned out and you're okay with visiting the normal spots and all; then tours are great. But if you DIY, then you'll need to put in the effort to plan out the logistics, the budget, the schedule etc... but overall -I think you will still be able to save and get to cover more of what Japan has to offer.

Added on February 3, 2010, 8:31 am
QUOTE(seaotter @ Feb 3 2010, 12:41 AM)
How about i propose a mixture of DIY and Tour?

Youget the cost savings from Tour and the not many hassle of getting the visa.

Then you just pay a bit more to have the ticket on another day, say three -4 days after the tour ends.

Then you can DIY away from the tour groups.

I feel this is the best of both world.

And yeah, disneyland unlimited ticket included in the total price woo.
A mixture is great... but I think you better check out if the tour group package can give you such flexible flight dates.
From what I know, the reason that it's easy to get visa approved is because the tour agency submits the application in an entire group and all of them will have the same itinerary, same arrival and departure date etc... and hence all is fixed.

If you plan to stay on AFTER the tour ends; then
1. your return air ticket with the tour might be an issue
2. I believe Japan Embassy likes to issue 15 days tourist visa so you gotta make sure your schedule fits that time frame.

If you're keen on this, my advice is to check thoroughly with the tour agency first.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Feb 3 2010, 08:31 AM
PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 3 2010, 09:02 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Feb 3 2010, 08:53 AM)
Stay in capsule hotel for 6 nights? tongue.gif

I wouldnt want to stay in that box for more than 2 nights. Try look for hostels or cheap business hotels instead.

Btw, today is freaking cold. -10 degrees here. Window froze and I don't want to step out from my apartment. sweat.gif
-10'C? hahaha... good time to hibernate in the comfort of your apartment then with the heater at full blast. biggrin.gif
Btw, Sapporo Snow Festival is hapenning soon right? Are you near the Odori Park where they'll have the event?

Mind sharing some photos of the event if you have the chance to see it? notworthy.gif

PsyCHZZZ
post Feb 3 2010, 06:40 PM

115 posts

Well, Hokkaido is up north so definitely a lot more snow... for us in Tokyo, a bit of snow (like on Monday) damn happy already. hahaha...

Nice pics btw. Everything is so white and pure... fresh crisp air I'm sure... not like Tokyo's polluted air. tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0463sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:00 AM