DOTA an OLYMPIC SPORT?, DOTA to olympics ? your take ?

TSmegadisc
post Apr 3 2009, 11:44 AM, updated 17y ago

4,349 posts

do you want to make it happen? thumbup.gif

if yes, why ? rclxms.gif

if no, why ? cry.gif

i just love the game, my gals and i have fun kicking boots all the time.

exsea
post Apr 3 2009, 11:48 AM

656 posts

no... coz doesnt appeal to people who like real life sports...
n i dont think cyber games should be combined with physical sports
zeroglyph
post Apr 3 2009, 11:49 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

NO!

why?

DoTA is for dotards. warcraft is for gamers.
dRLurve
post Apr 3 2009, 11:59 AM

357 posts

dota is the longest game i played and still alive in my pc. As for entainment, no doubt it is excellent for certain people. Talking about being an Olympic event...ahem ahem*

TSmegadisc
post Apr 3 2009, 12:17 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(exsea @ Apr 3 2009, 12:48 PM)
no... coz doesnt appeal to people who like real life sports...
n i dont think cyber games should be combined with physical sports
ya hor
since most olympics games involve physical wan mah
i dun c any games which no use brain wan leh
cracksys
post Apr 3 2009, 12:18 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

retarded.
TSmegadisc
post Apr 3 2009, 12:20 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Apr 3 2009, 01:18 PM)
retarded.
y u say that kleh ?
cracksys
post Apr 3 2009, 12:22 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 3 2009, 12:20 PM)
y u say that kleh ?

yes, in Paralympic
kenixkenix
post Apr 3 2009, 12:42 PM

hai kawan kawan
571 posts

dolympicta
TSmegadisc
post Apr 3 2009, 02:12 PM

4,349 posts

but also good mah
can improve hand to eye coordination in quick succesion some more
u dun like ?
Golden
post Apr 3 2009, 02:21 PM

499 posts

I use ATI HD4870 graphic card to run DOTA with max settings.... and its as good as a new game...

cracksys
post Apr 3 2009, 02:55 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 3 2009, 02:12 PM)
but also good mah
can improve hand to eye coordination in quick succesion some more
u dun like ?

do you know fapping while writing also improve hand-hand-eye coordination in quick succession?
kianfai87
post Apr 3 2009, 03:28 PM

smile.gif I would rather say L4D become Olympic game instead of Dota . . . .
MYNAMEISJASON
post Apr 3 2009, 04:59 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 3 2009, 02:21 PM)
I use ATI HD4870 graphic card to run DOTA with max settings.... and its as good as a new game...
I set it to 200X AA and it still looks the same dude. doh.gif
mon678
post Apr 3 2009, 05:14 PM

463 posts

lol Olympic games..haha....i would rather say PraLympics...coz only use hand,eyes and brain only.haha
cracksys
post Apr 3 2009, 05:27 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(mon678 @ Apr 3 2009, 05:14 PM)
lol Olympic games..haha....i would rather say PraLympics...coz only use hand,eyes and brain only.haha

er .. but people who run 100m use their leg only.

i'm confused. how is it Pra?
RtP|DEV
post Apr 4 2009, 05:31 PM

266 posts

DotA in olympic?

Well it depends on people's mentality. Anything is possible. Before 2000, playing video-game in South Korea are considered nerd thing. Society look down on gamers. Pro-gamers do not exist back then. The rise of Starcraft gradually change how South Korean society view gamers.

Before the year 2000, there's no established league, no Starcraft on TV, no corporate sponsors and no future guarantee for gamers. 1st generation of Starcraft players proved that less whiny and more positive attitude can make a difference. If you guys bother to learn and read Starcraft history in South Korea, some of you will cry. It'll make you realize how whiny and how negative Malaysian in general are.

Does Starcraft have anything to do with DotA? Yes 1st gen. Starcraft pro-gamers are the founder of e-sports.

Back to TS question, read post #2 until the last post and figure yourself. The answer is there.

MarlboroFreshMint
post Apr 4 2009, 05:47 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 3 2009, 02:21 PM)
lolX ..i'm using onboard graphic card ati 3300 ....with max settings @@'' hahaas
monsterface007
post Apr 4 2009, 05:48 PM

489 posts

WCG did the job
MYNAMEISJASON
post Apr 4 2009, 07:49 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Apr 4 2009, 05:31 PM)
DotA in olympic?

Well it depends on people's mentality. Anything is possible. Before 2000, playing video-game in South Korea are considered nerd thing. Society look down on gamers. Pro-gamers do not exist back then. The rise of Starcraft gradually change how South Korean society view gamers.

Before the year 2000, there's no established league, no Starcraft on TV, no corporate sponsors and no future guarantee for gamers. 1st generation of Starcraft players proved that less whiny and more positive attitude can make a difference. If you guys bother to learn and read Starcraft history in South Korea, some of you will cry. It'll make you realize how whiny and how negative Malaysian in general are.

Does Starcraft have anything to do with DotA? Yes 1st gen. Starcraft pro-gamers are the founder of e-sports.

Back to TS question, read post #2 until the last post and figure yourself. The answer is there.
Agreed, I doubt this any Malaysians will know the likes of Boxer and Fatal1ty much considering the only game most Malaysians play is DOTA(Worse of all, they don't even know that DOTA is bloody mod, not a game).
WCG did the job

The standards of WCG has been very inconsistent compared to Pro Gaming in Korea, cheating and low standards aside, WCG has been plagued by commercialization by big companies such like Microsoft and EA.
verdict
post Apr 5 2009, 03:22 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

No Such Thing... blush.gif

DOTA to olympics.... i laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Apr 5 2009, 03:23 AM
chew1991
post Apr 5 2009, 03:24 AM

176 posts

Dota - Paralympics
RtP|DEV
post Apr 5 2009, 07:10 AM

266 posts

You guys fail.

