Installing windows xp , Fatal error.

TSLearjet35
post Apr 3 2009, 12:40 AM, updated 17y ago

500hp
1,931 posts

Hi guys.
Im helping my brother to reformat his laptop.
While the installing in progress,a problem occur.

I dont think its because of the cd,i just take it off from its cover for the first time.

Can i use xp pro cd,but i put the home edition serial key ?
Where i can dl the windows for home edition ?
What software i can use to rip it for my booting ?
any other way ?
he going to use it in Liverpool, uk.Is it ok for him to use the same xp pro,same keygen with me?or a pirate one.

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Apr 3 2009, 12:47 AM
FarCry3r
post Apr 3 2009, 08:01 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Apr 3 2009, 12:40 AM)
Hi guys.

I dont think its because of the cd,i just take it off from  its cover for the first time.
It's either the CD is badly burned or your CD/DVD drive can't read the disc. Cyclic Redundancy Check error means file(s) corrupted.

No you can't.

http://www.microsoft.com

???

he going to use it in Liverpool, uk.Is it ok for him to use the same xp pro,same keygen with me?or a pirate one.
Get genuine license for your OS by clicking here
Radeon
post Apr 3 2009, 10:27 AM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

but the errors does shows it's an cd error
FarCry3r
post Apr 3 2009, 10:45 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Radeon @ Apr 3 2009, 10:27 AM)
but the errors does shows it's an cd error
Not entirely true, sometimes, faulty CD/DVD drive can cause the problem too.
TSLearjet35
post Apr 3 2009, 11:38 AM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 3 2009, 08:01 AM)
It's either the CD is badly burned or your CD/DVD drive can't read the disc. Cyclic Redundancy Check error means file(s) corrupted.
No you can't.
http://www.microsoft.com
???
Get genuine license for your OS by clicking here
thanks for the reply bro.
but all i can find is vista sp1. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/downloads/default.aspx
im looking for xp home edition.
can help me gv the specific location ?
and what software(freeware) that i can use to burn in cd for installing it later ?

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Apr 3 2009, 11:39 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 3 2009, 11:40 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 3 2009, 10:45 AM)
Not entirely true, sometimes, faulty CD/DVD drive can cause the problem too.
And also faulty ram can cause that problem
TSLearjet35
post Apr 3 2009, 02:14 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 3 2009, 11:40 AM)
And also faulty ram can cause that problem
Ram ? I try install my xp pro.
Everything works.
Need help where i can dl windows xp home edition.
TSLearjet35
post Apr 3 2009, 05:34 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

Plss help me...
zsnipes
post Apr 3 2009, 05:40 PM

878 posts

Hi guys.

I dont think its because of the cd,i just take it off from  its cover for the first time.

any other way ?
Since CD is so New.

I think problem on ur Optical Drive

Get an External CD/DVD Drive, solve ?
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 3 2009, 06:14 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Apr 3 2009, 02:14 PM)
Ram ? I try install my xp pro.
Everything works.
Need help where i can dl windows xp home edition.
I dun get it...

1st u said got error, then u said install xp pro no problem...
So nao got problem or no?

Either its CD, CD-Rom, RAM, HDD one of them are faulty..
TSLearjet35
post Apr 3 2009, 07:35 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 3 2009, 06:14 PM)
I dun get it...

1st u said got error, then u said install xp pro no problem...
So nao got problem or no?

Either its CD, CD-Rom, RAM, HDD one of them are faulty..
My Xp pro for my xps.
The home edition for my brother.
I cant use the pro on my brother lappie,because i dont have other serial key.
Now got no problem.
the home edition cd are the problem.
Maybe it corrupt.Where i can dl the new Windows Xp Home Edition ?
Try to find at Microsoft,but the result only vista Sp1.

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Apr 3 2009, 07:37 PM
nthui
post Apr 14 2009, 04:14 PM

119 posts

i think the cdrom problem. maybe the xp cd is burn using fast mode. then when the cdrom read got fatal error. either u try other cd or change ur cdrom to install.
derravile
post Apr 14 2009, 04:32 PM

Choking on my aspirations
1,958 posts

go get ori cd froms ur frens, afterall, they no use oso after install xp

0.0219sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:18 AM