PS3 Media Server, Now U Can Watch *.mkv(HD Video) On PS3

myuu
post Apr 8 2009, 01:45 PM

76 posts

I agree with the general thread sentiment: PS3 Media Server is an awesome piece of work!

Generally, stuttering happens because:-

1 - not enough network bandwidth. Wireless is fine for normal videos but if you plan to watch HD it's better to go wired (Aztech Homeplugs ftw), or lower your mencoder quality settings, or set your mencoder bandwidth limit.

2 - not enough CPU power for transcoding. The PS3 only supports certain video formats, so if you try to watch a video that is unsupported the PS3 Media Server will try to re-encode it to a supported format as you watch. You can tell if the media server is transcoding if the trancode buffer bar is filled while you're watching. If the buffer continuously decreases while you are watching then you definitely need more CPU power to watch that movie.

Personally I've had stuttering issues with some 1080 HD movies that are encoded at High Profile@5.1. I'm planning to buy a new PC anyway, so I'm hoping a Core i7 will be sufficient for that purpose. Other people just use tools like mkv2vob to convert their HD mkv's to something that the PS3 supports. PS3 media server will just stream compatible files directly to the PS3 without any transcoding.
myuu
post Apr 8 2009, 03:34 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 8 2009, 02:54 PM)
I was thinking of the homeplugs solution. But i wonder will it work if the LAN span two houses side by side.
I'm wondering the same thing. I read somewhere that the signal ends at the meter; on the other hand someone also told me StarHub or somewhat in Singapore streams video to houses over powerline.

If I'm rajin maybe I'll test it sometime. Mother-in-law lives next door. happy.gif
myuu
post Apr 9 2009, 09:13 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 9 2009, 08:32 AM)
Actually i was reading some security FAQs some time ago....it is indeed possible for other houses to "steal" your line when you use homeplug....that's why only both the plugs you buy correspond to each other through encryption....so example if you give 1 plug to your neighbour and he plug it in next door, its possible for him to share your LAN if the houses are wired in such a way that they are connected.
That's right. A set of plugs have a common key to encrypt communications; it's somewhat like a WEP or WPA key for wireless. Otherwise it's hard to tell where your information is going. smile.gif

I stand corrected on Starhub. The idea did sound a bit farfetched but I'm always willing to take everything with a pinch of salt. smile.gif

Anyway, let's get back to discussing the media server. ... nothing else to say, it's great! lol.
myuu
post Apr 9 2009, 02:36 PM

76 posts

I'd still try to get wired/homeplugs though. I have an old WRT54Gv4 which I don't think I'll be upgrading anytime soon. happy.gif;
myuu
post Apr 10 2009, 02:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(s3r^ph @ Apr 9 2009, 07:30 PM)
i juz tinkered with it n realised dat if i want to watch mkv videos i need to let it buffer for a while. if not it'll stutter. izit normally lyk dat?
It just means that your CPU cannot keep up with the transcoding. Letting the buffer fill up gives PS3MS a head start.
myuu
post May 24 2009, 05:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(jib3000 @ May 20 2009, 05:54 PM)
Senior,

Can i use the software to view quicktime video file.?
I have not tried it myself, but I'm assuming it should be playable.

QUOTE(amduser @ May 20 2009, 11:17 PM)
can someone tell me what is the keyint stand for?

I think key interval is the number of frames in between a key frame. A key frame is a basically a full frame, and the next 10 frames (with your settings) will only contain changes from that frame.

QUOTE(holy_devil113 @ May 21 2009, 08:41 PM)
nak tanya skit,
aku gune belkin n1 router. Tapi bile tgk 1080p lagging lar, so aper nak buat? Homeplug tu bagus ker dari n1 router aku?
u kena pastikan lagging tu sebab network ke sebab cpu.
try play balik file tu pakai #TRANSCODE# --> Mencoder.
pastu tengok buffer kat media server:
- kalau dia steady/naik masa lagging, maknanya network. boleh beli homeplug thumbup.gif
- kalau dia menurun, pastu kosong & lagging, maknanya cpu. beli quad core tongue.gif atau kalau ada graphics card NVidia yg support CUDA, boleh try CoreAVC 1.9+ bersama dgn AviSynth/Mencoder.
myuu
post May 29 2009, 06:48 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ May 29 2009, 09:05 AM)
This is an awesome software.  I got a NAS (Dlink DNS-323) and is it possible to install and run the PMS from the NAS?  If this possible, I don't need to turn on my PC (save energy) and moreover all my files are located at the NAS.
well, there's a linux version. why don't you try it out and let us know. smile.gif
myuu
post Jun 21 2009, 10:31 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Sairenji @ Jun 21 2009, 06:03 PM)
Install xder masalah tp x bleh nk bkk lps klik 2 kali. Yg klua cume bunyi error tp xder window klua yg mengatakan error pun. Java pn dh install...haish, penin penin. Sebelum nie aku gune simple center xder problem pn.
x sure la apa masalah u. try tengok file debug.log kat dlm folder Program Files/PS3 Media Server.