E-Sports made it into Asian Indoor Games 2007.
Fifa 07, NBA 07 and Need for Speed. Asian Indoor Games is regulated by Olympic Council of Asia, held once in 2 years.
Starcraft is scheduled to be part of 2009 Asian indoor game.

Paralympic much?

This post has been edited by RtP|DEV: Apr 5 2009, 07:10 AM
Cheesenium
post Apr 5 2009, 08:56 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

No,just not DotA with all these kind of mentality.

No sportsmanship.No professionalism.Why the hell should some whiny retards deserved to get payed?
cracksys
post Apr 5 2009, 09:45 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Apr 5 2009, 07:10 AM)
You guys fail.

E-Sports made it into Asian Indoor Games 2007.
Fifa 07, NBA 07 and Need for Speed. Asian Indoor Games is regulated by Olympic Council of Asia, held once in 2 years.
Starcraft is scheduled to be part of 2009 Asian indoor game.

Paralympic much?

NFS depicted racing.
NBA depicted basketball.
FIFA depicted .. duh.

so, they have their sense-reason to be in there.

i guess, DotA would have been picked if computer and ret-rds exist in 776 B.C
RtP|DEV
post Apr 5 2009, 05:40 PM

266 posts

Starcraft depicted what?

Such negativity, with this kind of mentality, maybe DotA don't deserve any spot in WCG.

This post has been edited by RtP|DEV: Apr 5 2009, 05:44 PM
cracksys
post Apr 5 2009, 06:43 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Apr 5 2009, 05:40 PM)
Starcraft depicted what?

Such negativity, with this kind of mentality, maybe DotA don't deserve any spot in WCG.

yes, it doesn't.
Golden
post Apr 5 2009, 10:50 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 5 2009, 08:56 AM)
No,just not DotA with all these kind of mentality.

No sportsmanship.No professionalism.Why the hell should some whiny retards deserved to get payed?
You don't play DotA... do you?

mochamania
post Apr 6 2009, 06:10 PM

268 posts

lol dota in olympics?
datukship for gold medal? tongue.gif
Cheesenium
post Apr 6 2009, 06:13 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 5 2009, 10:50 PM)
You don't play DotA... do you?
Does it even matter?
KenDiriwan
post Apr 6 2009, 06:14 PM

2,277 posts

tak nak, not agree. even i like to play
pikacu
post Apr 7 2009, 08:40 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Apr 5 2009, 03:24 AM)
Dota - Paralympics
tajul182
post Apr 8 2009, 07:17 AM

34 posts

I do not understand why the people that do not play DoTA in the 1st place would be nosy about the people that do play. ffs its just a game..not that a dota player killed your dog or something..or is it?
anyway if you do not like it do not read the post here, it is that simple.

Keep in mind that DoTA is a game, just like any other game. There tend to be people that likes it alot..and hate it alot. so for you haters..go do something more useful instead of flaming and trolling.

Thx.

p.s: this is intended to whoever it is intended. You know who you are.
cracksys
post Apr 8 2009, 08:58 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

you mean, haters can't have their say in this thread?

p/s - this is retaaaaa~

This post has been edited by cracksys: Apr 8 2009, 08:58 AM
PulseAngel
post Apr 9 2009, 11:06 AM

Validating
181 posts

LOLZ

we have Nichole DaVid yet the squasy didnt go to Olympic and now hoping for DoTa?its like waiting for moon to fall

grunge
post Apr 9 2009, 12:15 PM

356 posts

HAHAHA DOTA olympics?! if thats true, i m sure there's alot of proud mothers now.
goldfries
post Apr 9 2009, 12:22 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if games to be in Olympic, DoTA would not be in the top choice. well, at least not in my book.

strategy? heck every game requires strategy. smile.gif IMO DoTA is ok, but usually people dislike DoTA due to their supporters and their "nothing beats DoTA" attitude.
username
post Apr 9 2009, 12:22 PM

Why so serious?
2,130 posts

I think it would be interesting if it happens.

Winner: #1 dotard in the world
Runner-up: #2 dotard in the world

King of dotards tongue.gif
Sichiri
post Apr 9 2009, 12:27 PM

1,191 posts

I'd rather have WoW Arena becomes an Olympic sport than DOTA.
...and that itself is stupid.

But hey, Maybe Malaysia can get silver/gold medal if DOTA does become an Olympic game. Provided if they don't get disqualified for disciplinary reasons first.

This post has been edited by Sichiri: Apr 9 2009, 12:30 PM
dishwasher
post Apr 9 2009, 02:24 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

Even the participants in the special olympics would frown on DoTA.
franstormer
post Apr 9 2009, 02:25 PM

290 posts

i wan fishing to be one of the sports in olympic.

and yeah to those dotards[i play dota but im not as tards as those guys are] who think dota is so superb that nothing beats them they're soooooo wrong.
aed_ee
post Apr 17 2009, 03:41 PM

SLACKER
869 posts

yes!

cause it is a finger sport
selenium
post Apr 19 2009, 10:50 AM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

no way it will ever be in the olympics or cyberlimpics.

Dota is only popular in SEA while WC3 and the frozen throne still rules supreme with Starcraft at the front.

TSmegadisc
post Apr 23 2009, 11:53 AM

4,349 posts

but anyone can play
seniors juniros and so on
NatureKiller
post Apr 25 2009, 08:35 PM

21 posts

nope..
dota is just using brain and finger power..
it doesn't qualify to be in the olympic..
gacktleong
post Apr 26 2009, 12:04 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

u dun play olympics on chair dude

0.0244sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:11 PM