QUOTE(Futura @ Jun 21 2009, 07:28 PM)
This thread should be pinned...oh well I still don't have time to play with it anyway tongue.gif
Good effort! That means with PS3, I don't need WDTV or whatsoever media player to stream mkv files to LCDTV? Hehe just to double confirm... tongue.gif
nope, don't need Dvico Tivx or WDTV. while those devices are hassle-free, using a media server is much cheaper, assuming you already have a PC to run it on. smile.gif
myuu
post Jun 23 2009, 01:42 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Sairenji @ Jun 22 2009, 01:01 PM)
Okay

*Mencari*

Aik...x jumper la.
hm.. x pasti la apa problemnya. :\
myuu
post Jul 1 2009, 08:10 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Futura @ Jun 30 2009, 10:43 PM)
Boss, I have installed this software...I can view mp3 songs and play it..but I cant play avi file...any advice?

Regards
hm.. let's start with the symptoms.
does the avi file appear on the XMB?
and what errors does it say when you select the file from the XMB?
have you tried any of the other options in the #-TRANSCODE-# folder?

Added on July 14, 2009, 10:30 amAnyone considering to purchase Homeplugs, you might want to get the Powerline HD ones (1Gbps). Apparently it's set to hit Europe by August, so we should see it available after that.

Source: http://www.ubergizmo.com/15/archives/2009/...tarter_kit.html

(Not to be confused with D-Link's DHP-301 product, or Netgear's HDX, which still uses the current Powerline AV standard).

I currently use Aztech's HL108E. Stuttering occurs when my bitrate hits 60Mbps and above. sad.gif A bit the sien looking for firmware updates that might help.

This post has been edited by myuu: Jul 14 2009, 10:39 AM
myuu
post Sep 14 2009, 10:11 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(firvictory7 @ Sep 10 2009, 06:02 PM)
how to open .rar files in PS3?
You can browse contents of archives by turning on 'Browse .RAR/.ZIP/.CBR archives' under 'Navigation/Share Settings'.
myuu
post Sep 22 2009, 09:15 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Sep 20 2009, 04:05 AM)
can anybody show me where to do this ?

- Go to Transcoding Settings to change your Video quality, I use Good Quality and everything plays without stuttering.
Look for a dropdown menu that shows something like 'keyint=1:vqscale=1:vqmin=2'.
myuu
post Sep 28 2009, 07:51 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(anggun @ Sep 27 2009, 10:30 PM)
Where do I carry out this step? in PS3 Media Server?

- Set up the FFDShow Audio Decoder Config > Mixer to your preference, or this one 5.1 (3/0/2 LFE)
I think you do that in ffdshow. You're most likely using a codec pack, so you should find it somewhere in the codec pack's menu.
myuu
post Oct 26 2009, 09:39 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(ronramka @ Oct 26 2009, 01:56 AM)
demmit..just installed win 7 n i cannot get PS3MS to work wit my PS3 sad.gif

sambadi help sleep.gif
hm, i can't remember what i did to make it run on W7 RC.

at the moment, i just have it run as per normal from the Startup menu.

if referring to the PS3 not being able to see PMS, maybe check your firewall rules?
myuu
post Oct 27 2009, 09:29 PM

76 posts

i'm using mine on 64bit actually. maybe what it actually needed is 32bit java. happy.gif;
myuu
post Oct 31 2009, 05:46 PM

76 posts

besides checking firewall, etc., try checking which IP the media server is listening on in the Trace window. It should be on the same subnet as the PS3.

I've also heard there's conflicts when you enable windows media sharing, altho not sure if that applies to XP.
myuu
post Nov 9 2009, 07:23 PM

76 posts

There's a checkbox called Keep DTS audio in stream, which I use. The PS3 then just passes the DTS stream to my decoder.
myuu
post Mar 6 2010, 11:47 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Mar 4 2010, 09:59 PM)
Previously I have not encountered any issues of shutter, cuz I mostly watch tv series.

I notice that the audio = DD5.1, and the video if it's;
AVC = it never shutters before
Mpeg2 = this is the culprit! when it goes above 100 mb/s transfer

"this is shown when u press [sellect] on the DS3"

.. and when ever it exceeds 100mb/s it starts to halt and jitter .. 

May I know what or how to over come the transfer rate and keep it below 100mb/s or better still 50mb/s and still have the quality sustained?
ps3 media server transcodes all incompatible videos to mpeg2. Unfortunately mpeg2 is not size-efficient, so the size of the movie being sent to the ps3 becomes a lot bigger. Assuming this is not an issue with your CPU, u can either prep ur movies with mkv2vob, lower your transcoding quality settings, or run a direct wired connection between ur pc and the ps3. Personally I chose the last option, adding a 2nd gigabit adapter to the pc and running cat6 to the ps3, bypassing my router.

Ps: the Mbps display on the ps3 is actually incorrect when the video stutters. The actual is actually much lower (maybe around 50 Mbps max).

0.0298sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:18 AM